224371 User submitted reviews online!!
10/2014
rating [ 6/10 ]
This park has reported that they are temporarily closed. Please check with the them for further information.
09/2014
rating [ 9/10 ]
This is a beautiful campground. Both the reservation and registration process were easy. We were led to our site. The roads and sites are hard packed gravel. There were lots of trees, but there was still plenty of room to maneuver. It is nicely landscaped, with lots of grass, and it is well maintained. WiFi worked fine. A previous reviewer said it was easy to reach from I-70, but I think they meant either I-64 which is 15 mi away or I-57 which is less than a mile away. I-70 is 85 mi away. The place actually sits on Highway 37, but there is no road noise. It is very quiet and peaceful. I highly recommend!
07/2014
rating [ 7/10 ]
This is not a big, nice, destination park, but it served our needs for a short stay. It appeared to be more of a permanent resident park, but there are several pull through sites for short termers. It is located right on Loop 289 so there is some traffic/siren noise, but with the AC going, we did not hear it. The roads are paved, and there is a concrete pad to park on, but ours was beginning to crack and break up. The sites are large, plenty of room for the toad, and there is fairly good space between sites. There is very little shade or grass, but there is plenty of dust which is typical of all of west Texas. The utilities worked well, but were just a bit "ragged" looking. The wifi did not work well at our site. The map labels this park by another name, but the map pin is correct. We would probably stay here again.
07/2014
rating [ 9/10 ]
We stayed at this park several years ago when it was a KOA, and it is nicer now. The reservation process and check in was easy. Employees were friendly, accommodating, and competent. There was an escort to our site. The interior roads and sites appeared to be crushed granite. Sites were level and roomy, and there was ample space between sites. The sites were delineated well, and the utilities worked fine. The owner has built some nice patios and cabanas for shade although there are quite a few trees for shade also. There had just been a 3/4 in. rain when we arrived, and the sites had drained well. The rate is with a discount coupon. I think the regular rate is around $35. We would definitely stay here again.
08/2013
rating [ 9/10 ]
We did not stay at this park, but we looked at it as a possibility for the future. It is a very nice park, and apparently it is no longer a Class A only park. The entrance is gated; the landscaping is beautiful; and the streets and pads are paved. There is a clubhouse, nice pool, and other recreational activity areas. We look forward to staying here next time we are in the area.
04/2013
rating [ 7/10 ]
This is a very unique RV park. First, it is just across the levee from the Mississippi River and is built on the grounds of an old plantation. The house is now a bed and breakfast. Tours are held on the weekends and are free if you are staying at the park. Most roads are gravel and dusty while others have pot holes and mud when it rains. The sites range from very nice paved (pull thoughs and back ins) to gravel, muddy not well kept back ins. Some sites have no shade, while others are very shaded. We were in a not so good area, but the utilities worked well, there were lots of cable TV channels, and the WiFi was quite usable. The bathrooms were individual and nice and clean. The pool looked nice; the spa was not open. I did not see much to entertain kids, but I did see kids staying there. The owner is constantly working on improvements and is planning an on site restaurant. Apparently he can be hard to deal with, but he was quite nice to us. It can also be difficult to find someone in the office, and apparently reservations get mixed up frequently. Our reserved pull through site was changed to a back in, but at least we got one. I don’t think this place would be for everyone, but if you can roll with the owner’s quirky personality and management style and not expect too much in the way of amenities, you will probably have a good time. Finally, with all the diverse areas, it was hard to rate the entire park. It ranges from 9 to 5 depending on where you stay, so I averaged it at a 7. We would stay there again, but only if we could get one of the nicer spots.
11/2012
rating [ 8/10 ]
I can understand that if you stayed in the back of the park in the gravel section, your opinion and rating of the place could be quite different. But we were in one of the pull though sites near the front of the park, and they were very nice. The sites were long, level, paved, and perhaps a bit narrow, but adequate. There was no table. The utilities were placed well and worked fine. Wi-Fi was good, and we got several over the air TV stations. We did not hear any excessive highway noise. The staff was very friendly and competent. I would say that it is family friendly, but I did not actually see a playground or anything to entertain kids. There was a large grassy area where we saw people walking their dogs. As another reviewer said, this is not really a destination park, but it is great for an overnight stop.
10/2012
rating [ 6/10 ]
The casino marquee says the RV park is now open, but we did not actually see it, so we have no idea what it is like now.
07/2012
rating [ 7/10 ]
Well kept park. Hard packed gravel sites. Pool and Wi-Fi access are at the motel.
03/2012
rating [ 4/10 ]
I just can't give this place the same rating as the last few reviewers, although I do agree that it works for an overnight stay. But that's it. The check-in person was pleasant, but offered no information about park unless we asked a specific question. The sites are nothing more than level dust. All the utilities worked well except for the wi-fi which we could not get connected to. There appears to be quite a few long term residents, but their sites were not trashy. I am not sure if there were any bathrooms or showers. We didn't see any and the check-in person did not mention any. We realize this is a very dry area of Texas, but even so there was no attempt at even minimal desert landscaping. There is highway noise. If you don't mind a very plain, rather unattractive park that is only $18, then stop here.
10/2011
rating [ 9/10 ]
We stayed here for 5 days and do not understand the recent complaints and lower ratings. The owners were very friendly and accommodating, and the park was beautiful, well kept, and clean. The roads and sites were gravel and well maintained. The sites were level, a picnic table was provided, and there was grass between sites. Utilities were well placed and worked fine. The cable TV and Wi-Fi were good. The sites were very long and wide enough, but the distance between sites was a little narrower than we prefer; however, we had no trouble extending our slides or awning. While we were there, there was an incident that occurred. A younger couple was letting their very large dog defecate anywhere it wanted to, usually on another site. They continued to do this even after they were warned not to, so the owners asked them to leave. They refused, and the police had to be called. Some may see this as the park owners being unfriendly and too strict. To us this showed that they enforce their rules for the benefit of all guests, and we feel this is what keeps the place nice. We highly recommend this park, and hope we get to stay here again.
08/2011
rating [ 9/10 ]
Please be aware that there are two separate parks at this location--Indigo Bluffs RV Rental Park which accepts different types of rigs, and Indigo Bluffs Motorcoach Resort which is for Class A only.
