218844 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Yellowstone National Park, Wyoming (Air Miles)
-Other Nearby Points-
Mud Geysers (Hot)
5.08 miles NE
Gas Vents Southeast Of Mary Lake (Hot)
5.35 miles NW
Mud Volcano 131
5.37 miles NE
Hot Springs East Of Mary Lake (Hot)
5.40 miles NW
Sulphur Caldron 190
5.51 miles NE
Highland Hot Springs (Hot)
5.63 miles NW
Sulphur Springs 194
5.64 miles NE
Gas Vent East Of Mary Lake (Hot)
5.94 miles NW
Violet Springs (Hot)
6.21 miles NW
Ebro Springs 136
8.70 miles E
Warm Spring (Warm)
9.45 miles NE
Forest Springs (Hot)
9.58 miles NE
Hot Springs At Sulphur Hills 196
9.70 miles E
No Name 167
9.81 miles NE
Gas Vents (Hot)
9.84 miles NW
Vermilion Springs 140
9.99 miles E
Hot Springs On Bog Creek 199
10.27 miles NE
Potts Hot Spring Basin 203
10.32 miles SW
Hot Springs On Bog Creek 185
10.93 miles NE
West Thumb Geyser Basin 196
10.95 miles SW
West Thumb Geyser Basin 203
11.24 miles SW
Hot Springs On Upper Sour Creek 194
11.90 miles NE
Wolf Lake Springs 91
11.92 miles NW
Hot Spring On Moss Creek 115
12.85 miles NE
Geyser Springs Group 201
13.11 miles NW
Hot Springs At Sevenmile Hole 189
13.15 miles NE
Gibbon Hill Geyser 199
13.21 miles NW
Sevenmile Hole 154
13.56 miles NE
Echinus Geyser 185
13.59 miles NW
No Name 201
13.83 miles NW
Washburn Hot Springs 196
13.87 miles NE
No Name 192
13.91 miles NW
No Name 144
13.96 miles NW
Cistern Spring 199
14.23 miles NW
Horseshoe Spring 187
14.52 miles NW
Josephs Coat Springs 199
14.76 miles NE
Gas Vent (Hot)
15.48 miles NW
Roadside Springs, Frying Pan Spring 158
15.95 miles NW
Coffee Pot Hot Springs 196
16.17 miles NE
Bijah Spring 198
16.57 miles NW
Whiterock Springs 144
16.80 miles NW
Wyoming
Yellowstone National Park
Most Recently Reviewed
Fishing Bridge Campground (NPS Campground)
Latest Review Submited On
2014-08-26 12:18:14
12 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Yellowstone National Park, Wyoming
Camp Information
Sites
432
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   7   8   8   10   5   10   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  no  question  no  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$22
Typical National Park camping so we know what to expect and there were no disappointments. It appears pretty rough terrain for tents with no designated tent pads. So for anyone tenting, depending on your site, it could be a pretty bumpy and unlevel sleep. This is one of the few reservable campgrounds in the park so it's easily overlooked for tenters. We camped here in a Truck Camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$11
Rate reflects senior NP pass. Sites are Very tight for RV. 30 foot RV really didn't fit and had to back in to site from it's exit point. I could not make the 'turn' of the pull-through. Site was very unlevel as well. Really set up more for tents. I agree with previous post. Should camp at each 'area' of this vast place and see the sites in that 'area' then move to another campsite. Get reservations when possible then cross your fingers on first-come sites. Of course what you are here for is the scenery -- Priceless ! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$21
We stayed here 4 nights in a tent. It goes without saying that it is in a beautiful location. It's on the west side of the park near the lake and the boat launch. There is a small store right across the street that opens at 9 AM where you can pick up a few food items or coffee and other things. Pay showers ($3.50 plus tax) are available at Fishing Bridge RV Campground 4 miles up the road. There is a larger general store with groceries and cafeteria style dining there that opens at 7:30 AM. The downsides: no hot water or heat in the bathroom. I don't quite understand why the full hookup park has showers and hot water but where they allow tents there isn't even hot water. In fact, the woman's bathroom faucets don't even stay on without holding them on. My husband said the man's bathroom did stay on. We were there early in the season and it got down to 28 degrees at night. Maybe during the height of the season this doesn't make much difference. As another reviewer stated I would not stay the entire trip in one campground again. It's hard to make a person understand how big this park is and it takes a lot of time to travel from sight to sight. It makes more sense to move from camp to camp and avoid backtracking a few hours drive to get back to your home site. We camped here in a Tent.
