206944 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Whitney, Texas (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
16.65 miles SE
19.23 miles SW
20.05 miles SW
27.88 miles N
29.49 miles SE
-Other Nearby Points-
Aor C2C Whitney Tx - Suncountry Resorts
2.96 miles NW
Rpi- Tx Lake Whitney Rv/Golf Fm-933 & Country Club Rd Whitney
3.28 miles NW
Nudist Empyrean Garden Nature Resort
(254)694-0255
3.31 miles S
Lake Whitney Marina
(254)694-3129
3.79 miles NW
Arrowhead Resort
(888)412-3044
3.91 miles SW
Tt Tx Lake Whitney 417 Thousand Trails Dr Whitney (L 11/29-3/3) 254-694-2583,Ttnlt
4.55 miles NW
AOR2351
5.18 miles NW
Texas
Whitney
Most Recently Reviewed
Thousand Trails Lake Whitney
Latest Review Submited On
2013-12-20 22:39:13
8 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Whitney, Texas
Camp Information
Sites
45
Date of Stay
September 2012
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$20
We really enjoyed the park. The service was friendly and the park was clean. A very nice overnight stay to Colorado. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$20
Spent two nights in site #50 (pull through site). Nice and clean. Very few campers this weekend. Good distance between most sites. Both 30 and 50 amp sites available. Sites are asphalt with concrete parking pads. Some are shady and some are open (near the water). Each site has an open sided shelter with picnic table, fire ring and raised BBQ grill but there is a "burn ban" in effect due to the drought. Typical COE park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$18
We have stayed at this park many times over the years and the most recent time was at the group camping pavilion over the July 4th holiday. It's pretty bare bones but clean, well maintained and inexpensive. It's what we have come to expect when staying at a COE park. We already have the group camping pavilion reserved for next year's Labor Day weekend. The only word of caution I would have is to thoroughly read the rules and ask questions if you don't understand. The staff has no patience for any rules being broken and the grumpy sheriff lives nearby. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Cedron Creek COE
Camp Information
Sites
66
Date of Stay
September 2012
Latest Rate
$8



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
question
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$8
This park is good for bike riding and walking. Some sites have a great view of the lake. Access to the park is easy coming from the east. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2006
$7
This is a COE campground so it accepts Golden Age Passports. There are two campgrounds on the lake operated by COE. The west side was closed for the season when we were there. There were large level sites with nice views of the lake. The bathrooms were 1950 cinder block and nasty looking. Still we would go back to this park since we don't use the bathrooms anyway. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
75
Date of Stay
October 2010
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2010
$40
This RV park shows no pictures of the RV sites on their website and there is a reason for that. The park is very ran down. The sites are so unlevel that there is no way to get your rig level no matter what you do. The road (Juniper Rd) that you have to travel down to the RV park is so rough and narrow you have to wonder if you will have a RV left once you get there. The owners of the park are very unfriendly and not helpful at all. When we arrived we were the only customers in the park and it remained that way for our 4 day stay. The wireless Internet service was a joke, there was no service. And forget using your satellite dish, too many trees. The restrooms and showers I did not go into, because they looked so old and run down. Way over priced at $40.00 per night. My advise is to go stay at the COE Park or Whitney State Park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$25
Nice park that is a part of a full service marina. County road into park is a little rough but gravel interior roads are OK. Very large and wide gravel and grass sites, most with some shade. RV park has one section with some 50 amp service full hook up. The rest of the sites are all 30 amp. The other three sections are 30 amp water and electric only. Dump station on site. They also have air conditioned camping cabins for those who do not RV or tent camp. A great place to combine water sports and camping. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
88
Date of Stay
February 2013
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   7   9   8   8   7   7   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$24
Excellent Texas State Park, we've stayed here many times and will return. We were in pull through site #31. It easily accommodated my 37' 5th wheel with multiple slides. Good shade in the full hook-up loop. Good water Pressure and quality. Stable 50A electric service. Sewer hook-ups at sites good location, but some sites have high sewer opening in relation to camper. Dining hall available for a fee is large with a full kitchen and nice restrooms. Nice easy nature trail with a geocache. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$20
Nice State park! The ranger at check in was very helpful and friendly. The site was easy to back into, paved and fairly level. Just a slight down hill slope, spot on level side to side. At least this site was(site 91). The site was close to the water. It had a covered picnic table (always a plus). Ground fire ring that was directly behind the site. 30 and 50 amp electric, with the standard water hookup adjacent to the power post. The site had plenty of room for everything and good room between neighboring sites. The trails are well marked and a comfortable walk. The bathrooms are well maintained and clean. The only negative is there is not a bathroom shower in each camping loop. It didn't matter to me since we have a bathroom in the camper, but to some it might be a bit of a walk. There is only 1 dump station near the entrance which is OK. We had a good time and will try and go back soon. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2011
$16
Clean State Park. I had a very good site. No one around due to the Holiday.. I would stop here again . We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Lake Whitney State Park
Camp Information
Sites
106
Date of Stay
April 2012
Latest Rate
$16



