206654 User submitted reviews online!!
New Orleans West KOA was rated 8 out of 10 based on 72 user reviews. Phone: (504) 467-1792
CGID1246

New Orleans West KOA

Camp Information
Sites
97
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   10   4   6   9   7   7   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$42
THE STAFF HERE IS INCREDIBLE! It is gated, which is great given the neighborhood. The pool was closed but it's March. The dog park is small but fine, as is the playground. Good office/store. There is a shuttle that runs into town for a small fee. The staff can tell you all about how to get into the french quarter and what to do when your there. They are fantastic. Nice laundry room with great rates. Noticed some flooding after bad weather but our site (76) was fine. Will absolutely stay here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$40
We stayed here while we visited New Orleans. The campground is located in a suburb community of New Orleans. They provided free shuttle service into the French Quarter in the morning and picked us up again at the end of the day. The campground is very crowded and the sites are close together. Campground staff help you get parked in the tight spots. The campground is family owned and operated and the pride they take in keeping it nice and providing good service to their guests shows. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2014
$40
Considering it's in the middle of a residential neighborhood it's pretty darn good, everything is a bit jammed in but they can handle the biggest of rigs. Washrooms and showers were clean and laundry worked well, WiFi had to have the password re-entered a few times a day but it was free and fast. The free shuttle bus was a huge plus and both drivers gave great running commentary on the way downtown and back. Access from the highway was easy and shopping was close (5 min to grocery store, 10 min to Walmart). Overall would recommend 100% for anyone looking to visit New Orleans for a few days. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
December 2013
$45
We recently spent three days in New Orleans at the New Orleans West KOA. The park had nicely paved spaces and was very quiet within the park. Outside of the park, about a block away, large freight trains would rumble through a couple times a night blowing their horns hard. It made sleeping overnight difficult. This RV park had water, sewer, and electric hookups. There was a small laundry room and the bathrooms were a bit dated, but cleaned. All-in-all the RV campground was pretty standard. Like most KOAs, this one charged about $5-10 more per night than they should, it is really a $30-35 per night campground but we paid $45 per night. Would I recommend this park? It seemed like the best campground for the buck in New Orleans. Would we come back? If we are in New Orleans, we will probably stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$46
Stayed three nights over the weekend (Fri to Mon). Nice campground, but sites are a little close for my liking. No pull through sites is a downside. Making a right turn into the park is a little tight, but doable even in a 40 ft. RV with a tow. Left turn in is not a problem. Staff was very helpful and assisted in parking at site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$48
Great park for visiting the big easy. Easy access, convenient location to city, swamp or plantations. Great owners and staff, very helpful and happy. Park clean and well maintained. Safe and secure. This is the place if you are RVing in New Orleans. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$50
It was so difficult to pick an RV resort near New Orleans. They all looked pretty horrible. We decided on the KOA (it sounded the best) and we were glad we did. The actual grounds are fine. There were some really beautiful trees and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The only reason it's not the highest rating is the area isn't the greatest and that there are no pull-throughs. However, their staff was GREAT in helping us back in to our site. Long drive to New Orleans, but that's to be expected from an RV camp. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$41
Was concerned about the area of town the New Orleans West KOA was located in, however, it turned out to not be an issue at all. Felt very safe walking over to,the levee and around town a bit. Fairly level spaces. Tight backing in. Our major complaint was that we were not able to be next to our cousins whom we were traveling with. First was told it needed to be noted in the note area of reservation, was able to,show that it was listed that we were traveling together, the story changed that we needed to state specifically we wanted to placed together. Other than this inconvenience, we would stay here again but be more specific if traveling with others We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$37
I can't say enough about the friendly helpful owners of this park; they go the extra mile. This isn't the typical KOA though; there are many long term campers, and what appear to be rental homes on the property. The road that brings you to the rear sites is horrible, uneven with large potholes; no easy way to get around them. There are sites near the pool that appear to be a bit close together. A little shabby, but very clean with 24 hour staffing. Laundry is large and reasonably priced. The neighborhood isn't too bad compared to others in NOLA. There is a paved recreational path on the levee across the street, though access is up a steep incline. Wi-Fi is fairly slow and spotty. We didn't use the shuttle but it seemed to be full every day. The pool was due to be open in April. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$45
