223488 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Yellowstone National Park, Wyoming (Air Miles)
-Other Nearby Points-
Mud Geysers (Hot)
5.08 miles NE
Gas Vents Southeast Of Mary Lake (Hot)
5.35 miles NW
Mud Volcano 131
5.37 miles NE
Hot Springs East Of Mary Lake (Hot)
5.40 miles NW
Sulphur Caldron 190
5.51 miles NE
Highland Hot Springs (Hot)
5.63 miles NW
Sulphur Springs 194
5.64 miles NE
Gas Vent East Of Mary Lake (Hot)
5.94 miles NW
Violet Springs (Hot)
6.21 miles NW
Ebro Springs 136
8.70 miles E
Warm Spring (Warm)
9.45 miles NE
Forest Springs (Hot)
9.58 miles NE
Hot Springs At Sulphur Hills 196
9.70 miles E
No Name 167
9.81 miles NE
Gas Vents (Hot)
9.84 miles NW
Vermilion Springs 140
9.99 miles E
Hot Springs On Bog Creek 199
10.27 miles NE
Potts Hot Spring Basin 203
10.32 miles SW
Hot Springs On Bog Creek 185
10.93 miles NE
West Thumb Geyser Basin 196
10.95 miles SW
West Thumb Geyser Basin 203
11.24 miles SW
Hot Springs On Upper Sour Creek 194
11.90 miles NE
Wolf Lake Springs 91
11.92 miles NW
Hot Spring On Moss Creek 115
12.85 miles NE
Geyser Springs Group 201
13.11 miles NW
Hot Springs At Sevenmile Hole 189
13.15 miles NE
Gibbon Hill Geyser 199
13.21 miles NW
Sevenmile Hole 154
13.56 miles NE
Echinus Geyser 185
13.59 miles NW
No Name 201
13.83 miles NW
Washburn Hot Springs 196
13.87 miles NE
No Name 192
13.91 miles NW
No Name 144
13.96 miles NW
Cistern Spring 199
14.23 miles NW
Horseshoe Spring 187
14.52 miles NW
Josephs Coat Springs 199
14.76 miles NE
Gas Vent (Hot)
15.48 miles NW
Roadside Springs, Frying Pan Spring 158
15.95 miles NW
Coffee Pot Hot Springs 196
16.17 miles NE
Bijah Spring 198
16.57 miles NW
Whiterock Springs 144
16.80 miles NW
Wyoming
Yellowstone National Park
Most Recently Reviewed
Bridge Bay Campground (NPS Campground)
Latest Review Submited On
2014-10-14 21:08:51
12 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Yellowstone National Park, Wyoming
Camp Information
Sites
432
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$11



