223426 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Willis, Texas (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
4.12 miles SE
7.50 miles SW
10.39 miles NW
16.04 miles NW
17.66 miles SW
19.62 miles NE
20.15 miles SE
21.17 miles SE
22.96 miles NW
23.22 miles SW
23.28 miles SE
25.21 miles SW
25.60 miles S
25.89 miles NE
29.49 miles N
31.90 miles NE
36.42 miles SW
-Other Nearby Points-
AOR2011
6.63 miles NE
Convenience Cg
6.66 miles NW
Sams Club?I-45:88 2000 Westview Blvd (Located To Block)
7.54 miles SW
Tt Tx Lake Conroe 11720 Old Montgomery Rd Willis 936-856-7888,Ttnlt
7.92 miles SW
Park On The Lake
(888)278-5253
8.06 miles SW
Super Wal-Mart
18700 State Hwy 105 West
8.09 miles SW
Whr Aor Sb Rod Rpip C2C Conroe Tx - Lake Conroe
8.35 miles SW
AOR1948
8.35 miles SW
Lake Conroe Rv Resort & Marina-12225 League Line Rd
8.37 miles SW
Castaways Rv Park & Campground-12922 Longstreet Rd.
8.72 miles NW
Castaways Rv
(936)856-2949
8.72 miles NW
Rpi- Tx Castaways Rv Park/Cg (On Lake Conroe) 12922 Longstreet Rd Conroe
8.79 miles NW
Omega Farms Rv
(936) 90-3800
8.90 miles SW
Castaways Cg
8.95 miles NW
Super Wal-Mart
1407 Loop 336 W
9.31 miles SW
Timber Lodge Rv
(936)767-4101
12.07 miles NE
Rpi- Tx Timber Lodge Rv 5260 Hwy 150 W New Waverly
12.83 miles NE
Aor Rpi C2C Pa New Waverly Tx - Timber Lake
13.45 miles NE
Super Wal-Mart
I-45 Exit 81
3040 College Park Dr
13.76 miles SW
Texas
Willis
Most Recently Reviewed
Sunset Shores
Latest Review Submited On
2014-07-21 18:13:30
6 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Willis, Texas
Camp Information
Sites
180
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$1



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   3   4   3   5   8   10   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2014
$1
Rate reflects ROD membership. Directories show this campground with 2 different names: Bishops Landing and Castaways RV Park and Campground—so it is little confusing for GPS and finding reviews. All the staff were very friendly. Sites are very close together. Some sites have a concrete pad, the area we were in had a gravel area for RV—but we stepped out into mud between the sites. Beautiful views of Lake Conroe. There is access to the lake directly from the resort. They were working on utilities in the area we were camping, so there was a lot of noise, construction equipment and mud, however, improvements cause disruption. Sites were level. There were several large ditches and holes between campsites—which makes it difficult to find a level spot to sit outside. Good Verizon cell coverage and even with trees throughout we were able to easily get our TV satellite connected. We would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2013
$30
Nice park easy access. Lots of activities. The only thing that I did not like was the people drive thru there like it's a city street. You get a face full of dirt every time they drive by. Everything is covered in dirt by the first day. It would be a great park if they could get the people to stop driving so stupid. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2012
$40
Checked into this place and could not get the RV level. The staff was nice, but the campground conditions were poor. The 50 amp had low voltage. Only stayed one night and left to find a better place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Castaways RV Park & Campground
Camp Information
Sites
315
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$3