Be careful using your GPS to navigate here. They tend to take you some very obscure and long ways to the park. Ask the staff for directions before venturing here. This is one the most different KOAs I have ever been to. I suspect it was a privately branded park and then bought a KOA franchise. There are no pull-throughs, very little maneuverability within the park, no play areas or amenities you would expect at a KOA. The staff was VERY friendly and eager to help. Although my back-in space was next to a telephone pole and a rig was parked in the drive in front of the space, two staff members said "trust us" and proceeded to get me backed into the space without hitting anything. What I didn't like about the location was that it's easily 20-30 minutes or more from the French Qtr. As I drove into NOLA, I spotted another RV Park and checked it out. The long and short of it was I would have much preferred to stay there rather than the KOA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$45
This park was OK. It seemed to be in a bad area, but we never felt unsafe. The concrete pad was nice. Some have shade; others do not. Ours did not so it was a little hot, but level. Wish they had grills and or fire pit. Plently of room between sites. Kind of strange having houses inside the park, but I guess they rent those. Staff reall friendly! We did not let them take us to town because we felt we did not want to stay that long. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$47
The park is located on the west side of New Orleans. The people at the park are wonderful. Right from the start they were helpful and even booked our tours for us. They had lots of suggestions and recommendations. The park is all back-ins but they have plenty of room to maneuver. They also guide you to the spot and do a great job of spotting for you to back-in. The spaces are long and wide. They have a shuttle to the French Quarter and as previously mentioned do a great tour themselves when taking you in and out. We had a great time in New Orleans and staying at this park helped make it a great time. We will be back when in this area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2013
$42
This park is a distance from downtown New Orleans and is not easy to get to. Takes 20-25 minutes to town. Sites are wide enough, but are all back-in and were shorter than normal. Park appears to be an older park shaped like a horseshoe. We were placed on the back side and appreciated the help backing in. The reason for the 7 instead of 8 was the potholes. Some were over a foot deep. Staff was friendly and helpful. We didn't use the shuttle and chose to drive downtown. Parking is very expensive near the French Quarter. We would probably stay here again, unless something closer was available. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$38
We were very pleased with this KOA. The park was well maintained, spacious sites, level cement pads, quiet neighbors, fast Wi-Fi and reasonable rates. All staff members were very friendly and offered good suggestions for restaurants, etc. They offer a complimentary shuttle to and from the French Quarter with commentary along the way. All in all, a "very good" park and one we would definitely return to. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2013
$30
Very friendly and helpful staff. Clean site with a shuttle downtown. There is a train that is nearby but not too bad. Highly recommended. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2013
$40
Stayed here one night, was very busy and almost full when we arrived. Campground was clean and well taken care of. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Campsites are very close together. Since we only stayed one night we didn't see much of campground. Campground is in safe part of town. Train was very loud at night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$42
The roads in the park are in dire need of repair and most individual pads are cracked and uneven. The park is surrounded by run-down neighborhoods. However, the managers are very friendly and quite helpful. The free shuttle to downtown New Orleans is a great benefit. We paid $42 per night with the KOA membership discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$40
We arrived here very late at night, with reservations made from the road, and were greeted at the office by the manager. He was friendly, helpful, and had us in our site right away, and we were made to feel very welcome. The pool was very clean, the staff was so very welcoming to our 4 doggies who travel with us everywhere, and the shuttle was great! Everyone made us so glad that we had chosen the KOA they manage, as they were helpful in answering all our questions, and when we extended our stay by two days, they were awesome! The staff is suburb and the office is friendly. It is in an area of town that feels safe and it is clean. We enjoyed our stay and if we are in NOLA again, we will certainly stay here! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$53
