223386 User submitted reviews online!!
Fontainebleau State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 80 user reviews. Phone: (985) 624-4443
CGID1238

Fontainebleau State Park

Camp Information
Sites
173
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   9   8   8   8   8   8   5   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2014
$18
Pull thru sites in north section of park are plenty long enough for long rigs, but are short, u shaped drives that are difficult for anything longer than a 16' TT to get in and out of. Stay in the south section with the newer sites. Very noisy with loud parties on weekend when we were there. This is in a very swampy, bogy area so every site is "water front." We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$18
Stayed here for 6 nights while visiting the New Orleans area. On the north side of Lake Ponchartrain, about 4 miles from the causeway. This is a really nice park. Staff is friendly and helpful. No laundry. Only 5 of the 173 sites have sewer hook ups, however, there are two dump stations. If staying beyond your tank capacity days, I would definitely try to get a site with sewer, as it was a pain to unplug electric and water after 4 nights to use the dump station. Heavily wooded, however the trees had no leaves so there were no issues with satellite reception. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$20
We have been visiting this park in the winter for a number of years. This year I made a reservation 6 months ago and was able to get a full hookup site, #76, that had all the utilities together and on the right side for a back-in site. Our neighbors, who also have sewer connections, have hookup problems, too far, wrong side, etc. The park is wet this year but has also been wet in the past, nothing new. The parking pads are breaking up, ours was just gravel, from heavy RVs and leveling jacks. Some sites are short. Neighbor, next site, can't park his truck on site, and he had a devil of a time backing in. Then damaged his travel trailer when he opened his slide, tree was too close. Wi-Fi is slow because of all the embedded ads that are being filtered out or blocked. (This wasn't a problem in the past but we all know more ads are showing up on web pages.) But I come for the Tammany Trace, a bike trail that is under construction for the last few years. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$18
A convenient State Park about 45 minute drive from New Orleans. Grounds were clean although sometimes rutted by units too big for space trying to turn into position. Sites on outside of section set up backwards. Electric/water hookups on wrong side so I needed extension for electric cord. My picnic table and fire ring were moved away from parking site and grill was on opposite side of RV. Very strange setup. Site is paved and level. Area is wet - not sure if from recent rains or just a high water table. Park staff emphasized when I checked in there was a lot of water and I would not be able to move to a different site. Busy over the weekend but always spaces open. Last weekend of Mardi Gras and weather was great. I would stay here again when visiting New Orleans. Final note: there are only 5 sites with sewer access, remainder of sites are split between electric/water and no hookups. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$22
Pretty State Park with level, paved sites, and generous room between sites. Playground, beach, shade (large Live Oak trees with Spanish Moss). Plenty of space for kids and/or dogs. We camped in Site 138 (water/elec.) which was "high and dry" even though much of the park was very soggy after a night of heavy rain. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$20
Beautiful location. Lots of hiking available. Staff good. Park clean and tidy. Most sites spacious, level, and private. Easy access to New Orleans. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$18
Very shady spots, clean restrooms, wifi worked whenever I tried it. The playground and the beach was great for the kids. There's a water park in the summer. Seem to have moderate level of vehicle traffic through sites and some people were driving too fast. Very good reception and several channels available from antenna for television viewing. Campsites were clean, had good picnic table, grill, and fire ring. When I drove through park in October at dusk we saw dozens of deer grazing, but we did not see any deer this trip (November). The only problem with park, which is the same for every state park in Louisiana is the state won't fix damage caused by hurricanes over a year ago. The boardwalk over the marsh, perhaps the best attribute of this park, has been and still is destroyed. We have avoided Louisiana parks because of this problem and will continue to do so. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2013
$21
Fontainebleau - We were here last year in early December and the park was only ½ filled. We were lucky to get a site for 2 days on a weekend this time in early November. Wi-Fi was good all day Friday but went down Saturday at 9AM. It was still out when we left Sunday AM. The local park office said there is nothing they can do about the Wi-Fi as it is handled remotely from the state park headquarters, somewhere. He didn’t even have a number to call! Incredible! Therefore, I elect to say they do NOT have Wi-Fi. They also block certain, unknown, web sites so big brother may be monitoring your Internet time. We stayed 2 days which averaged out to be $21 when you include the registration rip off fee of $6. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$18
