220584 User submitted reviews online!!
Ramblin' Pines Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 62 user reviews. Phone: (410) 795-5161
CGID1345

Ramblin' Pines Campground

Camp Information
Sites
207
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$50



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   3   9   9   3   9   8   10   5   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$50
Excellent campground. Very family friendly. Friendly staff in office and store. We'll kept campground. Only stayed here one night while traveling to Penn. Live professional entertainment in pavilion. Hard to get into our back-in site but most others would be OK. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2014
$58
Overall this park does not seem to care about customer service. Perhaps this is because they cater to weekend guests from Baltimore and do not really care what out of town guests say. Unfortunately there are not many alternatives in Maryland, especially near Baltimore. Overall the park is OK, not outstanding. The facilities are clean, but could use some updating. They do have things for kids to do. Again the playground equipment could use some TLC. Do not believe everything the web site states. For example the "petting zoo" is comprised of a pen with 2 goats and a sign on the fence that states the goats bite. The miniature golf costs extra, even for those guests that have paid extra to visit with a camper in the park. There are a lot of sites crowded together. Even the larger sites are not big although they have quite a few sites that can accommodate large rigs lengths. However you side neighbors will be close. Most of the roads are paved, but none of the sites are. They do have 50A/30A electric service and full hook ups with basic cable. Do not try to get your satellite to work, the entire park is heavily wooded. Our biggest problem with the park is their total lack of customer service. We voiced 2 separate questions which ultimately became complaints and the staff's response in both cases was "oh well". This take it or leave it attitude really put me off. They know basically they are about the only game in town so take it or leave it. For the quality of the park and the need for some TLC, we felt the prices were high, but again, there is little or no competition. I will probably be stuck going back when we visit our daughter only because there is nothing close other than this park, but I cannot recommend it for those wishing a quiet park to stay for a week when visiting Baltimore. It is pretty noisy on the weekend. Read all the reviews then decide for yourself. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$52
Here's my report on Ramblin Pines Campground, Woodbine, MD. It's about 30 miles southwest of Baltimore and close to I-70 in MD. It's been there at least 30 years. Over 200 sites. Well maintained, the restrooms were small but clean and updated. They have a lot of amenities such as a fishing pond, pool, horse shoes, bounce pad and shuffle board. We had a nice corner site that included sewer, cable, electric and water. You could tell this was an older park because they had a telephone outlet as well. The staff was nice and the store was well stocked. The only issue I had was that the water supply was encased in a large concrete pipe placed vertically in the ground with a cement cap. I imagine this is so that they don't have pipe freezing issues. However, it was very difficult to get the water hooked up. I tried leaning down into it with no success. I had to get into the pipe and squat down in order to get the water hooked up. Then repeat the process in order to disconnect and rinse. This was very inconvenient. Other than that we had a nice time here and would return to this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$50
This is a very nice, heavily wooded RV park conveniently located just off I-70 in the Baltimore/DC area. We had an extremely long fairly private pull-through. I think the previous review must have been submitted by someone who lives in an alternate universe than the one I inhabit. These sites are definitely not small by commercial RV park standards. The roads are paved; the sites are gravel with lots of leaves, but it is a forest! The trees were too dense for us to get satellite TV. There is cable, but we streamed Verizon and the signal strength was excellent. The staff were very friendly when we checked in and led us to our site. There are lots of activities and a pool for kids. It isn't cheap, but this close to a major metro area you can't really expect to pay much less. It is obvious that many of the RVs are here on a seasonal basis but the park looks very nice. One oddity about the park that we learned the hard way was that the security gate is closed after 11pm and you must have a key card to get back in. Cards require a $20 deposit but at midnight we had to leave our car outside and walk to our site. I would have given the park a "10" if it weren't for this. We have family in the area and we will definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2014
$68
