215244 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Hoodsport, Washington (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
10.05 miles N
13.87 miles NE
14.38 miles SE
14.38 miles SE
22.65 miles NE
29.86 miles SW
31.28 miles SE
31.93 miles SE
-Other Nearby Points-
Hoodsport
0.91 miles E
AOR2224
0.99 miles SW
Dow Creek Resort-2670 N Lake Cushman Rd
1.07 miles W
Rpi- Wa Dow Creek Estates(Sunrise) (Approx) I-5 South Exit 104 To Hwy 101 To Hoodsport Take Cushman Rd To 119 For 2.7 Miles Then Right Hoodsport
1.90 miles NW
Aor Rpip C2C Hoodsport Wa - Dow Creek
2.26 miles NW
Potlatch State Park
2.40 miles SE
Eldon
10.92 miles NE
Wal-Mart
100 E Wallace Kneeland Blvd
12.18 miles S
Little Creek West 91 Hwy. 108 Shelton Wa 98584 360-427-7711 (Located To Zip)
12.65 miles S
Shelton
13.54 miles SE
Washington
Hoodsport
Most Recently Reviewed
Rest-a-While RV Park
Latest Review Submited On
2014-07-21 19:04:35
6 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Hoodsport, Washington
Camp Information
Sites
25
Date of Stay
August 2006
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2006
$10
This is a forest service campground located in dense trees and ground foliage approx. 8 1/2 miles north of Hoodsport up the 119. They list the length limit at 30 feet but we're 35' and towing and had no problem getting in and parking our car(site # 11). The interior road is dirt/gravel and very dusty when a car drives by. We were here on a friday early afternoon and there were only a few people camping. By Saturday afternoon the place was full with people speeding in and out of the campground. There is no garbage service here but they do have water. We only noticed one restroom and that was located at the end of the campground loop. It's close to Lake Cushman where there is fishing/boating, hiking, swimming. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
82
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
question
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
question
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$35
This park has changed its name to Skokomish park and has been bought by the Skokomish Indian Tribe and reopened. Nice shady sites close to the water, full hookups and nice clean sites. They have added a theatre and have movies at night, cars 2 was playing when we went, we didn't go watch though. The rangers are very helpful and checked on us at least 5 times when we were there for only two days to see if we needed anything. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$26
Nice quiet park. Contract managed, but owned by Tacoma Public Utilities. There is a very good swimming hole off the colder deeper lake, trails for walking, and it is not far from either Staircase or Hoodsport. Sites do not drain well in wet weather, but the parking pads stay above the high water mark. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
94
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$12



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   5   7   7   8   9   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$12
The park is shaded and beautiful. The recreation center has a dank, old, mildew smell. The few furnishings are very old and decrepit. Although the bathrooms are clean, they are also old and in need of updating. Many sites don't have a sewer connection. There isn't a sewer dump. Instead, departing rigs must find an empty site with a sewer connection and use it to empty tanks. The first one we tried to use backed up and we were stuck with sewage in the hose and no where to dump it. Bottom line - although this resort is in a gorgeous setting it desperately needs a makeover. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$40
Park host available and friendly. We have stayed here every year since 2005 so have seen improvements. Sites are good size, generally not very level, but have good separation. The showers have been, and continue to be, a disaster. A bit has been done with painting but as they say, you can't put lipstick on a pig. They now accept non-club members but at $40 per night they put themselves in competition with several local parks with nicer facilities on the canal. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$14
Rate of $14 included $10 RPI, $3 “resort” fee and tax. This campground definitely has it’s good points and not so good points. Good ~ well forested with lots of mature trees – gives a feel of a state park; sites are large and private; very quiet; clean, but rundown; staff (the one guy we spoke to) was nice; sites have picnic tables and fire pits. Not so Good ~ the “clubhouse” is an old, musty single-wide trailer that just gives off an “icky” feel; the dump station (not all sites are full-hook ups) is nearly impossible to get to – a narrow road outside of the main campground that has huge potholes and standing water. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Dow Creek Resort
Camp Information
Sites
38
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   7   9   6   7   8   9   10   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$38
Stayed 10 days and could not have been more pleased. Had the Rest-a-while R.V been set up nearly as wel,l we would have stayed; as it were it lacks every thing. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$36
We stayed here one weeknight in late July. We were here 4 years ago. We had a FHU back-in site. The back-ins can be difficult due to their length, utility placement, and not being perfectly level. I had to use one board. The cable TV was 60+ channels, and many sites are satellite friendly. The WIFI worked well for us but that may be because the park was less than half full. As others have noted there is an indoor spa, a large dock across the road (US 101), plus access to the beach (at low tide). If you are not here for the boating and fishing, there is nothing to do here. You can't even go for a walk because the highway does not have adequate shoulder room to walk along the road. Even though it was not full when we were there, this is a small, popular park so I would advise reservations in season. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
We enjoyed our stay at this park. Campground is on hill overlooking Hood Canal, part of Puget Sound. Dock with benches across the road is part of resort. Hoodsport is just a mile south with the entrance road to Staircase area of Olympic National Park. Several state park beaches not far away. The only complaint was that our pull through site put our motor home at its limit to get level. We had a neighbor who was unable to level his motor home. Highway 101 is busy during the day but nights were really quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Glen Ayr RV Park & Motel
Camp Information
