214620 User submitted reviews online!!
Gunsmoke RV Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 107 user reviews. Phone: (620) 227-8247
CGID1140

Gunsmoke RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
89
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   5   1   8   8   9   7   7   8   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$34
No dog park but plenty of room to walk them around, nice pool, good pool, gravel sites. They park the RV at every other site, if they didn't it would be very narrow sites. Nice playground and tent area. Convenient to dodge city. Came across a harmless snake walking the dog. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2014
$34
We stayed with a camping group that tried to make a group reservation several weeks in advance. The owner did not seem at all interested in having an RV group stay at the park. We were not all parked together and "the rules" were made very clear along with the 12 noon sharp exit time. Overall, the owners made no attempt to make us feel welcomed. This park offers no discounts. The RV park sites are crowded together. If the park is full then each site has maybe 3 feet on each side of your unit. Just enough for sides to be deployed and room to walk between units. The roads are gravel and the sites are relatively level. We did not visit the showers or restrooms. There was a swimming pool but we did not use. The park allows pets but I would not call it pet friendly. On the plus side, the Wi-Fi service is included and was reasonably fast. Cable TV is also included. For an overnight stay when traveling the park is a decent place to stay, although a bit expensive in my opinion. I would be very disappointed if I was planning a stay with kids and/or plans to enjoy camping. If on the other hand you just need a place to come back to after a day at the casino then it'll fit your need. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2014
$20
DH went to campground with tent camping in mind. Ads showed lovely grassy area for tents. Told he had to pay upfront before going to tent area. Did that. Down a gravel road to dirt road area for tents (not visible from office). Drought conditions had left the tent area filled with only dry stubble & dry mowed weeds. An inch of loose dust meant he was going to get so dusty getting back to camp from a shower that it was stupid to even try. He went to office to tell them he was not going to stay after all - & they simply said "no refunds". No question of why, can we help make your stay Ok? etc. Nothing. No customer service here. So he took the $ hit & registered in a motel nearby instead. Just want anyone else to know that this Park simply doesn't care. You're taking your chances. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$34
Good location; close to all that Dodge City has to offer. We stayed in the back section with long pull-thru sites. The buildings all appeared to have been freshly painted and in good shape. Utilities all worked well. Plenty of places to walk the dog. Stayed an extra day due to the bad storm north of us which gave us time to visit the Casino next door. Would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$30
The rate reflects a weekly stay in a 50amp site. Signage is good. It is located just outside of town. There is some train noise and some highway noise. The staff was friendly. The escort showed us to our site but did not help with navigating the 90 degree turn into the site (there are trees to avoid) or with placement on the pad. The roads are graveled but very bumpy so go very slow. The pads are also gravel. We had to put boards under one side to come close to level. At our site, the modified sewer connection made it difficult to get an airtight connection. Water pressure was good. We didn’t use any of the facilities. They do close the gate at night and you need a code to get back in the park. Rules were mostly the usual. Verizon and Sprint worked OK. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$32
We stayed in the park for one night and it was a very nice park and easy to get to. Bathroom and showers were clean. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
Initially uncooperative office staff when we called to complain about blasting music - just no response. At the third call, we finally got someone to tell us the music was coming from outside the park and had to shut down by 10 pm. There was no real feeling of welcome, just a recitation of "don't do this." Wi-Fi is supposed to be available, but we couldn't connect, a ding of one star. One of my biggest complaints is a park advertising Wi-Fi and not delivering. I consider Wi-Fi a utility, just like electricity, and it should be available and reliable. The place was ok and we'd probably stay here again for want of someplace better. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$32
Friendly lady at check in. They do have a pool, but it is out of service. Level dirt site. No fire pit but a very small BBQ on a tall pole. Stayed here one night. Would stay again if in area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$32
Nice park convenient to Dodge City attractions. Pull through spaces are long and wide. Interior roads are mostly gravel, uneven and dusty. Sites are gravel and reasonably level. There are some trees (a rarity in the plains) so some sites have some shade. Rustic, but clean restrooms and showers. Very good Wi-Fi and cable. Pool looks nice and pool area seems clean (we didn't use the pool). A train goes by once in a while on nearby tracks, but didn't seem to be a major issue. A few seasonal RVers here and quite a few one-nighters, but the park is ideal for longer stays while exploring this area of Kansas. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$34