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   10   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2012
$16
We were in the "older" part pull-through campground. Good shade, but difficult to get into and pads are short, at a bad angle and not level. Very pretty area. We would camp there again, just be more selective of our site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$14
This campground is a nice, COE campground. My only complaint was the lack of effort to keep the bathrooms clean. We were in a rig with our own shower or I would have complained. Beyond that, this park is top notch. Shaded sites are available. Some are heavily shaded. Waterfront sites are also available. We were in a 38' 5th wheel behind a LBCC (?) so we have a pretty long rig. The following sites should be avoided if you have a long rig: 4, 7-11, 13, 30, 32, 35, 41 & 42. Sites 16-28 have heavy shade. Sites 0-15 are partially shaded 32-54 have little to no shade. A boat ramp is available inside the same park and equestrian sites are available in a special area. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2008
$16
Great place to camp, Quiet, Clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for McCown Valley COE
Camp Information
Sites
125
Date of Stay
November 2012
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   7   6   8   1   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2012
$10
Dry, very very dry, will be your first impression of this park after you get through the bumpy ride to the office. It is very obvious this park needs TLC right from the start. Roads are very rough. No Wifi or internet access, cell phone service good, shared “yards” (units face one another) and power poles are shared. Electric is site assigned, although I am sure if a 30 & 50 amp were on the same pole regardless of site assignment a “user” would use their preference if they arrived first. Laundry Facilities were clean; $1 to wash or dry. Restrooms, showers were clean and appeared to be recently remodeled with water saver shower heads. Fishing on Lake Whitney is fee based. $10 per vehicle and $6 per person, $3 per person at Lake Whitney State Park, and / or a 5 mile drive from the RV Park. There is no fishing or lake access on the park property. Although we do not play golf, we took a drive through and the golf course appeared bristly and dry. Looking like it hadn’t been watered all summer just like the rest of the park. There are an abundance of rude “permanent” residence, in RV’s, travel trailers, and mobile homes. Most are parked under “Texas Canopies” as they call them. The managers say they have new owners. They need “new” something, ie owners, managers, “attitudes” of what an RV Resort should be. We do not recommend this park, other nice parks in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2010
$25
A clean campground. Good for a rest stop only: no frills, no trees, and remote from shopping. We stayed two days, and will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$24
This camp has seen better days. There are no trees for shade. Camp in the open. Very windy site. No frills, just simple camping. We stayed one night and moved the next day to the state park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Sun Country Resort
Camp Information
Sites
75
Date of Stay
May 2012
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$25
This park is a well maintained RV community with permanent homes as well as RV spots. Tuesday nights they have a pot luck dinner in the club house. Nice way to get to meet your neighbors. The management is very knowledgeable of the area, the people are very friendly. There is a picnic area that overlooks Lake Whitney although there is no lake access from the park it is just a short drive to picnic areas at the lake. Great fishing! Would definitely stop here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$20
This RV PORT HOME community I'd rate a 10 because the lovely homes in the park are very nice, well kept and manicured. As we walked around in the home area everyone was very out going and friendly and seemed to be happy living there. What a wonderful place to live and be with other RV'ers and have your rig covered at all times. I would highly recommend building here. Then there's the RV park portion in the middle of the park which I give a 3 because the RV sites are very unkempt outside your door. There are some concrete pads but most of the spaces are unlevel. We had to move 2x then jack up the front of our 40' MH to get level. Not all of the sites are 50 amp and a lot of sites have old electric, H20 and sewer connections. The RV park portion of the community needs to be element ed or revamped because it's an eyesore to the rest of the beautiful community. We would not stay in the RV park again except to look at the nice lots and homes that are available for purchase. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$15
We would rate this campground higher if cable was available. All sites have concrete pads, and some are slightly unlevel and somewhat close together. Park also has numerous permanent RV ports, and lots for sale for new buyers. The park backs to Lake Whitney but does not have direct access to the lake. There is a clean laundry that is outside but covered. There is a nice county park close by with boat ramps. Overall the park is quiet, well kept, and directed toward mature campers rather than family camping. At the back of the park is a nice picnic area, fire rings, and a short walk to an overlook to Lake Whitney. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for THC Lake Whitney RV Community
Camp Information
Sites
240
Date of Stay
December 2013
Latest Rate
$3



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   3   9   8   4   8   9   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2013
$3
We are Thousand Trails Zone Members and price reflects the membership. Great park even though we were not able to take advantage. There was an ice storm in the Dallas area and we hunkered down for 4 days waiting for it to pass. Staff was helpful and provided everything we asked. Not many people there and no activities during this time since it was not crowded. We use laundry facilities and showers were clean. Electric was excellent. We were at a 30 amp site. No sewer where we were located, but I do not know about the rest of the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$3
We enjoyed our visit here. Activities for adults and kids. Enjoyed the Adult pool and Adult activity center. This is a large campground and with the heat you couldn't walk from area to area very well. We were in the "A" campground which is closer to the Adult area. Rate reflects Thousand Trails Membership and 50A rate. Personnel very friendly. Saw some roadrunners and a bobcat. They only have 13 pull-through spots. 1 with 50 amp and 6 with 30 full hookup and the other 5 with 30 water/electric. In the entire complex there are only 14 sites with 50 amp hook ups. Some sites had more shade than others. Most sites were gravel. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2013
$2
The roads are really bad. Speed limit is 15 mph but you cant travel much faster than that. We stayed in loop B so we could have WiFi but we had to call office several times to get them to reset their modem. The sites are ok but there are a lot of cedar sharp branches about head high so be very careful. The picnic tables are in really bad shape. The boards have decayed and have big holes in them. The filling station (dinning hall) is fine but to get in you have to pass by equipment stacked with dust. It seems that the workers are so use to it that it doesn't bother them. When we arrived we were greeted by folks that had just eaten sour pickles and it showed. They need a good course of smiles and welcoming people in to park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Thousand Trails Lake Whitney
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com