206876 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Hoodsport, Washington (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
10.05 miles N
13.87 miles NE
14.38 miles SE
14.38 miles SE
22.65 miles NE
29.86 miles SW
31.28 miles SE
31.93 miles SE
-Other Nearby Points-
Hoodsport
0.91 miles E
AOR2224
0.99 miles SW
Dow Creek Resort-2670 N Lake Cushman Rd
1.07 miles W
Rpi- Wa Dow Creek Estates(Sunrise) (Approx) I-5 South Exit 104 To Hwy 101 To Hoodsport Take Cushman Rd To 119 For 2.7 Miles Then Right Hoodsport
1.90 miles NW
Aor Rpip C2C Hoodsport Wa - Dow Creek
2.26 miles NW
Potlatch State Park
2.40 miles SE
Eldon
10.92 miles NE
Wal-Mart
100 E Wallace Kneeland Blvd
12.18 miles S
Little Creek West 91 Hwy. 108 Shelton Wa 98584 360-427-7711 (Located To Zip)
12.65 miles S
Shelton
13.54 miles SE
Washington
Hoodsport
Most Recently Reviewed
Glen Ayr RV Park & Motel
Latest Review Submited On
2013-07-28 21:32:22
6 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Hoodsport, Washington
Camp Information
Sites
25
Date of Stay
August 2006
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2006
$10
This is a forest service campground located in dense trees and ground foliage approx. 8 1/2 miles north of Hoodsport up the 119. They list the length limit at 30 feet but we're 35' and towing and had no problem getting in and parking our car(site # 11). The interior road is dirt/gravel and very dusty when a car drives by. We were here on a friday early afternoon and there were only a few people camping. By Saturday afternoon the place was full with people speeding in and out of the campground. There is no garbage service here but they do have water. We only noticed one restroom and that was located at the end of the campground loop. It's close to Lake Cushman where there is fishing/boating, hiking, swimming. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
82
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
question
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
question
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$35
This park has changed its name to Skokomish park and has been bought by the Skokomish Indian Tribe and reopened. Nice shady sites close to the water, full hookups and nice clean sites. They have added a theatre and have movies at night, cars 2 was playing when we went, we didn't go watch though. The rangers are very helpful and checked on us at least 5 times when we were there for only two days to see if we needed anything. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$26
Nice quiet park. Contract managed, but owned by Tacoma Public Utilities. There is a very good swimming hole off the colder deeper lake, trails for walking, and it is not far from either Staircase or Hoodsport. Sites do not drain well in wet weather, but the parking pads stay above the high water mark. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
94
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   7   7   8   9   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$40
Park host available and friendly. We have stayed here every year since 2005 so have seen improvements. Sites are good size, generally not very level, but have good separation. The showers have been, and continue to be, a disaster. A bit has been done with painting but as they say, you can't put lipstick on a pig. They now accept non-club members but at $40 per night they put themselves in competition with several local parks with nicer facilities on the canal. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$14
Rate of $14 included $10 RPI, $3 “resort” fee and tax. This campground definitely has it’s good points and not so good points. Good ~ well forested with lots of mature trees – gives a feel of a state park; sites are large and private; very quiet; clean, but rundown; staff (the one guy we spoke to) was nice; sites have picnic tables and fire pits. Not so Good ~ the “clubhouse” is an old, musty single-wide trailer that just gives off an “icky” feel; the dump station (not all sites are full-hook ups) is nearly impossible to get to – a narrow road outside of the main campground that has huge potholes and standing water. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$12
The rate is for Coast To Coast plus $2. for cable. The staff were friendly but not very knowledgeable about the area. Many sites will take large rigs. They are 2 or 3 pull thrus. There is a lot of shade. 20 sites have full hook ups with 50 amp electric and cable TV. The roads are paved and the sites are dirt with little gravel. Most sites are very wide with lots of vegetation and trees between them. It has the feeling of a state park try lay out. Our Verizon Air Card and phone worked well here. If they installed Wi-Fi and put down gravel on their sites we would rate this an 8. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Dow Creek Resort
Camp Information
Sites
38
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   6   7   8   9   10   10   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$36