We really enjoyed this park, but after exploring it, think we had one of the best sites. We were in the "new" section. The roads were narrow and winding, but we were near the entrance so didn't have to weave our way between the trees. We were away from the playground and pavilion area. It's a state park, thus devoid of a lot of upscale amenities that we don't use anyway. Decent Wi-Fi was a pleasant surprise. We would stay here again if we could get a site in the same area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$18
This is our 2nd trip to this state park and it really is nice. This time we stayed in the older section and it was a little more crowded than the newer section. Weather was warmer and there were a lot of people at the beach. The thing we really like a lot about this park is the bike path. This time we followed it to the lake front area and there was also a flea market along the way. Great state park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$18
The water & electricity worked well, back in was tricky. Pull throughs may or may not be suitable for big rigs. Staff do not seem to know which sites are best suited for big rigs. The site was not overly level. The access roads are very narrow and winding in the camping area. They did not have a good Virgin Mobile cell signal. We would stay here again, but not as a first choice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2013
$26
Not real happy with this one. The bathroom and shower were both badly in need of cleaning. Also, there are two separate camping areas - an old and a new. We were assigned a site in the old section, and it was tight, the roads were crumbling, the pull through sites were only about 35' long, and some had hookups on the left, while others had hookups on the right. We drove through the new section, and it was considerably nicer with larger sites, longer pull through sites, and well maintained roads. If you choose to stay here, try to get a site in the newer camping area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$19
Friday & Saturday, March 1 & 2 - Fontainebleau state Park , Mandeville, LA St. Tammany Parish This state park is an easy drive right off interstate 10 or 12. It sits on Lake Pontchartrain just a short drive into New Orleans. It was part of a huge plantation and sugar mill that sits of 2,800 acres. There are no full hookups just water and electricity but most sites are raised a little so RV’s won’t wet ground after rain storms like the ones we just had. There are hiking trails (most still under water), bike trails, picnic areas, and swimming at the beach on the lake. The park is divided into two campgrounds old and new but they are located within walking distance of each other with about 141 sites. Most backin but a good number of huge pull throughs. Mandeville is a short drive away like 2 miles for shopping etc and the Tammany Trace bike trail (32 miles) is just outside the park ranger station. The bike trail goes from Covington to Slidel. Sites are not that private but the park is peaceful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$16
This park has a great view of Lake Pontchartrain and nice views of sunset. You have to keep in mind that his park is about 3' above the Lake and the ground doesn't take long to get saturated. So if it rains a lot your paved site will be an island. All the roads and sites in the park are paved. Their wifi tends to be very slow and the Verizion MiFi isn't much better. The rate of $16/night does not include a $6 booking fee. So the longer you stay the cheaper it will be/night. They have some new bath/shower rooms that have great hot water and pretty well designed showers. I'd give them an B++. They were also very clean. They also have some older bath/shower houses that were basic but clean. The hiking paths tend to be wet and slightly muddy. The board walk was blown out by one of the hurricanes and has not been put back together again. Nice place and I'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$18
Great state park here. We stayed for a weekend here, and it was right after this area had serious rain for about 2 weeks. We has site #3, and it was mostly soggy and the woods right behind it were flooded but that's to be expected. The pier and beach area were very nice. There were many deer and hogs to be seen during the day and at night crossing the roads. The concrete bike trail was really cool. It was about a 4 mile ride from the site to a nice restaurant by bike. The restrooms were clean and in good order. We would come back for sure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$24
Campground websites for this park and nearby Fairview-Riverside state the parks are closed for repairs. They were damaged from Hurricane Isaac. Fontainebleau is open while Fairview remains closed until January 2013 according to park staff. $24 Rate is for a pull-through site; $2 more in the older (south) section plus the onerous $6 reservation fee. IMHO this fee should not be charged to folks that do not use the reservation system. Roads in the older section are narrow with many nearby trees. The newer (north) section has circular pull thrus which big rigs may find easier to navigate. Showers did not have a soap tray in the shower or a mat and bench in the dressing area. Hot water was good, nice laundry, and good Wi-Fi. Ample TV via antenna. This park is much better than most state parks and offers much, particularly for families during summer, when rates are higher. Roads and sites are paved so rain is not a factor for access. Wi-Fi is monitored and censored. Access to unnamed web sites, like YouTube, are blocked. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2012
$18
