219848 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby San Benito, Texas (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
5.60 miles NW
7.90 miles NE
7.90 miles NE
8.94 miles SW
9.91 miles SE
12.20 miles NW
15.88 miles SE
17.94 miles W
22.59 miles W
24.28 miles E
26.55 miles NW
32.04 miles NE
-Other Nearby Points-
El Ranchito
(956)399-8362
0.97 miles NE
Super Wal-Mart
1126 W Business 77
2.00 miles NW
First Colony Mh
(866)399-8595
2.49 miles NW
Fun 'N Sun Rv
(800)399-5127
2.55 miles NW
Villa Los Reyes Rv
(936)399-1775
2.62 miles NW
Valley Greyhound Track
4.13 miles NW
Super Wal-Mart
1801 W Lincoln Ave
6.27 miles NW
Dixieland Mh
(956)425-6707
7.10 miles NW
Palm Gardens Mh
(956)423-7670
7.33 miles NW
Palmdale Rv
(800)456-7683
7.51 miles SE
Twin Palms Rv
(956)748-0800
7.76 miles NE
Paradise Park
(800)425-1201
7.79 miles NW
Rio Grande Valley Interna
7.82 miles NE
Sunburst Rv Harlingen
(800)459-4525
7.87 miles NW
Encore Rv Harlingen
(800)426-4137
8.78 miles NW
Carefree Valley Rv
77 Harlingen
9.67 miles NW
Tropic Winds Rv
(956)423-4020
10.28 miles NW
Holiday Out Cg
10.67 miles SE
V.I.P Park
(956)797-1401
11.77 miles NW
La Feria Rv
(866)523-3242
11.83 miles NW
Super Wal-Mart
3500 Walton Gloor Blvd
14.03 miles SE
Honeydale Mh
(956)982-2230
15.50 miles SE
Sams Club 1601 Price Rd (Located To Block)
15.82 miles SE
Palo Alto Battlefield N
15.89 miles SE
Wal-Mart
2721 Boco Chica Blvd
17.24 miles SE
Gulf Breeze Mh
(956)831-4606
18.15 miles SE
Texas
San Benito
Most Recently Reviewed
Palmdale RV Resort
Latest Review Submited On
2013-12-11 13:05:20
4 Park(s) Reviewed Near
San Benito, Texas
Camp Information
Sites
91
Date of Stay
January 2013
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
question
Tents Allowed
question
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$40
Small, older park outside of town. Park looks old, but well maintained. Friendly, helpful park manager. Many 'winter Texans' in residence but also had several spots available for the short-term traveler (like us). Good location to drive to the area attractions like Brownsville or the gulf coast. Not far to get to shopping and dining. Residents all very friendly and included us in their pot luck dinner. TV hook up available if you work it out with the cable company. Free WiFi worked well for us. Stayed in a fifth wheel for a week. Would go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
200
Date of Stay
November 2012
Latest Rate
$17



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   5   8   8   8   9   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2012
$17
Rate of 16.50 is Passport America rate which is good for 14 days plus $4. per day electricity. Pretty bare bones but an OK park for the money. Sites have a little gravel to back your rig on but not long enough for a big rig. Nice concrete patios. Lots of activities. Friendly office staff. Said they had a guy who delivered propane but we had a sign in our window and he never came the 10 days we were there. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2012
$15
This is a Passport America park, and the rate reflects this. The photos on the website aren't exactly what is actually here. We are parked on grass/dirt, but there is a concrete pad for a patio. We were going to stay here for 3 days, & looked around to see if there was anything that suited us better, but decided to stay for the 14 days they allow with PA. We at first were put in a pull through with concrete, & when we extended our stay we got moved to the other site. We parked as far back as we could & still step out the door on to the concrete. I had to use 2 sewer hoses & barely got hooked up, and had to use 50' of water hose. It rained while there & we had to walk in mud from the patio to the truck. Everyone we've talked to-staff included were very friendly. Probably would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$12
The people working and camping are very nice. The sites were nice and good size. The activity's were not as many as some parks but were very good due to the staff and people involved. We are looking forward to coming back next season. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for First Colony Mobile Home and RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
1508
Date of Stay
January 2013
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   8   4   9   3   3   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2013
$22
Park is intended for snowbirds (Winter Texans) and permanent residents. If this is your retirement model or expectation then this park would probably be a great place to stay. Compared with other Encore Parks in the area this park is at best average or less. There are plenty of organized activities for senior adults and most of the facilities appeared to be maintained. Rate reflects Encore discount for 2 weeks. Would definitely not stay at this park again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2010
$16