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   7   7   8   8   10   5   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  no  question  no  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$11
Rate reflects senior discount. This is a nice base from which to explore the central part of Yellowstone National Park. The sites are level and reasonably spaced. We had plenty of room for our small truck camper, but big rigs had trouble with some of the sites, even pull-throughs. I watched one guy spend three hours getting his fifth wheel parked the way he wanted it. The restrooms are modern and clean. Camp hosts are very helpful. To shower, you have to go over to the RV park at Fishing Bridge. Lots of showers there and they are clean. The national park is the big attraction, of course, and it's magnificent. It's so large that, as others have said, we would stay in several different campgrounds if we came again. We found this campground to be a bit noisy. The biggest negative: One day while we were out exploring in the camper, someone took the steps and doormat we had left behind at the campsite. Fortunately, we took our camp chairs with us. We camped here in a Truck Camper.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$22
Typical National Park camping so we know what to expect and there were no disappointments. It appears pretty rough terrain for tents with no designated tent pads. So for anyone tenting, depending on your site, it could be a pretty bumpy and unlevel sleep. This is one of the few reservable campgrounds in the park so it's easily overlooked for tenters. We camped here in a Truck Camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$11
Rate reflects senior NP pass. Sites are Very tight for RV. 30 foot RV really didn't fit and had to back in to site from it's exit point. I could not make the 'turn' of the pull-through. Site was very unlevel as well. Really set up more for tents. I agree with previous post. Should camp at each 'area' of this vast place and see the sites in that 'area' then move to another campsite. Get reservations when possible then cross your fingers on first-come sites. Of course what you are here for is the scenery -- Priceless ! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Bridge Bay Campground (NPS Campground)
Camp Information
Sites
273
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   5   8   9   6   10   9   5   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2014
$30
The previous reviewer has some wrong info. The rate at this CG is $29.60 w/tax, and half price for people with certain passes. It is centrally located in the Park,m but built on the side of a mountain and not for today's RVs. Your best hope is to make a reservation for a long site and arrive early afternoon for the site assignment. If it is too unlevel or treed, find a better one and ask for that . The tent sites looked pretty good for tenters. Bathroom bldgs are updated with recycling bins, and hot showers and laundry mat are nearby. Remember it's at 7900' and will be cold at night. You are there for the scenery and wildlife. Don't bring a big rig here. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$47
They couldn't get the sites any smaller or closer together. Personally, I will never go back. My 20' travel trailer barely fit in the space and I had to park my tow vehicle across the site partially in the road or give up the use of my awning. There were some good things about the campground. Laundry facilities were clean with plenty of washers and dryers. Showers were clean but they are located at the main office rather than in the actual campground. The only purpose of not locating them at the campground is they wouldn't be able to charge for their use (2 free showers per night per paid campsite) by those not camping in the campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$14
Very pleasant check in and lovely site. Stayed 2 nights at Loop L 276, and it was level. Surprisingly we could use our AT&T phone for calls, and our Verizon ipad could be used sporadically for simple texting. Dish satellite didn't work because of the trees. We were going to stay 3 nights, but had to leave after 2 since the high altitude was bothering my husband. We would love to stay there again, but won't because of the altitude. It was $14 with tax and with using our Gold Park Pass card. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Canyon Campground (NPS Campground)
Camp Information
Sites
325
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$55



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   3   4   5   7   4   7   7   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  no  yes  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$55
Extremely small sites but you are only there to sleep so not that important. Nice people at the office, very accommodating. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2014
$54
Beware, if you have a low RV, you may not be able to use the sewer connections. They are all 12~15" above the pavement level. We could not use ours. The posted rates do not mention the taxes. Like most everything else in the park that manages money, it is run by Xanterra. They were very accommodating as we arrived a day before we had planned and also left a day earlier. Yes, the sites tight and all but a few are back in. Some TT people had a difficult time but that may have been as much an owner issue. Yes, the pavement of the Fishing Bridge (no fishing allowed there) is the worst pavement in the park. If you don't have a toad, be aware that many of the scenic drives restrict "large vehicles". While I had useable Verizon phone coverage, data coverage was between weak to non-existent. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2014
$54
Like others have said, centrally located in the park. That's the ONLY thing going for it. Could not pull in Verizon signal, not even with cellular booster. Pavement in terrible shape. Weeds galore, basically unkempt. The tightest and most cramped sites I've found anywhere. I will drive many miles to avoid this campground in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Fishing Bridge Campground (NPS Campground)
Camp Information
Sites
430
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$14



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   9   9   8   8   7   8   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2014
$14
This campground needs some care. Tree branches are not trimmed, making it difficult to find a suitable site. You are assigned a site based on the length of your camper plus tow vehicle. Height and width are not considered. We were assigned a site with a tree limb over it. The limb was 9 feet off the ground and our fifth wheel is higher than that. Luckily they let us change to another site. It was too narrow, but we were able to make it work by tying several branches back. Some neighbors in a medium-sized motor home had to try 3 sites before finding one they could fit in. We were here after Labor Day, so the campground wasn’t full. I don’t know how easy it would be to change sites during the summer. We’ll stay outside the park next time in a U.S. Forest Service campground. Rate reflects our Senior Pass discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$26
A good place to stay in Yellowstone. Great for a base camp for seeing Yellowstone and Grand Tetons National Parks. Decent roads, nice campsites with picnic tables and fire rings.next to the lake, nice walking trails. Reservations required, typically full. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$26
Great place to camp other than the restriction on the generator, but we knew that going in and planned for a couple of cold nights. Sites were easy to get in and out of, very friendly staff. Be aware that you are limited to 2 showers a day per site, anything additional you have to pay. The hours for the showers were also limited 8 AM-9 PM, and you had to drive to get to the shower location. There were awesome amenities in this area of the park and it was beautiful. We will hopefully be back soon. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Grant Village Campground (NPS Campground)
Camp Information
Sites
71
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$12