01/2010
rating [ 8/10 ]
This is always a good park for us. We agree that the neighborhood has gone a bit downhill, but with the security patrols we felt perfectly safe. We like the convenience of being right next to a casino; not just for the gambling, but also for the restaurants and other amenities (movie theater, bowling center, day spa, hair salon). The length of our RV requires us to be in a pull through space which we received, but it was too short, and we had to request another site. The young clerk seemed a little annoyed with this, but they did accommodate us. (Other clerks we dealt with were very pleasant.) The hookups are side by side, and this puts you a bit close to your neighbor, but it is not too bad. There are no tables or grills. The rate reflects the weekly rate, and they did refund our money when we decided to leave before the end of the second week. We were not expecting that. The cable TV is included in the site fee, but Wi-Fi is provided by an outside source. It is $5.99 a day or $20 a week. The service was good. They have a well kept pool and spa, and there is a large clean laundry room. The restrooms/showers are kept very clean also. We are sure we will stay here again.
01/2010
rating [ 9/10 ]
This is a 55+ park, geared more for long term stays, with lots of planned activities, but we were well accommodated on our two different overnight stays. The long dusty entrance road is now paved. The interior roads are paved, and the sites are pea gravel. A previous review said this was originally planned for park models, and that explains the unique layout of the sites. They are all back in with another site behind you. There is a patio near the front, and all the utilities are way at the back between the two rows of sites. This is probably fine for park models, but it makes for a really long reach for RV’s. When we made our reservation we asked if they had pull-throughs, and were told yes. Technically this is not exactly true; all sites are back in, but if you want a pull through they simply park you across four of the back in sites that are at the ends of each row, making about 12 pull through sites. You will not have a patio at your door with this arrangement, but it does put you very close to the utilities, and all this was fine with us. If the end sites were used as back ins, there would be no pull throughs. Arrangement aside, this is a really nice park. The staff was very friendly, and they escort you to your site (otherwise you would probably not understand how to park.) The desert landscaping includes citrus trees (oranges, lemons, limes) throughout the park, and you can pick the fruit. The pool and spa area looked pretty, and the exercise room was nice. They charge for Wi-Fi, but there are about 8 computers available for you to use free of charge. Unfortunately they were very slow. The TV cable had a fair number of channels, but some were snowy. Previous comments about the toilets and showers being in different areas are correct, but they were both very clean. There is noise from I-10, but it did not bother us or keep us awake. During our stay there were numerous empty sites so the park did not seem crowded; if all sites were full I think it might be a bit tight. Overall this is a great place to stop, and we would definitely stay here again.
01/2010
rating [ 9/10 ]
While we still think this is a very nice place to stay, we are disappointed their rates have gone up so much. Many parks of this caliber are still in the $35-40 range, but even so we will most likely stay here again. They escort you to your site. Their roads are paved, but the sites are small pea gravel. (They rake them after each use.) There are no tables or grills. The sites are side by side, but this has never been a problem for us. The door side of the sites has a privacy fence. The cable TV is good with lots of channels, but the Wi-Fi is slow. The individual showers are very nice and clean. I’m pretty sure they accept children, but the atmosphere is definitely more adult oriented. There is an enclosed dog run. Many restaurants are nearby, and Old Town Mesilla is just down the street. The continental breakfast, the Margaritas on Friday night, and chocolate chip cookies are a nice touch which we have enjoyed.
01/2010
rating [ 7/10 ]
The staff was very nice, and the services were good, but this is still just a plain, unadorned KOA. It met our needs very well, but I can’t give it many points for appearance. It wasn’t trashy—just not very attractive. We understand this is West Texas, but a little desert landscaping would improve it quite a bit. (It looked much prettier in its website photos when the trees and grass were green.) The roads and sites are gravel. There is a table, but no grill. The utilities were fine; the cable was good with lots of channels; the Wi-Fi was strong. We were only here for an overnight so there were some amenities that we did not see or use. The price seemed a little high, but we would stay here again.
01/2010
rating [ 10/10 ]
What else can be said? The previous reviews have said it all. This is a fabulous resort. We were only there on a cold, rainy overnight so we did not get to see or use all the amenities, but we walked around a bit, and everything looked really nice. We did use the exercise room which was top notch. There is a day spa, tennis courts, catch and release fishing, putting green, adults only area with a pool, patio café, rally barn, and rental cottages. Other on-site services (RV washing/waxing, repair, propane delivery, etc.) are also available. The staff was great. The roads are all paved, and the landscaping is beautiful and well kept. The sites were paved with ample space and a lighted utility pedestal. The patio had a table, but no grill. There were lots of cable channels, and the Wi-Fi was strong. Both were included with the cost of the site. Particularly beautiful was the area with privately owned lots, but understandably it was off limits to the general public. We would love to come back here and highly recommend it.
01/2010
rating [ 8/10 ]
Granted this park is not a five star resort, but it definitely is not the dump that another reviewer called it. We have stayed here several times over the years, most recently a week ago, and it is a good place to stop for the night. The staff is friendly and makes you feel welcome. The roads are gravel as are the sites. There is a grill and table at most sites. We noticed that they have nice, new tables. The individual restroom/showers have always been clean, but could use some updating. I wish they would add cable TV, but at least they have Wi-Fi now. It was slow at times, but usable for checking email. The landscaping is lacking, but take a look around; this is West Texas where it is not lush and green. The biggest change we noticed is that there seemed to be several long term residents (probably local workers and probably due to the economy), but their sites were well kept. I am sure we will stay here again.
12/2009
rating [ 7/10 ]
We stayed here about a year ago, and nothing much has changed except the cost has gone up to $18. We were greeted as we turned in the driveway by a gentleman in a golf cart, and he led us to our spot. As they still do not take credit cards we just paid the man who escorted us, and that's all we did to check in. This is not a fancy place, but it is clean and quiet. The sites are gravel and grass, and some have a very small patio, but ours was really cracked. A few sites have a table but most don't. There are some very nice huge oak trees which would be really nice for shade in the summer. There is a small laundry room but that is about it for amenities. There is no pool or cable TV, and I didn't see a playground. I'm sure they welcome children, but there is nothing for them to do. The Wi-Fi worked well last year, but this year the signal was weak. Also the access now requires a password so be sure to ask for it. The escort did not mention this to us, and by the time we tried to get online the office was closed, so we were unable to actually get connected. However, this was our only complaint, and otherwise we think this is a good place for an overnight stop.
