218071 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Williamsburg, Virginia (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
9.88 miles SW
10.81 miles NE
10.90 miles NW
14.71 miles NE
17.89 miles NW
22.70 miles SE
25.22 miles SE
26.57 miles NE
27.24 miles NE
28.17 miles NE
28.28 miles SE
37.26 miles SE
-Other Nearby Points-
Berret's
0.18 miles NE
La Trellis
0.36 miles NE
Seasons Cafe
0.38 miles NE
College Of William And M
0.39 miles NW
Williamsburg Inn
0.61 miles SE
Regency Dining Room
0.65 miles NE
Carter'S Grove Plantat
0.73 miles NW
The Cascades
0.98 miles NE
Colonial Williamsburg Fou
1.03 miles NE
Yorkshire Steak And Seafoo
1.07 miles NE
Gazebo House Of Pancakes
1.30 miles NW
Old Chickahominy House
1.50 miles SW
Prime Rib House
1.63 miles NW
Jefferson Inn
1.66 miles NW
Aberdeen Barn - Williamsb
1.92 miles NW
Kyoto Japanese Steak And
1.95 miles NW
That Seafood Place
1.99 miles NW
Colonial National Histor
2.23 miles NE
Kitchen At Powhatan
2.82 miles W
Water Country Usa
3.02 miles E
Whaling Company
3.11 miles SE
Le Yaca
3.13 miles SE
Kingsmill Resort
3.22 miles SE
Super Wal-Mart
I-64 Exit 234A;234
731 E Rochambeau Rd
3.29 miles NE
Giuseppe'S - Williamsburg
3.38 miles NW
Busch Gardens, Williamsb
3.76 miles SE
The Dining Room At Ford'
4.67 miles NW
Ford'S Colony
4.85 miles NW
Jamestown Settlement
4.91 miles SW
Cheatham Annex Rec Area
6.33 miles NE
Williamsburg Brass Shop
6.84 miles NW
Williamsburg Pottery Fact
7.14 miles NW
Williamsburg Soap And Can
8.16 miles NW
York River State Park
8.42 miles N
Chippokes Plantation Stat
8.53 miles S
Fort Eustis
10.28 miles SE
Yorktown Victory Center
10.39 miles SE
Nick'S Seafood Pavilion
10.98 miles E
Gloucester Rv Sales & S
11.25 miles NE
Bacon'S Castle
11.41 miles S
Chintana'S Inc
13.74 miles SE
Rj'S Restaurant & Spo
13.89 miles SE
Super Wal-Mart
12401 Jefferson Ave
14.72 miles SE
Sams Club 12407 Jefferson Ave (Located To Street)
14.72 miles SE
Super Wal-Mart
6819 Waltons Ln
14.84 miles NE
Herman'S Harbor House -
16.48 miles SE
Virginia
Williamsburg
Most Recently Reviewed
Anvil Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2014-08-12 03:17:35
6 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Williamsburg, Virginia
Camp Information
Sites
105
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$49



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   10   6   7   10   9   10   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$49
Rate with Good Sam discount. Enjoyed this park very much and would rate it higher except the ladies' restroom/shower did not appear to be cleaned during our four night stay (same bits of paper, leaves, elastic hair bands, etc remained on floors along with dirt for days). Otherwise, we liked it a lot for the very large green space for dog walking and the full facilities such as propane. The attractive premium sites with grills would be fun to book for cooking together if you were traveling with friends. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$49
Have been here several times in recent years. Each time is a better experience. They do offer "premier" sites that have patios, table, chairs and umbrella with a gas grill, on each end of the rows. Those on the far end are located on the opposite side of the RV. Earlier this year, they paved all the roads in the park. This was a great change from the dust that used to come from the roads. We arrived after hours and our site assignment was on the board. Driving down to the site, we found someone else already on the site and had been there for some time. The adjacent site was empty so we drove back to the office to confirm no one else was scheduled to arrive that evening for that site. We set up and checked in with the office in the morning to inform them of the error. They offer a huge "Hippo slide" for kids and family at an additional cost. The pool is of descent side but can get crowded easily on warm day. A clock in this area would be a great addition. New playground equipment too. The road leading into the park is very narrow from the main road, and if you dont look closely, you could easily drive by. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$49
We were in row 4. We had a concrete pad and it was very level, hence, a very easy set up when we got here. Staff is friendly. Rest rooms were clean, laundry room was adequate. No activities for kids, but they have a pool and a giant inflatable slide. We would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for American Heritage RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
35
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$55



