219989 User submitted reviews online!!
Seaview Campground, Cottages and Motel was rated 7 out of 10 based on 31 user reviews. Phone: (207) 853-4471
CGID1282

Seaview Campground, Cottages and Motel

Camp Information
Sites
96
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$55



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   1   9   6   7   4   8   2   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$55
Nice small campground with site on water. The tides are amazing. The weather changes with the tide, warm one minute cold the next. We camped on the waterfront lots, full hookups, good 50 amp electric. The only problem we had was we sat through Hurricane Arthur, no electrical, no water, trees on roads, had to stay another day but it was free, We missed the "Bean Hole Beans" because of the hurricane, our loss. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$57
This campground has three distinctly different camping areas: a) open grassy field, b) wooded and c) grassy seaside. The seaside area has full-hookup grass sites accessed by a narrow gravel road making the back-in of a 35 foot fifth wheel a little tight, but do-able. Basic utilities are good; cable is good; Wi-Fi is slow, free for ½ hour per visit and $3/hr after that. Cell phone service in the park is from a Canadian provider. A few sites offer unobstructed views of the water and would be worth a return visit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2013
$43
The campground was pleasant in all aspects except for red fire ants that bite. The sites were nice, cosy next to the ocean and had big fields and small trails. Neighbors and seasonal campers were great. Bathrooms clean, nice office, with a bar. Even had an all you can eat buffet. Would like to have enjoyed it all but was stuck in the camper due to the red fire ants. I would have returned if the ants were gone. Left early without a refund!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$40
We always stay here when we are in Eastport. Campground is excellent and the owners are outstanding people. Campground is always neat. Bar and restaurant right on property. Seasonal campers are very nice and the locals also come out as there is lots of stuff to do. Rate reflects the club rate. Will definitely stay again when in area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
Wonderful place to visit. Campground is right on the bay. They have a great restaurant and activities. WiFi is not good and phones are serviced by Canada. But this is a very nice little town with friendly people. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$43
What this park has going for it: location, location, location. Sites on the lower level have breathtaking views of Passamaquoddy Bay and three lighthouses. If you're lucky, you can see whales and seals in the bay. At low tide, you can walk for a long ways on the rocky beach and beachcomb. At night, the foghorns from the lighthouses are such a wonderful sound and the sight of the fog rolling in is marvelous. Cable TV is adequate, but a couple of channels were fuzzy. Sites are narrow, but adequately long. The bathhouse is clean, but a long walk up a hill from the lower area. Water pressure was adequate. Very quiet at night. Eastport is only a couple of miles away and has a grocery store and some great shops and good restaurants. Be sure to visit the mustard mill. What I didn't like about the RV park: their "rules" say that you can't use air conditioners or any heaters in the 30-amp sites, a fact that is not mentioned in their website nor is mentioned to you when you check in. There aren't many 50-amp sites, so you're out of luck if it's very hot or cold. Luckily we didn't have to use either while we were there or I'd be ticked off. The laundry is small and old and I wasn't impressed with the efficiency of the machines. Wi-Fi: you have to go up to the office to get Wi-Fii and you only get 1/2 hour a day free and you spend most of that time trying to get connected and trying to open anything. It's $3 an hour after that or $30 a month. Warning: depending on your cellphone service, you may be charged Canadian roaming charges. I was told to check the time on your cellphone. If it's showing Atlantic Time, you're using Canadian cell towers. If it's showing Eastern Time, you're OK. I don't know whether to trust that or not. We would probably stay here again if we were in the area but I would have liked them to be a little more up-front about the restriction on using heaters and air conditioners. I've never had a park in three years prohibit use of air conditioners in 30-amp sites. There is a restaurant at the office that's open part of the week, but I wasn't impressed with it. You'd be better off going to Eastport or Lubec to eat. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
We were very disappointed with this park. Though the view is spectacular, the waterfront sites are oddly arranged. The staff at the office was not helpful. The cable works fine, restaurant was mediocre, but the Wi-Fi is not good at all. You get half-hour per day free, but can spend all that time trying to connect. Other reviewers have commented on the cell phone problems, but this is not the campground's fault. The laundry was small and dank. The facilities look very old and the sites could be improved with just a little leveling and attention. Everything just looks old. We would not stay here again, as there are other campgrounds in the area that also overlook the Bay of Fundy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$48