The prior ratings seem to be all over the place. We took a chance and stayed here primarily because of the free shuttle service to the French Quarter. As KOA's go, this was pretty good. It is located right within a neighborhood and (excluding the occasional train & jet) was quiet (the trains seem to stop after 11pm). You can ride your bike 1/2 mile to the levee and ride an excellent bike path along the Mississippi River. Our site was level and shaded from the afternoon sun. The electric was fine, as was the cable and wi-fi. They also allowed you to wash the rig! The road, at one point, was a little rough but no problem - we've seen worse on state routes. The shuttle was excellent with a little tour on the way to the French Quarter. It left at 9am (be certain to get on the list in the office asap as it does fill during peak times) and picked us up at 5:45 pm. Yes, it's a long day but we sat in several parks and listened to live music and had a cool drink top pass the time. We would return again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$38
Stayed here the end of April. Beautiful weather. Not so for the neighborhood. A little on the sleazy side. Park clean. Sites nice and roomy. Full hookups. Tv and wifi worked fine. Owners on site. Free shuttle to New Orleans with a mini tour on the way. Left campground at 9am (and yes get on the list early). Return pickup at 5:45. You need a week to do the Big Easy properly. We definitely would stay here on a return trip to New Orleans. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2012
$50
Planes, trains and automobiles, it's not very quiet. Typical KOA, tight lots but level and clean. It is downtown, so handy for site-seeing. The staff was very helpful advising us where to park to catch the trolly line to the French quarter. They have a shuttle, but it goes in at 9am, back at 5pm - too long of a day for us. A good choice to see New Orleans. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2012
$38
It seems as though all KOA parks have sites close together and narrow roads. Although, we've only been to 2, one in N. Little Rock and one in New Orleans, which is actually River Ridge, outskirts of Kenner, LA. The one in N.L.R. was much nicer than the one in Kenner and felt safer; it wasn't in a neighborhood; it is right off the interstate. At River Ridge, the park is in a horseshoe shape as another viewer said and would be more feasible driving if you could go out the other gate facing Jefferson Hwy, but I guess for security reasons, they keep it locked although the other stays open all the time, so I don't see the point. There are houses on both sides of the metal fence and all around the park. The ending road to the locked gate (sites 68 to 91) is in very bad shape and narrow. There's only one way to go, then you have to struggle to back into a very unlevel site and hope you can find a place to park your truck where no one will hit it pulling in and out. The water hookup is far from the site towards back of camper. All hookups worked fine for us; but our relatives next to us could not use their 30 amp hookup due to the park; instead, luckily they had one, they had to use their 50 amp. Good thing ours worked because we did not have that capability. The best sites are the row in front of the office. They save those for big coaches and rigs, although still tight to get in and out. The pool looked OK but not great. The water was not as crystal clear as I've seen at other parks. Staff is very friendly; they do help you get in and out of your site, thank God! We had gone for the St. Patrick's Day celebrations. Treasure Chest Casino is a straight shot back up Williams Blvd. pass I-10 to the end of Williams. They also have a Cafe du Monde on Williams after you pass under the overpass of I-10 coming from Jefferson Hwy. Nice little St. Matthews Catholic Church on Jefferson not far from the park. I don't know if we'll be back to this park unless we can get a front row site. Still had a good time. Weather was great! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
December 2011
$42
This park is located in a quaint New Orleans neighborhood, which makes it quiet. A good place to ride bicycles across the street along the levee. We were about 12 miles from the French Quarter but they provide free shuttle service. We did not use it because we wanted freedom to return whenever we wanted. There was plenty of parking in the Quarter so we had no problems. The park has 2 streets, and one of them is full of potholes, luckily we were parked on the smooth one. We probably will not go there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$40
Narrow roadway and trees can make backing in a "big rig" a little bit of an adventure but patience wins out. Staff are very helpful and the shuttle service to downtown New Orleans is a guided tour on its own. We agree with another reviewer's comments about following the campground's directions I-10 exit 223 and Williams Blvd ... there is an easy left turn off Jefferson Avenue into the campground. We will definitely stay here when we return to New Orleans. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$39
The park is actually in River Ridge, LA. A very nice park overall. Very quiet with only occasional train whistles and rare airport jet noise but not bothersome to us. Friendly and helpful staff. Well stocked store with a variety of items. Good selection of sightseeing brochures and information from the staff. Free shuttle to French Quarter but we did not use. Excellent scenic drive recommendations to FQ: which we did use. Typical LA: hot and humid with afternoon thunderstorms. The electricity (30A for us) was very reliable with no outages. Water, sewer, cable TV, all good and dependable. Several WiFi repeaters with typical fair performance but we used our Sprint broadband "card" most of the time and received max signal strength. Pool looked clean but did not use. We did not use laundry but other folks did. The one entrance / exit (2nd one had a locked gate) is best approached and signs are better seen ahead coming from the west (park is on the north side of Jefferson Hwy). It's doable from the east but KOA signs not as easily seen and a wide turn into the entrance might be required. We concur with the KOA website driving recommendation that if coming from I-10, use exit 223 and head south on Williams Blvd. A minor detractor is that most sites are not level so a little extra leveling effort might be required. Some sites have concrete that is broken but we did not see any RVs at those sites for the 9 days we stayed, so perhaps those sites are not actively used. The asphalt road is a bit busted up in a couple of sections but still passable. We will come here again, and already plan to. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$33