01/2009
rating [ 7/10 ]
This is a decent little mom & pop type RV park. It is not fancy, but the price is great. It has now added Wi-Fi, but there are no other amenities to speak of. There is no TV cable, but you can get several off air stations. There are a few permanent residents, but their areas are well kept. The roads and sites are gravel. Our pull through site was reasonably level and very long. The Wi-Fi was good, but we were parked right by one of the antennas. It is convenient to the main highway through town, but it sits back far enough to reduce road noise. I indicated that the showers/restrooms were clean, but they are pretty worn. If they were improved I could give an 8 rating. One caution, they do not take credit cards. This is a good place for an overnight stop. We would stay here again.
10/2008
rating [ 8/10 ]
We stay here usually 1-2 times a year and think it is a very nice overnight stop. The owners are really great. The sites were gravel, plenty long, and wide enough to handle slides. The free Wi-Fi was strong, but there was no cable TV, and very few off air stations are available. The individual restrooms/showers have always been clean. The on-site restaurant has good food. I am sure we will stay here again.
10/2008
rating [ 9/10 ]
We thought this was a great place to stay despite the fact that the sites are a bit too short and narrow and a little too close together. The roads were paved but also a bit tight. However, none of this was so bad that it would keep us from staying there again. The staff is super. They were a great help when we had a serious problem. The sites were paved, level, and had a patio with a table. I can’t remember if there was a grill. Most sites were shaded. The free Wi-Fi was good, but the cable TV was a little lacking. Not all the channels came in clear, and for some reason, that even the staff couldn’t figure out, we had to disconnect the cable and use our antennae to get local channels—just a fluke at our site. The pool looked nice. The construction on I-40 is still a mess, and we could hear traffic noise, but it did not bother us. Apparently the park is adding sites. It will be interesting to see if they will be larger to better accommodate big rigs. Either way we will be staying there again.
09/2008
rating [ 5/10 ]
I hate to give this KOA such a low rating because the owners/staff were so nice when we checked in, but it really is not very attractive. The whole place is dusty gravel. Sites are narrow, and ours was side-by-side putting us very close to our neighbor. The restrooms were old and worn but looked clean. Cable TV had good reception and lots of channels, but the free Wi-Fi was very weak. One area (possibly for tents) did have some large trees, and there was a descent looking playground, but this did not make up for the overall look of the park. We would choose somewhere else next time.
09/2008
rating [ 7/10 ]
We found this KOA by accident while searching for another one where we intended to stay. This one was closing for the season in one more day so things were not very up to par. The best thing going for it was the mountain views which were beautiful. The staff was pleasant. The roads were gravel. The sites were gravel and fairly level with a small cement pad for the wheels and a small brick patio. There was a table, and utility pedestals were lighted. Sites were long enough, but narrow and close together. Cable TV was poor as were the off air channels, and there was no internet access—possibly because they were closing. This worked for us since we were only staying one night. Hopefully it is better during the regular season, but we would probably pass it by.
09/2008
rating [ 7/10 ]
This KOA was not great, but not all that bad either. The staff was a little hard to reach by phone to make a reservation, but they were friendly when we got there. Roads and sites were gravel. Sites were narrow and close together. Most sites had a table, some had fire rings, and some were shaded. There were lots of cable TV channels, and the free Wi-Fi was strong. Restrooms/showers were small, old, and showing wear, but reasonably clean. This worked as a place to stay while seeing sights in the area, but not much more.
09/2008
rating [ 10/10 ]
This is a wonderful resort located a little south of I-90. The layout is more RV park than campground, but to call it a “glorified parking lot” and give it a 5 as a previous reviewer did is totally unfair. We also found the staff to be friendly and competent; yes, some were young, but no one was impersonal. The whole park was nicely landscaped, but the trees were still too small to provide shade. The roads were paved and easy to navigate. Sites were paved, long, wide, level, and mostly pull through. Patios were placed at different locations on the sites so that they will match the placement of almost any RV door. Just be aware of this at check in so that you are assigned a site that matches your door. Each site had a table, and there were community fire pits near the office. Utility pedestals were lighted. The area between sites was large and contained grass. The individual restrooms/showers were clean. There were lots of cable TV channels, and the free Wi-Fi was strong. The pool was very pretty. There were tennis and basketball courts and areas for volleyball and horseshoes. There was also a very nice playground. The off season rates were far better than we expected. We have paid much more for resorts of this caliber. If we lived closer we would be here frequently.
09/2008
rating [ 9/10 ]
We knew this would be a nice campground when the entrance road ran beside a pasture that had horses and a pretty little creek running through it. This is a huge place with several different camping areas from rustic wooded tent camping to full hook ups with huge open grassy fields in between. The staff was courteous and check in was quick and easy. We chose the full hook up area which had gravel roads and sites. Our site was level, but some RVs had to use lots of leveling blocks. All sites had a table and fire pit, and some sites had trees. Cable TV was good but limited. Wi-Fi was weak but usable. Restrooms/showers were clean, but they need to add one closer to our area. The pool was not open, but it looked like a nice area. The George Mickelson Hike/Bike Trail was nearby. This place was very centrally located for seeing the sights around Mt Rushmore, and after checking out several other campgrounds in the area we are sure we made the right choice.
09/2008
rating [ 9/10 ]
When we picked this park we did not realize it was run by the city. We called several times to make reservations, but never got an answer. I finally called the city’s visitor services to see if the park still existed. A very nice lady assured me the park was there, but they did not employ hosts after Labor Day. She said there was self registration and we didn’t need reservations because the park was empty. However, when we got to the park we found almost every site was taken (and this wasn’t even the weekend), but fortunately we got one. It was not until we got settled that we realized just how pretty and nice and quiet the park was. The sites were paved and reasonably level with a small patio. There was lots of room between sites. Some were “buddy” sites—sites that held two RV’s. They were arranged around a large lush grass center area which had covered tables, grills, and a basketball hoop area. The area was beautifully landscaped with some trees but they were mostly too small to provide shade. Only a small number of sites had cable TV (lots of channels and good reception), but all sites had a fantastic view of Scott’s Bluff National Monument. There was free Wi-Fi which was a bit slow but usable. The restrooms/showers were plain, but very clean. They honored the Good Sam discount making the cost a real bargain. We stayed an extra night just because it was so pretty and peaceful.