The park is a little run down, but it's safe and the lessor of two evils for the area. I do have to agree with some of the reviews about the owners rules and attitudes. Pet rules are very strict. We don't have any but if I did they would bother me. Pets can only be outside on a leash with a human on the other end. Yes it says "human" even if you're outside with them you can't tie them up. You can't put anything on the grass. No children over the age of two can go in the opposite sex bathrooms, so moms if you have a little boy you have to send him alone or with dad to the bathroom. Groups are Not allowed so no having fun! These rules are in all CAPS in bold red letters. Also break them and they will tell you to leave with no refund. My husband can make anyone smile and laugh, but he said she's about as friendly and personable as a dead fly. I dont think we'll be besties anytime soon. There is a new casino about half a mile and we did see an RV parked in the lot for the night along with a few semi's you may want to stay there for free. The train didn't bother us I sleep with ear plugs but the Jake breaking all night long did bother us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$38
We were really disappointed in this park. We had heard on the road that this was the place to stay in Dodge City. Our experience was less than pleasant. The staff didn't seem to care that we were there, not rude exactly, but not friendly at all. The sites were roomy enough, but there wasn't a lot to it. My dog got stickers in his paws in the grass. The worst part was the Kansas wind! LOL We will drive around Kansas next time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$33
I do not know how this park got a 9 from Good Sam. The staff were fine, and the amenities worked fine, but it is dusty and dirty and the roads are atrocious. The bumps and rocks in the road made it hard to walk! Not sure if I would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$33
The park is clean. Gravel spots, but are fairly level. I enjoyed the park itself other than the train that rolls right in front of it blowing its horn at 6:00 a.m. Owners were not very friendly, and I was a little annoyed that they advertise being Jehovah Witness on the park map they give you. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$34
Park has nice, wide, level, long pull through sites. Owners were very helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$34
Roomy gravel sites. Easy entrance. Although old, restrooms and showers appeared to be clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$33
Small campground. Level sites, easy access, friendly owner, full hook-ups, clean grounds and facilities. Good selection of products in camp store. Pool not open. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$30
A clean well maintained park. The sites are typical of most private RV parks (small). The sites are gravel, level and have small trees. The parks cable TV had many channels. The WI-Fi is fast. Verizon cell signal is strong. The owners were nice helpful people. However, the lady who checked me in went to extremes explaining the park rules. She made me wonder if she knew which one of us was the customer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$34
Easy access to park for it is right off of Highway 54. The site was very level with good hook-ups. No problems here. Provided a very informative brochure at check-in. Would like to return during the summer when the pool is open. Showers were good. They have the largest area we have ever seen to walk our dogs away from other sites. Surprised by the freight trains at 4:30 AM and again at 5:30 AM. However, it added to the travel experience. Arrived later than planned and the owners were most helpful in guiding us to our site. The play area for children was very nice. Since we were only passing through, we were not able to enjoy the park as we would have liked. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$29
We were here for a week and enjoyed it very much. Management is great. They even went and got an item I had forgotten and sent it to me. Voltage is very good and so is water pressure. They also have the best WiFi of any park we have stayed in. We were in a pullthru site they say is 70 feet long but I think it is at least 80 feet. Site was level packed gravel. Very convenient for all the tourist stuff in Dodge City. We will stay here if back in the area or passing through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$34
Very impressed with this park! WiFi works great, Cable works. Level pads. The only problem is lack of shade trees, but not the fault of the campground, there is a horrible drought in SW Kansas. Of the 2 campgrounds in Dodge City, this one is by far the superior choice!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$34
We were leery about coming to this park based on the previous comments about the rock roads but we did not find it an issue with our 40' motorhome. We were escorted to our site. The little store has lots of things to choose from. The park gets locked at 9:00 PM. We did not have a chance to tour the area but will be back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$35
We stayed here in early April 2013. The weather changed to freezing and we were glad we were in this safe park. Very friendly owners. They printed some material for us that came in on our laptop. We would drive our RV into town. Plenty of parking. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$34
Stayed 3 nights due to bad weather and glad we were at this campground. Besides being a clean and well maintained campground with great owners this CG has the best cable TV (lots of decent channels) and the WiFi was fast and never broke lock. If you don't have a toad call a taxi to take you to the Boot Hill Museum. Well worth the trip! Will stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$29