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   8   8   9   7   4   8   8   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$55
This was a great experience. The facilities are very clean and most sites have tree coverage. The kids had a great time in the pool and around the camp. The staff and campers were very friendly. The camp is very close to all of the sites in the area. There are train track next to the park but that was not really an issue. Loved it an would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$55
This was our second visit to Anvil, and we loved it as much as the first time. The sites are close, but adequate. There is a nice tree canopy over most of the campgrounds, and the staff is the friendliest you will ever meet. Everything is clean and well cared for. The pool is small, but so is the campground, so it is never too crowded, and we all have a great time meeting new friends here. It is located close to everything going on in the area, so there is noise from the major roadways. There is also a freight train that runs right along the campground a few times a day. This doesn't bother us, and will not deter us from returning again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$26
The rate cited is the Passport America rate. The location of this campground is wonderful. It is only a couple of miles from downtown, historic Williamsburg. The check-in was very friendly and fast. We had a nice, wide, level site and the Internet reception was amazingly fast. However, if you don't like to listen to trains, this may not be for you. After about 3-4 hours of hearing them, we didn't even pay attention to them. Great campground and will use it again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Anvil Campground
Camp Information
Sites
161
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$46



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   6   8   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$46
What a sweet park! We had a site right where the river bends and it provided a fantastic view. The campground has a system of lights on the utility pole which is much lower than we usually see. It was much appreciated as it provides lighting for security but isn't blaring in your eyes at night. We only stayed two days and I wish we could have stayed longer to rent a canoe or kayak. There is a golf driving range right as you enter the park as well. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$30
A lovely park on the banks of the Chickahominy River. Unfortunately due to the amount of tall vegetation it is hard to see the water from the water front sites. We did not pay the extra $12 PER night for sewer hook-up so we did not have a water view. I think the rates are rather high since cable and WiFi is not included. Even though we had a huge tree on our site we were able to get satellite service and over the air reception. Lots of fisherman putting in at the ramp since there is a big tournament starting on Thursday but they were not intrusive. Will agree with a previous poster that the roads need attention; lots of potholes. Also the dump area needs attention. Very muddy place. Doesn't seem very sanitary. It needs to be surrounded by cement. We would probably stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2012
$43
On the positive side the location is great for visiting Williamsburg and the colonial triangle. Be wary of the weekends. There can be rowdy fisherman and lots of kids and there can be a lot of commotion. During the week in the fall it was very nice and quiet. We had a nice water view. But the roads need improvement and the site hookups can be strange. There is no cable and it was difficult to get a satellite signal due to the trees. We had to pay the nonresident price so without cable and without Wi-Fi and the weird hookups the price seemed excessive. There is a great bike trail nearby. If you are bringing a boat, this would be a good place to come. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Chickahominy Riverfront Park
Camp Information
Sites
370
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$70



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   6   5   9   9   10   8   5   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  question  yes  yes  no  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$70
This KOA is one of the nicer ones we have been at. All their facilities were clean and the staff was very friendly. We were located next to the main road and the office, no road noise to speak of as traffic is light. I gave it a nine as our site was not one of the more level sites in the campground. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$67
We stayed in site D-43, which was a pull thru with patio, fire pit, and swing. It was a very clean and well put together campground, with great amenities. The staff was extremely friendly. The park itself is close to all the tourist sites and they sell tickets in the office. We would stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2014
$73
I would've rated this campground higher if they had paid just a little more attention to detail. Perhaps April is a little early in their season to stay here because they didn't seem ready. The cabin we stayed in was dirty when we arrived and the park in general was in need of some TLC. The campground store offered little outside of souvenirs but there is a Wal-Mart located a short drive from here. Camp staff was very friendly and accommodating. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.
Display older reviews for Williamsburg KOA
Camp Information
Sites
550
Date of Stay
October 2010
Latest Rate
$39