We spent two nights here. It pays to look at the sites before you choose one. The upper section is forested and terraced. The lower section by the water is more crowded and less private. We had site #5 on the upper section. It was flat and shady. We loved being able to walk down to the water and see the tide swings on this part of the Bay of Fundy. The staff was friendly and helpful. They have a nice restaurant/bar on site that offers all-you-can-eat specials on certain nights of the week. The laundry is not expensive. We ate at The Chowder House in Eastport and had the best clam chowder and blueberry pie! Downtown has some interesting shops. At low tide you can see the caves next to the ferry pier. Wi-Fi was non-existent even sitting right by the office. Cell phones use the Canadian signal so it costs $.65/minute. We enjoyed checking out Eastport from here and the campground was quiet. We would come back here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2012
$56
Rate includes extra adult and tax. This park was a huge disappointment. Other reviews made it sound so nice. It wasn't. First of all I would give a 9 for the view from our campsite but it ends there. Management was the most unhelpful I have ever seen. I phoned ahead to inquire about getting diesel. No one knew of a station let alone tried to check. Staff didn't know if my site was a pull- in or back- in. We had to drive to check as it mattered which way to enter the circle. Wi-Fi cost $3 an HOUR! Your choice was pay for a full month or by the hour. Next we found we could not use our mobile phone there as the only tower was in Canada. This isn't the camps fault but added to the Wi-Fi sting. The laundry is very small, cramped, and only open from 10am to 10 pm. Lastly, the showers and toilets were in the office area which is about two blocks from the 50 amp and view sites camping area and this is up a steep hill! We will not return, there are better CGs elsewhere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$45
This park has a great view of the ocean, a nice bar and eatery, and sites are adequate but a little close together. No Swimming pool and our cable didn't work. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$35
Location, Location, Location. This place has it. There is nothing fancy at the campground but the view is awe inspiring. We stayed right on the Bay of Fundy and watched eagles soar overhead. At night you hear the fog horn and see three lighthouses. The owners are so friendly, they make you feel part of the family. We loved staying here and hope to return soon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
The owner is great and a fine chief. He runs the restaurant and club house that is part of the campground. The clubhouse is a full bar and restaurant facility. The sites are all tiered but level to provide a view of the sunrise over the bay in the eastern most point of the United States. There are back in sites and pull through sites, which are all nice. We will go back when in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$45
We were very comfortable here the 5 nights we stayed. There is no pool and we were not on waterfront, but had a nice, shady site. Since we were here on 4th of July weekend, the campground was full. There is a recreation room with books, games, pool table, a small bar and a restaurant on site. Restaurant is open to public with many special all-you-can-eat events. Showers are FREE! Short walk down to Fundy Bay to see awesome sunrises. Wi-Fi cost $3 per hour after complimentary 30 minutes daily. Loved walking streets of Eastport! Campground has a bus and offers reasonably priced tours of area attractions. We would come back here and probably will next year! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$45
This is the prettiest place on earth. The campground is nicely laid out with big spaces, and a lot of them are either on the water or with a view of the water. There is a restaurant on site and it's convenient to town. Absolutely no noise at night and just wonderful. I'd not only stay here again, I'd probably live here it's so nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$48
We summer here: and have for the past 3 years. Truly a 'slice of heaven'. Owners couldn't be nicer and more accommodating. 30 minutes to Canada, seafood a plenty with the best food in town at the Seaview dining room. Don't miss this! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
Ho-hum. Was it bad? No. Was it good?. No. Another so so campground in a beautiful location. Friendly staff, spacious sites and a great view of the Bay of Fundy. Gravel roads and somewhat level grass sites. We stayed in the 'Birches', the bay side sites do not offer shade. Pay WiFi after a free hour per day. Water was good, both pressure and quality. Be advised that if you get a site by the water, your view may be blocked by the rig next to yours. I agree with the comment about traveling on US 1 to Eastport, I took that route going. It is rougher than a cob. It is better to take 193 north out of Cherryfield to Hwy 9E. In Calais, pick up US 1 south to Perry. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$40