RV Park has nice space between sites, level, and are pull through. What I did not like was the road in the campground which as previously stated has some rather large gravel rock. You really need to drive slowly. The pool was just filled while there and looked nice and clean. The pool was repainted last year, and the owners are looking at re-doing the cement decking. The owners have a sense of humor and have named all the washers and dryers (sudzy suzy, washy wanda etc). Cable and wi-fi worked fine. We would stop here again. Weekly rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$25
First night in our new 5th wheel on our way to Branson, MO. Very friendly campground with easy access off US 50 and close to Dodge City sites. Planned on only one night but had to get a toilet replaced and spent an extra night with a chance to enjoy the local sites and color. Would stay again if ever in the area. Roads are a little rough with large rock, but going slow smooths them out. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2013
$35
Thought this park was great. Enjoyed our time here. Nice staff and clean park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$35
I am not sure where the previous poor reviews were coming from, but in my case the staff was very friendly. The front part of the park are close back ins, however the pull through sites in the back section are very nice, long and wide so your neighbor is not on top of you and they are grassy. Believe me I have been to many parks that are much worse. Yes, mats are not allowed because they want to preserve the grass for the travelers. I enjoyed our grassy site. Definitely a nice place for an overnight or a few days to relax while on the road. Would stop again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$34
First, we almost did not stay here because of a previous review. I am glad that we decided to camp here. All of the sites are very roomy and allow plenty of room for any size RV. And yes, there are rules to follow: and the rules have reasons: insurance, safety, etc. Could rules be explained in a more gentle tone? Yes. All rules, including where to go in case of storms, etc., are shown on a very nice park brochure. We were very pleased with our site, the courteousness of the staff, cleanliness of all: including the showers, laundry and the like. Very nice office and store with some amenities not always available at all parks. We were disappointed in the large rock on the park roads. Time and weather will smooth out the roads. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$34
I read the previous reviews, some of which said the staff was less than friendly and the rules too stringent. I could not have been more surprised.The guy who checked us in (the owner I believe) was nicer and more friendly than 95% of any other RV park we have been. We got a great spot, all the amenities for 34.00. Not bad at all. The roads in and sites are gravel, which can be a bit rough in spots but just fine if you go slow. Only drawback is the train, which came thru 2x during the night and sounded like it was traveling right through the park. Other than that, quiet all night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2012
$38
Conveniently located near Dodge City, KS, however, not the best. Tricky entering park for inexperienced RV hauler, very sharp right turns if you come from the east. BATHROOMS: If your child is male and has to potty and is over 2 years old, he cannot enter the female bathroom AT ALL, so if Mom is watching him at the pool and has to pee, let him pee in the pool, and vice verse. If you have a girl, she cannot go into the Male bathroom. This rule struck me as odd as we are all sharing a bathroom in a camper, but what do I know? Being East Coasters from Virginia, we asked about tornadoes and such and procedures (we are only used to hurricanes)... we were told, "God protects us here." Seriously? We figured that would be part of some sort of "brief" upon entering the site. You cannot put any mats down on the ground as they are frowned upon. With high winds you cannot put our your awning. Pool is decent size and is very clean. Pets must be on leash, not on tie outs at all, but plenty of walking space, and on the back side of campground is a great view across a prairie. Also, brush up on your Spanish before you come to Dodge City. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$34
Very nice park but we definitely did not feel welcome. We were immediately told what we were not allowed to do. The doors to all the rooms had big "no" signs with a list underneath as well as inside the rooms. I think telling people about the rules at check-in with their information sheet should be adequate. Seeing big "no" signs everywhere was not very friendly. We were escorted to our site by a gentleman who drove to the site and waved good-bye. He never stopped to make sure we were okay, etc. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
Everything was clean & well maintained. There is an oil/gas boom going on, so the spaces have been pushed closer together to make room for more trailers. We had difficulty getting into our assigned spot, & had to move. Our 28' trailer & 4 door pickup were too long for several of the sites. The exit was extremely tight, & we had to back up & try again. Maybe after the boom is over, we will visit again, but not for a long while. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$34
The people here were nice and the campground was very convenient to everything. There is a nice perimeter around the park to walk your dog. Not much road noise. It is true that they will park another RV in the grassy area between campsites if they get full, but that did not happen except on the weekend. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
This was a nice little clean family owned campground. We had a pull through in the back. Cable worked great with a lot of channels. Pool was nice and heated, good playground for the kids. Less than 5 miles from downtown Dodge. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2012
$34
