220689 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Wytheville, Virginia (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
15.15 miles SE
18.95 miles NE
20.70 miles SW
21.69 miles SE
23.15 miles SE
24.86 miles SW
24.95 miles NE
26.91 miles NW
28.24 miles SW
28.48 miles SW
29.43 miles SE
-Other Nearby Points-
Super Wal-Mart
345 Commonwealth Dr
1.36 miles NW
Log House
1.36 miles NE
76 Travel Ctr
I-77 X41
1.85 miles NE
Flying J
I-77 X80
3.58 miles E
Big Walker Mountain - App
7.68 miles NE
Max Meadows (Wytheville)
11.41 miles E
Virginia
Wytheville
Most Recently Reviewed
Fort Chiswell RV Park
Latest Review Submited On
2014-09-09 01:54:59
5 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Wytheville, Virginia
Camp Information
Sites
64
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   10   10   5   6   5   6   6   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  question  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$34
Although this campground is very nice, I still enjoy some amenities and I look for them. Once we arrived, in the pouring rain, we settled in and with nothing much to do, tried our TV. No signal, and there is no cable hook up. We were promised Wifi, but that signal is very, very weak atour campsite, which was D-2. And the cell signal for our phones is awful. (That you can't bame on the CG). This is a very nice, small park, with a stream running thru it. It lies just on the fringe of the National Forest, so it is very secluded and surrounded by nature. We arrived on a Monday for just one night and didn't see many children, although there seems to be a lot of things for kids to do. The Rec Room was pretty neat, open air with pool table and tables for relaxation. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$38
Clean, pleasant campground. Gravel roads and campsites. Site was level without need for leveling jacks. Swimming pool was open until 11:00 PM to allow late arrivals an opportunity to use all facilities. Good service from staff. We stayed only one night but wished we had more time to spend there. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$33
My family and I love this Campground! It is a great get away from our everyday busy life. Our children love it here, and it is a very family friendly atmosphere. Also the owners do a great job with keeping it clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Deer Trail Park Campground
Camp Information
Sites
92
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   6   8   7   9   7   7   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  question  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  question  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$32
Very accessible RV park from I-81. Exactly what we were looking for for an overnight stay. Mostly pull-through sites. Ours had a concrete pad. Minimal (nonexistent) privacy between sites. Very clean washrooms. Friendly staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$33
We stayed here 2 nights. Very friendly staff. Level site, quiet, shaded. Will stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2014
$34
Camped in 45 foot motor home. Interior roads and site drives are mostly gravel with some having cement pads. Easy to access sites. Free Wi-Fi was very fast. Satellite TV was possible from many sites, but trees blocked some. Free cable was available. Verizon cell phone had 4 bars. Easy access from I-77/81 with almost no traffic noise. Very friendly office staff. Easy in and out. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Fort Chiswell RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
82
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   7   10   7   6   9   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  no  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2014
$30
Long uphill entry. Once in and past office the road is an absolute dust bowl. Sites are long and there is a lot of room between sites. However, the actual parking area is extremely narrow and not level side to side. Put pads down and jacks pushed them into the gravel/dirt, almost had wheels off ground, now sitting un-level. Wi-Fi seems good, cable a lot of channels but fuzzy. Not certain if we would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$28
This campground has a lot of potential, and a few drawbacks. The sites are extremely large and are mostly pull-throughs. The river that runs around the campground is nice, and our dogs loved going for a swim in it every day. The tent sites along the river looked nice, and there was a very large field where we could walk the dogs. The staff was friendly and helpful. One drawback is the campground's proximity to I-81, just a few hundred yards away. The noise from the highway was audible day and night. We stayed for a week, and for most of that time the campground felt like a ghost town. Most of the sites had an RV in them (seasonal, I assume), but we rarely saw another person - the RVs were just parked there. That did however mean that the Wi-Fi worked quite well during the week! The seasonals did start coming during the weekend, making for a more interactive environment (and slower Wi-Fi). The trees in the sites are still young and small so the campground does feel somewhat like a parking lot. In a few years when the trees are bigger, the sites will feel more cozy. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$33
Beautiful spacious campground. Owners are friendly. Everyone welcomes you. Nice creek to swim in. Great rates. We will always stay here from now on when in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Pioneer Village Campground
Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
July 2012