We stayed here for 4 months until April 10, 2011. The roads are narrow and the campsites are not huge. This campground's most enduring quality is the people it attracts for the winter season. It is a hubbub of activity, with all sorts of enrichment programs...art classes, dance lessons, tennis lessons, pool volleyball, just to name a few. It would be a shame to just stay one night and not take part in all that the park has to offer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2010
$17
Very friendly staff. We did get an escort to our site. This is a must. The rate is Passport America. The plus is there are many, many activities, etc. The roads are very, very narrow. Two cars had to be moved for us to get to our site. Our site on grass was all mud and ruts. We did get parked without getting stuck. The sites are very close back to back. There is enough room on the side to park and put out your awning. There are two pet walks that are very, very small for a park this size. With all the dogs using them, it is our opinion that it is not healthful for you or your dog. Your are given 11 pages of rules. Since there are many park model units in the park many of these rules apply to them. We are rating the whole RV Park, not only the activities. That is why the low rating. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Fun-N-Sun RV Resort
Camp Information
Sites
200
Date of Stay
December 2013
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   5   10   9   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2013
$18
We stayed 2 nights in a pull through with a 35 foot motorhome and a TOAD of total 55 feet. Rates reflect Passport America rates. A perfectly good and safe place to stop while on the road and the people we met were very nice, even invited us to an ice cream social. Wonderfully full _huge_ library in the clubhouse. We'd stay here again for overnights, but opted to stay elsewhere for a month as we felt their monthly rate of $485. + electric was far too high for the area as just down the road was @$100 less, plus we found we could stay on Padre Island itself for less than what they charge. Very busy park with lots of dogs and golf carts. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2013
$26
This is an older park and I was told that it was originally laid out for a trailer park. This is likely the reason for the huge sites. Services connections are difficult as water and power are at the rear of the site and the sewer is about 45' toward the front. Most need to buy extra water or sewer hose . The sites very in construction. Some are 'grass' with a gravel parking area, some have a concrete patio with gravel parking, and others have a concrete pad and patio. They seem to have lots of activities as well as a nice pool and hot tub. Cable TV is available but you pay extra by the month. Wi-Fi is only 11Mbps and is almost useless. The location is not near anything in particular, but you are close to Brownsville, San Padre Island or several golf courses. There may be better options in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2012
$36
We spent a few days here. The lots are larger than what is normally found in the Rio Grande Valley. The park is generally clean in appearance, however, the roads, although “paved” are in terrible condition. There are large pot holes throughout the park and you have to pay particular attention or you’ll lose your rig in one of them! The only road in reasonable condition is the one that goes by the resident manager’s park home. The posted park speed limit is 10 mph but nobody pays any attention to it. The long time residents fly through the park like they were trying out for the Indy 500 and none stop for the stop signs. There are many people that walk daily for exercise of take their dogs on walks but that didn’t seem to slow the race car drivers down at all. The lots are on grass which means that any rain will cause the ground to become very soft, very quickly. We heard of situations in the park of people having to call a wrecker service to tow them out after any heavy rain! We spoke with some of the long term residents and many were very unhappy with the management because they were not responsive to the residents' complaints about things that needed to be fixed. Apparently the owners are far removed from the area and apparently are only interested in profit and only do the bare minimum to maintain the park and it shows it. The Wi-Fi was pretty much unusable. We never were able to connect even though the management insisted it was up and functional. Again, we asked some of the long term residents about the Wi-Fi and they indicated that was just another item that has been dysfunctional for a long time and all they ever hear are promises. The location of the park is excellent in that it’s reasonably close to Harlingen, Brownsville and South Padre Island. Local shopping, restaurants and groceries are available within 2.5 miles in the city of Los Fresnos. We found the local long term, winter Texans to be very friendly and helpful. It’s a shame that the management and owners are allowing this potentially wonderful park to deteriorate. With the roads and wifi in such deteriorating condition we would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Palmdale RV Resort
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com