Display older reviews for Bridge Bay Campground (NPS Campground)
Camp Information
Sites
273
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   5   8   9   6   10   9   5   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2014
$30
The previous reviewer has some wrong info. The rate at this CG is $29.60 w/tax, and half price for people with certain passes. It is centrally located in the Park,m but built on the side of a mountain and not for today's RVs. Your best hope is to make a reservation for a long site and arrive early afternoon for the site assignment. If it is too unlevel or treed, find a better one and ask for that . The tent sites looked pretty good for tenters. Bathroom bldgs are updated with recycling bins, and hot showers and laundry mat are nearby. Remember it's at 7900' and will be cold at night. You are there for the scenery and wildlife. Don't bring a big rig here. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$47
They couldn't get the sites any smaller or closer together. Personally, I will never go back. My 20' travel trailer barely fit in the space and I had to park my tow vehicle across the site partially in the road or give up the use of my awning. There were some good things about the campground. Laundry facilities were clean with plenty of washers and dryers. Showers were clean but they are located at the main office rather than in the actual campground. The only purpose of not locating them at the campground is they wouldn't be able to charge for their use (2 free showers per night per paid campsite) by those not camping in the campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$14
Very pleasant check in and lovely site. Stayed 2 nights at Loop L 276, and it was level. Surprisingly we could use our AT&T phone for calls, and our Verizon ipad could be used sporadically for simple texting. Dish satellite didn't work because of the trees. We were going to stay 3 nights, but had to leave after 2 since the high altitude was bothering my husband. We would love to stay there again, but won't because of the altitude. It was $14 with tax and with using our Gold Park Pass card. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Canyon Campground (NPS Campground)
Camp Information
Sites
325
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$50



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   4   7   7   5   8   4   8   6   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  no  question  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$50
Services provided as promised. Sites very tight for space. We fit, but just. No Awning room. It was the only full hook up in busy Yellowstone. Prices high, but only option. Only real complaint was the site space. It was as warned it would be. We would return if in Yellowstone. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2014
$48
Well, many other reviewers have pretty much said it, but here's my observations. The road in over Fishing Bridge is VERY potholed. The roads within the campground are a little better. The back-in wasn't terrible, but not the easiest either. There are things to watch for like little stumps at the edge of the parking pad. The sites are VERY tight. If the person behind you overhangs (backs in too far) even a little bit, you could have a problem. The parking pad at the site is road, grounds at the site are gravel/dirt and weeds. The staff was friendly and accommodating. In our reservations we noted we were traveling with another family in an RV and they would try to put us together. They put us on opposite sides of the loop and a few off, which meant we would have to either cut through a site (if it's empty) or walk around the loop to get to each other. We went and asked if our friends could move and they quickly set it up - no problem. If you are traveling with others - backing up to each other is the best way to do it. The Yellowstone General Store and visitor center is in walking distance, which was nice for evening walks with our dogs. The grocery is not very well stocked, in that it has a poor selection. With Verizon we did have service, but the data signal was weak. About the only thing this campground has going for it (in my opinion) is location. It's PERFECT for getting to see the whole park. We pretty much covered it in a week. This park could really use some updating, but I would grudgingly stay here again - mainly because it's so convenient. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$54
The only FHU facility in the park, so that is a plus, and worth it even if a bit high in price. Sites are mostly level, but do need a slight adjustment. Park is in the middle of the pine forest. Paved access road and parking pads. Be aware of your length and slides as site dimensions are very tight in length and back up to neighboring rigs and face the forest trees. All sites are back-in. We saw several fifth wheels and trailers unable to maneuver into their spot without a lot of jockeying, and a few had to give up and go around to start all over again. I believe other loops may have had longer sites, but there were a lot of people trying to squish into sites too short for their actual length. Concessionaire run facility, desk staff is brisk but efficient. Site fee includes two showers per night. Recycle bins near office, trash must be handled in bear proof manner. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Fishing Bridge Campground (NPS Campground)
Camp Information
Sites
430
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$26