This is an excellent campground, close to the city. Everything is well kept and clean. Sites are back-in but are easily accessed. Staff is available to help guide you in. The camp maintains some foodstuffs and supplies. Some cable TV channels were poor but Wi-Fi was excellent. It has several showers and large rest rooms. Several shuttle vehicles ferry guests to the French Quarter and run well after dark. The park is built in a large U-shape. Streets and sites are paved. The curved part of the U has sunk and has been repaired many times. It is very bumpy to go over it and the rig driver should "crawl" through it to make sure glassware stays intact. We have stayed here several times and will do so again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$45
Spent two nights here and it is our first KOA experience. If they were all like this, we would be very happy campers. They told us when we called that GPS directions will take you down some brutal roads, but their route was a kidney-pounder too. That appears to be an area-wide problem so be prepared. Staff is very friendly and helpful: a pleasure to deal with. We didn't use the amenities because we were sightseeing around New Orleans most of the time, but they all appeared to be in good shape. There is a lot of maintenance and upkeep going on: from new slabs to adding fill to low spots. All sites are back-in, but ours was level and wide with full hookups. Wi-Fi has been quick and reliable. Park is fairly quiet, but you do hear the occasional jet traffic taking off from the international airport, and train horns just north of the property but nothing too disruptive. Overall, the park is not perfect, but much better than many, so we would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$35
Nice roomy concrete pads with shade. Hookups were easy and convenient. Staff VERY friendly and helpful. OUTSTANDING FEATURE: Daily, punctual, free shuttle service to and from the French Quarter. Wi-Fi was free and stayed fairly well connected. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$40
Site concrete pad back-in. Our pad was in good shape, but many others are cracked from age. Park road has some spots that are bumpy. Cable TV and Wi-Fi are good. Staff friendly and informative. Grayline tours can be booked in the office and the shuttle bus to downtown is a tour in itself. The drivers give an excellent narrative along the route. Some noise from nearby railroad and airport. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2010
$44
Great for a short, sightseeing visit to New Orleans but the noisiest place we have ever stayed. Train whistles, planes, traffic, leaf-blowers; and of course the Xmas and New Year's fireworks which went on all night. We never slept more than a few hours at night. There was a lot of rain while we were there and much flooding in the grounds. Also the power fluctuated quite a bit and we could often smell sewage outside. The "dog walk" is about a 25 ft strip by a fence with a small garbage can and waste picker-upper, but luckily the tenting areas were empty so we walked our dog around there. On the positive side, the daily shuttle into the French Quarter was great and the staff offered dog-walking services which was really helpful. The staff were very kind and helpful and we were sorry to say goodbye to them; but not to the park. We would not stay here again except for an emergency overnight and only with ear plugs! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$42
Very nice campground. They were very nice and a quick check-in. Clean park and great "neighbors", very quiet and safe at all times. Excellent Wi-Fi and cable TV. We will stay here again for sure. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$38
The staff here took a little while to warm up but were very helpful. The park is immaculate as were the showers and restrooms. The park is about 30 minutes away from the French Quarter, but the park has a deal going with one of the local taxi companies charging a flat rate to the city. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$42
Very nice campground. Staff was very helpful. There is a free shuttle to the French Quarter. Had a great 3 night stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$41