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   6   9   7   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$12
We stayed here for two nights and it was lovely, far from the bustle of tourist-y Yellowstone. There are lots of trees and the sites are fairly level. We moved here after one night at the rv parking lot that is Fishing Bridge CG and were happy to give up full hookups for real camping. The vault bathrooms were very clean and well supplied. The campground hosts were on top of everything, including a black bear and her two cubs that came through one evening. We'd stayed here about 25 years ago and were delighted to find it was as good as we'd remembered it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$12
Price was very good for a NPS CG in the middle of Yellowstone! Pretty CG that fills up very fast. No generators are allowed here. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$12
Beautiful campground. Well treed. Away from road. Quiet. One has to cross a wood, 6 ton bridge. (The bridge is rated to 10 tons, but restricted to 6 tons.) Most sites are spacious. Very rough road in campground. Most pull through sites are not level. Site 35 is level but on the inside. Big rigs will find the campground tight. Inside sites require one to drive the "wrong way" to set up properly. Ask the campground hosts (volunteers) if you can drive the other way. They will close the road or drive in front of you. The Park Rangers will not let you drive the "wrong way." The Park Rangers will not allow most Class A motorhomes to cross the bridge (as most are over 6 tons). However, you will see Class A motorhomes in the campground. No dump station. No generators. No showers. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Indian Creek Campground (NPS Campground)
Camp Information
Sites
85
Date of Stay
August 2012
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$10
Great location for visiting the west side of the park and for fishing the Madison, Gibbon and Firehole Rivers. We stayed 16 nights here. Our site was a pull through that was easy to park in as it had no trees between our camper and the road. However we saw a number of people having problems parking their units in other pull throughs with trees between the road and the parking area. Most of the sites are not as long as needed by newer RV's. There are some sites that are used primarily as sites for buses. Closest services are in West Yellowstone 15 miles away. We were visited by elk, coyote and bison during our stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$14
Awesome campground! Beautiful lake and very quiet country. There are ten sites for 40+ big rigs and pull-throughs. Not many people use this one since it's so far south. Campground was clean, registration was easy, bathrooms were clean. Mule deer all over the place and Lewis Lake is gorgeous. A good place for those who want to be off the beaten path and who like to fish or just hang out by the water. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
278
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$21



