215029 User submitted reviews online!!
Riverside Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (217) 753-0630
CGID10839

Riverside Campground

Camp Information
Sites
50+
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   4   7   8   5   10   8   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2014
$25
This is a County owned campground! We were traveling so stopped a pull thru site for 1 night only. $25 for a night was fair. Campground was about 4 miles off of I 55. Sites were gravel and some were kind of close to level. 50 amp power, water and sewer hookups. Once we got set up we decided to checkout the bath house. Men's and Women's were both filthy and stunk. All the toilets were full of caked on feces, broken balloons were all over the floors, and it looked as if it hadn't been cleaned in a year!The floors were covered with paper towel pieces, and horribly dirty! First and last time for us, we will never be back because of the condition of the bath houses. Too bad as campground is nice and area seems nice too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2012
$25
If you are considering camping here, read the other reviews carefully, especially the one from May 2011. The area has lots of large trees, but many sites are in the open with no shade, and with cramped quarters. Several areas are closed. One bathroom has no shower. Most of the full hookup sites are taken by seasonal/ full time rigs. The host is friendly but does not tell you which sites are taken. Many sewers are hidden by grass. The City charges the same amount for full h/up as w/e only, and the rate is up to $25. There must be somewhere better. We had planned on camping in Lincoln but wanted to get a bit further. We should have stopped, their w/e is only $15 with PA. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
An older park but well maintained. Sites are small and the hookups may be 20' from the vehicle spot (can't call the chip seal drive a pad). Only stayed 1night so we didn't look around much. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$15
Friendly & helpful host greeted us upon arrival. Park was quiet, uncrowded, & well maintained except for the potholes in the gravel access road. This park is very well situated to visit the Lincoln and other sites in Springfield. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2011
$15
It seems that the revenue generated at this park is not being funneled back into the campground. The interior road, once asphalt, has degraded into packed dirt in many areas. There are large potholes throughout the park. The sites are on packed gravel and are not leveled. Their website indicates that there are 8 FHU’s. There are actually 16 FHU’s, two of them are reserved for the camp hosts. The following sites have FHU: 51, 56, 66 through 76, 84 through 86. Some of the sites are in peculiar locations and the electrical pedestal and/or water spigot are extremely far away. Some sites you would have go underneath another rig to access the electrical pedestal. Other sites the water spigot is at least 30 feet away. Their website indicates that there are 87 total campsites. In reality the total number of campsites are much less. One loop is reserved for tent camping, but this loop now looks like it is being used by the maintenance crew. Some of the RV sites are really not usable. The electrical voltage is on the extreme high side (averaging about 125 amps). Some sites had 30/50 amp service while others had 30 amp service only. The bathroom/showers are somewhat clean and very tired looking. We chose not to use them. There is a dump station at the main gate. Verizon air card and cell phone worked well here. I think this park would be very crowded if the campground was filled. This was a good location to visit Springfield. We would possibly come back if it was off season. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$15
Nicely shaded campground, very friendly host. Convenient to highway but quiet. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$15
Nicely run city park RV campground. Convenient to Springfield sights. No Wi-Fi. Nicely wooded, well kept and clean. Great value. Would stay here again anytime. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$15
Riverside Campgrounds is an older city campground that has been upgraded over the past seven years. We found the park hosts/managers to be very helpful and cordial. This campground is close to the historic sites of Springfield with easy access to 4 lane highways. This campground has 57 water & 30 amp electric sites, 10 water & 50 amp electric sites and 8 full hookup sites. A dump fee of $5.00 is charged. The rate for tents is $10 per site. The campground is open Mid-May to Mid-October. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$15
This campground is operated by the Springfield Park District. Great location close to the President Lincoln sites. The camp host was friendly. Lots of trees and spaces between the sites. Really enjoyed the our one night there and wound not hesitate to go back there again. Nice and quiet. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com