The check in people were nice, but money hungry. They move campers between spaces and share the same electric pole so there is not enough for either one. They flies bite so bad that my daughter could not use the pool. The entrance is decorated nice but that is all. Sites are hard to get into and out of with a long trailer (43 ft) without hitting trees or someone else's rig. I would not come here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$34
We were here for one night. No noise and it suited our needs while in Dodge City. Would stay here again. At times it could get really close since they put trailers in the grass between the gravel sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$33
Okay for a one night stay. We were parked in the upper, rear area. Mostly gravel sites, level with dirt and dead grass between sites. Not a location we would consider staying in the future. General maintenance appeared to be lacking at the time of our stay. Toward the end of their season. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$33
Gunsmoke is a nice RV park with clean restrooms and showers. All facilities function correctly. Good location for touring Dodge City. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$31
Previous reviews made us wary, but we've had a great stay and recommend this park. Train is near, but sites in back of park are far enough away. Owners are on site and very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
My first impression of this park was not good in that we arrived late in the evening and was told the site information would be in a "late arrival" box. The info was not there. However, the manager had given me the gate code and site number earlier over the phone so it was no problem finding where we were supposed to go. They apologized profusely the next morning and I thought they were very friendly and nice. The restrooms, shower, and laundry areas were clean. It had a nice pool, game room, and large store. Parking was level and sites were clearly marked. I also liked that it was gated. Dogs are welcome but there are strict guidelines like with any other park. Our only dislike was the train horn at 8am. It is very loud and there's no such thing as sleeping in at this park. We were there 2 nights. We would camp there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$37
Nice owners, bathrooms were immaculate, lots of train noise at night towards the front of park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2011
$37
We have been traveling for the last three weeks, and this RV park has the most rude attendants I have ever seen. They were so rude that I initially wondered if it was a part of some sort of show: it wasn't. This park will be stricken from my future visit list. Thank goodness we are gone tomorrow. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$32
Older park, getting a little worn around the edges. Staff are as nice as they can be given he has 2 bad knees. Comes in two sections. Ask for the back section. Well back off the highway so only the occasional train to break the quiet. All utilities worked well. Strong WiFi. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$33
This is a great park and the only reason I gave it a 9 instead of a ten is the river rock they've used on the sites. It's hard to walk on and easy to twist an ankle if you're not careful. The staff and facilities are first rate. WiFi worked great and the cable TV provided access to the local weather channels, which a couple of times proved very handy to have! We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$33
Small well run park. Pull through sites accommodate large rigs. We camped here in a 36' motorhome. Best sites are toward the back of the park away from the highway if the occasional passing truck is an issue. Management was helpful and friendly. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$33
Friendly staff, clean grounds park in 2 sections back is away from road and well kept. Will stay there again is very good for overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$33
The park just opened for the season and we seem to be the only RV here, so it is very quiet. We are behind the office and away from the highway so it is quiet in that aspect also. Very rural setting west of town. The only negative was the rate was much higher than quoted in The Trailer Life Directory. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$28
Large sites, good location, easy entry, nice owners. Nice country feel to the place. Would stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
The sites next to the highway, close to the office, laundry and pool are good for one night. The sites out back have much more room. No fire ring. The area needs attention with an assorted sized gravel from very fine to river rocks. I suspect that the Wi-Fi is only good at the sites close to the office. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$33
The owners of this park are fantastic. They are so friendly and make you feel like family from the moment you check in. The pool was not open because it was after Labor Day. Wi-Fi was excellent, laundry room was clean, our site was very long pull through easy in and out. With no recent rain it was dusty due to the gravel road but that is my only complaint and that is not the park's fault. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$36
Decent park. Close to all attractions. We stayed in back, in a pull through with wide sites. Staff was friendly. Train is fairly close. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$31
The owners are very friendly and helpful. WiFi is great as well as the TV. Site was level, but it is just dust and dirt even though we did have one small tree. We were in site #13, up front, so maybe some of the back sites are better. Convenient for the sites. Good overnight stop, but would not want to stay here for very long because of the dust. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$33