Relatively clean campground with mostly very small sites with minimal privacy. All of the decent sites have been taken by seasonals, leaving only the bottom of the barrel for those vacationing or passing through. Most sites seem to be pretty level. Staff is mostly friendly and helpful, but there is one rogue staff member who is very unfriendly, rude and makes you feel like you shouldn't be there -- you know the saying about one bad apple -- staff is constantly roaming the streets on their loud gas-powered golf carts which really is an annoyance, just like somebody running a construction generator all day, but at least they're available when you need them. Ramblin Pines is best-suited as a one-night-stop type of place, and is not a place where I would want to spend a vacation. There is an area for dogs to be off-leash, but it is very small and you are limited to a maximum of fifteen minutes in this area -- I have never run into this before. In short, Ramblin Pines is overpriced for the amenities and campsites provided. We will not be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$55
Very quaint, woodsy, fun campground. We live 20 miles from the campground and this was the first time staying. Roads are paved and well marked. Hook-ups are easy to use; placement is great. Lots for the kids to do; they especially liked the "jumping pillow" and game room. Also had tractor rides that were fun. Some of the amenities were not open for season yet (i.e., ice cream, etc.) but we will probably come back since it is so convenient and well kept. Also offers Good Sam Club discounts. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
Nice dog park. Friendly staff. Back-in site was OK but rocky -- not as smooth as gravel. Nice pool. Would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$55
This is one of our favorite campgrounds, beautifully wooded, level, wide graveled sites, paved interior roads. It is quite convenient to I-70. Friendly and helpful staff. We were here off-season, during the season there are lots of weekend family activities planned. Convenient to both Washington, D.C. and Baltimore. Laundry rooms clean, exercise room available. It attracts groups who like to socialize on holiday weekends, but the campground for the most part is quiet and peaceful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2012
$55
I just gave this park a 5 rating because I think it is overly priced for what you get. Forget about using your satellite dish for TV. Too many trees. The only place you might have satellite reception is in the front spaces and they close those off the end of Oct so they can turn the water off and prevent freezing. Then they can charge you for using their cable TV. I stayed here for 5 weeks for a job and the site they put me in was a back-in and not very level. I had to block up and still could not get completely level but it sufficed. $750/mo plus the electric plus your cable TV. It is fairly convenient to Baltimore and all the help was friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$50
This is a nice, clean park. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Most of the sites are shady. They were all decorated for Halloween. The bathrooms were clean, but small, and not as private as I like. The Wi-Fi worked, but was very slow. We would stay there again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2012
$57
Overall I felt the campground, while nice, was fairly expensive. They do a pretty good job of describing this all on their rates page: - for a water, sewer and electric site, their base rate is $52.50. Extra persons over 2 people were $5.00 per day. Cable (which we did not purchase and I noticed on their sheet was only about 12 channels) was $3.00 per day. Mini golf was $3.50 per person (not sure if this was per game, or what) - bounce pillow was $3.00 per person (for the weekend). I don't mind paying for the amenities used and this kind of ala cart menu lets you do that. But, I felt like the base rate was pretty spendy to add things on top of it. Our site was in their "Front Row" sites - FR10, specifically. These sites were long enough for my 42' fifth wheel and crew cab, long bed dually 3500 If I pushed a little further back into the site and possibly left the tail gate down with the fifth wheel hitch hang over the bed. Ultimately, I parked in the grassy area across from the site. The bad...the sites are really narrow. With the way the escorts situated me on the site, my driver's side wheels were right on the edge of the gravel - my slides then extended 3' into the neighbor's site. Fortunately, it was just used at night by the neighbor's hired driver and they weren't actively using that site (they used the next one over where their beautiful/million-dollar motorhome was parked). These sites are in full sun - there was only a tree line behind me. The water hookup is the strangest thing I've experienced in my limited RV'ing - it's literally in a 18" round tube sunk down into the ground that you have to move a concrete cover to get access to it; the water nozzle itself was under ground level by 3"- 4". Because I parked where the escorts guided me, my site was fairly unlevel side to side - 4 lynx leveler blocks and I was still off a bit because they sunk into the ground somewhat. This was partly my fault as I should have moved more onto