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   9   8   8   7   8   10   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$26
A good place to stay in Yellowstone. Great for a base camp for seeing Yellowstone and Grand Tetons National Parks. Decent roads, nice campsites with picnic tables and fire rings.next to the lake, nice walking trails. Reservations required, typically full. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$26
Great place to camp other than the restriction on the generator, but we knew that going in and planned for a couple of cold nights. Sites were easy to get in and out of, very friendly staff. Be aware that you are limited to 2 showers a day per site, anything additional you have to pay. The hours for the showers were also limited 8 AM-9 PM, and you had to drive to get to the shower location. There were awesome amenities in this area of the park and it was beautiful. We will hopefully be back soon. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$28
Grant Village is a very large campground but is well wooded so you don't feel it. There is a large shower / laundry building just outside the campground (you will need to drive not walk to it) with excellent showers and laundry facilities. If there is a line at the single dump station inside the campground, there is another one behind the gas station. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Grant Village Campground (NPS Campground)
Camp Information
Sites
71
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$12



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   6   9   7   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$12
We stayed here for two nights and it was lovely, far from the bustle of tourist-y Yellowstone. There are lots of trees and the sites are fairly level. We moved here after one night at the rv parking lot that is Fishing Bridge CG and were happy to give up full hookups for real camping. The vault bathrooms were very clean and well supplied. The campground hosts were on top of everything, including a black bear and her two cubs that came through one evening. We'd stayed here about 25 years ago and were delighted to find it was as good as we'd remembered it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$12
Price was very good for a NPS CG in the middle of Yellowstone! Pretty CG that fills up very fast. No generators are allowed here. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$12
Beautiful campground. Well treed. Away from road. Quiet. One has to cross a wood, 6 ton bridge. (The bridge is rated to 10 tons, but restricted to 6 tons.) Most sites are spacious. Very rough road in campground. Most pull through sites are not level. Site 35 is level but on the inside. Big rigs will find the campground tight. Inside sites require one to drive the "wrong way" to set up properly. Ask the campground hosts (volunteers) if you can drive the other way. They will close the road or drive in front of you. The Park Rangers will not let you drive the "wrong way." The Park Rangers will not allow most Class A motorhomes to cross the bridge (as most are over 6 tons). However, you will see Class A motorhomes in the campground. No dump station. No generators. No showers. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Indian Creek Campground (NPS Campground)
Camp Information
Sites
85
Date of Stay
August 2012
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$10
Great location for visiting the west side of the park and for fishing the Madison, Gibbon and Firehole Rivers. We stayed 16 nights here. Our site was a pull through that was easy to park in as it had no trees between our camper and the road. However we saw a number of people having problems parking their units in other pull throughs with trees between the road and the parking area. Most of the sites are not as long as needed by newer RV's. There are some sites that are used primarily as sites for buses. Closest services are in West Yellowstone 15 miles away. We were visited by elk, coyote and bison during our stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$14
Awesome campground! Beautiful lake and very quiet country. There are ten sites for 40+ big rigs and pull-throughs. Not many people use this one since it's so far south. Campground was clean, registration was easy, bathrooms were clean. Mule deer all over the place and Lewis Lake is gorgeous. A good place for those who want to be off the beaten path and who like to fish or just hang out by the water. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
278
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   9   7   8   8   9   4   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  no  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  question  question  question  no  no  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$24
Great campground, all dry camping. Checking in was a breeze and the staff was super-friendly. We even got the 'bear lecture' at no extra charge. Had a pull through site right off of the main thoroughfare, which was a little tricky to negotiate with the trees and the slides. We finally figured it out though, after a lot of trial and error. Site was level and had a picnic table and fire pit. They have a strict no generator rule after 8 p.m., which is nice to keep the campground quiet. Have to keep the dogs off trails, but there was ample space to walk him on the pavement around the park. Plenty of space between us and our neighbors, so we never felt crowded. Loved the smell of the campfires. We'd stay here again on a return trip. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$20