09/2008
rating [ 8/10 ]
This place was a nice stop just off I-70. The owner was very friendly. The roads and sites were gravel and in good condition. Sites were open, plenty long, and level, but just a bit close to each other. There were no trees to speak of, but this is the “plains.” Each site had a table, but due to the almost constant wind, fires were not allowed. The free Wi-Fi worked well, but there was no cable TV. Three off-air stations were available with good reception. There appeared to be several activities for families—playground, mini-golf—but no pool. Restrooms/showers were older, but clean. We would stay here again.
09/2008
rating [ 10/10 ]
This place was very neat and clean and nicely landscaped (with gravel and desert plants) given it was located in west Texas where there is no grass or trees—just red dirt. The staff was very friendly. The roads were paved as were the pads. Each site had a patio, but no table or grill. It is usually too windy for fires. The cable TV reception was good with lots of channels, and the free Wi-Fi worked fine for us. The restrooms/showers were very clean; we did not check out the pool. They advertise a free laundry, but we did not use it. Some people will probably criticize this place because its layout is more like an RV park rather than a campground, but we really liked it and hope we get to stay here again.
09/2008
rating [ 8/10 ]
This KOA looked much better than the last time we stayed there about 4 years ago. It was neater and cleaner, the trees had been trimmed, and the sites had a good thickness of gravel. The roads were paved but were a bit rough with some potholes. The staff was nice and attentive to our needs. When we reported that the cable TV connection was broken at our site someone came immediately and fixed it. There were lots of channels, and the reception was good. Sites where we stayed were a bit narrow with trees on each side. We could open our slides easily, but could not have opened the awning. There was a table and grill. Sites were also close to one another, but they were placing RV’s in every other spot so it did not feel crowded. We did not see the open sites that are shown on their website, but even with trees we really didn’t have any trouble getting into or out of our site. We did not use the free Wi-Fi, or the pool, or the restrooms/showers. Even though it was just off I-20, we did not notice any noise. We felt the price was just a little high, but given the other campgrounds in this area we would stay here again.
02/2008
rating [ 8/10 ]
This was a nice KOA. The staff was friendly and very helpful when we needed directions. Sites were gravel, long, and level, but just a little close together. Bushes and trees between the sites gave some privacy, but then you had to watch out for them when opening slides. Each site had a table and grill. Some sites were side by side. There were a large number of cable TV channels, and the free Wi-Fi worked fine. We would stay here again.
02/2008
rating [ 9/10 ]
We stayed here just after a huge snow storm, but all the roads and sites were cleared, so we actually enjoyed seeing all the snow. There were only about a dozen other RV’s there so we practically had the park all to ourselves. I’m not sure about the nightly rate because we got a great package deal which included the train ride to the Grand Canyon. The staff was friendly, and the facilities were very clean. The Wi-Fi was free and strong and there were lots of TV channels. We would definitely stay here again.
01/2008
rating [ 9/10 ]
The last time we stayed here (at the same time of year) the park was completely full. This time it was fairly empty. The staff was friendly, and no one bothered us with a sales pitch. Our site was long and level with a patio and wrought iron table and chairs. The park was very nice but a little expensive for just an overnight stop. If we had had time to take advantage of all the amenities it would have been more reasonable. Even so we would stay here again.
02/2008
rating [ 9/10 ]
With so many previous reviews there is not much left to add. It’s all been said. The park was immaculate, and the side by side hook ups did not bother us. The individual men’s and ladies’ bathrooms are nice. We were glad the Wi-Fi is now free (I think we had to pay for it the last time we were there), and it was strong and fast. The park is just down the street from Old Mesilla which is a great area to browse, shop, and eat. There are numerous restaurants and a Super Wal-Mart near by. This is a great place, and we will stay here again.
02/2008
rating [ 8/10 ]
We had not been here for two years, so we were glad to see that free Wi-Fi is now available, and it worked fine when we were there. As mentioned by others the park is no longer affiliated with KOA. The staff was still very friendly, and everything was well maintained. The sites are gravel, reasonably level, and have a table and grill. This makes a great first and last stop for our trips out west.
02/2008
rating [ 9/10 ]
This was our first time at this park. The numerous other reviews cover just about everything. The Wi-Fi was too expensive, but it worked great at our site. There are sites where it does not work so if you plan to use it be sure to mention this at check in. We didn’t really hear any noise from I-15, and apparently the condo construction (mentioned in other reviews) is far enough along so that there is no noticeable noise. We only heard a very small number of planes, and they weren’t that loud. There are several categories of sites and naturally the less expensive ones are closer together. We chose a deluxe site and felt that the space was adequate, but could be better. Overall we were very comfortable here, and we had no problems. We would stay here again.
01/2008
rating [ 10/10 ]
This place was gorgeous! We used the online coupon (mentioned in previous reviews) and stayed for the five free nights. I thought that because of the coupon we might not be treated as well as those who actually intend to buy a lot. But not so. The staff was very nice and welcomed us even though we didn’t have a million dollar motor home. (It is limited to only class A coaches 30’ and over.) The lots that were individually owned have been extensively landscaped with cabanas, waterfalls, and even outdoor kitchens. We really got to see a different way of RVing. The resort had every amenity imaginable including 5 pools, a fitness center, tennis courts, 9-hole putting green, and on-site diner. We also got free Wi-Fi and cable TV for the time we were there. I won't say they don't want kids, but the atmosphere was certainly geared more to adults. We were prepared to hear a sales pitch, but there was none. I asked about the regular nightly fee and was told it was $81, so we feel like we got an excellent deal. Also the road construction seemed to be completed in this area so traffic was not a problem. Unfortunately we will probably not stay here again unless we hit a really big jackpot, but I do highly recommend it to those who can afford it.