First trip in first RV. Stayed here overnight on the way to Atlanta, Ga from Texas. No hookups at all on our site. It was a curved pull through on the 'new' section. Lot of low branches, our 29' motor home is 11'2" tall and we hit quite a few. There were branches on the roof at our site. I climbed on the roof and pulled them out of the way. Glad I have a fiberglass roof, not rubber. Did not check out any of the amenities - set up after dark and left early next morning. Rate for the site was $12 plus $6 admin fee, so if you stay more nights, it is cheaper per night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$14
This is a beautiful State Park next to Pontchartrain Lake. Easy beach access, nice sandy beach, and nice water. There is a pier and there are several 300 yr. old oak trees that make for very good family photo's. We stayed in the older section where there are pull through sites and back-in's. Newer section has mostly back-in's and is separated from the older section by roadway approximately 1/4 mile long. WiFi was very strong and bath houses were cleaned daily and well kept up. Park Rangers were very nice and friendly. They checked on us after we had parked to see if we were satisfied and if all was OK with connections. Great service. Rate reflects Senior 62-over rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$15
We've camped here twice in 2 different areas. This is a really nice, clean park. Washers are inside, cooled and very well maintained. We didn't use bathhouse, but it was well lit, cool and clean. This park is bike friendly, it's easy for kids to ride the loop and parents still be able to keep watch. The old campground is kind of laid out weird. It's hard to tell which way you should pull in, which led to a strange situation with someone pitching a tent in our yard area, which would have prevented our slides and canopy from being let out. The park ranger sorted it out, though. They left because they didn't want to move. The spots are pretty close together and lack privacy. We also noticed a lot of issues with people living here in tents: moving spots every couple weeks. That was kind of freaky. Especially when one of our friends was waiting for one of those spots to be vacated. The campground finally called a Home Depot rent truck to move them from the park because they wouldn't leave. Those people had a huge flatscreen in their tent! It was a little awkward! The splash pad is fun and the beach is decent. The kids loved the park. There are some shady spots. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$20
Very nice state park with good hiking/biking trails, easy access to Lake Pontchartrain. It is well maintained and there is also a "rails to trails" bike path which runs through the park near the entrance station and is great for lengthy bike rides. We stayed 7 nights and would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$18
Very nice state park. Large sites. Clean restrooms, laundry and showers. Great little beach and access to a great bike trail. They kept the place clean and well maintained. Only thing I found was that the Wi-Fi was very, very slow. Otherwise, l this was a great place to stay for everyone. We would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$19
We arrived here planning to spend a few nights and ended up staying for two weeks. Our site was spacious with good 50 amp power, Wi-Fi, nearby laundry and beautiful surroundings. The camp hosts were extremely friendly and helpful. Lots of hiking and biking in the park and Mandeville is just minutes away. We look forward to our next stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$18
Lovely campground with great views on the lake front and fantastic old trees. Had a problem with a bad 50 amp receptacle and reported it to the lady in the entrance booth and she called the maintenance man immediately. The repair man almost beat me back to the rig and replaced the receptacle in a short time. The maintenance guy was friendly and competent. Birding here was excellent, and we had no problems with overhanging limbs and our motorhome is 12 feet 6 inches high. If you stay here, visit SAIA's meat market which is about 3 miles West on highway 190 and try the oyster Po Boy. We will definitely return here in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$18
This was a very beautiful State Park that is well worth visiting. The sites are fine, but there are no sewer connections at your site. There are several nice trails and there is a nice waterfront area that is overlooking Lake Pontchartrain. There were some very old sprawling oak trees with moss on them that makes the trip to this park worth it in and of itself. We got 3 bars Verizon cell phone coverage here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$18
We had a 50A pull through. Plenty of room. Electric and water are on the right side of site. Satellite reception and local over the air signals were good. Good location with easy access from I-12 and through the park. There are a few low hanging limbs to watch out for. 50A sites are limited and there are only a few sewer sites. Both are hard to reserve on most weekends, but open up during the week. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$24
Fontainebleau SP is scared of something or perhaps there is a potential crime problem? This was my first encountered with city like street lights blazing away in an RV campground of a State Park. They sure did take away the night time appeal for this campground. More important, warning, a big rig will not do well here. I barely got ours into the designated site. I had to pull around two times and then still had to disconnect to get properly situated on the narrow pull-through paved pad. The paved access lanes are narrow and there are some low hanging limbs. The ground was dry for us. A big rig may sink on a wet day getting into a site. Also, be warn the Park Staff will add-on extra charges for a pull-through and if you are out of state. Go for a back-in. They are wider and you may need to disconnect anyway. Restroom here are top notch and its a pleasant walk to the lake. We stayed here for one night. We will not be back to any Louisiana State Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$20