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   3   3   9   8   2   9   4   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  no  yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  no  yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$3
"Clean" restrooms and showers is a relative term. In several of the bath houses June bugs were very prevalent. They did sweep them up a couple times during our 11 day visit. They weren't horrible but they could have been better. Our rate reflects having to pay for 50 amp service. Some Thousand Trails camps charge for it, some don't. They had several activities, some for kids and some for adults. Lots were somewhat level. Thousand Trails says they are making improvements to this park. There was evidence of gravel that will be put down soon. Don't know if it was all for roads or if they would also try to level out unit parking areas. They have several new cabins. Good access to the lake for boating activities. We would come back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$3
The rate cited is the Thousand Trails rate for a 50 amp site. Yes, the roads are rough, but this is a campground after all. Miniature golf is clean, pool is clean, spa/hot tub is outside and clean. Waterfront is in good condition (fire ants included). Maintenance was on the spot with handling calls and getting things done. Willis and Conroe are close enough and there are lots of things to do nearby. Some of the 50 amp sites did experience high voltage a couple times but the EMS kept us from harm's way until the voltage went back down to normal. Water was a problem one day as a camper drove over a stanchion and broke the water and electrical off which required a brief shutdown to repair. Some of the sites are narrow and side by side, sharing stanchions, but there is plenty of room to set up on the opposite side. We have been here before and enjoy the campground for all that it is...rough roads included. When you do get torrential rains they do affect everything, everywhere, not just the campground. Basically, the campground drains very well but you can find some low spots that don't; not a huge issue. The entire staff was friendly, courteous, efficient and helpful, even when busy. There are seasonal campers here but we have never had a problem finding a great site to set up our rig. We will return another day. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2013
$42
This park is sad and run down. We thought about staying there for 2 nights and possibly joining the TT zone. But the park was so run down, we only stayed one night. The asphalt roads have pot holes and ruts that it twist your rig as you are driving. The sites are mostly gravel, and grass. The pull thru sites are very narrow and show as back to back sites. They should just be single sites. I'm sure this was a very nice park back when it was developed and could be a nice park again if they would put some effort into maintenance, but I didn't see anyone working on any thing. The pool was clean, but needed resurfacing. They have put put golf, but be careful not to trip on the uneven sidewalks or fall into the large holes by the course. I wish this had been a nicer park. We will not be back to this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Lake Conroe / Thousand Trails
Camp Information
Sites
39
Date of Stay
November 2010
Latest Rate
$37



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$37
This is a fantastic place to stay with wonderful views. Wide area to use to back into concrete waterfront sites with thick grass. Great place from which to explore Sam Houston National Forest since the road it is on connects into the gravel roads of the park to the north. The pizza place was good, and there is a nice restaurant that would be open in the summers. They had "Steak Night" on Saturday. Nothing for kids on site except fishing. Has a good boat ramp and tie ups. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$28
We chose this park as it was close and on Lake Conroe. There are two sets of sites - on the lake and on the "hill" overlooking lake. The hill sites will not accommodate big rigs. The lake sites are $8 more and can accommodate larger RVs. Sites have concrete pads and grass. This is an active boat launch site and most of the RVs had boats. There is a small restaurant that makes very good Hunt Brothers' Pizza. There are no activities other than the lake. Fishing is available on the bank. The people here were very friendly. Your pizza is delivered to your RV. It is about 8 miles from Willis which is the closest anything to the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$38
We really enjoyed our stay. Park host was very helpful and friendly. We were right on the water. The pizza restaurant was good. They had great wings. We will definitely return. It was a like ways from town and very quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
January 2013
Latest Rate
$41



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   7   7   8   8   8   10   10   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2013
$41
Not the best we've stayed at, but decent. More than a few pot holes on the road leading to pull throughs. Sites were narrow and a little cramped. The man that checked us in was very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$28
We stayed at this park for a week. The rate reflects price with Escapees discount. The pull-through sites are long, relatively level and gravel. There is a small lake with a lighted fountain and you can walk around the entire lake. Some sites have trees. Access in and out is easy. There is a jam session held each week and Alma (the female of the couple who manages the park) has a beautiful voice. We would stay here again if passing through the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2011
$29
Rate is daily rate for 50 amp FHU pull through site with Escapees discount. Roads and sites are gravel; main entrance road is very narrow for the two way traffic that it is used for. Consequently the other roads, which are wider, are used for two way traffic even though they are marked for one way. Tight turns to pull into an out of your site. Plus, as usual, the permanents do not adhere to the rules about what can be outside your RV. With that said, it was a pleasant place to stay for a couple of nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Omega Farms RV Retreat
Camp Information
Sites
135
Date of Stay
March 2013
Latest Rate
$37



