219007 User submitted reviews online!!
Zane Grey RV Park (55+ park) was rated 9 out of 10 based on 54 user reviews. Phone: (928) 567-4320
CGID115

Zane Grey RV Park (55+ park)

Camp Information
Sites
57
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   8   9   7   9   10   9   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$34
Very nice older park near the river. The place is spotless!! Each site is raked, one direction, before you arrive. Great, very large shade trees for the afternoon sun. You are taken and helped guided into your site by the manager. Nice public area for gatherings. Some sites are a little close. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$30
Good location. Check-in was easy. Really appreciated the management escort via golf cart showing us to our site and helping us get RV. The spaces are nice, wide & plenty of room to set up our outdoor accoutrements. Wi-Fi was a little spotty, but management seemed to be aware, and was attentive to the issue and re-setting as necessary. Camp store across the road and walkable distance from the park. Location is good for day adventures in the area. We thought it a "Go-Back Place". We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$35
Very nice "rural" park. Owners were on site and very attentive to keeping park clean. Only negatives, I should have looked at map and seen distance to Sedona, pulled up within 25 miles, but actually around 35 which we wanted closer. The location is approximately 10 miles off Interstate and there is nothing around, and Camp Verde was also limited. We did go to Cottonwood, approximately15 miles and restocked on supplies. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$13
Absolutely gorgeous, well maintained park close to many beautiful sights such as Montezuma Castle & Well and Sedona. Very safe park. Pristine restrooms & showers. A lot of very snooty people stay here, so not the most friendly atmosphere unless you are obviously dripping with money and drive a high dollar RV. That said, the Owner (the wife) is very friendly and there are weekly doughnuts & coffee and usually at least one potluck a month. Very obsessive compulsive about leaf blowing daily and anal retentive daily gravel raking that can really get on your nerves but overall a very nice place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$38
Attractive, well-shaded, and fairly good spacing between sites. Full hookups and good Wi-Fi. Sites are all level, with crushed stone. Very clean restrooms, with huge showers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$12
This is an outstanding small RV Park - well taken care of and reflecting pride in ownership. Like previous reviewers stated, this is a great place to stay. West Clear Creek flows adjacent to the RV Park and is accessible by a short level walk. The creek provides fishing and swimming opportunities. There are pools large enough to actually swim laps once the water warmed up by the middle of May. Wi-Fi is provided and for my Site the signal was too weak. Plenty of shade is provided by trees and selective sites can obtain satellite TV without much trouble. The only negative for this RV Park is the weekend Highway 260 noise and the noise created, at times, by the low rent district neighborhood across the highway. Must not forget, I rate the showers here the best of any RV Park in Arizona and perhaps the nation. I stayed here for over a month and I will not hesitate to stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$38
We've been stopping here since 2003. The park hasn't changed: Customer service is #1. In the newer section of the park, site 83 or 84, is where we stay. The sites are level gravel and wide. The satellite signal comes in great, and Wi-Fi is strong. The staff is super, and they rake the sites everyday. The down side of the park, if you need perfection, is from April to June the old cottonwood trees drop their cotton like pods. The park grounds look like snow has fallen. The staff cleans it up everyday, but the pods are messy. The other side of the coin is that the trees give off tremendous shade. Town is 9 miles away for big grocery items, and milk, etc. is a short walk across the highway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$36
This is an excellent park to visit in this part of Arizona. The sites are large and immaculate, the facilities exceptionately clean, the staff friendly and helpful. We were in a site far enough from the highway to be very quiet and the park itself is quiet. And very dark at night; good to see the stars and for sleeping. We will definitely stay here again if we are in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$13