Great park for the family. Excellent trails, great beach, and a beautiful boardwalk over the marsh. The campsites are very functional and the new water park is excellent to wash the kids off after time at the beach. The nature center is also great with a very friendly and knowledgeable staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$26
Beautiful trees line this park, which is VERY busy. "Admission" is $1 per person and the park is popular with the locals who us the playgrounds and what I believe is a water slide. It is very warm (hot?) and humid. Lots of low branches so be careful. Most of the sites are spacious but some are very narrow and ours had a big, drying mud puddle right out the front door. Pull through sites are an additional $6. Small, neat, museum and the ruins of an old sugar mill. Good for biking. The park is in an extended drought right now. Good power. Golden access cards are no longer honored for out of state residents. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$30
An exceptional campground on Lake Pontchartrain. Lots of bike trails, good amenities, large sites, and free Wi-Fi. Showers were pretty good, but too few to support sites. Great camping for access to Honey Island Swamp and New Orleans. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$26
We liked this park. It is very convenient for visiting New Orleans and the River Mansions. It is, however, very low and can be very wet if there is a lot of rain. Our site, except for the asphalt driveway, was underwater until our last day here. There are only a few sites with sewer hook-ups and they are very cramped. Also, many of the pads are badly in need of re-paving. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$18
We love being close to New Orleans, but away from the traffic. Lake Ponchatrain always has a cool wind blowing in the park. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$16
I rated this park an 8 only because there are only 4 sites with sewer. The dump stations should be in another location because when 1 or more recreational vehicles are waiting to dump they block the road. We were in site 57, and the hosts for that section were very nice. The campground was very busy since it was Mardi Gras weekend, but the park staff were still helpful and friendly. We will stay again soon. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$22
Large wooded level spread out state campground with nature center, trails, bike trail half mile north of camp on old east-west railroad bed. South of camp area is large newly built (?repair from hurricaine Katrina?) brick recreational complex on shore of lake Pontchartrain with playgrounds, beach, pier. I enjoyed biking about thoroughly. Features rather spread out for easy walking. Sites nicely spaced apart. Bath house only average. I would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$18
Great park with access to the Tammany Trace Bike Path. There are 4 sewer sites but you have to reserve on-line in advance ($6 fee unfortunately). The park has a beach, a short bike ride away as well as hiking trails, boardwalks through the swamp and several really nice live oaks. Ask the host how to find the horned owl and her baby (very cute). A couple of minor problems: The sites have a very thin layer of asphalt and the base under the asphalt has problems: the boards our jacks sat on, sank into the asphalt. Also, the sides of the road could use some gravel. There was one spot with a several inch drop off and many places with ruts where gravel needs to be deposited. Overall, we loved the park and will return again whenever we are in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$24
Traveling across the country on Interstate 10, Fountainebleau is a wonderful park for a few days or overnight. We had no trouble with a level campsite. It was nice to have that feel of privacy, security, and peacefulness. Nice biking and hiking trails. It is close to conveniences if needed and to New Orleans if your choice is to visit the Crescent City. Clean and comfortable with a short walk to the lake. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2010
$24
They bad news is that LA no longer accepts the Golden Age pass except for LA, DE & MD residents so no senior discount for most folks. The second bad news is that the reservation fee for a drive up is $6, so we paid $24 ($18 + $6) for a night. No longer a good value on a short stay, OK for longer stays where the $6 is spread out a bit. But it is still one of the better LA SP's. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$16
This park is about 23 miles N/E of New Orleans and very safe. There are a few sites that have sewer but are more expensive and none were available. Did have 50 amp service and water. Spaces are nice sized, paved and clean. It was crowded when we arrived on Saturday but by Sunday afternoon it had cleared out and there's just a few of us here. They make everyone be quite by 10 p.m. so was no problem over the weekend. We were told by someone who lives in New Orleans to be careful where we stayed in the area due to safety issues but this is very safe and we would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$16
This is a nice park and we would have given it a 9 rating if it had sewer connections. However, it's still a nice park. The sites are blacktop and a little narrow but there is plenty of room around each site so once you are parked it just means that you exit the coach onto grass rather than blacktop. The staff here were friendly and helpful and the park itself is great for hiking, cycling and there is even a beach onto Lake Pontchartrain. It's about 40 miles to the French Quarter in New Orleans via a 24 mile bridge! ($3 toll). We stayed here on Memorial Weekend so the site was very busy but didn't feel overcrowded. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$18
