221721 User submitted reviews online!!
Nakatosh Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 24 user reviews. Phone: (318) 352-0911
CGID1243

Nakatosh Campground

Camp Information
Sites
41
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   7   4   6   8   6   5   5   6   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2014
$30
As others have stated, this is a "bare bones" park. We were told we could park in any of the available spaces and spent quite a bit of time looking at electrical sockets before we found one that was not broken. You also need to be aware that it is next to a truck stop and we found that they do run their engines constantly even at midnight. One major issue was that we exited through the truck stop driveway (which is connected to the park) and scrapped our front end which did cause some serious damage to our coach -- so you need to be careful when you leave. And when you are here DON'T MISS downtown Natchitoches. It is an amazing city! It makes the stay in this place worth the 5 points I gave it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$30
Less than a mile off Interstate 49, keep a close watch for the park sign on the right side of the road. There will be a gravel road with a small park sign and it will feel like you are going the wrong way. The campground sits behind a truck fuel stop with trailer parking in the rear. Despite its location the park is quiet with very little truck noise. We drove our big rig and toad into a long full hook-up pull-through site that was level gravel. The park is very basic, no picnic table, fire ring or amenities except free Wi-Fi that worked well. The restroom and showers were quite old but clean. There are some big trees between sites so pick accordingly for your satellite dish. Also, the hook-ups are at rear of each campsite making it a long stretch for your sewer and power hoses if you don’t want to unhook your toad. The staff are friendly when they are around. The office has short hours so just find a site when you get there and catch up with the staff later. This is a good overnight stop along the I-49. There are several fast food places within walking distance so you don’t have to unhook your toad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2014
$30
Bare bones at best. Office is staffed for a couple of hours a day. Nice lady when she's there, which isn't often. No one answers the phone or is there when you arrive. At this park you are very much on your own. The WiFi did not work and the park is aware of it. The power went out during the night, surged, and burnt out our electrical cord. Nice meadow for kids to play in if it weren't for the carcass of a not long dead horse laying off to one side! The park has an overall dirty feel and is not very well maintained. The truck stop noise is Not a problem though. Would not stay again if we had another option. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2013
$30
This small, bare bones park is conveniently located to see the lovely community of Natchitoches and tour the surrounding area. A recent tornado damaged the restrooms, which were not yet repaired. The office was open part time and staffed by a friendly manager. The wifi was adequate for a laptop computer, but my iPad would not connect. The drone of idling Diesel engines in a nearby truck stop was mildly annoying. A greater annoyance was a stray lab wanting attention. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$30
Stayed at park for 3 nights. Everything was fine. Had no problems with anything. Truck-stop noise was minimal...no bother. Close to downtown for some great sightseeing. WI-FI a little weak, but worked OK for our needs. Cable TV had 40 or so channels. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2012
$30
Good electric/water/sewer, weak Wi-Fi. Gravel roads and sites. Sites are small, with no picnic tables. Behind a truck stop, but not excessively noisy. Convenient for sightseeing in Natchitoches area. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
No on-site management. Didn't catch anyone until 3rd day, so never got bathroom key. Noisy, located next to truck stop. Bone dry, not much shade. Mostly workers -- not vacationers. No outside picnic tables. However, they have a very nice room with tables, a big fridge, real oven and sink. So you could cook there if you want to haul your stuff over or have a large crowd. However, it was the nicest and most conveniently located for the city. Others in the area would be hard to maneuver in a rig even our size (28'). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2012
$30
Rustic and next to a Chevron diesel station but handy access right off I-49. No on-site manager. It is difficult to catch someone to check in and out. Many residents appear to be living there working and they have the spaces all around the outer edges of the park. It was OK for easy access to Natchitoches and activities. A bit pricey for what it was, but it was relatively quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$31
Noisy park with the nearby trucks running. Bathrooms need updated. Internet works well. Cable TV is a bit limited, but good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$32
Wi-Fi and cable TV worked fine. Pull through sites quite level. Good spot for the night or so if you are visiting the area. Truck stop next door is an eye sore with trash and running rigs. No fence between truck stop and campground. Price seemed high for what you get. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2011
$31
This park is only .2 mile west of I-49. Access is okay although road is rutted. Interior roads are gravel and level. Sites are gravel and level with grass between sites. Sites are long and wide. About 1/3 of sites are long term. About another 1/3 were occupied by workers on a pipeline. But most sites were neat. There is a long power line utility easement available to walk dogs. WiFi was good. Water pressure was good. This is a park behind a truckstop, and the trucks are a bit noisy, but not noticable in your RV. If the owner put up a sound barrier wall or even a fence between the truckstop and the sites, the noise would be much less intrusive. Very good location to visit historical sites. Don't mix this up with Nakatosh #2 which is east of the Interstate and near Sibley Lake. That lakeside park is really tiny with small sites jammed together. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$32