Park is in River Ridge, about a half-hour drive to the French Quarter. They have a free shuttle but only twice a day - 9:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. So that only works if you plan to stay all day. Otherwise, it's a hefty cab fare or taking public transportation which involves two changes. Parking in the French Quarter is $15. Nicely kept-up park. Not your usual KOA, but adequate. No pull-throughs but the park personnel helped us back in our large fifth wheel. We were on the front row -- I don't think we would have been able to maneuver around the turn to the back row. Pool was well-kept and I really appreciated that the personnel enforced the "no children under 14 in the pool without adult supervision" rule. Pool was never crowded. My only complaint about the pool was the loose handrail on the steps - it scared me the first time but after that I knew to watch out for it. Our site was level, well-drained and shady. Concrete on the front row looks relatively new but I saw some not-so-good pads on the back row. Bathrooms and (private)showers were immaculate. Nice laundry room (washers and dryers $1.75). Some noise from the trains and nearby airport, but not excessive. Park was otherwise quiet at night. If you like riding bikes, there is a wonderful path along the top of the levee which goes for miles and miles. Nice little shaded playground for the kiddies. Wi-Fi a little weak -- sometimes it took several tries to get on. I had read complaints about the electricity strength, but everything worked fine for us. I think the price was maybe a little high for a small KOA like this, but I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$43
As KOAs go this is a small one. The owners are friendly and there is fantastic security 24/7. We rode our bikes and walked about at ease. Everything was well kept... the pool was small but clean, amenities at a minimum. No drinking or eating in the pool area so forget about a nice cocktail in there. Really my only complaint is the name... insinuating that this park is IN New Orleans is a real stretch. It's about 1/2 hour drive ... freeway is the fastest but watch out for work-day traffic, accidents and jams which will greatly extend your travel time into the tourist district. We tried to side street route and that wasn't any better but a lot more scenic. I'm not sure I would recommend this campground. The price charged $43 was not comparable to others we've stayed in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$38
We stayed 5 nights, weekend rate is 13$ more than shown. Rate is with KOA 10% value Kard discount. This was a good campground, the roads are OK and we had a new concrete pad. It is true that some of the concrete pads are cracked but this is New Orleans and there is no bedrock here, so subsidence is part of life. We had plenty of space. We took the free shuttle into town; you do have to put your name down the day before as there is only one trip each way. We also enjoyed riding our bicycles along the Mississippi River levee nearby. Nice air conditioned laundry with good book exchange too. Friendly helpful staff; we had a great time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2010
$41
This park is like 187 years old. The concrete pads and asphalt roads are torn up and upheaved by the big trees. The utilities are above ground criss crossing the park. We had a difficult time backing in our 33' fifth wheel since the street was so narrow and lined with parked cars. The staff was great, the facilities are nice, and the location in nice. KOA Corporate needs to level this park and rebuild it from the ground up. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2010
$46
We checked in and were given the welcome information as well as a packet of information on what to do and see while in New Orleans. We arrived in time for the shuttle downtown and were given a wonderful overview on our way into downtown. The driver/owner was very knowledgeable about the area as well as the history and other points of interest. We have taken other "tours" and received far less information if any at all. This campground was very clean and the management and staff were very helpful and friendly. We are workampers and know the importance of hospitality and cleanliness in a campground. Overall our stay was fabulous! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2009
$39
Called ahead as we were not sure if we would arrive before the office closed, and were told that is not a problem as staff lives on site and to just call them and they would come over. Good instructions on web-site, arrived before office closed, given information hand-outs, escorted to site, concrete pad, nice layout of hook-ups, 3 miles East to Winn-Dixie (grocery), all in all a good location. Site 88 is on rough interior road, but otherwise interior roads are good. Staff is helpful, and looking forward to a few days of seeing New Orleans using their shuttle and tour reservation system. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2009
$38
We stayed at this park based on previous reviews which had comments about their free shuttle into New Orleans. When we called to make the reservation, we asked them if the shuttle was running the next day and the staff told us 'yes'. We got there at 7:30 PM and again asked about the shuttle and was told I had to sign up so I did. The shuttle driver was there listening, and told us that it was full. The staff person argued with him and said there were still two spots left,(thankfully she was right). You would hope that they would be thoughtful enough to let me know when I made the reservation that I needed to sign up for the shuttle in advance (apparently, if it is full - too bad for you!). The shuttle leaves the park at 9 AM. We were there early, and watched a couple who showed up for it (but obviously wasn't told they had to sign up) get turned away. Fortunately for them, there were some no-shows. So make sure when you call for reservations that you sign up for the shuttle, and then make sure your name is on the list when you get there! The park is nothing special - very close quarters, but we were there to go into downtown so we didn't care. Although the staff was very friendly and we were given history on the area on the shuttle drive in, they didn't impress us with their customer service (or lack thereof). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$35