Cleanest public restroom and shower that I have seen. Lots of shade trees, we are in the new section but the old one is right next to us and is fine. Has new brick and concrete pavilions near the lake and has easy access from camp ground. This NICE park honors the Golden Age program. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$8
Many things to do here: biking on the Trace, hiking, birdwatching, watersports on the lake, history! A little further away from conveniences than Fairview but bigger with more to do. Crowded on weekends but during the week it's very quiet. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$9
We stayed here for five days in early May. Price reflect Golden Access discount, which is very nice, as only National sites usually honor the pass, not State Parks. Even at full price this place is a bargain, doubly so with the discount. We spent the first night in the old campground in site 114, but asked to move after one night for two reasons: The old campground is a bit lacking in privacy, and our site was a few feet from the construction of the new bathhouse and we expected noise and dust. The park was very helpful and accommodating in helping us select a new site (#78) in the new campground which was far roomier and private. Fontainebleu is on the North Shore of Lake Pontchartrain and feels like you're pretty far from civilization, even though Mandeville is just minutes away with anything you might need. New Orleans and The French Quarter are 50 minutes directly across the lake on a 23-mile long causeway which is a trip you do not want to miss. The park has excellent Wi-Fi. I give the park a rating of "8;" It would be a "10" except for no sewers (except at four sites and if you want one, plan on reservations far in advance) and it was quite hot, humid, and buggy. We would definitely stay here again, but probably come at a slightly cooler time of year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$12
Although the "old" campground is laid out like many commercial parks (with side-by-side hookups), the sites are easy to park in with excellent electricity. The restrooms were cleaned, but not really clean. Once a day over a busy weekend with intermittent rain really doesn't do it. One shower area had two stalls, no hook for gear and no shelves, and you shared the dressing area with the other stall. The other old shower facility had a bench and 2 hooks. They have a new facility in the other campground area and the stalls are much nicer, but no bench or shelf. What are you supposed to do with your clothes? Our Verizon broadband card worked fine and the park had good Wi-Fi. The park is beautiful with lots of open space and access to Lake Ponchantrain. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$18
This campground is beautiful! We stayed in the new side of the park and the restrooms were spotless! I wish that they had more sites with sewer. Wonderful park for parents to bring the kids. It has 2 nice clean playgrounds and a splash pad for the kids, next to the beach area. The pull through sites can be a little tricky. We stayed in site 64 and it was clean and cozy! Has okay internet service. The only reason it did not get a 10, is the front desk person was not friendly at all! She acted as if I called her a dirty name when I asked for a map of the park and where our site was. I guess she expected me to just know where to go. This is one of the best parks we have stayed at so far. We will be coming back to this park in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$11
Great park, located close to New Orleans. We stayed three nights. They accept Golden Access, which added to our enjoyment of our stay. We would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$18
This is a wonderful State Park right on Lake Potchartrain. There is a bicycle trail through the park. It is very family friendly. The new bathhouse almost done and will have AC! As previously stated, they accept the Senior Pass for Ntl Parks which saves 50% on nightly cost. It is convenient to New Orleans. There is no recycle available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$18
Very nice State Park close to New Orleans. Clean showers, restrooms and a laundry. No sewer but there is a dump site. Plenty of places to walk the dogs. They accept Golden Pass cards so you can get a discount, too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$11
We camped here 4 days and this park is AWESOME! The $11 rate is after the Golden Access card. There are a few RV sites in the new campground that offer sewer hookups but none in the old campground so far. We had no problems getting in our site which is paved and level. We used this park as a base to tour Metaire Cemetary across the 24 mile causeway, Abita Brewery, Ponchatrain Vineyards, Slidell. The park is a wonderful place to walk, ride bikes or just plain kick back and relax. The wifi is very good at our location (site 120). I would have given this park a 10 if all sites offered sewer hookups. The camp hosts are quite helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$10