This park is without question the best place we have stayed in over 7 years of full time travel all over America. We don’t give praise unless it is deserved and this place earns all we can give. It is meticulously maintained in an impeccable condition and is located in the most gorgeous environment we’ve seen in a long time. Words will never begin to adequately describe the beauty here. And the park blends into it all perfectly and unobtrusively. All the ground is covered with small red gravel that is regularly raked of debris to make it smooth and clean. Each site has a picnic table and there are many large trees providing shade. The WiFi service was nearly always constant and strong. The laundry room has 4 washers and dryers and is maintained spotlessly. There is also a steam iron and board to use if you like. The restrooms in the laundry building have huge showers. There is a wonderfully comfortable small (2 person) hot tub that always worked wonderfully. A fire pit and wood is provided in the community gathering area and we spent many an evening chatting with other guests from all over the US and Europe. On Saturday mornings the owners (who live in the park) provide coffee and donuts in the pavilion. There is a trail we walked through the forest at the back of the park to the nearby creek. Always a delight. The spaces are quite large; the one we had (#19) was approximately 40’ wide by 60’ long. It backed up to a lawn area which ran across the back of all the sites in this row. It was quiet there and the WiFi was strong too. The water quality tested very good; only about 100 parts per million which is “city water” standards. There were no taste or pressure issues so we did not use a pressure reducer. Many of the folks we met are regulars and stay for months during the winter. The park is “adult oriented” so didn’t have screaming children and crying babies. Everyone is quite friendly and there is a definite sense of community. Folks remember your name and say hello when met again. The owners and hosts are top notch; very accommodating and helpful. We hesitated posting such a validating review fearing it would draw so many visitors we’d have trouble getting a spot in the future. But this park is truly special and absolutely deserves all the praise we can give. It is the only park we have ever been sorry to leave and is so good we actually considered staying on indefinitely. This is unquestionably the best place we have ever stayed, ever. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2012
$38
This is one of the nicest RV parks we've ever stayed at. The sites were immaculate (raked before new units arrive). The restrooms/showers were extremely clean. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Each site was decorated with Christmas lights. Most sites were occupied by long term renters. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$40
Exceptionally clean, well maintained park with lots of shaded sites. Owners are obsessive about leaf blowing and gravel raking done daily. Work campers manage the park and are generally very friendly and helpful. Caters to 55+ group. Weekly coffee and donuts. Proud to let everyone know that the same people come back year after year...however, they group together tightly and newbies are not made to feel welcome at all by this snobbish clique. Stayed a few weeks but due to the cold shoulders not sure we'll be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$13
It was hard not to rate this park a 10, but nothing in life is perfect, right? The rate is for a monthly stay. $375 + elec which is $.014 kWh + $5 fee to read the meter. It was hot while we were here: 104, so our overall monthly charge was ~$541 while running the a/c + washer/dryer. This is an extremely efficient park from stem to stern. There's no problem navigating a 39' TT into the spots where we would fit. The Wi-Fi works well in the park for the most part. Not all sites got super strong signal, plus there weren't many folks in the CG to pull on the bandwidth. The owners are so gracious. They made sure we had a site where we could hook-up a Quest modem because we are not retired and work from our TT full-time. We have honestly never seen a more clean park. They are constantly raking the pea size gravel, putting down water to keep the dust down, and grooming the trees of which there are PLENTY at Zane Grey. Some sites are on the road. We are road sensitive and don't think it would be too bad to be placed here. It's obvious there is great love and care with this CG. The restrooms were as clean as my own home. The sites are level for the most part. There is a grass area. The folks who stayed along that area needed insect spray if you had the sweet skin they love to eat. They do recycle. There is a path that takes you down to a seasonal creek. We saw deer, a grey fox, lizards, elk close by and we heard there are javelins, but did not see any. The CG neighbors were very friendly and welcoming. There are donuts/coffee each Saturday and corn hold is serious here: holding tournaments during the Winter season. This park is not advertised as a 55+ park but there's not a lot for the little ones to do here other than ride their bike or hit the trail. They do have a hot tub. This CG is about eight miles from town which provides the basics. There aren't a lot of "good" restaurants in town. The closest Wal-Mart is 23 miles away in Cottonwood, whose corporate limits are 15 miles away. This is where we'd go for most of our supplies. We liked it so much we are coming back for the 2012 Winter season. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$38
This is beautiful, clean RV park. If you are going because you want to be near Sedona, it's a bit far. Our only complaint was the leaf blowers that the camp workers used. They used these noisy things for several hours every morning. One morning it was at 0630! There was some road noise, but the blowers made a lot more noise. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$35