This campground is about 10 minutes off I-10, and around 15 minutes from the French Quarter. People in the office are very nice and helpful. The concrete pads are wide and level, some have stove warmers to take the chill off at night and tables and chairs for around the heaters plus picnic tables. Bathhouse is clean and well maintained, laundry is very nice: we used both facilities. Wi-Fi worked well. We would stay here again when in the area. We stayed in site 55 across from the office and across from the pool that was still open. The laundry was directly behind our site: very convenient. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$38
Concerned for neighborhoods in the W. New Orleans area, we reluctantly decided to stay at the New Orleans West KOA. Much to our pleasure, it was located in a nice area. We were pleased with this RV Park. The family who runs it goes out of their way to welcome their guests. It's clean and comfortable. They add an unusual feature that made our stay great...they take guests to the French Quarter twice daily for no charge. The best part is they drive you in their van through an interesting route in areas we'd never have seen otherwise, and make the ride enjoyable by sharing tidbits along the way. The office/store is worth a shopping trip. We'd stay at New Orleans West KOA again with pleasure. Don't hesitate to stay at this fine RV Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$38
This is an older park and like all of New Orleans needs some repairs, but over all the condition is good. The concrete pads are large but over the years has settled and are not level any more. If you are going to the French Quarter it is about a 15 mile trip. The staff was friendly and eager to assist you in any way they could. A young man that was assisting us in backing in nearly got us hit by a pickup truck that was coming by and he got us on the wrong site, but we didn't have to move, they just changed out sites. Just was a close call. There were a lot of campers coming and going during our 3 day stay, this is a very busy campground. If using a GPS or Map Quest you will be taken through some back narrow streets which is not necessary, just get off I-10 at Williams Blvd & go south to Jefferson Ave. We would stay at this park again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$40
We spent 4 nights here will visiting New Orleans. This is the best campground in the area for visiting the French Quarter. The campground will provide a shuttle in the AM and pick you up in the PM. You can also take the bus which will pick you up across the street from the campground or take the trolley. The sites are level, and close together, but do not hamper slides or awnings and there are no side by side hookups. Cable TV and Wi-Fi worked great. There is minimal room for dog walking, but crossing the street and a short walk will let you walk them on the levee. There is some noise from a train several blocks over and the airport, but that did not bother our sleep or stay. There is a lady who provides a dog walking service if you plan on being gone all day and she also makes some wonderful tamales. We will definitely stay here again if in New Orleans. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$30
Very nice park, very clean. Level concrete sites, good hook-up. Very nice swimming pool and showers. The entire staff was really friendly and helpful. This site is located about 20 minutes from the French Quarter, so it is very convenient to a lot of entertainment. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$38
We stayed here four nights. It was about a 30 minute drive to the French Quarter. The staff gave great tips on what to see, restaurants, and directions to get there. The campground provided a free shuttle to the French Quarter. It was worth taking one time just for the drivers wonderful narration of the sights along the way and a residents view of Katrina. The shuttle left the campground at 9:00 AM and returned to pick you up at 5:45. The sites were cement and some had patio furniture and swings. Although they lost some trees during Katrina there was lots of shade. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$40
It is a great base camp for New Orleans. The staff is friendly and helpful. We stayed 4 days and no issues. This is our second time at this park. We were here in 2007 for 3 days and it was fine then. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2009
$65
Most sites here are super large and wide, but the side section where we were had very tiny sites crammed together with no cable TV (our site didn't even have a picnic table). Considering this, the nightly rate was really excessive for these little sites (even if it was Mardi Gras). On the bright side, the bathrooms were very clean, work camper hosts were friendly, WiFi worked well. The location seemed a bit better than the other in-town New Orleans RV parks (that are in more industrial areas). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$43
A parking lot-type of campground in a residential area west of New Orleans. The bathrooms were warm and were kept very clean. Each shower is in its own little individual room, very nice. The store stocks souvenirs, ice, RV supplies and groceries. The owners and employees were all very accommodating. Best of all is the free shuttle, which you can take into the French Quarter at 9 a.m. and back at 5:45 p.m. It's as good as a guided tour. There's also a bus stop across the street, with the bus connecting to the Carrollton streetcar. We had a lot of rain, so there were some big puddles and soggy grassy areas. The Wi-Fi was good. It's close to the airport and there was some road and train noise, so don't plan on sleeping too late. Our rate was with a KOA discount for 3 people, during a Pre-Mardi Gras weekend, so it seemed fair. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$38