07/2007
rating [ 8/10 ]
Everything is just about the same as the last time we stayed here several months ago. The park is clean and quiet, the pull-thru concrete sites are long and fairly level, and the cost is pretty cheap if you don't gamble a lot. (We were fully comped this time.) Our only complaint was that the wifi was so poor we could not stay connected. I'm sure we'll be back.
05/2007
rating [ 9/10 ]
I have no idea what a previous reviewer’s problem was because their pet rules seemed to be in line with other RV parks. Also the staff was very friendly and accommodated a special situation for us. Overall this was a beautiful park. The sites were cement and level. They were plenty long but just a bit close together. The back-ins had parking beside the pad. The landscaping was very pretty and well kept. Based on appearance alone I would give this place a 10. However, there were some drawbacks. There were no showers or restrooms so you must have a self contained unit. Also there was no laundry. This was not a problem for us, but I feel these should be available for a park to get a 10. Also there was noise—some from vehicles but mostly from trains. The road noise was not noticeable with the air conditioning on, but the trains blew their whistles several times a day and at night when they crossed the road and that was very loud. If you would not be bothered by the noise then this is a nice place to stay. It is also very close to Texas A&M University and the Bush Presidential Library. We would stay there again.
05/2007
rating [ 8/10 ]
We first stayed here about a year ago. It was nice then and still is. The staff was friendly and very accommodating when we had to change our plans at the last minute. Sites were either gravel or paved. Many had patios and a table. Their cable and free Wifi were both very good. There was some noise from the nearby road, but with the A/C on it did not bother us. I feel sure we will stay here again and would recommend it.
05/2007
rating [ 8/10 ]
We only stayed here overnight, and it was just fine. The sites were gravel, reasonably level and plenty long. There was a picnic table at each site. The staff was nice; the showers were clean; good cable TV and Wifi. Their brochure listed several other amenities that we did not see because of our short stay. We would stop here again.
05/2007
rating [ 9/10 ]
Ok, there is no getting around it. This park has jet noise from the nearby naval air station, but it was not that bad when we were there. Fortunately they did not take off at night. That said, it was still a great park--very clean and pretty. The staff was nice and helpful. We stayed in a super site—plenty long and ample width. The pads were cement and level. These sites had a patio, a table, and a portable fire pit. Much of the park is shaded but these sites were not. The 2 pools we saw (there are 4 total) looked clean, and there was a cute mini-golf course. The showers were clean. They had free WiFi throughout the park, but they were changing carriers when we were there, and it was not available. There were lots of cable channels with good reception. The park is not right on the beach, but it is a short drive (3 mi.)to their free parking lot that is just 2 blocks from the beach. There was not much parking in the beach area so this lot came in handy. We hope we can stay there again and definitely recommend it.
04/2007
rating [ 8/10 ]
I agree with the previous reviewers that this is a hard call. The park had lots of amenities and other things going for it. Being the closest RV park to downtown DC was a big plus and the main reason we put up with some of the less desirables things. We appreciated the staff changing our reservation twice without penalty when we were delayed by bad weather. There were lots of cable channels and the WiFi was free and strong. Their 2 pools looked pretty; their restaurant seemed nice (although we didn’t try it); there is a big laundry room (but it needed cleaning); and their tour desk was very helpful and provided a convenient way to get advance tickets. They were very knowledgeable about the metro and were patient with us newbies trying to understand it. However. . . . . . for over $50 a night (before discount) we felt the basics needed to be a bit better. The roads were narrow and the sites were just OK. They were gravel with some grass and looked crowded and a bit messy throughout most areas of the park. The sites were small in length and width. Our toad had to be parked almost in the street, and many others were in the street. Our site was pretty un-level. There was a table, grill, and fire ring at each site, but there really wasn’t room to have a fire. Our neighbors did, and this was the first unpleasant experience we have had with smoke blowing into our RV. I almost reserved a super site and was really glad I didn’t. They were not any bigger or prettier and were definitely not worth the difference in price. The ladies’ showers in the bath house nearest us were acceptable, but the men’s were always a mess. The facilities were better in the conference center. Finally, the group of people mentioned by the previous reviewers was still there. The good news was they were mostly all grouped together in the back of the park. The bad news was that because of this their area was extremely crowded and messy. The really bad news was that our site was very close to that area. We saw several trailers that appeared to have 5 separate living quarters. Some just had a blanket over the door. There were large trucks and cargo trailers parked everywhere. It was hard just to drive down the street because of all the vehicles sticking out, and they seemed to constantly shuffle vehicles around. However, they were not noisy, and our RV faced away from their area so we did not have to constantly see the mess. We would stay here again simply because of the location, but we sure wish they would make some improvements.
04/2007
rating [ 8/10 ]
This was a very pretty, clean, quiet campground with lots of space, and it was a great base for exploring the Shenandoah Valley and National Park and surrounding area. The owners were very nice and helpful. The roads and sites were gravel. The sites had a table and fire ring. Some previous reviews mentioned that the parallel pull through sites were a little hard to get into because they were a bit curved. However, there were also regular pull through sites that were straight, long, level and easy to maneuver into. The showers were very clean, but I don’t think they were heated. The pool wasn’t open yet. There were only 2-3 TV channels and reception was poor. The WiFi was free but weak. It looked like they were building new spaces. We would stay here again.
04/2007
rating [ 9/10 ]
This was a very nice KOA. The staff was friendly and helpful. The roads and sites were gravel. Each site had a table, grill, and fire ring. We stayed in one of the super sites which also had a small deck with patio furniture and a portable fireplace. The showers were individual but did not seem to be heated (and it was really cold when we were there!) There were many channels on the cable. The free WiFi was throughout the park, and it was very good at our site. There were MANY activities for adults and children including a nice playground with a “jumping pillow.” They even had a restaurant which delivers food to your site. A band was scheduled for one night but did not play due to bad weather. The cost was a little higher than we like ($52 without the KOA discount), but if you take advantage of all the amenities it would not be bad. This was a good base camp for seeing attractions in the area.