Nice campground in Yellowstone, just north of the big geysers and closest to the western park entrance. Does not have the large facilities of Grant Village (laundry, showers) but is very nice. Wooded campground and you can walk down to the trout stream and see the elk there. We camped here in a Truck Camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$20
Campground in a great location within Yellowstone National Park. Thirty minutes from Old Faithful and Norris Geyser Basin and 15 minutes from the city of West Yellowstone, MT. No hookups, but water and dump station available within campground. Easy walk down to the Madison River, where there were plenty of Bison and Elk to observe. We stayed in space F227 which was a pull through site with a great view of the mountains. Dogs need to stay on the pavement and off trails, but there was plenty of places to walk. Spaces appeared well spread out and check in process was not as bad as some earlier postings We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Madison Campground (NPS Campground)
Camp Information
Sites
85
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   7   8   8   7   9   10   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  no  question  question  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$20
This is our overall favorite CG in the park since it has some almost-level sites, unlike the CGs elsewhere, and there is a cell phone tower nearby. Plus it's at 6200' so not as cold overnight as the others. Elk herds are always around, here or by the Lodge. Bathrooms in good shape and water nearby. Too bad there's not a dump station but it's a small CG. A shower house would be great too, but for the $10 half-rate (if you qualify), this is a deal. Hosts very nice and helpful. Try not to camp by the lower highway. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$10
Nice semi-primitive campground. The usual no electrical, no sewer, no water, though there are water faucets located throughout so you aren't far from a faucet. There are good flush toilets also located throughout the campground but there are no showers. Registration said we could pay for a shower at the Mammoth Hot Springs for $3.64 each. There was some noise from the road which wraps around the campground. The noise was mostly from trucks grinding up the hill below the campground then again grinding up the hill above the campground, though the noise wasn't too bad for me. There is no dump station here so if you camp in an RV it's a real bummer to have to haul out over mountain roads with full tanks. I was told by registration that I could go to campgrounds in Gardiner (about 6 miles north) and PAY to dump or I could drive many miles south (over mountain roads, with full tanks) to one of two free dump stations. And a lot of that decision depends on which exit you want to take. You must dry camp obviously so a generator would be nice (which we did not have). But there are definite pluses. This is a nice campground, nice nightly ranger-led programs in the amphitheater, clean and relatively quiet. And we had a small herd of elk cows and calves come right by our camper one morning, nice! I would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$10
Rate reflects senior NP pass. We arrived on a Thursday about 11:00. Campground filled by noon! No TV or phone anywhere in the park for us. Enjoyed the Fort area and the terraces. Good sites, level and plenty of room. Down the hill might be more un-level, we stayed on top. No dump station. Plan your visit and stay in different campgrounds for each area you want to see in the park as travel through this vast park is a long drive. Load up with fuel and groceries before you come as both are expensive! We stayed here 3 nights and the area is much different than the interior of the park. Take the drive out to Lamar Valley for wildlife - priceless! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Mammoth Campground (NPS Campground)
Camp Information
Sites
116
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$7



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   8   6   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2013
$7
Suitable only for small RV's or trailers. Most sites have a lot of slope. Older campground in poor condition, but centrally located in Yellowstone and the only nearby campground that is first come-first serve. Fills up quickly in the peak season. And cheap. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$7
Norris CG is a dry camp operated by US Park Svc, not a concessionaire, so no reservations and first come first served for 100 sites, both tent and RVs. Nightly charge $14.00, Golden Age $7.00. Loop A is mostly meadow and has nice views of nearby Gibbon River. Loops B & C heavily wooded and built into a hill, which compromises RV access, especially for longer TTs and MHs. Most sites are fairly large, so you don’t feel crowded. Elevation 7,500'. A few pull-throughs (some actual pull-outs, but most are on side of road), but most are unlevel back-ins, some with missing asphalt or just plain dirt. During high season (until Labor Day), CG fills by 11:00. CG volunteer hosts helped me find a site I could back my TT into, and waited at site to hold it. My site had asphalt drive wide enough for TT and TV side by side, fairly level, with picnic table and fire ring. Each loop has one bathroom with flush toilets, cold water sinks, dish washing room, and a single faucet (threaded) in front to fill water tanks (heavy on the chlorine), no dump station. No cell phone coverage, 2 pay landlines at entrance. Many sites had newer “bear boxes” for food storage. Xanterra sells ice and firewood at entrance, ice $3.00 for 7# blocks or 3# cubes, small box of firewood $7.28. We use a 45 watt solar panel kit to keep the TT battery charged while dry camping. Nearby features are Ranger Museum and Norris Geyser Basin. Bison may browse through CG. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$14
