221611 User submitted reviews online!!
Geiger Key Marina and RV Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 7 user reviews. Phone: (305) 296-3553
CGID10115

Geiger Key Marina and RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
35
Date of Stay
February 2012
Latest Rate
$110



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   9   2   8   2   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$110
A little pricey for our standards, but I guess not when you compare it to other RV parks near Key West in the height of the season. Stayed here at the end of February because we could not get into any of the Florida State Parks in the Keys. We had visited the "Fish Camp" restaurant here before, but never camped. They did a lot of work on the RV sites since our last visit - It seems they have cleaned out most of the semi-permanent residents, and are catering more to the shorter stay business. They have put down lots of hard packed gravel on the roads and sites, a new brick walkway along the canal, new electrical service, newly remodeled bathrooms and showers, and some of the sites have permanent "tiki hut" shelters and palm trees for some shade. The access is tight - we had to get some other campers to move their cars so we could back into our site. Once in the site, it was relatively roomy - there were quite a few big rigs there. It is true that the electric pedestals and water spigots might end up at the wrong side of your site, it's nothing a proper extension cord or hose won't fix. The staff and other campers were very friendly. The main walkway through the sites is the brick walk along the water, so be prepared for people walking back and forth across the waterfront end of your site. Some of the campers staying in the non-waterfront sites said the bugs were bad at dusk, but we had no problems out by the water in the breeze. The park is right at the end of one of the runways of the nearby Naval Air Station, so you will get an air show (and the noise that goes with it) all day long. You sort of get used to it, and they stop around sunset. They have rental kayaks available, and there are plenty of places to explore. There is a public beach a mile or so down the road, but like most places in the keys, it is more of a shoreline than a beach. The restaurant is a popular local gathering place - especially at happy hour - the food is very good and fairly priced. They have live entertainment on the weekends. No problem with the dogs, but as already said, the only real place to walk them is out along the road - there are no real grassy spots. The Wi-Fi was only reliable when you got up close to the main building, but they do have tables there where you can sit with your laptop. Some campers said they had trouble with the cable TV, but we got like 50 stations without the converter box that they will loan you if you need it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$56
We stayed for 3 nights during the week. Sites are roomy and clean. If waterfront, can swim/fish right behind site. Office staff very friendly and knowledgable about surrounding Keys. Treated like a native (from fla.,but not a local) at the bar. Everyone was really friendly and the food was excellent. Should have stayed a week to catch weekend BBQ. Will definitely return. Pet walk, way out front kept me from giving a 9. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$55
I gave the rating a nine only because it does not have 50 amp service. Other than that it is a ten. Oh yeah: a 50 amp system (like mine) will operate both a/c units as long as not too many other electric appliances are running at the same time. (ie: electric water heater, microwave, and hair dryer.) Yes it is tight, unpaved, and the hook-ups are set up for back in only even on the waterfront, but if you are smart enough to carry sewer, water, cable, and electric extensions you can still see the water from your windshield. If you want service on a silver platter and a space all to yourself, this is NOT the RV park for you. However if you want to experience the unspoiled, laid back, natural atmosphere coupled with the RV comradely of your fellow RVers as we do, this is the place! The gang at Geiger are the best. We feel as much at home here as we do at home. Our experiences every year here, are fantastic. Bring a kayak or canoe as I do and really explore. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2011
$60
The $60 paid was a "discounted" price. This park is very overpriced for amenities and condition of the park. When I made the reservation, I requested a waterfront spot. Unfortunately, they forgot to tell me that the hookups would be on the opposite side if I wanted to FACE the water! I was told that people who stayed here before just knew they needed longer hoses, etc. What a waste of money. The laundry room left a lot to be desired. The park is all gravel and dusty. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$52
This is a quirky Keys campground and if you're not prepared for that, you won't be happy here. Our site was right on the ocean and, since we were here with friends, we pulled one rig in and backed the other in and made our own "compound". It was very breezy so we had no bugs. The food at the Tiki Bar was very good and all the music and noise stops by 10pm. It's about 10 miles from Key West, but we spent most of the time just relaxing and staring at the water. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
February 2010
$99
For a $100 a night, I was expecting a really nice park. Not so! This is a parking lot with hookups: a tight parking lot and only 30 amps (no 50 amps). No amenities. No Wi-Fi. No privacy. Spaces are poorly defined and other campers hang out right outside your windows. This park is seriously over priced for what you get. We did have a waterfront site with the bay about 10 feet behind our coach. There is a bar/restaurant on site that seems to do a good business. If you want to drink beer and listen to Jimmy Buffet songs, this place is as good as any in the Keys. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2009
$75
This place is average, if your in a RV its fine. There are a lot of full-time, permanent campers here. It was a bit buggy with the mosquitoes out in full force every time you went outside, especially in the evening. It happens to be close to Key West and the price is not so bad for the Keys. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com