You can tell they take great pride in the park. All gravel road and sites. Level with plenty of room for big rigs. Even with the trees we were able to get satellite. Pet friendly, but dogs were not allowed on the grass. The off leash area is gravel. I wonder why most RV parks refuse to make the off leash areas grass? That is my only negative with this park. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$35
Being "full timers," my wife and I have stayed at many RV parks and resorts. This one is at the very top of the list! Friendly people, polite and just plain NICE. The park is HIGHLY maintained with large beautiful sites, most all have shade trees (mature tall ones) and the nearby creek helps keep the temperature cooler. So many things to do that are close-by, with dinning and clubs, wilderness, Native American ruins and culture. You have to plan your stay and activities to enjoy so much. After a month, we have decided to stay the whole summer and most of the fall. The locals match the attitude and friendship of the RV park's hosts and owners. We have been made to feel right at home here and in the near-by town of Camp Verde. The best food with the lowest prices of anywhere we have been so far. We can not recommend any park more highly than Zane Gray! It's an experience in enjoyment and content. You will not be disappointed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$37
Nice park. Quiet at night. I requested and was given a pull through site with a clear view for my roof mounted satellite dish. Wi-Fi was very fast, bathrooms clean, staff friendly and someone escorted me to my site. While there is enough room between sites to put slides out, the park is somewhat cramped and having a staff person as a second pair of eyes was really appreciated, especially when leaving. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$37
Park was very quiet, clean, and just outside the small city of Camp Verde. Our space was surrounded by trees (lots of shade) and level. Our space was tight (close) to other campers and provided little room for outside comfort. Space between you and fellow campers was minimal. Park offers hiking trails and a small pet playground. Be sure to visit Montezuma Castle and Fort Verde State Historical Park. This park is close to Sedona and Prescott Arizona. See website for more attractions and details. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$34
Exceptionally clean and well maintained campground. First time we had been escorted to a site. Camp host very friendly and helpful. Large area for camp fires with huge amount of wood and comfortable chairs. All campers were invited when a fire was made. They had a water truck that they watered the roads with to keep the dust down. We would certainly come back here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$13
This is an excellent RV Park along a riparian zone and beneath the canopy of Cottonwood Trees. It is the trees providing the prime outstanding character and appearance for this RV Park. West Clear Creek is a short walk from the sites and it was flowing well during our stay. There are catch-able size trout in the creek. Finding the Common Black Hawk here is a can't miss experience. Access roads and the level sites are composed of fine brownish red gravel. Most sites are about 30 feet wide or more. The utilities here are top-notch and problem free. The Wi-Fi is excellent with better than average speed. There are no amenities to justify an excessive daily rate. Like ourselves, many who come here stay for a week or more. The monthly rate is a bargain and our price reflects the monthly rate. The shade from the trees is pleasant on the hot days. They do drop volumes of cotton and leaves. They do block the satellite TV reception at some sites. The owner is somewhat obsessive with keeping the place clean. The restrooms are charming and spotless. The RV Park is only as good as the neighbors. Across the street and to the immediate east there are residential areas. Typical sounds of barking dogs, loud music and parties project frequently into the RV Park. During commute time and on weekends, adjacent Highway 260 presents considerable traffic noise. The RV Park, unfortunately, has a buddy site, which presented some problems with excessive loud and rude party RV people. A big plus for this place is the outstanding friendly dedicated work camper staff. We will likely return when in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$20
The $20 was based on a month stay. This is a very clean and well kept park. The people are very friendly and willing to help you in any way. There is a great outdoor pavilion and fire ring where everyone gets together for games and fellowship time. We will be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$30
We happened upon this little gem last year in our travels through the area. It is a very small park. It is quiet. However the grounds keeper really likes to use his leaf blower all day. Which leads me to the next comment about it being spotless. Absolutely spotless!! The gravel parking lot is literally raked everyday. The spots are level. The staff is friendly. The only caveat is the lack of cable TV, but you can get several channels on your antenna. It is reasonably close to Sedona. It is a great place. We would definitely come again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$38