the gravel and I think it would have helped. I'm not entirely sure, but I think the camper lost power while we were at the pool - my alarm clock was blinking like the time wasn't set. My view was of the 2 RV storage parking lots (pretty storage, but not my idea of a campground view). My daughter tried to use the shower in the bathhouse, but could only get cold water out. Wi-Fi was NOT available everywhere - not at our sites and it was spotty as we walked around. That all said, the rest of the campground was fully shaded and tree covered. The roads through it would accommodate a big rig (I didn't drive it at all, but we walked all around one morning). Neither good nor bad, the site seems to be comprised of 75% or more seasonals. They had some of the best sites in the park, obviously. Electric, water and sewer were fully at the rear of the sites - I was at my max for hose length for water and sewer. In fact, my hose for my black water tank flush wasn't long enough. With my Watts water regulator, I had decent water for showers in the camper. We had no rudeness issues with the staff (though, funny that someone mentioned the older gentleman in overalls at a golf cart- he was there and not overly friendly). If I were to camp here again, given my size (42' + long bed/crew cab/dually), I would ask for one of the pull-thru A1-A7 or D30/31 might fit a big rig. D13 was OK, but it's fire pit faced the road - seems like you'd have little to no privacy. Finally, if you drive I-70 and take Rt. 97 north - trust the 20mph road signs through the curves. Going north, the dip near the train tracks needs to be taken SLOW. I didn't come from/to Rt. 94, so I can't comment on that approach. I'm on the fence if I'd stay here again. For me, it was an OK campground that's close to home (30 minutes). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$47
This place is about as good as it gets if you're visiting Baltimore, but be prepared for a 45 minute drive. First the good: long, level, shady sites with adequate spacing. The staff in the office were pleasant and helpful. Grounds are well cared for and clean. Now the bad: Cable TV available at only a few sites for an additional $3 per day which seems high given the already too high fees. The electric was very low at times. (Down to 102 at one point.) In fairness, it was very hot. The laundry room had only 3 working machines, was not air-conditioned, too expensive, and dirty. Three machines was completely inadequate for a campground of this size (and price) and there was always a line. I know exactly the staff member on the golf cart, that the previous reviewer was referring to. He seemed to be wearing the same overalls every day and was quite rude to us as well. All other staff members were fine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$100
We have been to this campground once or twice a year since 2006 and have no complaints. We usually never leave the park as there's plenty to do to keep busy. The staff and other patrons are friendly and they don't have a high turnover of personnel. The cabins are very well supplied with everything you need to cook and stay comfortably. They are also beautifully decorated beyond what you would expect from a campground. It's like visiting someone's home. The only recommendation I would have to the owner is to maybe add the addition of cable in the cabins and a second TV in the bedroom of the deluxe cabins. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$58
We all had a great time. Park was clean, and appeared well maintained. Most sites were fairly level, with adequate spacing for a busy park. Staff was helpful and friendly. Prices were a bit steep all-around though, and would had been nice to have a few more weekend activities. Overall a nice experience and relaxing trip We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$47
This is a very nice campground. The park is well maintained and the staff is friendly. All of the major roads are paved and wide. The sites are wide and large enough for both the RV and vehicle. We had a escort to the site. We were traveling with 2 other couples and had requested sites close together, but that request got lost in the shuffle. The site was gravel and fairly level. The water connection is in a large pipe in the ground with a concrete cover. This may make it hard to connect to for elderly or disabled travelers, but I’m sure the staff would help with this if needed. There is no cable TV, but we received several off air channels from Baltimore & DC, but that was not the case everywhere in the park. Our friends where parked in the trees and could only receive a couple of channels. The Wi-Fi worked OK, but was extremely slow. This park had a lot to do, including a fishing pond. During the month of October they do Halloween weekends and the park fills up with families that decorate their sites. The park is 22 miles from DC Metro rail and an easy drive to Civil War sites to the west and a short drive to Baltimore and Annapolis. We would stay here again, but not if we were traveling to DC every day, We would choose a park closer to the rail. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2011
$47