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$22
Stony Fork Campground is the perfect place to go for quiet and solitude! No DTV signal, but cell reception is good. Very generous sized sites, beautifully shaded, showers clean, camp hosts very helpful and polite. Stream winds through, but this is a flash flood area- sign posted at entrance. I highly recommend this campground for peace, quiet, and solitude. It's so beautiful and convenient to the interstate. Downtown Wytheville is only 9 miles away; all services available in town. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$12
We stayed here for one night so we booked the campground's one pull-thru site (#007 or just 7) online. When we got there Tuesday afternoon there were only 6 other campers in the campground. Next time I think we'd take our chances on registering at the campground and save the $9 online registration fee. This park doesn't seem to be used much, but all the roads and sites were paved. Some sites are very level and other will need some blocks. The stream is stocked with trout, and some sites are right next to the water. The sites are very long and some very wide all with tables, fire rings and hanging poles. We would stay here again and for a longer time. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$22
For a national park campground, it was surprisingly nice. We stayed on a weekday and it was empty. While limited on the number of sites with water and electricity for hook up, we were able to find one without a problem, and it was level, too! The campground was nice and bathrooms were small but clean enough. The trees and forest were amazing. The dump station was easy in/out for a larger motorhome. Definitely a great place to say. Stream was very low in water so fishing was not good. Very close to I-77 also. Great place. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Stony Fork Campground
Camp Information
Sites
115
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   4   9   7   7   9   7   8   9   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  question  question  yes  question  question  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  question  question  yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2013
$45
What to say, first we reserved two sites next to each other so we could camp awning to awning. We were given site numbers with our reservations. When we got there, the campground had four units in it but our site was given away. So they stuck us in two tight sites that were all dirt. WiFi dropped out all the time and some of the staff was rude and others were great. Luck of the draw depending on your need. Playground for the grand kids was just OK. They did like the sluice but that is 7-10 dollars a bag so keep on adding is in place again. The arcade was nice since it rained all weekend and we had the only kids. The batting cage was a value the rest the normal ripoff. Will not stay there again but it is a fine place for an overnight if you are traveling thru. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2013
$42
They are apparently under new ownership as evidenced by all their PR materials. This place has fallen considerably since the last time we stayed here 2 years ago. Then the grounds were immaculate and the bathrooms spotless. This year, there was bare ground where beautiful landscaping/flowers once were. The bathrooms and showers were absolutely filthy. Granted we stayed here on 7/6, the Saturday after the 4th, so it was very busy. You had your typical "holiday" campers in the park with little to no respect for other people's sites. We never hold that against a campground as they can't control people's manners/etc. What we do hold campground's accountable for is cleanliness. When we checked in I counted 4 staff members sitting around a desk off to the side eating while a young male sat next to the check-in counter eating out of a styrofoam take out container using a cooler or something as a table. The young lady checked us in quickly and was nice enough. I remarked to my wife that there was plenty of help in the park, maybe for the holiday occupancy pressure. Throughout the evening we watched them ride around on golf carts and a John Deere Gator, assuming they were really taking care of the facilities. That was until we walked into the bathrooms. The upper bathhouse was deplorable according to my wife as she took our daughter up there. We assumed that it was because of it being near the tents and there being a LARGE group of kids (probably late teens/early 20's) sleeping in tents operating out of a box trailer and it being nearly impossible to keep on top of it. The next morning, however, we went to the bathhouse connected to the office. It was deplorable as well. Cigarette butts on the floor, toilet paper on the floor, the trashcan overflowing and used washrags left on the floor of the shower stalls. They also apparently maintain their once a day cleaning schedule. This obviously works in the off season, but when you have pressure of a holiday weekend, you need to clean more often. They had plenty of people in KOA uniforms standing/riding around; apparently none of them were the cleaning staff. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$40
This park is off the highway so it is nice and quiet. The sites are gravel with full hookups, a picnic table and cable TV. There is a pool and a Family Run Center for kids. The office building includes a store, TV room, a laundry room and a bath house. The park is an older KOA so for the $40 rate including tax and using our KOA Camp Card for a 30 amp site it is a little overpriced. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Wytheville KOA
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com