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   4   7   10   1   10   5   8   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  yes  no  question  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  yes  no  question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2013
$37
We left after several hours. It is a place for permanent housing in very old RV's. Dirt road, very crowded and overall unsightly. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2013
$13
Rate reflects monthly stay. Overall I would love to really, really like this park but a few things conspire to prevent that. First the good. The park has a terrific location with beautiful views of Lake Conroe and immediate water access right behind your RV. The pool and hot tub are clean but we did not get a chance to use them. The office staff appear nice enough but not overly so. In fact, if you stay a while you will learn how little they respect their customers. There is a beautiful little "island" (really a peninsula, but they call it an island) at the back of the park with great opportunities for fishing. A fenced dog walk area and child playground are in place and appear to be well maintained. That's the good parts. The bad starts with the pot hole infested entrance that resemble roads you would find in the oil patch. The Wi-Fi works, but is easily overwhelmed and rarely has enough bandwidth to work at all. The restroom are "cleaned" daily but not very well and are very out dated. Spider webs and insects occupy every one other than the one in the office. The cleaning lady is rude. The office lady and cleaning lady went on and on about how rude their tenants are, then began gossiping about various tenants. Again, this was an overheard conversation. Someone should tell them that this behavior is extremely unprofessional. Prepare to have to wash your RV after staying here as the dirt roads will have them dust covered after a few days. which begs the eternal question, "Why, of why don't RV park owners get a clue and PAVE THEIR ROADS??" All in all, I would say we will not likely be back to this park. There are much nicer parks in the area. While a beautiful concept, this under managed park just doesn't live up to it's promise. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2013
$15
We are Passport America members and rates reflect that. This park has very generous rules regarding PA stays. Sites are a little close together, gravel sites with grass, no slabs. Picnic table at each site. Overall, a nice park with extremely nice and helpful employees. Effort is made to minimize potholes and maintain dirt/gravel roads. Pool looked great but it was too cool to use. Spa is just sectioned from pool so water is not warm/hot. Wi-Fi worked well at our site during both of our visits. Many long-term residents, some of whose sites are dirty and/or unkempt though not to extreme we have seen on some of our travels. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Park On The Lake
Camp Information
Sites
124
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   1   8   10   3   7   10   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  no  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  no  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$30
On the park website is a VERY old picture. The nice sandy beach does not exist - overgrown with grass. The pool area offers NO shade - unless you go inside the "clubhouse" and it has little to offer besides shade. I did not use the bath house but I did look inside - it appeared clean. The sites are very long and narrow. There are many trees. The pull thru Sites 109, 110 and 111 flood with rainfall. We have been full timers for almost 5 years traveling mostly in the South and this is the first time we have been infested with sugar ants. They are everywhere outside and of course like to come inside. Grrr. The TV hookup is very snowy and we haven't been able to get that issue resolved. We have our own internet and the cell coverage is okay. The nice lake has NO FISHING signs posted everywhere! Their are several pipeline workers here, so it is very quiet during the day and evening. We are here to visit family and this location is good for that reason only. A week is the minimum stay. We are here for a month $495 + electric. Probably have to stay here again to visit family. This is better than most in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2014
$40
Don't let the slick web site fool you, this is a mobile home park for RVs. Located between a busy and noisy highway and a boat storage facility. We sat in a puddle of water for a week. The long term occupants have an attitude toward those of us just stopping to visit family. Had to drive 20 miles to get propane,since the park didn't have it. The office staff was not helpful at all. We interrupted her lunch and she was not happy at all. Would we stay there again, no way. On the good side, and there is one, great Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$47
Lots of lake front sites. All cement roads and long pads. Nice trees and grass around wide sites. Almost all sites are monthly. Minimum stay is one week. Friendly office staff. Laundry was clean. No clubhouse. Very quiet. Great sunsets over Lake Conroe. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Sunset Shores
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com