$47.00 for 12 hours. No cable TV. Internet works poorly. Site not level. Water hookup in a deep pit that you have to lie down on the ground to access (we didn't). Drove out to this place in the boonies to be welcomed by a really crabby guy in a golf cart who was supposed to guide us in but just stood there. Very unfriendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$47
I am the first to admit that different people seem to like and experience different things. Since our trip was a bit different from the other reviews I read, I found it important that I add our story. Overall we really enjoyed the trip to Ramblin Pines and will enjoy going back. As we drove in, a friendly man in a golf cart drove up, directed us where to park, and how to check in. I assume he doesn’t just sit there all day so you may not encounter him at first. Staff inside was friendly and welcomed us. No problems at check in. After we checked in, the man in the golf cart had us follow him to our spot. The he stayed to help guide me as I backed in. Others stated they had problems with staff and the gold cart man. Must admit they were very nice and friendly to us. Is this place in the boonies? We it sure is, and we liked that a lot. Someone mentioned the deep pit. I was not that happy with that. To connect our water hose, I had to lay down a piece of plastic, lay on the ground and reach arm length down a concrete tube to connect the water tube. It won't stop me from coming back, but I wasn't happy with it either. I also didn't like their fee basis of two per site with extra charge for others. I suggest the site reconsider their guest rate policy. We had no problems connecting to the internet but must admit it was a slow connection. They warn you up front that they restrict the speed so there is enough bandwidth for everyone. Speed is fine for most things like email; won't work for streaming video and music very well. We really enjoyed our stay. The weather was reasonably cooperative but cool. Would love to take the grandkids back to fish in their little catch and release pond. The huge jumping pillow looked fun, even for me. Good: Nice campground, nice reasonably level site, good pond and jumping pillow, nice staff, reasonable rates Bad: Water connection, no cable TV, poor internet speed, poor guest extra charge policy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2011
$58
This CG is located in a nice rural spot, close enough to DC, Baltimore and Frederick. Though next trip we are staying someplace closer like the KOA. They Charge extra for kids, the overpriced fee only includes two. Hard to believe they claim to be a family CG doing that. Kids have to be 15 according to a rather grumpy old man, to use the pool with out parents, Kids not happy, (13 and 14 years old) . I was very glad I unhooked toad at front gate. Site was a pull through and was large, but only level spot was right in the center and car would have been at a severe angle. Electrical hook up looked new. Water was in a hole covered by a cement lid, and sewer was a pipe in the ground, needed a rock to hold hose down in opening. Site was nice, lots of trees, but gravel pad. Rained and you could see how muddy things could get. For what this place charges we were not impressed. No cable, Internet spotty, Lots of seasonals in really rough shape. Can not see how Woodalls gave them the rating they got. This place is a clean, rural CG. But, We have stayed at Resort CG that had all the bells and whistles and were cheaper per night than this place.This is what I expect from a 20 to 30 a night CG or a State Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$54
This is a great park, with a fenced dog park. (A must if you have large dogs.) Clean, though dated restrooms, very friendly hosts, and helpful staff that will escort you to your site. They have 2 kinds of RV storage: paved and non paved, all outside. Clean, though small pool for kids; a catch and release pond; small petting zoo; a jumping pillow and mini golf. Highly recommend taking the Rte 94 exit rather than the Rte 97 Exit. Rte 94 is about 6 miles long, with some mild grades. Rte 97 is shorter but has a very steep grade and a scary, skinny, twisty road. Also if you take Rte 94 you'll pass a Food Lion, and some restaurants. A good place to stock up on all your grocery needs. So why not a 10/10 rating? Wi-Fi is poor, if your within 75 feet of the office, it's strong enough to get a signal, if not, your SOL. The hookups are another reason. The electric is a standard plug it in box (no cable), but the water hookups are in a hole in the ground, so you have to squat or bend over on your hands and knees to reach. And the connections aren't tight, so the hole can fill with water if you need to fill up more than 4 times a day. The CG is quiet, and is next to a farm, the sites are spacious, Big-Rig accessible, and sites come shaded or partly in the sun. I love the front sites (FR) and it's a very peaceful place to be. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2011
$52