This is a great small park with friendly owners living in the park. Everything is spotless and well maintained. Mature trees and landscaping, but satellite will work at most sites. Only a few long term sites and no junk. Some highway noise at the front, but little traffic at night. All utilities and WiFi at site work well. Roads, pads, and patios are pea gravel in excellent conditions, very little dust. Lack of pavement and cable TV are all that keep this park from being a 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$38
Park is exceptionally clean and well maintained. Only 2 negatives, one the restrooms/showers were very hot no A/C and fans run on low from light switch. Two the traffic on the highway is close by and noticeable all the time. It was very hot (90's) when we were there and the park was very empty, the management sponsored a picnic on the 4th but the people were mostly full timers and mostly unfriendly. It is a great place to tour the area but nobody is ever outside in the park, very strange. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$33
This is one of the cleanest parks we have stayed in. Staff very helpful. If you want a quiet place to spend some time, then I highly recommend this park. Wi-Fi not very strong; couldn't get the signal in site 34, but others had no problem. It's a great base camp for the sites around the area. We will be back in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$32
We first planned to stay for a week (rate based on weekly stay) and then extended to two weeks. Very well-kept park; everything that we saw was clean, and the laundry was great. So many things to see in the area that it is great for a base. When the Wi-Fi worked wonderful the staff reset the router upon notification. Would love to come back in the spring again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$39
Wonderful! A beautiful park. Most sites are shaded with big trees. It's very clean, peaceful with very friendly staff, who take a lot of pride and care with the facilities and grounds. No pool, but they do have a hot tub. A short walk to the creek. We cannot wait to return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$33
We loved staying at this small peaceful RV Park. It's beautifully maintained and each site is tree-shaded but not so much that it's a problem getting the dish TV signal. There are about a dozen seasonal RVs and the rest stay a shorter time. The seasonals have returned year after year and are extremely friendly and inclusive. I had a great time playing cards with them two afternoon. All the seasonal campers and the owners take great pride in the upkeep of the campground. There is a huge pile of firewood to be used, I'm told, for daily campfires and to heat the campfire in the mid-sized recreation tent. I'm also told that they have lots of pot-lucks and other get-together. Each Saturday there is coffee and donuts. The only reason I didn't give this campground a 10 is that the website states it's on the Clear Creek - technically, it is on it but not without a walk to see it this time of the year. We will definitely camp here, again, when we are in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$32
This is an adult-oriented, quiet, exceptionally clean and well-managed park in a rural setting eight miles from Camp Verde which makes for a very pleasant environment. Most sites have a split rail fence and shrubs between them and plenty of trees on the grounds, but they do not interfere with vehicle maneuverability. There is plenty of room for very big rigs. The bathrooms and laundry room are spotless. Very good WI-FI, but no cable TV. Can receive several Phoenix stations with antenna. The only drawback is a very low tolerance by management and longer-term residents for barking dogs, even inside campers, so consider that before selecting this campground. If your dog barks while you are sightseeing, you will be advised by management and told to put a muzzle on it or take it with you. Dogs are not prohibited and there are several small dogs in the park, but we recommend this campground for people who have no dogs or whose dogs are infrequent barkers. Except for the dog situation, this park would rate 10. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$33
Campground hosts were very friendly and helpful. This was our maiden trip. There is a great trail by the creek where ripe black berries waited to be picked. We will be back soon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$16
A very nice park with a friendly atmosphere. The rate is for one month including electric. The Wi-Fi was excellent. The park has plenty of room for any size RV with easy in and out. You are 8 miles out of town which was one reason for the 9 and the second is no cable TV which should be a given in a park like this. You can ride bikes, walk and hike right from park. We would stay here again. Even though the highway is along park boundary the road noise was not noticeable. The restroom/shower were the cleanest I have ever seen at a park. Laundry was the same and everything worked the whole time we were here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$32