We chose this campground over the one in Lubec because it was rated higher but upon comparing the two, we moved to Lubec. This park has nice views. The office was not that friendly. Wi-Fi is available for $3 an hour or $30 per month. If we return to the area, we will stay in Lubec. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$67
The campground, on the ocean or bay side, is fairly roomy. Our site was a little tight to get into due to some rocks and the pier. However, the view was great. Mosquitoes, (yes you're on the water), are hungry! Campground was very friendly and had a "bring your own" food meal one evening. Would stay again, however, not at the site we were on. Other than the backing, the roads and access are very good. Wi-Fi worked well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$48
We were on site #10 next to the fishing pier and lobster shack, right on the water. What a view. Seals and porpoises swimming by our window. Check out the surrounding fields for deer. Staff was friendly and helpful. The restaurant and lounge were a pleasant surprise, even cooked our lobsters for us! The Saturday night dance with DJ and pig roast were great. Eastport is a quaint seaport town with nice shops. Don't forget to visit the mustard factory. Rate for the site was for 4 adults. Cannot wait to return. Bring your passports so you can hop over to the Canadian islands right next door. Ferry is in Eastport. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$28
This RV park is difficult to rate. Eastport is a wonderfully laid-back little Maine coastal city and can't be beat for a summer respite in an unhurried corner of the U.S. Seaview Campground could be much more than what it demonstrated during our four-day stay. Our extremely friendly and helpful desk clerk provided an energetic and useful orientation to Seaview and the surrounding area. We were assigned ocean view site S12 (remember this site number) and after a bit of confusion (like how the heck do you enter this site) we got situated. The sites and access roads seem to be laid out without much planning and sites were stuck here and there. The highway entrance was clearly marked, the interior roads are in good shape, but the ocean view sites are not all that level. The ocean view sites are close together, but about the same as the average KOA. The ocean view sites are terraced like auditorium seating, so unless you are in a very low camper, you should have a view of the bay. The ocean view pull-throughs are very long so even 45-footers will have no problem. Now for the ugly. We complained about our 30 amp breaker tripping off at about 25 amps of sustained load. After two days nothing was done. At the same time, I mentioned a leaking water faucet on site S13, it was still leaking when we left. They have a nice little restaurant on-site and the first night we were there, we had a wonderful lobster dinner and dear wife had a wonderful margarita - all served and bar-tended by workcamper, hubby of desk clerk. The last night we were there, the restaurant experience was a disaster. There was one poor guy trying to tend bar, wait tables, and I strongly suspect he was also the cook for about 15 patrons. His margarita was awful. We gave up and ate in our coach. All this was happening while the owner of Seaview, was firmly stuck to his bar chair chatting with his mates. In spite of the premier locale, we will not be back. **>> Navigation note: Do NOT go north on US 1 to Eastport. The road is far worse than any road we encountered on our way to Alaska. Use Maine highway 9 to Calais, then 1 to Eastport.**<< We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2009
$38
This was the most expensive campground we stayed during a three week trip, and we didn't even have an ocean-front site. We paid less per night in Bar Harbor! The advertised free WiFi turned out to be a 30 minute free trial that didn't work at all for us. There was no cell phone connection possible and the pay phone was out of order. The sites away from the ocean were very plain - full hook-ups, but just a grassy field. It is definitely not a place for people passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$45
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The ocean view is dynamite. You can see the Old Sow from the campground. The Old Sow is the second largest whirlpool on our planet. The Bay of Fundy is there as well. It's a very nice campground with a wonderful staff. The grounds are kept up extremely well. There is great fishing available to those who fish right from their dock. While there I got some great photos of a beautiful bald eagle just sitting in a tree close to the campground. Another time a smaller eagle came down to the dock and sat atop one of the dock post. I spotted a mother loon with her baby on her back as she swam past the dock. That was a wondrous sight to witness. There are whales in the area, and we lucked out and saw a finback from Campobello Island which we visited during our stay. Great place to visit, too. All in all, it's a lovely place to stay. Would gladly go back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2007
