223192 User submitted reviews online!!
Jim Hogg Park COE was rated 7 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (512) 930-5253
CGID11094

Jim Hogg Park COE

Camp Information
Sites
284
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   8   7   8   7   8   7   7   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$24
This COE campground is near Georgetown and Sun City. Although near Georgetown, it is really rural. Access road is good, but look out for the deer which are everywhere. Campground is gated. The northern loop is 30 amp only. The southern loop is now all 50 amp (although COE allows tent campers to suck up these sites rather than limiting them to rigs which need 50 amp). Lots of trees and cactus. Many birds and deer. Our site was away from the lake, and it was a deserted area; while the sites by the lake were busy. But, on weekdays, the whole area is quiet. No sewer hookups in the park, but the dump site is handy. No cable and due to the trees, the only TV is OTA. All the sites are paved, with BBQs (clean) and shelters (some screened). If you have a boat, note that even the lake front sites are not water access due to the drop off to the lake and the rocks - you have to use the boat ramp. If you have a dog, there are lots of places to walk the dogs, but there are lots of small round (really non painful) burrs. All in all this is a nice campground. Book well in advance via recreation.gov. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$20
Very nice spacious sites. Most if not all sites had a large covered patio with picnic table, grill and fire pit. My site was a back-in as are most in the campground, but I had no problem backing in unassisted. My only complaint is the restrooms. There isn't a knob to select the water temp, only a button that provides a fixed time (approximately 2 minutes) per push. Lots of hiking trails. The lake is down extremely as are most Texas lakes, but what is left is very beautiful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$12
Price reflects senior parks discount. We stayed early in the week. Park is paved with large sites which include grill and covered picnic table. Our site had a lake view with 50 amps and water. Front desk clerk was pleasant and helpful. Park was quiet and our site was level. We would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2013
$12
This is typical of COE parks, and I agree with most of the other reviews. The sites are roomy with covered picnic tables. Unfortunately not all sites are level enough for trailers or motorhomes. The very basic restrooms are typical for Texas that are open air and no heat in cold or cool weather. Obviously that it not necessarily a problem in the summer. The lake is beautiful, and the campground is a great place to get away from the noise and hustle of the city. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$24
As has been mentioned, this is a pretty typical COE park. The roads are easy to navigate and the sites are all pretty big. The gate is locked at 10 pm so this is not a good place to stay if you want the night life of Austin. AT&T and Verizon both worked well here. There IS a hiking trail that goes all the way around the lake. We hiked 10 miles of it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2012
$12
The park was nice and very clean with the following exceptions. Water faucet at site 14 had a big, ugly, hairy spider living in it. It took a long time to flush the slimy nest out. The shower was my worst nightmare. The same awful spiders (many) crawled out of the drain while I was taking a shower. I didn't notice until they were all over walls and floor. I stepped on one with bare feet and I got out of there fast. Probably just the wrong time of year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$12
A very nice COE park with new 50 amp put in this year. Some sites are level and the rest will take some work to level. Good internet and cell phone in the park. Restroom fairly clean but this park needs mowing bad. Price was with senior card. Gate people were very helpful and very nice. Will stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$22
We stayed at this park for a last minute spring break trip with family. The campground, like always with a COE park, was very nice with large sites. There were a lot of oak and juniper trees around for good shade and privacy. The sites are not level however so expect some leveling work when you get here. The area to bar-b-que and picnic table were excellent. Very large and well maintained. I rate this park a 7 because there are no hiking trails. So if you want to just sit around with family and hang out I think this is a great place. Also if you want to visit Georgetown it is also quite close to town too. I would absolutley go back to this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$9
A great park. Close to Austin and Lady Bird Johnson's Wildflower Park. Quiet during the week,but a bit crowded and noisy on the weekends. Boat ramp and fishing pier on site. We would stop in again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2011
$18
If you want to do whatever you please, come here on a weekend. Rangers and gate people don't care what's going on. With a burn ban on, several people had fires. We reported them and the gate attendant drove by slowly, didn't do a thing. We saw vehicles parked on the grass, dogs running loose, people were making noise all night. However, at 10 pm last night, the rangers did come through and told our neighbors to move their dually as one wheel was on the gravel off the pavement. Didn't seem to notice the ground fires, which endanger us all. Very poor management here, and too bad, because it's a beautiful campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2011
$18
We camped here on a weekend.It was noisy after 10:30pm, dogs were running around unleashed and unattended. Nice campground but apparently there are no rules. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$9
It's hard to find a COE park that isn't good. This one is easy to find, easy to maneuver, and there isn't one bad site. Do have to do some leveling fore and aft, but that's okay. I you can hit WiFi, then it would be a 10. No 50 amp service as yet, but unless you're running a pair of AC's, then it shouldn't be a bother. Nice wide and long sites that are very easy to back into. Also you always find the friendliest work campers at these places. Came to stay two nights, but had to extend two more due to weather up the road. Also has one of the easiest dump stations I've ever had to use. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2010
$9
Beautiful location by the shores of Lake Georgetown with hiking trails and a boat launch. There are two loops, but only one is open during the winter. Most sites are level, but some are not front to back. All sites have a covered picnic area adjacent to pad and all roads are paved. The entrance hosts are excellent and very informative. There is a dump area on the way out of the park. I stayed for 10 days while my house was being repainted and recarpetted and enjoyed my stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com