05/2007
rating [ 8/10 ]
It has been a year since we stayed here and a few things have changed. First their rates have gone up about $8—but whose haven’t gone up at least some? Also a year ago they had free WiFi (although it was not yet throughout the park). Now they charge $10.95 a day. At that rate we didn’t use it so I can’t say how good it was. However, their modem connection in the lodge was still free, and it worked fine. We requested to be in one of about 6 sites because they were shaded. We were told they were all reserved, but the whole week we were there only one site had an RV in it. The cable had 20 channels (some were local advertisements) but at our site it didn’t work well. We reported this soon after we arrived. They said they would send someone to check it. When no one came that day or the next, we reported it again and again and again until finally someone fixed it 5 days later--the day before we left. Of course we weren’t there to watch TV, but this is an indication that their customer service is not very good. The sites were still pretty nice. They were paved and had a table, but no grill or fire ring. They needed mowing, and we did see mowers while we were there—just not in our area. The pool looked pretty, and the showers were very clean, and despite the changes I’m sure that we will stay here again.
04/2007
rating [ 9/10 ]
This was a beautiful park with paved roads and pads. The staff was very friendly and competent. There was a beautiful activity building, and an RV service center was located just next door. The sites had lighted utility pedestals and picnic tables. There were no grills, and no fires were allowed. There was a small fishing lake. The restrooms and showers were very clean, but had a little unusual configuration. There were individual showers which were just that, a shower--no sink, no mirror, no toilet--with just a bench for your clothes and toiletries. Then around the corner were large individual dressing rooms with a toilet, sink, and mirror. The rooms were very nice, but even so this arrangement meant you had to get dressed after a shower and leave that room and go to another to shave or dry your hair, etc. I assume the idea was that some people could use the showers while different people used the dressing room. I personally found this arrangement to be a bit of an inconvenience, but only a very minor one. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.
04/2007
rating [ 8/10 ]
We stay at this campground 2-3 times each year, and it is always nice. The previous reviews are accurate so I won’t repeat.
05/2007
rating [ 8/10 ]
We spent two overnights here (about a month apart), and the park seemed to be very nice and clean. The staff was very nice. The setting was natural with trees. The roads and sites were gravel. A table and a fire ring were at each site. The showers were clean. There was a small lake and a 9 hole par 3 golf course. The pool was not open yet. We received 6-7 local TV stations. Their free WiFi was on the blink the first time we were there but worked great the second time. We would stay here again.
10/2006
rating [ 7/10 ]
This is a very nice quiet campground and the lower rating is only because it lacks some amenities as is typical with COE parks. The park is right on Belton Lake, but the sites aren't really waterfront because they sit on a bluff overlooking the lake. There is a boat ramp for lake access, and there are nice views of the lake from some spaces. You can get 3-4 local TV channels. Some sites have huge oak trees and are completely shaded while others are open. We only looked in one bath house, and it was just OK. The shower was huge, but since it is partially open to the outdoors there were leaves and some bugs inside. We prefered to use our on board facilities. We have stayed here before and would do so again.
10/2006
rating [ 8/10 ]
Nice KOA--much better than we expected. The staff was very friendly and accommodating when we needed to stay 2 extra nights due to bad weather. Many sites are gravel and grass, but some are concrete with a patio and wrought iron furniture. There was some road noise, but it did not keep us awake at night. The wifi was good and they had a bunch of cable stations. There appeared to be some permanent residents, but their sites were well kept. We would stay here again.
10/2006
rating [ 9/10 ]
We stayed here for the first time about 3 years ago. It was very nice then and still is. They have added wifi for a charge. We didn't use it so I can't say how good it is. The park is located a little bit out of town, but the views and the quiet surroundings are worth it. The center section of pull throughs have a drop off that looks like it would be difficult to get level. However, there were several large rigs in this section, and they did not seem to have a problem. We prefer the the C section back in sites which are very level and have the best views. The nightly rate included 50 amp and cable both of which are separate add on charges. The spaces are a little close together, but there was plenty of room for slides and awnings. We would definitely stay here again.
10/2006
rating [ 10/10 ]
10! That about says it all. The previous reviews are very accurate. It is absolutely beautiful here, but it is in the middle of nowhere. Even so we would stay here again and drive to either Branson or Eureka Springs for entertainment. It is about 35-40 miles to either city. For you golfers they have a 9 hole course, and there is a marina close by that rents boats. There are tennis courts and a clubhouse where they hold planned social events. Previous listings indicate that they have cable TV, but they don’t. You can pick up 3-4 channels with an antennae, and that’s it. It looked like the utility box had wiring for cable so maybe they plan to add it. I also did not see any pull through sites. They are all back in or head in. Every site is concrete, long, and level, and has a picnic table. There are no fire rings, but some people had campfires in self contained portable fireplaces. Many lots are owned by individuals and have been beautifully landscaped. There are two pools and spas, and the restrooms/showers were very clean and even had a sauna. Finally, please note there is some discrepancy about the park's listed location. This web site lists it as being in Blue Eye, Missouri. A well known RV park directory puts it in Blue Eye, Arkansas. The resort is close to there, but the actual address (as listed on the park brochure) is Oak Grove, Arkansas. But there is no other resort out in that area so all the addresses have to be for the same one.
09/2006
rating [ 8/10 ]
This was a pretty nice KOA. Overall it was clean and quiet and suited our needs just fine for an overnight. The staff was friendly and would have escorted us to our site except their golf cart had a flat tire. The roads and sites were gravel. Most sites had trees that made it a bit tight. We had no trouble with our slides, but we could not have put out our awning. We didn’t ask about wifi, but the TV cable had lots of channels. I don’t think it was quite as nice as previous reviews stated, but we would stay here again.
09/2006
rating [ 9/10 ]
We were only here one night so we didn’t really see much of the park, but what we did see was very nice. The staff was very friendly at check in. The sites were large enough not to have to unhook, but were just a little close together. A lighted utility pedestal was a nice touch. The pool and spa were very pretty, and the individual bathrooms were extremely clean even at the end of the day. Cable TV was good. We didn’t try the wifi. The highway noise did not bother us at all. They are also adding 80 (I think) more sites. We would stay here again.