We stayed in the back section. The interior roads have huge stones that are almost impossible to walk on. The owner was not the least bit friendly when we checked in. Took us back to our site but just drove through it and left without saying a word. There is nothing special about this park but it is adequate for a night or two. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$31
The park is clean and easy to access. We stayed in the back area using one of the nice pull-through sites. This is our 3rd stop here and we like it for an overnight stop. The pool looked nice and clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$31
Great spot. Owners very friendly. Restrooms and showers were ultra-clean. Good water pressure and lots of hot water. Wi-Fi signal was strong. Numerous channels on cable TV. We did hear the train, but it wasn't disturbing. The pet rules were short and sweet (just basically be considerate of others). Located next to the Casino and right on Rt 50, so easy in and out. Will stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$31
This rating is based on having a site up front, in back it probably would have been a little higher. I wonder if the Good Sam/Trailer Life reviewers actually stayed here. Let me start with the good things easy to find, excellent TV, excellent Wi-Fi, pool looked well taken care of, laundry was good. On the negative side: interior roads were rough and need gravel not rocks, 20 minutes of listening to how to handle our Pomeranian while there and how to park the fifth wheel. After another lecture from the owner that we parked wrong, I jockeyed the trailer to have 8" clearance from tree and 7" from electrical (measured). We could not move the picnic tables as they were chained together around the tree. When someone pulled in next to us we almost walked into each others rigs. We lost track of the number of trains at all hours of the day and night blowing their whistles for the road crossing across the highway. The owners were not friendly at all unless you were spending money. I doubt we will ever stay here again unless possibly trying the back parking area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$36
Not a bad campground but they sure used the wrong size rocks to re gravel the roads. We stayed in the back and felt it was fairly quiet nice grounds good dog walk are, Wi-Fi some of the best and lots of cable channels, would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$33
We have a business and use the internet constantly while on trip so WiFi is very important to us. This RV park had excellent WiFi: extremely fast. Most sites had lots of trees and the park was easy to drive into. We'd highly recommend it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$33
Sites in back are best. Level and away from noise of highway. We do not tow and we did rent a vehicle from local Toyota dealership which they delivered to us. Rock driveway at entry of park is so hard to drive over and would recommend owners make other arrangements. Staff/owners very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
A nice park. We parked down below the hill and away from the highway. Quiet and not any highway noise. It's shady, friendly and close to the casino for entertainment. Long pull throughs so we didn't have to unhook our ATV trailer from the back of the 5th wheel. Clean areas at sites. Would recommend it to others. Had a nice area for the dogs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$31
Site was a grass back in and level. Traffic noise from highway and railroad heard, but the pull through sites in the back should be quieter. Private phone near the office for registered guests. Cable TV had snow on lot of the channels. WI-FI worked well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$31
Decent campsite, but watch out for the cobblestone at the entrance. Owners were very friendly and helpful with directions. We stayed in the front near the office because of the need to wash clothes. If I were to stay here again I would ask for a site in the back where the pull thru are because of road noise. Very convent to Boot hill and downtown Dodge. I would recommend this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$33
This is a good place to stay to see the Boot Hill Museum and the general Dodge City area. While the campground is older, it is well kept and the owners are on site. The upper section in back will accommodate big rigs with the long and wide sites. It is gravel parking with larger rock, but drainage is good. The pet area is very large and grassy, the area surrounding the upper area for the pull throughs, but there's no free area for them to run and get exercise. As we were here in "winter" the activities hadn't started. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$31
Well kept campground. Although for sale, the current owners were very busy painting & fixing things up for the summer season. Sites are very large, nice & wide, plus long enough for our 40ft motorhome plus tow. Good Verizon air card & cell service. Quiet in upper area which is away from the road. There are trains in the area, if that noise bothers you. Other than Boot Hill (which is the usual tourist trap) not much to do in area. Great for a stop over or enough activities on site to keep kids busy on vacation or long weekend. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$33
Campground is clean and neat, with a large number of units there on extended stay (construction workers). The owners have decided to leave the campground open longer this year because of all of these campers. Many of the campground amenities, such as the ice cream parlor, were closed down and unavailable. The owners believe that the campground has been sold, and the new owners will be on board next spring. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2009
$28