Very nice park. We only stayed one night, but will definitely return in the future. It looks like they have a number of activities for people in the winter months. It is right next to a highway which is noisy during the day, but we did notice any problems with noise at night. Since we were only there for a night we did not notice any issues with rules. They even guide you to your space. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2009
$32
The park was real clean. Many rules, always blowing and raking the rocks from early morning, and makes a lot of dust. We all felt like outcast, we had 9 big rigs. No store for supplys. Real hard on pets. Got to see lots of wildlife. Good place to take walks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$31
We only overnighted here but liked it a lot. The park is for 55+ folks, is clean as a whistle, has decent sized sites for an RV park, shrubs between the sites and has great free wifi. Nice people own/run this place. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$29
The owners keep the park very neat and well raked. There are lots of large trees for shade in the summer. We visited in the winter, and most of the trees were bare. Satellite viewing can be difficult from many of the sites. Originally we could not find the DirecTV satellite from our spot. We were moved from 37 to 31 and had no trouble finding the signal from the 101 satellite. Phoenix stations are available with a regular antenna. The sites are more than ample for big rigs and space to park another vehicle if towing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2008
$32
This is a very well manicured and maintained park. The sites are all level and large enough to accommodate the big rigs. The showers and restrooms are clean, but kept a little too cool inside for this time of year. There is a nice covered area for groups to assemble. The downside for us was the fact that there is no grass at the sites, (pea gravel sites)which makes it very dusty and pebbles are easily tracked into the rig. To add to the dust, every day the maintenance staff is blowing leaves as they fall to the ground with gas leaf blowers, stirring up more dust and making it so that you can't be outside to enjoy the peace and quiet that you would expect at a campground. Leaf blowing starts at 8 am and ends at 5 pm daily! We stayed here in a 5th wheel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2008
$45
The campgrounds are shady and level. The maintenance crew works continually raking the pea gravel throughout the sites. This place is very nice for the elderly. The best way I can sum it up is that this is a place where the "regulars" gather in the morning, share their daily stories, do their toddys, and disappear into their RVs by noon. If you have any activities outdoors in the late afternoon, or heaven forbid, in the evening, you will have staff visiting you. I am talking so much as lights or a card game. The place is transformed into a cemetery by nightfall. I will admit it is well kept and nice in the trees in this part of Arizona however if you are pre-sixty and like to talk and laugh after six PM, your in for quite a restful stay. Bring headphones if you like music. We will not stay again. We are 56 yrs old and too young for this place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$31
The only reason this park failed to get a 10 from me is the lack of a pool. The camp sites are level, gravel but a fine mesh gravel and not prone to track ins. Most sites are well shaded and wide. Separation is a nice split rail fencing and also trees. This gives you nice privacy as well as shade and helps should any wind blow. They keep this place clean and neat. After each camper leaves they clean the sites and rack them to make sure no tracks are left in the gravel. That's neat. Throughout the day the grounds are being patrolled and kept in order. Top notch. Yes, I would return. A cozy place that makes you feel secure and welcome. The camp staff were extremely friendly. Good power, water pressure was fine contrary to a previous poster saying otherwise, they had strong Wi-Fi at my site although I did not use it as I used my Verizon card. Good service on that too here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$32
The monthly rate here was $345. This is an extremely clean and friendly park. Most of the campers are older with many repeat visitors, some long term. They put in a dog play area while we were there. The Wi-Fi is flaky depending on where your space is - there is an apparent issue with adjacent Wi-Fi to the park which causes an IP address conflict. There were too many trees for us to use our roof top mounted internet satellite dish. The same issue would exist for many spaces for satellite TV. It is an excellent location for exploring the Verde Valley area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$28
We stayed here close to home [5 miles away] to check out our new travel trailer. We had driven past this park may times and it looked good. After one night we can confirm this is a 10 operation. An older group in a quiet park with ample shade. The hot tub was fabulous. If you're looking for peace and quiet with no unruly kids or beer parties you will be happy here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$32
