220693 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Bentonville, Virginia (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
9.21 miles NE
14.27 miles N
14.42 miles SW
15.96 miles W
18.23 miles S
20.10 miles SW
24.53 miles SW
24.54 miles SE
25.15 miles NE
27.98 miles NE
33.87 miles SW
-Other Nearby Points-
Skyline Ranch Resort-751 Mountain Rd
5.94 miles N
Aor Rpi C2C Front Royal Va - Skyline Ranch Resort
5.95 miles N
AOR0089
5.95 miles N
Rpi- Va Skyline Ranch Resort 751 Mountain Rd Front Royal
6.02 miles N
Dean'S Steakhouse
7.58 miles NE
Christendom College
7.79 miles NE
Stadt Restaurant
8.17 miles NE
North Fork Resort-301 N Fork Rd
9.89 miles NE
Bleu Rock Inn - Washing
10.05 miles SE
Shenandoah National Park
11.59 miles SW
Hotel Strasburg - Strasb
12.55 miles NW
Toms Brook
13.21 miles NW
Cedar Creek Battlefield
13.91 miles N
Wilkinson'S Tavern
14.56 miles N
Luray Caverns
15.33 miles SW
Virginia
Bentonville
Most Recently Reviewed
Shenandoah River State Park
Latest Review Submited On
2014-07-22 19:30:24
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Bentonville, Virginia
Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$36
If you're camping in a tent or want to dry camp this would be rated a 8 or 9. Our 35ft 5th wheel was almost too big for the few electric sites available. No water or sewer available. I would advise the 35ft plus rigs to stay away. The bridge is very narrow but it looks like they are working on a new bridge. It's early but it looks promising for better access to the park. They offer tube/canoe service. The store is barely stocked but they do have basics. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$25
This is a small and simple riverfront campground. The main focus is the simple camping and the river, bring your tube or kayak! We dry camped at a river front site for $25.00 a night. Very large site, not level and no pad, but useable with the use of our bus jacks. Great to sit right on the river, fish,wade, and within walking distance is a canoe rental shop that runs trips on the river, to include transportation (this business is not part of the campground). The road here may be a challenge for large 40'+ motorhomes or big trailer rigs. There are some steep grades, tight turns, low trees, and the bridge is narrow but safe. We were fine and have a length of 33' and 12' overhead clearance. Campground overall is very suitable for tenting, small to mid size trailers and motorhomes. There are about 60 sites which are divided into three main areas. The first section includes about 5 sites that are pull through and have hookups. The second section of perhaps 20 sites runs along the riverbank of the Shenandoah River and puts you right on the river with very good sized sites; no hookups. The third section is a large field; no hookups. Roads are gravel. Staff was friendly and the office had a small store with the very basics. The restrooms/showers were clean when we looked, but we did not use them. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
42
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   10   8   10   9   9   10   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$40
For a state park, this 4-year old campground was better than we expected. We loved the size of the sites and the separation between them. We were on the upper tier of sites (#2) where most, if not all, are pull-through sites. The sites' patios are staggered, so your next door neighbor isn't peering onto your patio when he looks out his window. The lower tier had mostly back-in sites, but were much closer to the river access points. I was a little disappointed in the access points, thinking they would be more user-friendly, but that's just me. The electric and water utilities were flawless. Satellite access in the upper tier was excellent. As noted before, cell phone service can be a challenge. The visitors' center has a Wi-Fi network that you can access while there. It's a bit of a hike to get there, or just drive as most do. Otherwise, you need to drive into Front Royal, about 8 miles away. Our camp host was a tent camper, and a very pleasant one at that. Overall, a great, relaxing, and quiet campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$39
Still the lowest priced 50 amp water hookup big rig sites in the entire area. Very large and beautiful sites. Back in sites are more level than pull-through sites. Only minus is that the power blinked out twice in one day on site 5. Someone needs to check the power distribution boxes again. The zip line is $84 per person, so we did not try. There is water access, but very steep and muddy. Camp host in tent was excellent & friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$35
Wonderful park. Large sites. This area offers lots of things to do, zip line in park, has several miles of river frontage, fishing, hiking, biking and kayaking! The only thing one could complain about is the absence of Verizon service, which is our fault. AT&T and Sprint work well. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Shenandoah River State Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com