I have stayed at this park three times: 2004, 2005, and 2009. The park provides spacious sites and is convenient to town. There is a wooded tent area which is great for quiet contemplation or reading, and much cooler than the rest of the area in the summer. Pets are not allowed in the tent area. There is plenty of room for pet walking otherwise. The park is up for sale. The current owners have been there for 9 years. It will be interesting to see what new owners do with it. Right now, there is major construction on the main highway: 50, through town and the driving surface is rough and narrow. If you want to stay at Gunsmoke and are coming from the east, take the 50 bypass and turn right when you reach Highway 50. If that's confusing, look at a map. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2009
$33
Campground is well laid out with large sites as long as they don't have to use them as "back to back" sites as set up. Interior roads were rough and muddy when we were there. $33 a night seems over-priced when several motels in town were offering "off-season" rates of $29 a night with "breakfast" included. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$31
A pleasant park to spend 3 days. We were placed in the back, away from Hwy 160 so the road noise wasn't too noticeable. Occasional train noises and whistles during the night but not too bad. Entire park is dirt and gravel, which in itself is not bad, with long and level pull through sites, but, not surprisingly in this part of the US, a constant wind kicked up dirt and dust and covered our rig. I noticed a "This RV Park Is For Sale" sign in the office when checking in but the gal was friendly, helpful, and offered to assist if we needed anything during our stay. They had a well provisioned store with a small selection of groceries, RV items, and local souvenirs. We'll stay here again when passing through. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$28
A great park for seeing all the Dodge City and Santa Fe Trail sights. We were in a pull-through site in the back with plenty of room for our Jeep. Owners were very helpful and friendly. There is a nice clean laundry room. We didn't use the pool but it looked clean and inviting. Yes, there are train tracks right across the street and a highway, so you definitely hear noise, but it didn't bother us during our two-week stay. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$33
Best campground in Dodge City. Pros: easy to find, easy to manuever, nice long, level sites. Good hookups, excellent Wi-Fi and friendly hosts. Only negative I could find is it seems a bit pricey. Road and train noise is not noticeable. The park is easy to access, therefore close to a road with some traffic. Did not hear trains unless I was outside. If in this area, I will always choose this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$31
Easy access off Hwy 50, easy check in. We were in back side with pull through sites. These sites are approximately 90 feet long and nice and wide. The electric was very good, the wi-fi and cable were excellent. This is a gravel area which was no problem, but I did not give a l0 because of not being paved. One of the better campgrounds that we have stayed in on our trip. There was some train noise in the early morning, but no worse than a lot of campgrounds we have stayed at in in the West. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$31
Very pleasant check-in by lady owner. She persuaded us to take a back-in site in the front section, as although these sites were small, the sites either side would be unoccupied and we'd have more space. We thought this was fantastic, until we realized that the sites in the back were lovely spacious pull-throughs and definitely would have been the better option at the same price. To be fair, we checked in really early, and a lot of people hadn't left, so maybe there wasn't a space avalable. Good points: it's very convenient for Dodge City, and when they complete the new casino it will be virtually next door. There is a small swimming pool that the kids on site seemed to enjoy, although we didn't use. Bad points: Be warned, the 'front' spaces overlook the main road and railway. The road isn't a problem but the railway certainly is! The first night we were awakened 4 times by the trains, the ground shakes, the horns blowing, it sounds as if it's going to drive through your RV! The second night we were awakened 3 times. Pleased, for that reason, we weren't staying longer. Without the intolerable noise, we'd have scored a 6, at $25 or less a 7. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$33
While visiting here, we were involved in a serious car (toad) accident. My wife had a severe laceration on her scalp and had to spend overnight in the hospital. In addition, she has a cracked vertebra and is wearing a collar for the near future. As to me, I am rather crippled as is and only suffered bruises but when walking is difficult to begin with, any additional pain is nasty. In any event, the people here were more than helpful and the proprietor took me to the hospital to see the missus. I can't thank them enough. I will definitely return. BTW, the park is otherwise great, too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$31
Easy access off of Hwy 50. Easy check-in. They have lots of long pull-through sites on gravel with large grassy areas in between the sites. The laundry room was very clean and all the equipment worked well. They have a nice store and even serve ice cream. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$31
On their web page, this campground is rated by a reference to Good Sam (and others) so I made a false assumption that they were Good Sam. They are not! The campground is very easy to find and enter. Right off US 50/400. Has a really neat old west theme with old time western store fronts. Staff is friendly but really stress the campground rules (I kind of felt like a little kid being scolded). Our site (as well as the others) was gravel and pretty level. There was no view (zero, zip, nada), looked right into the side of a grassy hill. There were plenty of trees (no leaves, it's February). Wi-Fi worked great and there were 68 cable TV stations to choose from. Lots of highway noise, trucks, etc. Railroad was right by the highway and the train noise was pretty loud. Even with the noise and lack of a view, we would definitely stay here again if we were in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2008