Clean and neat older park. Pool is clean and well kept. Staff was friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$55
Fantastic site, first class service, site has all you need for a short or long stay. :-) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$42
Pros- Helpful staff. Laundry open 24 hours. Wide spots. Cons- Expensive for what you get. Cable hook up was horribly snowy. Staff knew it and could care less. Very muddy and swampy. We got a light ran and there were big puddles and mud everywhere. Wifi was up and down. Campground is not in New Orleans. It's in River Ridge. We've been at much better campgrounds for half the price. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$39
The KOA staff were very friendly and helpful. The park itself was difficult to find and the area looked run down. Patio furniture was provided with an outdoor fireplace. The laundry room was exceptionally clean and very nice. Their is a KOA bus to take you to the French Quarters. Overall, it was a good experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$37
Stayed on site 59 with a 34 foot trailer. Barely was able to park TT and TV there. Sites are short but wide enough. If it rains then there are a number of sites that are under water plus the road floods badly. They come out with sump pumps and hoses to pump out the water. Staff was very helpful. Their van broke down so we drove down town. New Orleans is fantastic. There's other tours beside Gray Lines, so look around. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2008
$32
Was a wonderful park, lot's of fun. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2008
$42
Urban setting. Next to shipping canal so if you walked up to the levee, you could watch some major ships go by. Staff was very helpful. They gave great directions for getting to Mardi Gras and the restaurants they recommended were excellent. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$49
The help was very helpful. Help you back in. The campground still has around 50% FEMA trailers but they were no problem. Not in the nicest area of town but 15 minute drive to New Orleans. Overall a nice campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$42
Very nice. WIFI and cable worked great, even though we were at the far end of the park. We were there for months without any trouble of any kind. Huge concrete sites filled with 45 foot rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$31
I stayed a total of 6 days in July enroute to and from Florida and found the park to be very nice. The owner gave me several sugestions of things to see like the WWII museum and had a great time. There are some marginal areas as with any city, you just need to pay attention. My wife and I will be here again for Madi Gras next year and look forward to our stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2005
$46
We stayed there for the Sugar Bowl and were charged $46 per night and with tax it was over$50 per night so if you like inexpensive campgrounds this is not one. If you are in one of the sites like we were in right across from the office look out so as not to get electrocuted when you back into your site because the utility lines are really low hanging although the sites on the second road didn't have that problem. Also this park is just about exactly 12 miles from downtown so it is not in New Orleans it is in Kenner. I would not suggest the city bus service either. If you are just passing through and need a quick overnight there is a Wal-Mart about 5 miles closer to town on the same road as the campground which is Jefferson Highway and the store is right before you go across the Huey P. Long bridge. That would be a cheaper option for a quick overnight but as with anything in this city you have to be conscious of your safety because New Orleans is not I repeat not a safe or clean city and I did feel a little safer in the campground. The wireless internet access costs about $8 per day and you would think at the rates we were charged to stay there that internet would be included. I will say that the campground was quiet at night and that the staff was friendly and that the main reasons I am rating this campground so low is the fact thatI feel it was extremely overpriced for the services received and that it was not highly convenient to downtown as I had though it would be. Next time I will try the state park which is about the same distance from town but is only $12 per night. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2005
$26
Camped there for the Sugar Bowl. Very nice site about 10 miles from French Quarter, they do have shuttle cab ride $25 bucks. All pads concrete very nice people. Although neighborhood wasn't great the park is in great shape. Right near Airport in Kenner, La. They did have WIFI very fast spotty aircard wireless and a phone modem in laundry room We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2005
$35