10/2006
rating [ 8/10 ]
First I need to explain that in April 2006 the Branson KOA located on the lake closed and the RV park formerly known as Chastain’s (also reviewed on this site) became the KOA. It is on Animal Safari Road, a few blocks off Hwy 76 (aka The Strip). Therefore, the previous post from June 2005 is probably for the old location, but the October 2006 review would be for the new location. I agree with the 2006 review and also with the reviews listed under Chastain’s. The park is quiet and pretty nice overall. The staff was friendly, and the new owners seemed to be making improvements. They said the whole park will have wifi soon. For now it was only available at the office. Their cable TV was good and had lots of channels. The roads were paved, and there were security gates. Some areas of the park were heavily wooded and looked a bit tight for big rigs. However, the section where we stayed had much smaller trees and wider roads. The actual sites were a little narrow and close together and each had a table and grill. There were 3 bath houses (the one I saw was clean, but a little worn). However, they need to add one closer to our area. Their shuttle service to shows was well worth the price as they take you right up to the door and pick you up there when the show is over. (It’s free if you buy your show tickets from them. $5 otherwise.) The pool was closed and looked a bit small. I did not see a spa. We looked at several other parks in the area, and in all honesty some of them may be just a little nicer, but they were also farther away from the theaters, so if you are going to see a lot of shows this is the best place to stay. We would definitely stay here again.
02/2006
rating [ 7/10 ]
We have been staying at this KOA since 2001. It is almost always our first and last stop on our trips west. The previous reviews are accurate. The staff is always very nice. The sites are gravel and fairly level. The restrooms are older, but clean. Their trees are finally getting big enough to offer some shade. They used to have a nice little restaurant on site, but the last couple of times we’ve been there it has been closed. Their pool has always looked nice. There is no TV reception. And one other thing: A sign in their office says, “No, the wind doesn’t always blow this hard. Sometimes it blows harder.” Believe it, but it is still a good overnight stop.
05/2006
rating [ 9/10 ]
We think this is a great park, and there's not much to add to the other positive reviews as they all pretty accurately describe the place. We were lucky enough to get one of the few spots with small trees on both sides, and the shade really helped. The staff was friendly, and we were told at check in that their WiFi was only in their office area. However, while we were there they supposedly improved their signal making it available out to all the sites. Unfortunately we were at the very back of the park and never got it to work there. The pool is beautiful with both a covered and open patio area. The showers were very clean. We didn't see any problems from pets, but there is a section where you can park if you are not traveling with one. The nearest Walmart is about 25 mi. away, so stock up before getting there. We checked out both the Sam's Town and Hollywood RV Parks and think this is the nicest. If you gamble at their casino be sure to see before you leave if you have bet enough (lost enough?) to get comped for at least some of your stay. We had, so the very reasonable price was even better. We definitely plan to stay here again.
05/2006
rating [ 7/10 ]
I am not sure how KOAs (or other campgrounds for that matter) manage their reservations, but this one seemed a little weird. When I made the reservation weeks in advance I asked for a 50 amp pull through. I was told they did not have a PT available but that they had a back in site. I wrongly assumed they meant it was 50 amp, so I took it. When we got there I again asked at the desk if they had a 50 amp PT. The person checking us in said she would see, but another desk person immediately said they didn't have any PT's available, only back ins. I said that was OK, and they showed us to our site. As with most KOAs the road was narrow, and we had trouble backing in. Fortunately there were no RVs in the sites on the opposite side of the street or I don't think we could have gotten in since we had to pull forward into those spots. An inconvenient tree and light pole didn't help, but we made it. We located the sewer on the correct side of the site, but then we discovered the water and electrical hook ups were on opposite side. We have long cords and hoses so this still would have worked until we found out the site was only 30 amp. So we went back up to the office to ask for a 50 amp site. I talked to a third lady (the first two weren't there then) and explained that we thought we had reserved a 50 amp site and asked if they had one available. I'm sure the look on my face was priceless when she said, "Would you mind being in a pull through?" I suppose they could have had a cancellation in that short period of time, but it seems a bit unlikely. I didn't even try to find out why we were refused a PT the first two times. This site was easier to get into but very close to the next space over on our utilities side. In fact our sewer opening was almost under their picnic table. I felt sorry about this, but it was really their problem, not ours. The rest of the stay was fine. The camp is shaded and the spaces are clean. They are making some super sites which contain patio furniture and landscaping, but I think they also had a super price. The pool looked very nice, and the bathrooms were clean. They do not have cable TV, and we never did get the WiFi to work although they said it should. We think they are overpriced, but we would probably stay here again.
05/2006
rating [ 10/10 ]
This park had an "Oh my gosh!" view that should probably make most any other problem seem insignificant. The staff was very friendly, but a bit absent from duty at times. When we called for a reservation there was no answer so we left voice mail. A lady returned our call the next day and apologized for taking so long to get back to us because she had been out of town. This wasn't really a problem since we were calling several weeks in advance. The road up to the park was narrow and gravel, but we had no problem even with a 37 ft. motor home and a tow car—just watch out for that last sharp left turn or you will end up in someone's house. There was no one in the office when we arrived, but our site was posted outside, and we had no trouble locating it and setting up. We had a premium site (they have the best views) which was cement, level, and plenty long with a patio and a grassy area. As stated in another review there is a steep drop-off by these sites, but there was still plenty of room for us (sites 2 & 3 seemed to have the most room). There is also an area in the center of the park for large gatherings. We never saw anyone in the office that whole day, so we paid the next. (Hey, if they weren't in a hurry to get their money, it didn't bother us.) Their TV cable was good, and the WiFi was strong at our site, but you do need to get the code from the office. The individual bathrooms were clean, but were showing a little bit of wear. The laundry was small but nice. And did we mention the view?!--beautiful mountains with the river visible below. Yes, there was fog in the morning, but it only added to the charm. We just happened to meet the people in sites 1, 2, and 4, and none of them were park workers when we were there. We definitely recommend this park, and hope we get to stay there again.
05/2006
rating [ 8/10 ]
This is not a bad park if you can get by without restrooms and showers or a pool, none of which are available. Another drawback was that there were several mobile homes which have seen better days, but the sites they were on were well maintained. If you can get past these things the rest of the park is great. It was located a few miles southwest of Chapel Hill in an area with rolling hills and beautiful ranch estates. The roads were well maintained gravel. The whole camp was heavily wooded, but the sites were wide enough to maneuver into easily and accommodate slides. The sites were very long and contained crushed rock, granite we think. There was plenty of room between sites. The whole CG was natural looking with lots of squirrels and birds, but it was also well cared for. The cable TV worked great with lots of channels, and the WiFi was strong. The best thing about the park was the manager/owner couple. They were not in the office when we arrived, but our site number and registration papers were posted outside. Within 15 minutes after we arrived he came down to greet us, and she came by a little while later to see if we needed anything. We did have trouble with the Wi-Fi at first so we called him, and he came right down and fixed it. We were impressed! We indicated that this is a family friendly park, and they did have a play set for children, but there is not anything else for them to do. This is not a problem for us so we did not view it as a negative. For our needs this park was a 10, but we rated it lower because of the missing amenities. If you need an RV park in this area we recommend this one, and we would certainly stay at it again.
