214620 User submitted reviews online!!
Thousand Trails Lynchburg was rated 7 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (434) 332-6672
CGID11902

Thousand Trails Lynchburg

Camp Information
Sites
248
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$1



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   6   9   7   8   7   6   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$1
Preserve is expansive with a large recreational lake with a wide gravel hiking trail through pine woods which surround one side. Three areas with a bath/shower houses near the center of each offer mostly wooded sites with trees between most sites. Bathhouses are checked three times a day and cleaned well regularly. Sites are crushed stone and generally level although narrow on the C loop, wider sites but not as level on the B loop, and more open on the A loop. The entrance and fields around the lake are expansive and mowed regularly. The closest major grocery store is 7 miles away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$1
The rate reflects membership in Thousand Trails. We camped here in a 42 ft fifth wheel. The roads were okay, but not great. You are not assigned a designated site and therefore must drive around to select your site. I was able to do this with the fifth wheel, but I would recommend doing this with a car if at all possible before heading to your site. The park is well treed and this created a nice atmosphere. Not all sites are level, but I was able to get one that was fairly level and large enough for our fifth wheel. The bathrooms are a little bit dated, but the men's was clean. My wife did not care for the women's bathroom. Overall, as things are breaking, the repairs seem to be temporary fixes. I joined Thousand Trails on an impulse, but should have done more homework. The parks are older and on the downswing in general. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$5
The day we arrived, on Labor Day, there was some kind of big private party winding down. We were told that if we wanted to use the pool or spa we had to do it that night because it all closed for the year that evening. We pretty much had our pick of camp spots and we picked a place with lots of afternoon shade and near the adult lodge with it’s nice deck overlooking the lake. We've enjoyed checking out the mini-golf course here, although the “fairways” are pretty littered from the trees. The biggest feature for me has been the trail around the pretty lake. I've walked it everyday and I think its the nicest feature of this campground. The adult lodge has a deck overlooking the lake. The sparsely populated park, the distance from the lights of town, some clear skies, and some cool lights have made for terrific star gazing. We've been able to see the Milky Way, lots of satellites, and even a few shooting stars. There are several interesting places to visit in the area, including Appomattox and Thomas Jefferson’s Poplar Forest. Verizon 4G cell data is very good. We were on C-Loop, apparently preferred by the seasonal residents. However, the other side of the park looks just as nice and is closer to the pool and main activity center. I can’t tell you what this park is like during the summer. I can tell you that here in the first week of “off season” that it’s been quiet and beautiful — a good peaceful, relaxing park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$28
Some sites are small or on a hillside, others are medium to large but fairly level - so pick your site carefully. The roads are rutted and could use some work. The bathrooms are older, but clean. We had no problem with elec/water/sewer. There is WIFI at the activity building. We got plenty of over the air TV and good Verizon cell coverage. We were there on a rainy weekend so there were only a few seasonal campers, but the kids were well behaved and the wood fires weren't smokey. Staff was friendly. It poured and the sites all seemed to drain just fine. It is about 5 miles to a major grocery. We stayed as guests, rate is for one weekend night and 2 Passport America nights. Our Golden Retriever gave it a 10 for a great place to swim, to walk, to chew on sticks and to get pets from other campers. It is a good location to visit Lynchburg and we will probably stay again to visit family. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$1
Rate is -0- as this is a member campground. Beautiful lake and scenery, a very peaceful getaway. We were here as the season was winding down, so there were just a few other campers there. Pool closed for the season. They can improve on handicap access at this park--especially in the bathrooms. Very friendly competent staff. Roads are partly paved but mostly gravel, with deep ruts in some CG areas. Lots of the sites were not level, most uphill. Ours had a slight slope with the sewer in the back of the spot, and it doesn't flow uphill. Will definitely visit again, as it is a beautiful park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$1
Member Fee. The rating has to reflect the storm damage from Hurricane Irene rains 8-27. ELS improvements were partially washed away when the heavy rains overwhelmed the new drainage system in the park and damaged roads and campsites. Campground staff is working to restore but money is limited. The entire campground is 30 amp, no 50 amp hookups. Even with the storm damage the park is neat and tidy otherwise. Staff was helpful and friendly. The lake is very nice but there are no water front sites. The site we chose easily handled the 34' fiver and pickup. Restrooms, showers and laundry were clean although it seems someone's idea of clean was to flood the restroom floor and call it good. Many historic sites are accessible from here. Wi-Fi and cell phone connectivity isn't much good. We did find several on-air TV stations, no cable available. The park will be closing 10-24-11 for the season and re-opening near the end of April. Hopefully the damage can be repaired by then. We would return to this quiet and friendly campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$36
Visited the park to decide whether to join the club. First of all I was not impressed with the sites. Very rustic, by that I mean they were unlevel for the most part and rough. I have a 33' coach and would be very reluctant to take it to this campground. I asked the security person about the "primitive" sites and she said they were in the process of beginning to improve them. It's a very scenic area with a beautiful lake and amenities. The pool is large. I wouldn't camp here until major improvements are made to the sites. (Only 30 amp available.) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$1
$0.00 is for Thousand trails members. The staff (only saw one person) was friendly. Much shade. Several stations on the antenna. Verizon was good as well as air card. Choose your site carefully. Roads and site are in bad condition, gravel and dirt. Some sites are hard to get into with a big rig. The pool is super. The amenities are great. Small lake for fishing. One loop closed because of sewer problems, but a contract was signed to fix the problem. This park could be an 8 or 9 if they fix the roads and sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com