Sites
37
Date of Stay
August 2006
Latest Rate
$21



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2006
$21
This is a small State Park in the Olympic National Forest system. There are 37 campsites, of which 18 are utility (30/50) sites, 17 are tent sites, and 2 are for bikers/hikers. This park does not take reservations, it's first come, first serve. It was August, mid-week (Wednesday), and I arrived around 11:00 AM. Campground was half-full, with only a few utility spots available. By Thursday, it was full (and kind of noisy!!!)! The camping spaces are "crammed" together. There are lots of trees for good shade, but you can still look out your window and wave to your neighboring camper. Some of the utility slots are back-in, and some are "half-circles" (try "bending" your RV around that slot!). If your RV is larger than 30 feet, you may not fit in any of the utility spaces, let alone trying to get into them! The driving road through the camping area is narrow and runs up and down hill in a circle with sharp curves. I had a back-in spot, but trying to back in was laborious. Fortunately, a very nice young boy from the neighboring camping spot offered to help me get in. The utility sites have an adequate place to pitch a tent next to your RV, and a fire-pit and picnic table. TV reception via antenna is adequate, not perfect, but adequate. There are hiking trails, and there is a beach across the highway. Next door to the park is a public RV resort with a laundromat, but I'm not sure if you're "allowed" to use the laundromat if you are staying at the State Park. I stayed two nights. If you leave your windows open while sleeping, you will hear the traffic on US Highway 101, even at 3:00 AM! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
92
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
no
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   1   2   1   1   5   7   1   7   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  no  no  no  yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  no  no  no  yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2014
$45
Our Group had shown up the 15th of July small and had to wait 45 minutes for the New Asian Owner to decide to finally show up to check us in. Now it has been 10 years since our group had visited this R.V Park and the old management was still the owner then. Had we known it had changed hands and known about the sad conditions of the place we certainly would have stayed some where else. The new owner has an issue understanding the English language, he also needs to be more respectable to those that rent from him, there are no set rules to the place any longer just the ones he decides to enforce when he chooses. The camp grounds were in terrible condition, old and tired to say the least, some folks that were farther in the back were both loud and rude. Most of the trailers there were either very old Mobile Homes, or shabby older R.V's one person who has potted plants clustered around the front of his Older dingy 5th wheel in the back was extremely rude and nosy while we stayed here. The Manger did not seem to know much about the running or the rules of the place though he did drive his flat bed truck around the place all hours of both night and day, I guess he thought he was acting as the places security guard. The female staff was not much help either when it came to aiding us with our electric issues which kept tripping the meter we were set up on. So all in all this once thriving R.V Park has fallen to its knees, old tired and out dated in both the internet as well as the electric, its new owner needs to put some money into restoring it to be able to attract future renters if he expects to ever recover half of the six hundred thousand he said he purchased it for. If I were to rate this place it would fall way below standards. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2014
$45
Was never so let down in a place that the Website lied about. First of all the entire place was so run down, the grounds were unbelievably shabby compared to the others we stayed at around the area. All the sites had very old electrical outlets and the Wi Fi was never reliable, we were for ever talking to a Man who referred to himself as the "Manger" that was walking around behind a Wheel Chair. He explained that the place had only just changed ownership and that there were going to be amazing changes this summer to up grade the grounds. We were upset about the two Pit bulls that were tethered to some old boat moorings they challenged our little dogs every time we walked around the landing. One day one of the dogs broke the rope it was tied to and charged one of our Members, I said something to the Man who proclaimed to be the Manger about this and he informed our group that nothing would be done about it because the Owner of the R.V Park was good friends of the people who owned the two dogs. The other side of this Camp Ground is larger than the waterside but it is in worse shape by far, how can someone who owns a R.V Park charge the rates he does when the place is so beat up and run down. Next to the Office is a very old and run down Motor Home that has a smaller R.V parked along side with a very rusted top, ( it appeared to not run ) this place stank of decay and liqueur. The one trailer next to it was not as bad but it to was clearly beat up also, is this a R.V Park or Mobile Home Park for the Homeless?. We did how ever notice one single smaller older Trailer up front that the person clearly cares enough to place a nice little wooden fence around it. This so called Rest a While R.V Park really needs to not worry so much about renting the place out until the Owner steps up and up grades it. We will not be back and will be informing many other Groups about the poor condition of the place. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2014
$45
This once great park has really fallen on hard times. I believe the new owner (As of Oct 2013) is trying to bring the park up, but its really needing a lot of TLC. Electrical issues on the water side needs to be addressed. The boxes are OLD and rusty. Some of our members had breakers go often. Talking with another RV group it appears this new owner is trying to restore it, but He needs to invest in the grounds big time. Needs to get rid of the "Full Timers" with seedy rigs and seedier jobs (IE Ladies of the night). I will wait for a year to see if it improves but as it sits now I doubt I will recommend the park. Especially with the Price they charge .. $45 a night water side and $40 a night park side is really steep for the condition its in. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Rest-a-While RV Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com