Very nice clean and well maintained adult park. Would have gotten a (10) if they provided fire rings. Very friendly and helpful staff. Restrooms very clean. We had a pullthrough site and it was great. A little highway noise but not really not that bad. Nice dog walks also. Staff always cleaning something and always willing to stop and talk or assist in any way. Provided coffee and donuts one weekend morning which made it easy to meet some other peopl. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$28
This park is very nice, with lots of shade. The spaces are gravel, but very clean, raked neatly, and level. I can only best describe it as a hide-a-way type setting. There is a creek just a short hike behind the park in a grove of Cottonwood trees. It is very, very quiet and peaceful, almost to the point of being too quiet. Other campers seemed almost reclusive, and didn't mingle much. However, the camp hosts were very friendly and interested in our comfort. They advertise WiFi in the park, but I could not find it. I tried to connect from my space but could not; although I did not ask for help either. Water pressure seemed to be very low at times, but everything was always in an excellent state of repair. We brought our ATVs along as there are loads of trails to explore, and we were able to ride right in and out of the park as long as we were street legal and obeyed the park rules. The public restrooms and showers were spotless. There there is a small hot tub available, as well as lots of shaded picnic tables and gas BBQ grills available for your use. But for the low water pressure and hard to find WiFi, I would have rated this park a "9". The climate here tends to be a little warm in the summer, but we will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$30
Very nice little park in the trees. Workampers very helpful. Its a little bit off of I-17, but worth the drive. Verizon worked good here. Would like to stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$30
More than we ever expected! Grounds are beautiful, and spotless! The landscape is the best we have seen in over a year of traveling through 6 states! We will be here for 2 weeks, and hope to return again sometime next year! Office staff could not be nicer! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2008
$12
I have been on the road in my 36 foot fifth-wheel (single F, 41, in a 2001 Alpenlite) since last May. I've had one good experience after another and was amazed to find that the RV community welcomed me with open arms. I wasn't prepared for the experience I had at Zane Gray, and am still, a few days later, trying to process it. I originally reserved a space at a place in Cottonwood, because I wanted to be as close to Sedona as possible, but upon arrival (another first) was really uncomfortable in that park. Had lots of clutter and no lights at night, permanent residents knocking on my door, wearing a lot of cologne and marveling at "how much we have in common" (aigh). I don't feel safe. So I called Zane Gray and asked the woman about a monthly space. She seemed very nice and said she had two people who were likely leaving this weekend. She didn't know which space I'd be in, and I told her moving mid-month wasn't a problem. She said she'd let the people in the office tomorrow know that this was in the works and that they were going to work to get me in somewhere, hopefully, likely, by Monday. I asked if I could stop by that afternoon to look around, that it looked lovely but that I'd just like to get a feel for the layout of the place. She said, "Sure, come on down." When I walked into the office I felt like I was talking to a completely different person. She said that she'd received some calls and that the spaces were now spoken for, I knew three minutes into the conversation, given the way she was responding, that that wasn't the truth, that she didn't want me to stay here, but I couldn't work out why. I was baffled. It occured to me at that moment that I'd never experience anything like this before and I suddenly felt even greater empathy for every person of color who was ever turned away from a job interview. I told her that their place looked even better in person, was just beautiful, and that I was sure there wasn't a "bad" space in the park and would be happy to be squeezed in anywhere. I asked about the space she finally admitted wasn't reserved until May, right on the hwy, and asked if I was able to confirm that reservation in an hour or two if I could have that space and she stuttered and paused and looked really uncomfortable and said: "Welllllll, you know, if someone calls between now and then, I'll have to give it to them." I'm a nice person: kind, considerate, quick to put others at ease. I still correspond with the owners of several parks I've visited. I like people, old and young, and they like me. I'm 5'7", 120 lbs. (Picture a zen Sandra Bullock.) One park owner told me that they've never had a resident hook up mid-month and pull forward to allow them to mow the grass under the rig. I was wearing a clean white t-shirt and khaki shorts, and clean white tennis shoes. I remained polite, and positive and said, "Ok, absolutely, I understand. Let's give it a go. I'll check with the place I'm at and call you right back, and if it's still available, I'd love to take it." But I knew that when I called, I would be told that the space was suddenly spoken for. As I was leaving she said, "Can I ask you a question? How old are you?" I said, "Sure, I'm 41", and she