$28
Park usually closed by mid-November. Call first. Older style, but Wi-Fi and cable worked fine. Instructed to shut off water by 9:30 so hydrant wouldn't freeze. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$30
A nice Park! It has a lot of Gunsmoke Memorabilia in office. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2008
$35
Not a very exciting place. But we were only there one night, so who cares. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$31
Gravel interior roads and sites. The pull thrus are straight in instead of at an angle. Wi-Fi worked great, lots of channels on the cable TV. We were in site #88 and it was unlevel side to side. Outside could hear highway noise, but not in our trailer, but could hear the train horns as they went by. Some what easy in easy out with a HDT and 35 ft trailer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$31
This campground was great. The staff has kept it well maintained and I really enjoyed the little extras that were peppered throughout the area. (i.e. wagon wheels as road markers and the "grave site" at the entrance) We had a good time hanging out in the General Store eating ice cream and watching people play pool. (If you stay there be sure to ask for only one scoop unless you really love ice cream.) They are located less then 5 minutes to the Boot Hill Museum. We would stay here again for sure. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
The park was clean. Roads were gravel but the sites were nice as well as level. There was a small playground for the kids and they enjoyed it. We stayed here because we stopped in town to visit some old family friends. We would stay here again if passing thru town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
Over priced for what you get. Lady on check in could not give information about local dining or attractions and was rather rude when asked. Upon entering the park, the front section was unappealing but our spot was back in the back and was not too bad. Roads and sites are gravel. The park is a place for the night, but not a destination. There were a few that appeared long-term. Overall the park was neat and clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$28
Nice park. Gravel roads and parking pads. They have put down fresh gravel where needed which shows they are maintaining the park. Mostly open, so our satellite worked just fine. The wind can be pretty fearsome with the thunderstorms, so we actually closed our slides and put down our satellite dish one night. Then we used the camp's cable tv and their wireless Internet to keep track of the storm. I would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$27
Park was nice. Owners were friendly and the park is clean. I would go back for another stay if I should go out west again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$28
Fairly nice park. Handled our 70' rig well. Kind of pricey but not much to choose from in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$28
We just stayed for an evening. I think it was fine, it is older and being maintained. The bathrooms are neat and clean and appeared freshly painted. Good area for walking your dog if you have one. We would stay here again if we were passing thru. The owner was friendly with a dry sense of humor and a small gift shop. Pull thrus and quite grounds. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$30
Management was very accommodating and helpful. We received no lecture. We were way in the back and noticed no smell as others have had. Yes, there is a train nearby, and horns were blown several times during the night. We had some commode trouble, and the front office personnel were more than helpful. They contacted the RV repair shop in town and through their intercession, arranged a repair for first thing in the morning. That's what I call help! The camp was very quiet and I had no hook-up trouble at all. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$29
This is a good place to stay when visiting Dodge City. Entry and exit are easy. We stayed in the back part of the park in one of the very large pull through sites. Manager was very friendly and we got no lecture when we arrived. I did not notice any smell at all. We could not receive wi-fi at our spot in the back even though I have an excellent external antenna that rarely fails me. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$37
Ok for an overnight or two, but sometimes the smell is a killer. The evening and morning train is just a loud train with a whistle. Like others the lecture one gets when you pay your money is a bit boring. Big negative is hose bibs are below ground in a box. If you are older and not in great shape it is tough. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2007
$28
The resort was nice for an overnight stay. The WiFi was down to the backside of the resort where we stayed. The train track is very close to the resort. The park was clean but there was a strong smell near the front of the park. The staff was nice and helpful. We had a nice tree at our site which we enjoyed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$27
We stayed here overnight on our way across Kansas. Clean, cheerful bathrooms, easy to navigate, at least in the back section. Didn't notice any highway noise, just a couple of trains, but they didn't wake us up. Friendly owners/managers (not sure which) and sufficient office hours for late check ins. Close to historic district and route 50. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$27
