220250 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Three Rivers, Texas (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
10.07 miles SW
18.23 miles NE
28.64 miles SE
-Other Nearby Points-
George West Truck Stop
George West
10.06 miles SW
Texas
Three Rivers
Most Recently Reviewed
South Texas RV Park
Latest Review Submited On
2014-03-26 17:34:58
4 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Three Rivers, Texas
Camp Information
Sites
75
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   7   8   8   10   7   8   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  no  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$22
Nice park with large spaces. The staff was exceptionally friendly and very helpful in every way. All sites are back-in but easy to maneuver. The bathrooms were clean but very outdated and in poor repair. The bird sanctuary was shut down due to the discovery of artifacts in the area. The wildlife and bird watching was great. Biking and hiking were excellent. We recommend checking for availability and making reservations before making the trip to the campground. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2013
$22
$22 per night was for a 50-amp electric and water site. A daily entrance fee is also charged unless you have a $70 Texas State Parks Pass, which is good to cover entry fee to all state parks for one year. Most sites are level with asphalt pads. The park does have trees but they wouldn’t provide much shade in the summertime. The picnic tables are covered and each site has a fire ring. The park is about one hour S of San Antonio. If you like hiking there are many miles of trails and miles of roadway for bike riding. Fishing/boating is available on the reservoir. Spacing between the sites is generous. We received four bars 4G on our AT&T cell phone. We used our Millenicom Jetpack as a Wi-Fi hotspot and it worked very well. There is Wi-Fi at the office which is 2.2 miles from the campground. We received 30 OTA TV stations. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$22
We just spent 3 days and 2 nights at Choke Canyon State Park - Calliham Unit. Some aspects of the park were great - others were not hence a rating of 7. At one time, this was a very nice state park. On the positive side, the park scenery is very beautiful with large, level RV sites all of which have 50AMP service. All of the RV sites were back-in and the road conditions were very good. The area around the day use areas and camping loops was freshly mowed and maintained. All in all, the park is very quiet and peaceful. There is an abundance of wildlife in the park (deer, rabbits, birds, wild hogs, etc.). On the negative side, it is obvious that the park is not being well cared for as a general statement. The bathrooms, while clean, were in bad need of repair and updating. All of the hiking trails needed maintenance and especially mowing. One of the hiking trails we traversed had a massive tree down that had been there for a quite a while. The bird blind and bird sanctuary was no longer being maintained. All ranger programs had been canceled. The South Shore Unit, which is primarily a day use and boat launch facility, has all but been abandoned. There are no rangers at the main entrance (self-pay) and with no mowing or maintenance around the picnic areas. Most of which were being taken over by over-growth. Finally, I have to comment on the friendliness of the park staff. We travel to lots of Texas State Parks and almost never had anything bad to say. The staff at this park were a little on the unfriendly side providing one word answers and almost no interaction with the campers. This place was obviously a great state park for bird watching and viewing a while back but no longer. We saw about 22 different species but did most from the road. It is a shame it is in the state it is in. Other information that didn't influence the review but is useful. There is no Verizon signal in the park. Highway 72 from Three Rivers to the park is in rough shape due to all of the big rigs heavily using the roads for the local shale oil development. Finally, loads of bugs in the mornings and evenings - take your bug spray We enjoyed our trip due to the bird watching and wildlife but won't be returning. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Choke Canyon RV Park (Calliham Unit)
Camp Information
Sites
30
Date of Stay
November 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2013
$35
$35 per night was for a full hookups and Wi-Fi. The site itself is level, with what seems to be cliche, without a picnic table, fire ring, or BBQ grill. It didn’t seem to have any bathrooms or showers. There are big dips in the roadway at both entrances. If it were to rain, the area would be a big sloppy mess. The weeds between sites were scraggly and there was litter all around the park. We dealt with them over the phone and were told to pick out any empty spot. No staff was available except when they came to collect our money. It is not country living in our book. Most of the residents are full time workers at the nearby oil fields. Spacing between the sites is adequate. It’s a very quite location located at the end of a road. We received two bars LTE on our AT&T cell phone. We received 15 OTA TV stations. We would stay here again in a pinch, which is how we ended up there in the first place. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$35
This is wonderful, quiet, shaded campground on a dead end road. Compared to all the other parks going up in the area to house the oil field workers, this one is truly the nicest. Prices are resonable. it is pet friendly and kid friendly.. Recommend this park a 100%. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
225
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
question
Family Friendly
question
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2014
$25
Three Rivers South Texas RV Park is located halfway between San Antonio and Corpus Christi off I-37 in the heart of the Eagle Ford Shale. Quiet and secluded. Perfect for oil field workers but only for campers if you are looking for an overnight stop. New park in 2013, no frills at this point, and no pull thrus. Dusty entry road and parking is all gravel. Stayed one night but would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Camp Information
Sites
20
Date of Stay
November 2011
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2011
$15
We've stayed in this park overnight several times. It's very close to the big Valero refinery and the highway, so not a quiet place. Most of the sites are occupied by long term oil field workers. Definitely call in advance. 361-786-4324 is the host couple phone. (361) 786-2528 is the phone number of the City of Three Rivers, and if the host phone doesn't answer, they may be able to supply an updated number. Pleasant place, nice trees, river, birdwatching park across the street accessible via underpass is good for walking. The park was full, so we asked and were allowed to dry camp for free, but this is at the discretion of the hosts. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$8
We actually did not get to stay here but we tried. It was booked solid. They are in the process of adding 7 new sites. The park is the best option in Three Rivers. Big shade trees and a boat ramp. The campground is very snug though, and though big rigs can get in, it may be tight. The host was very nice and pointed us in the direction to find a park to stay in. Town is full due to a mixture of oil/ gas workers and fisherman. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$12
We camped here on Memorial Day weekend. It was not crowded. Very clean, shady park. Had water and electric and was only $12.00 a night. Fishing nearby on the river. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com