This park has made a lot of changes over the years. Storm damage to trees will take years to grow out again. Roads are asphalt as well as sites. Old campground has been upgraded to 30/50 amp service. This zone has two older bathhouses that are dated but a new one will be in service in a couple months. Sites can be hard to get in and out of due to odd angles sites sit at. New campground is a mixed bag of no hookup's to 30 amps and water or 30/50 amps and water sites. Sites in this side also sit at the same odd angles. You have around (46) 50 amp sites, (40) no hookups sites, and (63) that are more 30 amp than 50 amp sites. The new Wi-Fi system worked very well. Rates were on Golden Age card. Nice place to ride a bike. Verizon cell and air card work well here. Standing water and mud can be a problem here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$9
Beautiful campground with Gulf beach area, great playgrounds, lots of trees and wildlife. Friendly hosts and staff. It's very clean. Several dump stations are available. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2010
$16
I was not overly impressed with this park. It has been raining off and on and the park looked like a swamp with asphalt pads. Some of the pads were completely surrounded with 6" of standing water. Hooking up was dicey and muddy. The pads are skinny and slope to the rear which can be a real problem in a MH with brakes at the rear wheels. I angled the MH diagonally on the pad to reduce some of the unevenness of the pad. Bring blocks! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2010
$11
Nice state park, family campground. Some sites are tight so not totally big rig friendly. Not all sites have the same utilities - some have only 30 amp., others no sewage, etc. Make sure you know what you're getting. Park hit hard by Hurricane Katrina and clean-up continues. Would go back as long as I get I site that has what I really want. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2010
$26
Nice stop going across on I-10. The park was damaged with Katrina but they are rebuilding it and one of the bath houses was new. They had a laundry room, but no washers or dryers had been installed so we moved on after two days. Lots of walking space, and dogs can go on the little beach area at Lake Pontchartrain. We had a pull through space and the park was not real crowded so no one in spaces on either side. There are some lower hanging branches on the beautiful, old trees so just be careful and stay toward the center of some of the roads. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$21
This is a beautiful state park right on Lake Pontchartrain. Our site was in the old campground section, and every site here is now 50 amps. We had a long pull-through that was level. The bathrooms are clean, but dated. In the newer campground area, the bath house is new. They are in the process of building a new bath house in the old campground. There is a lot to do in the park including nature trails, visitor center/museum, old sugar mill ruins, wildlife viewing, boardwalk, beach, pier, fishing, bike riding, playgrounds and a water play area. The rangers are very helpful, knowledgeable and friendly. If you have children, there is a Junior Ranger program available. The rate includes a $3 reservation fee even though I walked in to get a site. Note that making a reservation by phone incurs a higher reservation fee, and reserving a site online an even higher fee in addition to the nightly rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$8
Senior rate for a 50 amp & water paved back in site. This park has a 'new campground' and an 'old campground', however the old (probably the original campground) has been redone with new pavement and hookups. All sites are very nice, but most of the pull throughs in the 'new campground' don't work for larger RV's. They are U shaped and deep. We went for a back in instead with our 36' MH. Funny thing with LA state parks, a pull through with 30 amp is considered a premium site while a back in with 50 amp is not and is $2 cheaper. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2009
$20
These park has very few Septic spot. We were lucky to get one. This is a pretty park and enjoyed the trails and sights. We were here when they received about 9" of rain and still had a good time We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$9
This is a very fine state park and the Federal Senior Pass is honored. The roads and sites are paved. Each site has a table, grill and fire ring. We were in a pull-thru site (#4) which, as other reviews have mentioned, requires some maneuvering to get the water and electric hooked up. In order to be on the hook-up side would have the door on the rig open to the road, not the site amenities. We drove in the opposite direction and finally got the water/electric to reach. One section has 50 amp service, which was installed after Katrina. The view of the Lake is magnificent! Taking the Causeway into New Orleans is convenient. This is truly swampland and the grass areas stayed damp the entire two weeks. Walking in this park is excellent. Mandeville has plenty of places to shop and eat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$18
This is a beautiful park, signs of Katrina are still present, but plenty of trees, shades. The beach and broadwalk are very nice, the pier is great. The camp staff was helpful, the current hosts are awesome, friendly and knowledgable about the park. The visitor center is interesting. Most sites are very generous, but be careful on the pull thrus...they can be very tight curves. Highly recommend this state park. Well worth the visit. Can't wait to go again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$18
Only stayed one night, wish it had been more. Nice blend of shade and sun, relatively level sites. If you choose a "pull-through" site, don't set your expectations too high, as they are pretty severely curved. The wifi was very good. We'll go back here next time we're in the area, and spend a few days. The beach and walking trails are very, very nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$18