If you are staying in an RV, get up early to get in and get a site. This is not my preferred way to camp and I didn’t enjoy the constant rush, rush, rush to get a site. This is a competitive atmosphere. The rangers at the gate even told us to go straight to a site if we wanted one. If you are coming late in the day don’t even bother, you’ll be driving all night. Norris campground was a good base in the middle of the park. It was dicey in a big RV. It is funny that the park can afford a multi-million dollar new visitor center, but can’t afford a new bathroom in the campground. I was surprised at how run down this campground was. Most state parks have much better facilities. Oh well, we only stayed the one night. For dry camping it provided a good spot with bison close by. The day after we left, a bear tore into a tent at Norris. If you have a really big rig, this might be a real tough place to camp. Ours is 32' long and we just barely fit in a pull-through site along side the road. We had a tough time telling if we were in a site or just a wide part of the park road. It is a nice walk to the Norris Geyser basin. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Norris Campground (NPS Campground)
Camp Information
Sites
32
Date of Stay
April 2009
Latest Rate
$12



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$12
Small, remote campground in a beautiful setting. It can still feel pretty busy from early summer to the end of September as it's a really great campground. There are limited sites, but a nice big parking lot on the way in. Good location for those going to the Bear tooth pass, or to relax more in a more peaceful area of the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$12
Hidden, inexpensive gem in the northeast corner of Yellowstone right on the Lamar river. This is a primitive campground with about 30 sites for smaller RVs (about 30' max with most sites smaller) and tents. No electric, no generators, no showers, no RV dump (nearest dump at Tower Fall), limited water (not working when we were there), vault toilet. Although NOT centrally located to much of Yellowstone, much wildlife (bison, wolf, bear, elk, coyote, birds) are nearby (if not roaming in the campground). Bring the spotting scope! First come, first serve (arrive early!), enjoyable close-to-wildlife camping inside Yellowstone National Park without the crowds! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
23
Date of Stay
October 2010
Latest Rate
$12



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$12
Our favorite place to stay in Yellowstone. This fall they had a very friendly camp host at the site. Beautiful spot, perfect location for wildlife viewing, not crowded in October, and you may awake to bison in your yard! Have stayed here numerous times and I'm sure we'll return in 2011! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$20
Slough Creek is a beautiful campground with all camp sites on or near Slough Creek. I was in campsite 1 which was the most private of the campsites and was adjacent to a walking trail along the river. Views of mountains and slough creek are definite highlights. One drawback is the road leading into the campground is about 1 mile of gravel- so, take this into consideration. Other than the road to the campsite- it's perfectly situated for anglers and campers alike. We camped here in a Tent.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$14
This campground is for small RV's only unfortunately. If you have one, you are in luck .There are several really nice water sites. The bathroom is just a simple vault toilet with no running water. Water is taken from the hand pump. This is a basic campground way back on a gravel road but it has great fishing and a more quiet atmosphere. One of our favorites. Good place to watch wolves too. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
32
Date of Stay
July 2009
Latest Rate
$12



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$12
A very pretty campground with lots of trees and space. This is real camping unlike the Kamping the other RV parks offer. There are no hookups, but this adds to the peace and tranquility, however there are drop toilets for the campers and drinking water available. Most sites are tent sites so get there early to reserve your piece of paradise. There is no space for rigs over about 30ft. Each site has fire rings and tables. A lovely place to camp. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$12
This is primarily a tenting campground, although you can get a small RV up into the tent loop if you are adventurous. There are better RV sites at the bottom of the hill, though only a couple. It's a good place in a pinch if you have a small RV. There's a camp store about a 1/8th mile away which offers supplies and gifts. Great views of the Yellowstone river too. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com