206876 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby South Padre Island, Texas (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
4.88 miles SW
19.69 miles SW
24.86 miles SW
26.95 miles NW
26.95 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
La Jaiba Seafood
0.13 miles SW
Jessie'S Cantina
0.17 miles NW
Amberjacks
0.46 miles S
Blackbeard'S - South Pad
0.52 miles NE
Andy Bowie Park
0.52 miles S
Scampi's
0.87 miles N
Jeremiah's
1.93 miles S
Sea Ranch
2.51 miles SE
Marcello'S Italian Rest
3.31 miles SW
Port Isabel Lighthouse
3.63 miles SW
Wal-Mart
Tx Hwy 100 & 48
10.28 miles SW
Texas
South Padre Island
Most Recently Reviewed
Isla Blanca Park
Latest Review Submited On
2014-04-08 17:54:21
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
South Padre Island, Texas
Camp Information
Sites
24
Date of Stay
March 2013
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   4   4   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$30
We stayed here for 2 weeks which happened to be during spring break. This park is located away from the main activities. We could hear music until about 1:00 a.m. one time and on Easter weekend during the day for several hours. We didn't find that to be a problem. Getting into and out of the park is very tight. The spaces are close together but are level. If you can get site #1 or one on the other end you will have one open side which is nicer. The staff was very friendly but not very accommodating. We did ask about an empty space on the end but they said it was reserved although it wasn't used when we were there. We really liked the location for bike riding. The birding center is close with a nice boardwalk. The beach is just a short walk from the park and was very enjoyable. The Hilton Garden Inn is a short walk or bike ride. We had a good dinner and breakfast there. The park charges for Wi-Fi, but we were able to use the Convention Center's Wi-Fi across the street. There is a Farmer's Market on Sundays 11:00 to 1:00 about 3 miles north of the park which was great. We had a good time strolling the beach and drinking salty dogs made from the fresh grapefruits purchased at the farmer's market. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2011
$30
The park is as described by most of the other reviewers. It's biggest negative is that the six month limit is an improper policy for a public facility with only 24 spaces. Allowing people to live here for six months at a time denies the rest of the public from utilizing a public facility. We stayed in the overflow at $15.00 per night with no hookups and were told that it would be at least another week before there was even a chance of anybody leaving, or it could be months. We will not come here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2008
$15
We dry camped for our five night stay, which was fine for our needs on this visit. The staff is very helpful and friendly. Nice access to the beach and directly across the highway from the convention center. Do wish they would take the curves out of the entry and exit driveways, it's a curb scraper for long wheel base motor homes. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Andy Bowie County Park
Camp Information
Sites
534
Date of Stay
January 2014
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   5   5   7   7   7   5   9   10   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  question  question  question  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2014
$18
Well organized for a very large county park. Only downer for the dog was the sand burrs in the grassy areas. BTW, dogs are allowed on the beach! This is a good park to be near all the action of South Padre Island. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2014
$36
The area gets a 10 but the park needs some TLC. Check-in and site selection for a first time visitor is strange. The employees can't tell you anything about site sizes and some are really narrow, some really short and some are huge. We tried to stay for a longer period but they said our site was reserved. There were numerous empty sites but they didn't offer to let us move either. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2014
$40
If it weren't for the beautiful beach behind this park, it would not be worth a stop. The government employees who run this place obviously know very little about the needs of campers. The sites vary greatly in size and yet they do not ask you how big your rig is when you check in because the computer does not tell them how big each site is. The first two sites we were offered weren't wide enough to put our slides out. We paid an extra $10 a night for a "premium" site, only to discover that the dump station was just 10 feet behind us and there was nothing to block the smell or the noise. The burrs in the grass were a major distraction. We enjoyed the beach. We didn't enjoy the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Isla Blanca Park
Camp Information
Sites
211
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$79



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   7   2   6   8   5   9   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  no  question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2014
$79
Upon arriving at the campground we were told that the wifi and pool were broken. We reserved one of the so called premium sites with a bay view and were escorted to the site by a nice man only to find a very narrow site with a hole dug by the road. We barely fit in the site. We were told to park our jeep behind the rig because there was a large hole dug to the right of site where they were making some kind of a repair and no room for the jeep on side of unit. As it was the only game in town we didn't complain . The view was blocked by a very large boat storage building . Also the whole place smelled like sewage, not just low tide and when we were walking our dog we figured out why . The sewage pumping pit was broken also and the hatch was open the whole length of our stay . This Is an over priced campground that can get away with it because they are the only game in town . The south padre island beach is beautiful and you can drive your 4x4 toad over 28 miles one way on the beach for some awesome surf casting and shelling. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$46
Nice KOA. Bathroom and laundry facilities were clean. Good location and staff helpful and friendly. Was a bit expensive for us at $46 per nigh: however, we can recommend it. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$65
Rate reflects a premier site that looks out over the bay and the cause way. We decided to pay a little extra so that we could have a view of the water from our front window. We also have a view of the cars driving on the road to pier 19. It is off season here, so there aren't many cars. I could see how if it was a busy time of year, it could be annoying. Your front window at these sites stays in the shade all day, so sun blasting in and heating up the coach is not an issue. The "regal row" sites look very nice and look out over the bay also with patio with tables and chairs. Those sites are pull in and there is nothing to disrupt your view of the water. They might be a better choice if it is a busy time of year, but you will get the afternoon sun hitting the front window. The park is paved with white rock pads. Fairly level sites and decent cable channels, power and water pressure. The pool is nice and the hot tub is big and hot. The exercise room has two bikes, four treadmills and some weights and machines. It is adequate. Location of the park is good. Short 5 minute walk to the beach. The pet run is grass and kept clean and cut. I would give this park a higher rating, but the price is just way to high for what you get. There are about 20 campers here now on a nice weekend. I bet if they lowered the rate to 40-50, they would fill this place up. Forty to fifty is more inline to what they should be getting. I can understand getting a premium for spring break and other holidays, but this is September 21st. All in all, a nice place to stay, but you pay a high price for it. I guess life is a beach. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for South Padre Island KOA
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com