$36
Great view of the Bay, to bad that the sewer hookups are spotted wrong. If you want to use sewer hookup, go into spots the wrong way and run your water and electric under your coach to off side. This is the best place in the area for FRESH seafood. The owner is a lobster fisherman, and the camp worker knows how to cook. All the locals eat here. Needed blocks to get level jacks to level our RV unit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$24
We really enjoyed the campground. The views were great and the lobster and steamers at Basil's were the best we had while in Maine! We had no problem with the roads or the sites and the people in the office were very helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2006
$40
From the shore, the park has a beautiful view of the ocean. The ocean view sites are very close together and other campers obstruct your view. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2004
$29
This is a nice campground, you have a choice of wooded area, sunny area or water view area the sites are big enough for slides. We were only going to stay 2 days but decided to make this our base for a week so we could go to many of the surrounding attractions and even into Canada. The staff was very nice and helpful, we even had our mail forwarded there and they brought us the newpaper every morning at no extra charge. Really nice park I don't know why the previous reviews had such a problem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2004
$?
There is only one word to describe this park but, since this is a family website, I can't use it. You visit it and you make up your own mind, but don't make a reservation until you do. I'll give you a hint: Camping on the waterfront in Indonesia when the tsunami hit would be better. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2004
$35
This campground is so far away from everything until you literally think you are going to drive off the face of the earth. The owners insist that you pay in full when you make a reservation, and state they will not give a refund without two weeks notice, and no refunds whatsoever after you arrive. Once you arrive, you can see why they have this policy. This campground is one of the worst I've seen in 20 years of camping. The sites are so close together, ingress and egress is terrible, the roads to the "sites" are terrible, and I don't think there is a half-way level spot within 20 miles of this campground. This is not a good place for motorhomes or fifth-wheelers and I strongly urge you to visit it before you make a reservation. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2004
$30
As the good people who run this site keep warning us, be sure to read all the reviews and get several opinions before making a decision. The folks who run this site also make every effort to keep "shills" from planting false reviews. The two reviews prior to this one, I can assure you, were planted by "shills" or friends of the campground, or the owners themselves. There is no possibility of a difference of opinion. This park has sites all jumbled together with no ingress and egress room, RVs are almost touching other RVs, with little room for slideouts and awnings, sites are unlevel, and it is completely unlike the description. If you feel you must stay in Easport, I urge you to make a one-night reservation, then go see the place. You will probably pull out and leave your one-night fee. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$35
We felt this campground was a real find and extended our stay a week. Their premium sites are down the hill from the office. A number of them front (width ways) on the Bay of Fundy and the rest of the premium sites are terraced up the hill with great views. Long dock into bay for you to tie up your boat. Upper, non premium sites do not have water views. Pull thrus are long and wide and easily handle 40' 5th and toter plus some. Good laundry. OK outside location for modem hookup. Campground has on-site restaurant serving great grilled steaks and lobster dinners (lobsters are kept fresh in a cage (locked) at the end of the dock. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$25
Probably the nicest, friendliest park we've stayed at this year. Owners were terrific. There is a restaurant on-site. They have a lot of planned social activities throughout the year. There didn't seem to be the stuffiness of the mega-resorts in southern Maine and the Bar Harbor region. Fellow campers were friendly and easy going. The park itself is right on the water. You look across the bay into Canada. The scenery in the area is incredible and there are many points of interest. There aren't the huge tourist attractions of other places in Maine but if you're willing to drive a few hours further you'll reward yourself with a pleasant, relaxing and educational experience. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com