Beautiful park. Still trying to recover and rebuild from Hurricane Katrina. This was our first time to stay at this park; we usually stay at Fairview in Madisonville, LA. Our reserved spot was not very good. I did get the last reservation available a month ahead. We were so close to the people next to us that when we walked out of our RV their picnic table was outside our door. Not that we're unfriendly, we just didn't know these people. We stayed one night in this spot. The staff helped us get another spot and it was wonderful! We really enjoyed the remainder of our stay. So much to do - -biking, hiking, fishing, trails, there was even a class about woodworking on Easter Sunday! Lake Ponchatrain beach is a bike ride or car ride away, within the park. There is also the Tammany Trace trail bike riders can take to Mandeville, Covington or even Slidell. Wish we would have had more time. We will go back and stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$16
This was a great park was only staying one night but the staff and the park itself kepth me there 4 days. It was well worth the money, it was close to things such as shopping, and entertainment. 26 miles accross Lake Ponchatrain to New Orleans. Have a chance go in check them out, this was my second stay at that campgeound and if in that area will stay again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$18
The park is really nice, we stayed here last year (on the "old" side) for Mardi Gras (we live about 10 miles away) and will probably make it an annual event. This year we stayed on the "new" side and lucked into a sewer site (there are only a few). The bath house is new and the restrooms were clean, although we did not use them, the showers looked to need some cleaning. There is a lot to do as mentioned in other reviews. If you plan to come during Mardi Gras, make reservations well in advance, especially if you want the sewer sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$8
We really enjoyed our stay here. I used a GPS unit to find our way here but the sign on Hwy 190 was fine with a nearby flashing amber light at night. The campground has been rebuilt since Katrina and the bathrooms/showers are new and clean. Most of the campsites are shaded, especially in the older campground. The newest sites on the end of the loop in the new campground are not very desirable with no shade and poor drainage. We came without a reservation but it was no problem getting a site. The Tammany Trace, a wonderful 31 mile paved bike trail, is at the park entrance. Mandeville was 4 miles from our campsite so I biked there in the morning to get the newspaper. Wi-Fi worked great and was fast. Rangers patrol all the time; not a problem with us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2008
$16
Very nice park. They are doing a great job of rebuilding after Katrina. We stayed in the "new" campground. Nice level site, TV reception was OK, but having wireless was a plus. Bathhouse was new. Bike trail into town was wonderful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2008
$16
Decent park. Lots of wildlife. We didn't let our kids use the pool. Lots of day use kids using pool. Older kids. The beach area was okay but had a fair amount of seaweed type grasses. Good area for boating and jet skiing. Did have many nice picnic areas available. Not sure about security, only saw them once. Playground equiptment left a bit to be desired. Doubt that we return. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$18
We had a great time! From the time we arrived, until we left, the park rangers were very helpful. The park is kept very clean and safe. There were a lot of animals to observed, coyote, fox and deer, just to name a few. I highly recommend, if you are a bike rider, take the bike trail into Mandeville. It's not only a beautiful ride, but on Saturdays there is an open market going on at the Trailhead from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Also, there are always programs going on at the campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$16
This campground was very nice. The park rangers were great. I felt secure. They drove around all the time checking on everything. Also the sites were large. We were able to see lots of wildlife. Has large baseball complex less than a mile away. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$16
This is an older state park with one upgraded RV campground and one older one that was a bit more cramped - ours. We had a bit of confusion on the site checking in, but campground hosts were right there to straighten it out. A great biking trail runs right through the park letting you get a 30 mile ride if you want. Or you can ride to nearby good restaurants, or take a vehicle into New Orleans across the lake. It is very quiet and peaceful. But they need to work on the signs out front, and there is a lot of highway construction that makes getting there a bit difficult. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$16
This is a beautiful campground...many sites have been re-worked. We had a great time riding the bikes around the park and playing at the campground. The beach/boardwalk is beautiful and we plan to re-visit this park and take advantage of this (it rained for 1/2 our trip). We will return soon. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2008
$8
We love the location of this park. Easy to go into New Orleans, but best of all is that the midway point of the Tammany Trace, a Rails to Trails bike trail passes the park. We rode to the ends and into Mandeville to go to the Saturday market held at the trail head there. As we left they announced the re-opening, within the week, of the newer section of the park which had been closed since Katrina. The old part will be closed and completely reworked. The beach reopened while we were there. Hosts were great and had many wonderful recommendations. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2008