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   8   9   9   7   8   8   9   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  no  question  question  question  question  no  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2014
$21
Stayed in Loop A; friendly staff. The website says there are no utilities but we saw that some sites had water and electric, not sure about sewer. Maybe these sites were for sites for the campground hosts. Beautiful setting, nice pull thru and back in sites; our pull thru site was level perfect, and somewhat private. Quiet with very little hwy noise. No Verizon signal, even with a booster, but we knew that going in. We had no hookups, but would stay there again anyway. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$24
The previous reviews are still accurate. Make sure you are honest about the length of all vehicles. Calling in a reservation is better than online for this campground. The rep will make sure your rig will fit the tight sites. We loved the short walk to the trout stream and the nightly Ranger talks. Very clean camp and friendly staff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$24
Great campground, all dry camping. Checking in was a breeze and the staff was super-friendly. We even got the 'bear lecture' at no extra charge. Had a pull through site right off of the main thoroughfare, which was a little tricky to negotiate with the trees and the slides. We finally figured it out though, after a lot of trial and error. Site was level and had a picnic table and fire pit. They have a strict no generator rule after 8 p.m., which is nice to keep the campground quiet. Have to keep the dogs off trails, but there was ample space to walk him on the pavement around the park. Plenty of space between us and our neighbors, so we never felt crowded. Loved the smell of the campfires. We'd stay here again on a return trip. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Madison Campground (NPS Campground)
Camp Information
Sites
86
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   7   8   7   8   8   7   9   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  no  question  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2014
$20
Mammoth is at the north entrance and is first come first served, no reservations. Even in the shoulder season of September, it has filled everyday by noon or earlier. It is much more open than we expected, with lots of lower height trees, but not a high canopy. Many sites easily accommodate big rigs and we had good solar generation plus dish satellite reception in site 12. Sites have good separation and lots of room for slideouts. We later drove through Slough Creek and Pebble Creek campgrounds. Both are much smaller, fill rapidly, and have only a couple of suitable big rig sites ( site 1 in Slough Creek is fantastic). This means if you want a sure space for your big rig, you are better off getting in early to Mammoth or reserve at another. As NSP campgrounds go, Mammoth is great. We stayed here for 3 nights in a 39' motorhome. Be aware, no dump station, come in with empty tanks or drive to the Yellowstone RV park in Gardiner and pay $6. Good Verizon phone, spotty 1-2 bar 3G. No AT&T reception. Good Verizon Internet at the top of the hill at the Visitor center. We would definitely stay here again. No electric, but water was available at our site with a threaded connection, you just can't stay connected. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$20
This is our overall favorite CG in the park since it has some almost-level sites, unlike the CGs elsewhere, and there is a cell phone tower nearby. Plus it's at 6200' so not as cold overnight as the others. Elk herds are always around, here or by the Lodge. Bathrooms in good shape and water nearby. Too bad there's not a dump station but it's a small CG. A shower house would be great too, but for the $10 half-rate (if you qualify), this is a deal. Hosts very nice and helpful. Try not to camp by the lower highway. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$10
Nice semi-primitive campground. The usual no electrical, no sewer, no water, though there are water faucets located throughout so you aren't far from a faucet. There are good flush toilets also located throughout the campground but there are no showers. Registration said we could pay for a shower at the Mammoth Hot Springs for $3.64 each. There was some noise from the road which wraps around the campground. The noise was mostly from trucks grinding up the hill below the campground then again grinding up the hill above the campground, though the noise wasn't too bad for me. There is no dump station here so if you camp in an RV it's a real bummer to have to haul out over mountain roads with full tanks. I was told by registration that I could go to campgrounds in Gardiner (about 6 miles north) and PAY to dump or I could drive many miles south (over mountain roads, with full tanks) to one of two free dump stations. And a lot of that decision depends on which exit you want to take. You must dry camp obviously so a generator would be nice (which we did not have). But there are definite pluses. This is a nice campground, nice nightly ranger-led programs in the amphitheater, clean and relatively quiet. And we had a small herd of elk cows and calves come right by our camper one morning, nice! I would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Mammoth Campground (NPS Campground)
Camp Information
Sites
116
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$7