look surprised. She then asked me if I had a boyfriend? It was clear at this point that this was her concern. She was afraid, given my age (41?) and marital status that I'd be somehow disruptive or, (?) bring strange men home to stay the night? I dunno. I told her that I'm a mountain biker and photographer, and aspiring travel writer. A health nut: don't drink, don't smoke, don't have a boyfriend and (with a grin) am not looking for one. I told her that I work out of my rig, enjoy my own company and am just here to hike, bike and soak up the beautiful landscape. I said "Oh! I'm sorry, I didn't realize. Do you have an age limit here?" She said they didn't, that it was an adult park, it's just that people here really like peace and quiet. I told her I appreciate that as I do as well and seek out those kind of parks myself. She looked a little reassured but I left there feeling like I not only didn't want to stay there anymore, I wanted to leave the area. She yelled after me that I could back up and leave the way I came in. It was my second unpleasant experience in 24 hours and I had never been regarded by anyone, in my life, as someone who wouldn't make for a good neighbor. On the way home I was nearly in tears. I had to drive directly to Sedona from there just to find a reason to stick it out, to remind myself why I'm here. It was sunset: beautiful. I went back to my scary park in Cottonwood, found my creepy neighbor standing next to my rig, and was so anxious to just get inside that I tripped in the dark on the 1/2 step leading up to my rig, fell flat on my face (with a half twist) and ended my day, face-up on a concrete slab, looking up at the stars with a bleeding hand and elbow. I've since re-read the reviews for this park and see that someone else had a similar experience at Zane Gray. I'm sorry to say that even I wonder about the reviewer when it's just one individual reporting that they've had a bad experience, in this case been turned away without explanation, when there are so many other great reviews, but I know now that this person probably experienced what I did, and left feeling just as confused. So, beautiful as it is, I wouldn't recommend this park to others and wouldn't advise anyone to count on these owners to keep their word. Strange things happen at this park when clean-cut, friendly travelers show up in person. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2007
$33
Wow! Friendly, courteous and very hospitable! Yes the staff as well as the guests! Very clean! We stayed here during the Christmas season and they even had our site decorated for us when we arrived! Great for dogs, nice socialization. I would recommend this to short term as well as long term. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$34
What a great place. The staff was very friendly, rest rooms, showers and laundry room were spotless. Very wide and deep pull throughs, every site had a table. No cable, but with the antennae we received at least six channels and they were very clear. Can't wait to go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$28
We love this park. We have been here 3 times and all 3 times we were made to feel welcome. Managers are very accommodating and the park is kept very clean. Laundry room was spotless as were the restrooms. Does get a little buggy in evening but those Arizona nights are awesome. Only down side was no cable, tv reception was poor. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2007
$31
Loved it! This is a beautiful oasis in the Verde valley. Highly recommended! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2007
$31
Zane Grey RV Park is one of the nicest, well maintined parks that we have ever stayed in. The owners and hosts, were great and willing to do anything to make our stay a memorable one. We have already made reservations to return for a second weekend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2007
$32
Very well maintained park with friendly hosts. Only drawback (for us, might not be for others) is that it's located about 8 or 9 miles out in the country and over 20 miles from the best shopping and most services. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2007
$32
Pretty park and seemed friendly at first, but was told by owners that I was not welcome because I was not their kind of people. If you have a travel trailer or have ever shopped in Walmart within the past year, don't bother with this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2006
$25
This is a very clean, well-maintained park. The landscaping is beautiful and there are lots of beautiful shade trees. The managers are friendly and helpful. The park is geared to retirees. We enjoyed a pre-Thanksgiving Day potluck there. There is some traffic noise, mostly during the day. The park recently added WiFi that was available at our site. The one amenity that the park should add is Cable TV. The reception from our antenna was not very good. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2005
$21
Very small and very well maintained. The on site managers were very nice and helpful. The restrooms are very clean. There are no amenities and it is not for kids. It is small and quiet. We will go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$17
Very Nice. Will go back again. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com