We stayed here one weeknight in late July. We were here 4 years ago. We had a FHU back-in site. The back-ins can be difficult due to their length, utility placement, and not being perfectly level. I had to use one board. The cable TV was 60+ channels, and many sites are satellite friendly. The WIFI worked well for us but that may be because the park was less than half full. As others have noted there is an indoor spa, a large dock across the road (US 101), plus access to the beach (at low tide). If you are not here for the boating and fishing, there is nothing to do here. You can't even go for a walk because the highway does not have adequate shoulder room to walk along the road. Even though it was not full when we were there, this is a small, popular park so I would advise reservations in season. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
We enjoyed our stay at this park. Campground is on hill overlooking Hood Canal, part of Puget Sound. Dock with benches across the road is part of resort. Hoodsport is just a mile south with the entrance road to Staircase area of Olympic National Park. Several state park beaches not far away. The only complaint was that our pull through site put our motor home at its limit to get level. We had a neighbor who was unable to level his motor home. Highway 101 is busy during the day but nights were really quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$45
Nice clean park. It has a spa and a dock across the highway on the hood canal. My son found the fishing to be very, very good from the dock. He caught more than 12 fish in a couple days. The park is very expensive though, one reason I down rated it. And the Wi-Fi is weak away from the office building. This is also the wrong side of Olympic NP to explore it. Get a campground on the North or West side for that. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Glen Ayr RV Park & Motel
Camp Information
Sites
37
Date of Stay
August 2006
Latest Rate
$21



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2006
$21
This is a small State Park in the Olympic National Forest system. There are 37 campsites, of which 18 are utility (30/50) sites, 17 are tent sites, and 2 are for bikers/hikers. This park does not take reservations, it's first come, first serve. It was August, mid-week (Wednesday), and I arrived around 11:00 AM. Campground was half-full, with only a few utility spots available. By Thursday, it was full (and kind of noisy!!!)! The camping spaces are "crammed" together. There are lots of trees for good shade, but you can still look out your window and wave to your neighboring camper. Some of the utility slots are back-in, and some are "half-circles" (try "bending" your RV around that slot!). If your RV is larger than 30 feet, you may not fit in any of the utility spaces, let alone trying to get into them! The driving road through the camping area is narrow and runs up and down hill in a circle with sharp curves. I had a back-in spot, but trying to back in was laborious. Fortunately, a very nice young boy from the neighboring camping spot offered to help me get in. The utility sites have an adequate place to pitch a tent next to your RV, and a fire-pit and picnic table. TV reception via antenna is adequate, not perfect, but adequate. There are hiking trails, and there is a beach across the highway. Next door to the park is a public RV resort with a laundromat, but I'm not sure if you're "allowed" to use the laundromat if you are staying at the State Park. I stayed two nights. If you leave your windows open while sleeping, you will hear the traffic on US Highway 101, even at 3:00 AM! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
92
Date of Stay
September 2012
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   7   1   7   6   3   6   8   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  question  no  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2012
$34
The park was clean but old and in need of upgrades. Lots of year round residents. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$40
This park comes across as somewhat shabby. Of what appears to have been a fairly thriving diverse enterprise only the RV park was operating when we visited. We had a water side site which had a 50 amp and a 20 amp service. The 20 amp did not function. The cable and WIFI worked better than many places we have stayed. The water side sites are a little tight but paved, level and clean. We enjoyed the view. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2012
$38
The Rest-A-While should be put to rest. It is a big time "has been" place. Website looked good with waterfront sites, fresh fish market, marina, drive-in food, private clam and oyster beach, etc. When we arrived, we found that everything except the park's sites were closed up. Even the beach was posted as not safe because of some parasite infestation. They took a $20 deposit on even a fire pit, then didn't open the office until 10 am, which is after most rigs have left, thus, leaving the $20 for them. They charged our daughter and husband $7.00 per day per kid (they have 4), so that left a poor taste right there. Our sites were very old, but were overlooking the beautiful Hood Canal, which we did enjoy. All around, though, we won't return. This place is really an old relic that is all but dead. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Rest-a-While RV Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com