$16
I want to rate this park higher because they are trying to recover from Katrina. However, there is little positive to say right now. The sites are much too close together! The closed areas look better and offer more amenities. But for now pass this one up. Check back in late March or April. The repairs should be done by then. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2007
$16
This park is in a beautiful setting. However, it does not seem to be as well maintained as it was during a previous visit. It is very dark at night making it hard to walk dogs. Standing water in ditch and potholes created a mosquito hazard. It is an okay place to stay overnight but we would not make a special trip. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$25
Nice park considering it was almost completely destroyed by hurricane. No sewer and the pool is no longer there. It was washed away by hurricane. Nice people, nice park. Would go back. The only reason I give this an 8 instead of a 10 is that the grass needed to be cut badly. It was very high and that is a major pet peeve of mine! Sites were level considering they were gravel. Most sites have shade a few don't but staff was helpful in finding us a spot with our wants and needs. If you go there is a restaurant the staff recommended called "Louis and red head lady". I highly recommend it, very good and inexpensive. They have seafood that is exceptional! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$8
Roads are blacktop with gravel and blacktop sites. Most sites are close to level. Large trees to park under. Only half the sites are open due to storm damage. State is rebuilding park now. This is a very large state park. Swimming pool and beachs on lake Pontchartrain are closed but park is reworking everything. Playground equipment for the kids. Very good place for bike rides. Park is noise free. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$12
We love this campground! Staff are friendly, very family oriented! We had RV Trick- or- treating. We camped in the old campground, new was still recovering from Katrina, yet is looking even nicer! We will always go back. My children love it here!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2005
$18
I love this campground. It is a well kept one. The pool was big; the kids loved that. The sites were nice and the beach is beautiful. I would definitely camp there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2005
$6
This is a quiet park that is not far from restaurants and Covington. The beach and pool are clean. Only complaint we had was with the lifeguards at the pool. They were more interested in socializing than watching the kids. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2004
$12
This is a very large park (2800 acres) on north side of Lake Pontchartrain. Lot of heavy trees to camp under. Lake is close by for swimming. Very nice bike paths to ride on in park. Golden Age rates are $6.00 per night. Park roads are black top also most sites. Very quite at night, no sounds, no lights at night. Lot of sites do not have power or water. Equipment for kids to play on. Lake is very large and has lot of beach sand. Staff was nice at check in. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$12
Excellent! Extremely picturesque, on the shore of Lake Ponchartrain. Nice swimming pool, playground, picnic areas, sandy beach. Tammany Trace bike trail is adjacent. Ruins of an old sugar mill are on the property. Convenient to New Orleans via the causeway. There are 2 sections of the CG, the older section's sites are very close together with no separation or cover between sites. The newer section has much more separation between sites, but not much low cover. Lots of shade, some sites in older section are in the open. Bathhouses were ok, nothing elaborate. Some standing water, but appeared to be kept reasonably clean. Several primitive areas for tents or overflow. All in all a really nice quiet CG. We were in the older section and were surprised by how quiet it was considering we were in close proximity to many campers with kids. Highly recommended. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2002
$20
A big park full of beautiful Oaks. Sugar mill ruins were interesting. We were there Halloween weekend. Everybody was trick or treating. Friday we were the only ones there. Saturday and Sunday the place was packed. My site was a pull through and getting the 28 foot 5'er into it was actually quite difficult due to the trees. I hate to say it but they need to cut some trees. The space was about 80 feet long but required a sharp turn right around a tree then a sharp turn left around the fire pit and BBQ, and some backing up to get on the concrete pad. The water was on the passenger side but the electric and sewer were on the drivers side. If I had known this I would have asked for a backin site. I really liked this park. The only black mark was not with the park but with the campers on the other side of the road from us. They were obnoxiously noisy from 7 am till 11 pm. Several people complained and the rangers had to visit them 3 times. I don't know why they were not ejected from the park. I highly recommend this park, hope your neighbors have some courtesy. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2000
$12
Nice Park near Lake Pontchartrain and in a good location to visit New Orleans via the 23 mile Causeway bridge. Lots of old moss covered oaks. Good bicycle riding in the area as the Saint Tammany Trace Linear Park (35 miles long) passes in front of Fontainbleau park. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com