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   2   2   2   6   8   6   3   6   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  question  yes  no  question  no  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  question  yes  no  question  no  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2010
$39
I completely agree with the previous reviews, although we never saw one staff person the entire weekend. We got here at night, there were no instructions about what to do, no campground rules given. It was like this park was abandoned! The pool was closed (since it was October) but it was VERY obvious it was really run down. The whole campground was overgrown. Tried to take my daughter to the "park" which consisted of one metal slide. The other "park" we found was two swings that looked like they were going to fall over, and one more metal slide. The whole place was in horrible disrepair. We noticed on the third day that there was/is a putt-putt golf course inside a fence, but it looked like it hadn't been used in about 40 years. There were scraps of what looked like putt-putt grass and concrete, but no way could anyone ever play here. It was a real shame. They have a great location, but it looked like everyone had given up ten years ago. The only evidence that it was still being run/owned by someone, was the electric on our site was turned on! If they would put some money in to this park, it could be nice. We saw two permanent trailers here. They looked as if the health department needed to be called. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2010
$37
The small staff here is wonderful. There is a man and woman who take care of everything here and they seem to do what they can with what they have been given. The owners are doing this place a huge disservice as it has great potential. We never stayed here before, but wanted to try it as other campgrounds were so much more expensive. But you get what you pay for!! The place is run down and overgrown, and the pool was not in good shape at all, as one ladder was broken and had yellow caution tape around it. Bathrooms were clean, I guess, but looked pretty old and gross because I think they can't be cleaned anymore than they were. The biggest concern for us were the other campers. There seemed to be many people who stay there on weekends frequently and were not very nice people to be around. Many teenagers roamed with free rein and were cursing and being rude while I was swimming with my two young children. My kids were upset, but I had to leave the pool after only 30 minutes because of the teens. So the amenities were not even useful to us. Then, there were people who set off fireworks right behind our RV for an hour after dark because we were next to an open field. Guess they figured that meant it was OK for them to do that next to us! If the owners were to put work into this place and beef up security, it could be a great alternative in a quiet, but central location. It is a real shame that this place has become so dilapidated. We will NOT stay again unless something major changes. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2010
$38
We first camped here in the late 80's and had a wonderful time in our little two person tent! The staff was wonderful, the bathrooms were nice and clean and the swimming pool was refreshing and clean. Let's jump forward to 2010. The place looks like it has not had a coat of paint since the late 80's, the children's pool looked like a biohazard, with it's slightly odoriferous milky white water. The upper shower offered cold to almost, but not quite, tepid water. The staff was still friendly, just never present to run the camp store. They weren't loafing; it just seemed everything to do was left to two hardworking men. We had no problem getting a site in the choicest campsites during Memorial Day weekend, and that alone should have clued me in to this disaster of a campground. My guess is the person who ran this campground twenty years ago is no longer taking care of it. Last trip to this one for us. Easily a grade of F, based on cost versus amenities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Williamsburg Pottery Campground
Camp Information
Sites
149
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$65



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   7   6   8   8   8   7   8   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  yes  question  question  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  yes  question  question  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$65
This is a fractional ownership park. It is associated with Thousand Trails. I made the reservation through ReserveAmerica and thought it was a state park, my mistake. There are lots of people, kids, dogs etc. They have lots of organized activities too. So if this is your thing, this might be your park. For what we got (full hookups) I felt the nightly rate was really high. We camped in the quiet section and it was, although a long way from the pool or other facilities, even the trash container. There are lots of park models here too. The reason we came here is because we wanted to be close to Williamsburg so we could spend the day there, as it turned out Williamsburg is about 15 miles away. I would not camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$20
This was a good campground for the money - our daily rate was based on our RPI membership. The park was busy on the weekend prior to Halloween, with many cars sitting close to the internal roads - which were paved and very narrow. Sites were dirt, spacing fairly tight and many were not level, as previously noted. We were happy when the friendly office staff urged us to select a site we liked when we arrived, and we found one (B43) that didn't even require our jacks. A combination must be entered to open the entry gate, which we liked. The 50-amp electrical was strong, but water pressure was a bit low at 30 psi. Each site also had sewer, a BBQ stand and a fire pit. There was some distant noise from highway 64, but not bothersome at our location in the middle of the park. We were not able to check out the restrooms, showers or laundry room due to our short stay and busy schedule. A grocery store was located within 2.5 miles, and a Walmart Supercenter at 5 miles. Access to Old Williamsburg, Yorktown and Jamestown was very good from the campground. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$1
The rate reflects membership in Thousand Trails. Overall, the park is okay. It is older and you can tell it is past it's prime. The location is good with easy access to the Interstate. We camped here in a 42 ft fifth wheel. We came in late, but were able to find a site that could accommodate our length. However, the majority of sites are not level. The bathroom condition varies from building to building. The staff was friendly and helpful to us. The outdoor pool was closed for the season, but the indoor pool was open. My kids swam for a short while and liked it, but I was not thrilled with it. They did have a 9 hole putt putt course and to my surprise it was in good condition and fun. We would stay here again if returning for a short trip. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Williamsburg, Outdoor World
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com