The trees, concrete slabs, and grass are nice. Not a bad place for overnighters. However, we have been here for nearly two months and have been stolen from twice now. The first time about a month ago. A $3,000 piece of equipment was taken from under our 5th wheel. It was in a black case and looked like nothing special. That same night five bicycles were stolen from within the park. A few weeks later more bikes were stolen. Three nights ago our truck was broken into and a $50 inverter was taken. That same night our neighbor, three sites down had his truck broken into also. We thought our truck was locked and our neighbor said he knew for a fact his was locked. The thieves evidentally have a tool of some sort to get in. This park has a tall fence all the way around it, but on the back side of the fence there are 2x4s running lengthwise and the theives are climbing over the fence and then going out the front gate. Some campers have actually seen this happen. The owner just shrugs his shoulders and says to call 911! He doesn't seem to care at all. On two sides of the park are very, very bad neighborhoods. We drove through them looking for the equipment that was stolen and they looked like drug havens. I suggested that he put wire on the top of the fence. He said he would not do that. The sheriff has asked him repeatedly to warn his campers. There have been muggings when campers have walked outside of the park. I'm really tired of the stealing and am so ready to go someplace else. Also, the owner took our satellite dish down and brought it to us because he didn't want anything at all on his grass. We had permission to put it up from the manager but the owner didn't care about that either. There is cable here but it is not very good. It comes and goes. One night we lost it for hours. The monthly rate here is $360 plus electric plus a $50 electric deposit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2005
$32
Most likely one the nicest parks in New Orleans. A little loud due to the fact that the airport is nearby and we heard loud stereos thumping each evening. It was safe however and the staff was excellent. Pay as you go Wi-Fi is available. Considering the alternatives in New Orleans this is most likely your "best bet". We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2005
$35
Visited park in a 40' motorhome. Most sites are large concrete pads long enough to accommodate any size motorhome and number of slides. Most sites are back-ins. Tow vehicle must be unhooked and plenty of room to park by site. Park is maintained very well. It is very quiet & clean. Pool is very nice but only heated by sun. We used the park shuttle to go & return from the French Quarter. Shuttle cost was $16 for two. All utilities were modern & well placed. Laundry was very clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
December 2004
$33
One thing that is usually nice about camping at a KOA is that you know what you are getting. We have camped at several KOA sites across the country, and without question this was the most disappointing. The sites are extremely close to one another and there is very little privacy. The first site we were in had sewer problems, ie. the sewer kept backing up when we dumped. We moved and the next site had the same problem. The park is run down and the owner doesn't seem to be putting a lot of money into it. Given the high quality and price of local state parks (Bayou Segnette @ $12 per night), we would not stay here again. Even the security was better at the state park! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2004
$29
Nice park for visit to New Orleans. Some of the sites are not very level, but were easy to deal with. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would stay again only if couldn't find somewhere better to stay. The shuttle that takes you to the French Quarter only leaves and 9:00 am and returns at 5:00 pm, so you had better want to stay the entire day away from campground. I would have given better rating if this had been more flexible. We travel with our dog and would not like to leave him for that long. We did not find it difficult to find a parking place in the French Quarter however. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$31
Nice park, friendly staff. Not that close to French Quarter, shuttle runs only twice per day, expect to drive to vehicle. Wide sites, low overhead lines too close to rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$28
Excellent park as it is well cared for and the sites are spacious. Staff was courteous and helpful. It's in a great location for visiting New Orleans. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$26
Pleasant staff, good location for access to The French Quarter, Garden District, etc. The park runs a shuttle to the French Quarter and there are two tour companies that pick-up daily. The "neighborhood" is mixed (some upscale houses and some the opposite) and a few apartments. Noise didn't seem to be a problem; after 9 o'clock the neighboring young people (from a neighboring complex) seemed to lower the volume on their entertainment. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$34
This park is a great place to stay. All sites are clean and have cement pads. All sites have 20/30/50 amps. We like this place and plan to return in future. About eight miles from downtown New Orlenas. Some noise from train, air port, and river boats, but not a problem. Staff was very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$31
This is a nice park to spend a day or week in. The staff is great and work all the time to make things right. Need a reservations to get a site most of the time. The place is always full of big rigs. Close to river (1/8 mile) and downtown is a short drive. We love to stop here! We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2001
$28
Friendly staff, helpful in sightseeing tours, van service from campground to French Quarter, city bus stop across street from campground, very clean park, paved sites, shade trees, pets welcome. Would definitely come back!!! Felt safe in area. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com