206669 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Horicon, Wisconsin (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
10.48 miles W
13.43 miles NW
16.91 miles SE
18.74 miles SW
20.85 miles NE
21.44 miles SW
24.56 miles NE
31.76 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
Super Wal-Mart
1645 N Spring St
9.88 miles NW
Wisconsin
Horicon
Most Recently Reviewed
The Playful Goose Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2013-08-10 23:14:41
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Horicon, Wisconsin
Camp Information
Sites
75
Date of Stay
September 2012
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$18
An out of the way park, signage to it not very good, but otherwise a pleasant surprise. Hiking trails have a view of the Horicon Marsh which is a must place to go to. Only down side is the 20 amp sites. Would stop here again without a doubt. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$18
We absolutely love this campground. The sites we had were nicely wooded and the play area was across the camp road. We had our family reunion here and the facilities were very nice and well kept. The bathrooms and showers were very clean, caretakers were very friendly and made sure guests were following rules. The trails are intriguing and show off beautiful scenery. We have stayed here 3 times and will continue to return. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$18
This is a nice county park. There are a few sites for big rigs, but check ahead and make a reservation. The electric is 20 amp only. Lots of shade and space to spread out. The park features nice hiking trails and playgrounds for the kids. The park is close to the Horicon Marsh and many other recreational activities including the Wild Goose Rail Trail for the cyclist. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
200
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   1   8   6   7   8   8   4   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  question  yes  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  question  yes  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$42
This is a very nice, peaceful campground. We decided to check it out for 3 weekends in a row, leaving the travel trailer on the site for the 2 weeks in between. We arrived and stopped at the office. We hadn't really decided on a site, so we went on a brief tour of the grounds. The sites are mostly on the large side. We settled on one near a creek bed and began to settle in. I noticed that the site had about the lowest voltage I'd ever seen on my monitoring device. After dark, a few more folks showed up and the voltage dropped under 100. Next morning we talked to the owner and he seemed to be disappointed that there was a problem. Didn't try to get me to tough it out like I was expecting. We found another site which tested out great except for a problem with the outlet wiring. Once that was corrected, we were looking good. Yes, there is a junkyard visible on the way in as others have said. But like many things that are ugly on the outside, this place is beautiful on the inside. It's also got a large (25 x 50) indoor pool, which is great for keeping the kids happy. Unfortunately that's all there really is for kids at this campground. I will return when it's time for a peaceful getaway without the kids. And I'm checking the circuits before I drop the tongue. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
This place is nothing more than a weed invested RV park in the middle of a junk yard. We planned to stay here 3 weeks but got a refund and left after 2 days. They don't do any weed eating the power on our space was screwed up. We will never be back. It is a shame because with just a little effort this could be a good park. They charge extra for everything. The only pluses were the abundance of wildlife and the meat store down the road. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$23
The other reviews have described the front of the facility, which is one mans collection of used RV's and cars and whatever else attracted him. Thus it truly looks like a junkyard. However, this may be my favorite campground ever. The sites are quite large and heavily wooded. One brother took us a tour of each site that might suit us for a more extended stay. The trees are old and huge, with spreading branches and weeping willows. Some border the Horicon Marsh. Many sites do not have sewer but it appears the use of a honey wagon is common in this state. Their PA reduction is on the base price, with w/e/s added onto that price. Their monthly and seasonal rate compares favorably with the two other campgrounds in the neighboring city. Do yourself a favor, ignore the front and enjoy the beautiful grounds. PS: there is also a parts shop, my husband required a wrench to use on the macerator, and the other brother has the special tool for $5. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Display older reviews for The Playful Goose Campground
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com