05/2006
rating [ 4/10 ]
We had a very nice site here. It was on the side that did not have the houses just on the other side of the fence so there was no party noise. The pad was cement with a nice grassy space between sites. A few sites had a tree or two, but most were open. It was a short walk to the beach which was really pretty with lots of shells. The general appearance of the park was attractive and well kept. There were many channels on their cable TV, but the WiFi only worked in the office. The staff was friendly. Based on these things alone we would have rated the park an 8 or 9. However, the restrooms and showers were horrible. They were old with cracking, flaking paint. They were not air conditioned so the outside doors stayed open allowing every bug in the area to reside or die inside. There was dirty standing water on the floor, and several shower heads were dripping and rusted. We know facilities are harder to maintain in a coastal environment, but this was ridiculous. We looked in three different bathrooms, and they were all the same. Therefore, we must give a lower rating and feel the site rental we paid was overpriced. We might stay here again because the rest of the park is nice, and we can use the bathroom in our coach, but I would certainly warn others about the showers before telling them to stay here.
04/2006
rating [ 8/10 ]
We did not see any of the problems described in the May 2006 review, but if the park is now for sale it could be a much different place from when we were there. We will base this review on what the park was like when we were there. The staff was very friendly and showed us to our spot. We stayed on top of the hill where it was easier to get in and out of (great for an overnight) but not as pretty as the sites down the hill. The pads were concrete, level, and long enough, but also close together. The row we were on had patio furniture (maybe this is what they were selling) and a privacy fence between sites. The park had nice landscaping with accent lighting, and the views were beautiful especially from the top of the hill. The welcome center was very nice, and there were 2 spotless individual bathrooms. There was a small laundry that was free. We happened to meet the owner, and he could not have been friendlier or more appreciative that we stayed there. If this park has gone down hill it would be too bad because it had a lot of nice features and met our needs just fine. Based on our experience I would stay there again and recommend it. However, because of the negative review it received I think I would call and see what was going on before I made plans to stay there again.
05/2006
rating [ 8/10 ]
This is a nice but typical KOA. The general appearance was attractive and well kept. The roads were paved but narrow. The sites were gravel and fairly close together but long enough not to have to unhook. The staff was friendly. We didn't see much of the park because we were only there for an overnight, and it began to pour down rain just after we got set up. We would stay here again and would recommend it.
04/2006
rating [ 6/10 ]
Obviously many people like this campground while others don't. We're part of the others. We made a reservation 2 months in advance because we would be in the area on a weekend and knew it would be crowded. They assign a spot at that time, and since we had no idea what to choose we just took the recommendation of the reservationist. The area is really pretty, mostly heavily wooded and sits right on a lake, but the CG itself just seemed messy. The roads are paved but have lots of holes and uneven surfaces. We stayed in the M Loop, and it was so packed that there were numerous vehicles sticking out in the road making it very difficult to maneuver. People were walking and standing in the street and made no effort to move over to give us room to get by. Some sites are paved, but ours was dirt. It was a bit difficult to back into because it was on a curve and uphill. It was also extremely unlevel, but by moving the motor home around on the spot and using blocks we were finally able to get it adjusted after almost an hour. One couple that walked by told us they had tried to stay in the spot a few weeks earlier and never could get level. We would have asked for another site, but they were full. Also when we were setting up, another motor home pulled up and they said they had been assigned the spot. I explained how long we had had the reservation so he went back to the office for another spot. (When we had arrived the check in line was very long, and only one young lady was working in the office, so I'm sure mistakes were happening.) The restrooms were dirty, and a shower drain was backed up the whole time we were there. We could not get WiFi at our spot. The rest of the stay was not so bad. The view of the lake was nice, and the good news is almost everyone left by Sunday afternoon making it much more peaceful and relaxing. We did enjoy seeing Stone Mountain and all of its attractions. We would stay here again if we could get a better site.
05/2006
rating [ 9/10 ]
We really liked this campground. The staff was very friendly and answered lots of questions about the area and gave very good directions. The roads are narrow and someone had to move his truck so that we could back in, but after we got settled there were no more problems. The sites were level and plenty wide. We backed up to the creek which was very pretty and relaxing. The WiFi and cable TV both worked well; lots of channels. The individual bathrooms were spacious and very clean. Only odd thing was the parking. We had enough room to pull our car straight into the site without it being near the street, but we were told we could not park like that so we pulled in parallel as directed. We viewed this as only a minor annoyance since everything else was so great. We hope we get to visit here again, and we do recommend it.
05/2006
rating [ 7/10 ]
We agree with previous reviews. The sites are pull-thru, paved, and mostly level, but narrow and will just hold a 37 footer with toad. There is a decent grassy space between sites but no shade. The park is clean but pretty plain. The bathrooms weren't horrible, but could be cleaner. However, you can't beat the price. The $15 (actually $14.55) is if you join their players club which was no problem. We actually had a little luck at the casino, so we came out ahead. We would stay here again, and we would recommend it with the understanding that it is not great, but not bad either.
05/2006
rating [ 8/10 ]
This is a good basic park without a lot of frills. We just stayed overnight so we did not get a good look at the entire park, but there appears to be a long term section that was well kept and an overnight section that was also nice but with a little less landscaping. The pull thru sites were gravel and grass and were extra long. Some were shaded and some not. The trees were wide enough apart to accommodate slides and there was plenty of room between sites. The TV cable was a bit erratic, but OK for an overnight. One drawback is that there is highway noise, but in May in Texas you need AC so we did not hear anything. Bathrooms were older but clean. The office people were very friendly, but take note that they do not accept credit cards. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to others.
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com