Good signage to campground. Entrance wide and good gravel access roads to sites. Efficient and friendly owners. There are two parts to the campground. In the front part of the campground the sites are all gravel and you could experience a lot of road and rail noise. The back part of the campground has flat 70ft pull-thrus sites. There appeared to be wide grass areas between the gravel sites but when looking at numbering and hook-ups these grass areas can be sites when they are busy. There is little rail or road noise in the back part of the campground. Solid electricity and good water pressure. Good infrastructure and a well maintained campground. A good place to stay to visit Dodge City. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2007
$29
VERY VERY NICE!!! Owners were extremely friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay. Trains are close and run at 3AM but if you request the back area, you don't notice them as much. No highway noise that I noticed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2007
$25
Very noisy due to proximity to RR tracks. Trains came through several times each night. WiFi didn't work worth a darn. Had to go to public library to connect. Dirt road was muddy but that can be expected in rainy weather. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$30
Everything appeared to be very nice. We only spent one night but it looks like this place could get very packed in if they use all the hook ups. It looked like they used the grass area between each site as an over flow area all the sites around me had room for 2. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2006
$26
Friendly owner managers except for: They took more time going over the rules than they did in taking our money. We told them we were there for the night only ( 1 trailer, 1 5th wheel) and would not be unhitching. My rig is 53’ long. They put us on short sites in the area of sites 7,8, & 9. When we pulled into our sites there was a strong odor of sewage. Four other people in that area also found the odor offensive. We walked around and looked for uncapped sewer connections and found none. There was an area of fresh digging and new gravel. There was no odor in the upper area of 70’ pull through sites. There was no evidence of odor in the campsites near the office area. When this was brought to the attention of the manager (owner?) the friendliness disappeared and they blamed it on some camper with a loose sewer hose. We found none. We even removed the 4” sewer cap at our site and no odor jumped out at us. If we ever camp there again, we will insist in staying in the new area with the long pull through sites and will ask to first see the site to check for sewer odor. The new section is very nice and was about 80% full. They have a nice playground for children. The wifi was ok at our site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$30
Nice park with friendly staff. We loved our visit to Dodge City and my husband was in heaven with all the Old West history and displays. We both grew up in the "Gunsmoke" era and he had even escorted Amanda Blake to dinner one night (before we met) so he was really smitten! We plan on a return trip in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$29
Owners very friendly. Nice pool, excellent cable TV, weak Wi-Fi signal. The sites are okay, but very tight. Would stay again if in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2004
$22
We stayed for a few days and enjoyed it. It was a good base to see the local sites. The pool was clean/warm and the sites ample. We went up to the second level in back, were its more quite. They sure do have a lot of rules though. Signs, signs, everywhere signs and they do take away from the experience. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2004
$22
We stayed here a few days while one of us needed a doctor. The owners were very helpful. The cable channel list is extensive. We would come back. No complaints. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$25
Nice place for a few days in Dodge. Owners on site, and are nice. Park older, but kept up well. Spaces on the narrow side. Worth a stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$18
This park is great. The restroom and showers are clean, fresh paint and everything works. The water is hot and the pressure is good. They have hand soap and paper towels in the restroom. The ice cream was fresh and really good. The prices were fair. The owners are real friendly and it was a pleasure to be there. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$20
We had a very good time, the park was great and the people were very nice and helpful. Very clean! Lots of stuff to choose from in the convenient store and gift shop, besides a great choice of ice cream flavors. We had a good time playing pool in the game room and then relaxed in the swimming pool. This is my 3rd year of stopping here, and I have made plans to stop here everytime I go through that area. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$22
Great hosts, who are also the owners who have worked very hard to make this one of our favorite campgrounds. Everything spotless and in its place. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$23
Nice, clean park, and friendly owners. Try to get a site on the upper level if you don't mind walking a little farther to the office, pool, and laundry. Cleverly decorated restrooms. The washers and dryers have names, not numbers. One dryer is named "Sahara Sarah". We ducked in to avoid a major storm, and enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$21
Western theme facilities attractive. Laundry is small but clean. Easy access from highway. Side-by-sidecamping can be very cramped but, only used if park is full. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2000
$18
Mostly dirt sites, set close together. Friendly operator/owners. Close to historic Dodge City We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com