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   8   6   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2013
$7
Suitable only for small RV's or trailers. Most sites have a lot of slope. Older campground in poor condition, but centrally located in Yellowstone and the only nearby campground that is first come-first serve. Fills up quickly in the peak season. And cheap. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$7
Norris CG is a dry camp operated by US Park Svc, not a concessionaire, so no reservations and first come first served for 100 sites, both tent and RVs. Nightly charge $14.00, Golden Age $7.00. Loop A is mostly meadow and has nice views of nearby Gibbon River. Loops B & C heavily wooded and built into a hill, which compromises RV access, especially for longer TTs and MHs. Most sites are fairly large, so you don’t feel crowded. Elevation 7,500'. A few pull-throughs (some actual pull-outs, but most are on side of road), but most are unlevel back-ins, some with missing asphalt or just plain dirt. During high season (until Labor Day), CG fills by 11:00. CG volunteer hosts helped me find a site I could back my TT into, and waited at site to hold it. My site had asphalt drive wide enough for TT and TV side by side, fairly level, with picnic table and fire ring. Each loop has one bathroom with flush toilets, cold water sinks, dish washing room, and a single faucet (threaded) in front to fill water tanks (heavy on the chlorine), no dump station. No cell phone coverage, 2 pay landlines at entrance. Many sites had newer “bear boxes” for food storage. Xanterra sells ice and firewood at entrance, ice $3.00 for 7# blocks or 3# cubes, small box of firewood $7.28. We use a 45 watt solar panel kit to keep the TT battery charged while dry camping. Nearby features are Ranger Museum and Norris Geyser Basin. Bison may browse through CG. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$14
If you are staying in an RV, get up early to get in and get a site. This is not my preferred way to camp and I didn’t enjoy the constant rush, rush, rush to get a site. This is a competitive atmosphere. The rangers at the gate even told us to go straight to a site if we wanted one. If you are coming late in the day don’t even bother, you’ll be driving all night. Norris campground was a good base in the middle of the park. It was dicey in a big RV. It is funny that the park can afford a multi-million dollar new visitor center, but can’t afford a new bathroom in the campground. I was surprised at how run down this campground was. Most state parks have much better facilities. Oh well, we only stayed the one night. For dry camping it provided a good spot with bison close by. The day after we left, a bear tore into a tent at Norris. If you have a really big rig, this might be a real tough place to camp. Ours is 32' long and we just barely fit in a pull-through site along side the road. We had a tough time telling if we were in a site or just a wide part of the park road. It is a nice walk to the Norris Geyser basin. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Norris Campground (NPS Campground)
Camp Information
Sites
32
Date of Stay
April 2009
Latest Rate
$12



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$12
Small, remote campground in a beautiful setting. It can still feel pretty busy from early summer to the end of September as it's a really great campground. There are limited sites, but a nice big parking lot on the way in. Good location for those going to the Bear tooth pass, or to relax more in a more peaceful area of the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$12
Hidden, inexpensive gem in the northeast corner of Yellowstone right on the Lamar river. This is a primitive campground with about 30 sites for smaller RVs (about 30' max with most sites smaller) and tents. No electric, no generators, no showers, no RV dump (nearest dump at Tower Fall), limited water (not working when we were there), vault toilet. Although NOT centrally located to much of Yellowstone, much wildlife (bison, wolf, bear, elk, coyote, birds) are nearby (if not roaming in the campground). Bring the spotting scope! First come, first serve (arrive early!), enjoyable close-to-wildlife camping inside Yellowstone National Park without the crowds! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
23
Date of Stay
October 2010
Latest Rate
$12



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$12
Our favorite place to stay in Yellowstone. This fall they had a very friendly camp host at the site. Beautiful spot, perfect location for wildlife viewing, not crowded in October, and you may awake to bison in your yard! Have stayed here numerous times and I'm sure we'll return in 2011! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$20
Slough Creek is a beautiful campground with all camp sites on or near Slough Creek. I was in campsite 1 which was the most private of the campsites and was adjacent to a walking trail along the river. Views of mountains and slough creek are definite highlights. One drawback is the road leading into the campground is about 1 mile of gravel- so, take this into consideration. Other than the road to the campsite- it's perfectly situated for anglers and campers alike. We camped here in a Tent.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$14
This campground is for small RV's only unfortunately. If you have one, you are in luck .There are several really nice water sites. The bathroom is just a simple vault toilet with no running water. Water is taken from the hand pump. This is a basic campground way back on a gravel road but it has great fishing and a more quiet atmosphere. One of our favorites. Good place to watch wolves too. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
32
Date of Stay
July 2009
Latest Rate
$12



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$12
A very pretty campground with lots of trees and space. This is real camping unlike the Kamping the other RV parks offer. There are no hookups, but this adds to the peace and tranquility, however there are drop toilets for the campers and drinking water available. Most sites are tent sites so get there early to reserve your piece of paradise. There is no space for rigs over about 30ft. Each site has fire rings and tables. A lovely place to camp. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$12
This is primarily a tenting campground, although you can get a small RV up into the tent loop if you are adventurous. There are better RV sites at the bottom of the hill, though only a couple. It's a good place in a pinch if you have a small RV. There's a camp store about a 1/8th mile away which offers supplies and gifts. Great views of the Yellowstone river too. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com