OK park for a short stay. Sites are level, graveled, enough room for a 40' MH. Behind a truck stop so some noise & fumes from the trucks, especially at night. Lot's of gas line workers staying in the park when we were there. Close to town & shopping, sight seeing, ect. Lot's of history in the area. If you like Crawfish check out the Crawfish Hole. Did not use the showers, bathroom's ect. but they are available. Verizon lap-top card worked as did AT&T phone. No problem getting on the roof satellite signal. Would stay here again for a short stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$27
It's all about what you're looking for. The sites were level, clean, easy to hit and the lady in the office was very nice and helpful. Yes it's behind a truck stop, however, inside with the A/C running, I didn't notice. If you're looking for a resort with amenities, then you might not like it, but if you are looking for a nice place to park for the night or a few, to scout out the historic area, you won't find any better. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2010
$33
We pulled in and no one was around. A list of available sites was posted on the door and prices. Left money in lock box and went to site. The services are in good condition and no complaints there. The roads and sites are all dirt. Expected a little more for the price. What was unbearable however was the loud truck noise next door. We might as well have slept at Flying J with the big rigs parked all around. It couldn't be any louder. Would not stay here again because of that. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$22
Beware! If you make a reservation at this park, don't necessarily expect to have a campsite when you get there. I made a reservation the day before we expected to arrive. I was told that they would reserve # 22 for me. I explained that we would be arriving late, and was assured that wasn't a problem that my name would be on a list posted on the door of the office. After driving 600 miles I arrived at 9:30 PM to find someone else's name on # 22 and my name no where on the list! Very unprofessional management. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2009
$23
OK for a short stay, now have basic cable,wifi, and take credit cards. Pull thru sites are set up more for 5th wheels than motorhomes. To use all hookups any big rig will have to disconnect and park toad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2009
$22
Owner not available when we arrived but finally found her the next morning. Clean campground and level sites but many appear seasonal. The campground road is used by locals to get to homes back in the trees. Easy access to Interstate and the city has many places to eat and things to see and do. Truck stop next door was not noticeably noisy. No play area for children. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$18
The park was a nice place to stay. It was very clean with level pull through sites of concrete and with gravel roads. The staff was available only a few hours a day on weekdays, but they leave complete instructions and a pay envelope for the honor system. It is near to restaurants and gas stations, and has easy access to the interstate. We'd highly recommend it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$18
Nice spot for a quick overnight stop. The spots up front could be a little noisy since they are right next to a truck stop parking area. Our pull through was level and easy to get in to. I would stop there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2007
$16
A good place to stop overnight. Very reasonably priced, however the office keeps weekday business hours and is mostly closed on nights, weekends, and holidays. Check-in, check-out, and payment during those times is on the honor system. We saw a pack of unleashed dogs roaming the back of the property, evidently from some nearby farm, but they did not cause any problems. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2006
$16
Park is clean and well maintained. Attendants very helpful. We were there for a weekend Little League tournament. The truckstop nextdoor did not bother us. Easy access to the interstate and had a number of restaurants close by. Would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2006
$17
Great people, very friendly, office open at 8 am and 4 pm. Stayed 3 nights. Truck stop was not a bother at all. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2005
$17
The office was only open for a few minutes at but when closed, there were clear indications of which sites were reserved and which ones were available. Office person was very friendly when I did talk with her. There is a truck stop next door but the noise didn't bother us. The hookup connections are spread out quite a bit so you might need to look for a site that matches your configuration. My 25' cable wasn't enough for the cable tv plug at my site but the next site over I could have used a 10' cable. I used my 50' tv cable, 35' of water hose, and positioned our rig so the 20' sewer and electric cable would barely reach. Cable TV signal is only clear thru about channel 25, after which all channels are very fuzzy. We drove thru the 2 other parks in the area and this one is by far our top choice. For the price paid we feel it's a good value. We'll stay here the next time we're in this area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$17
Just off the Interstate and in a good location for area touring. Dirt/gravel roads and pads. Sites mostly level in a grassy field. Mature trees on some sites. Our major complaint is that the campground abuts a truck stop parking area and we heard the rumble and idling of trucks all night long. This might not be a problem in a well-insulated big rig with the AC on, but we found it annoying. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com