Extremely overpriced for what you get. The staff looks (and acts) like the Geriatric Grumpy Old Club. They call themselves a family campground but rate is only for "2", if you have kids (a family) there is an additional charge each day (what the heck?). No daytime activities but maybe one activity on Sat. evening. Most sites are not level, debris (mud, limbs, and leaves) in roads and sites, and they won't pick up trash. I really am not sure why they think they are a family campground with no organized activities, high prices, and grouchy staff that sits around all day. They really need better management around there. Un-impressed! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$49
Spent a week here. Park really fills up on Friday nite and back to "normal" Sunday afternoon. Good location for Baltimore and central MD. Very friendly staff and we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2011
$55
This is a pretty nice campground, found it clean and well maintained. Staff was friendly enough, nice little catch and release pond, new jumping pillow for the kids. The park seems to cater to the seasonal campers, thus little activities planned, and would not likely be well-attended anyway. Found the campsite to be a little pricey at $110 for 2 nights for 2 adults and one 6 year old. Put-put golf was $3.50 per person, per game, and it was nothing special. The game room was ok, but the ticket machine (those silly coupon tickets you win at skee-ball to exchange for chinese plastic junk that's going to end up under your car seat only to be found 8 years later), that counted your tickets and printed a receipt only ate tickets. Camp store knew it was out of order, but said it wasn't their machine, and they already knew about it. At least put up an out-of-order sign: sheesh. I (or the 6-year-old), could care less about this, but the wife made me take a point off (she would have given a 1 rating if it were up to her). Shrugs. All in all it was not bad to get away for the weekend, and it's super close to home. If the wife gets over the ticket thing, we'll be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$45
Interesting Park. When we called for reservations, we were told only 1 site was available that would accommodate our 5th wheel (35 ft) and it didn't look desirable on the park map (FR13). When we arrived, we asked for a different site and were given a choice of 2 others. A polite and helpful gentleman took us to look at the sites in a golf cart. We chose B19, which was fairly level and very large. No problem there. There were, however, a large number of empty spots, including pull-throughs which we were told were not available, yet we accepted B19. After a day in Baltimore (about a half an hour away) we returned to find our water hose disconnected. No note on the door, nothing. We reconnected and made certain it did not leak, as we suspected this may have been the reason management disconnected it, but found it odd that no one communicated with us. The next morning, we heard a golf cart and activity around the spigot well: then a loud, insistent, "banging" on our door. A very rude, condescending and gruff individual advised us that they had disconnected the hose the previous day due to a leak. I told him I had reconnected and checked for leaks. He stated that the well still had standing water (it had been raining all night. A point I made). At any rate, he was certainly the exception to the other members of management we met, but certainly a liability. Forget this park if DC is your destination: at least an hour away. Baltimore is quite accessible however. It appears that most of the sites are occupied by semi or permanent rigs, limiting the selection for transients. Overall, a very secluded and private campground with good sites if you choose carefully (assuming you are given the option). However, we will not return. The proximity to a landfill and farmland can result in an interesting combination of odors depending on the wind. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2011
$65
Nice entrance and setting. Cleanish bathrooms, although old. Massive stinkbug infestation in the game room. The playground was infested with hornets/bees nests and the basketball hoop was just in the back of the bathrooms in an uneven, dirt area. This park charged $5.00 per night per extra person over two, AND charged $5.00 per visitor if they stayed over an hour. Our most expensive park (we are traveling a loop around the country: 8600 miles) outside of Fort Wilderness at Disney. I called this park and made reservations in advance, repeatedly asking if a pull through site was available. While we are not overly long, we tow a car on a dolly and it is very inconvenient to have to detach the trailer in order to be able to back up. I was told, repeatedly, that all the pull through sites were reserved. Upon our arrival (on a Sunday) and seeing almost all the pull through sites available, I inquired again. Again, I was told all the sites were reserved. When we pulled out Friday morning, there were pull through sites available. When I inquired at the front office as to why I was lied to all week, I was met with a shrug. This campground is not worth the money charged. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$45
Love this park. We came for a week and stayed for a month. They have everything you could want, nice sites, friendly people, pool, pond, soccer field, mini golf, game room, exercise room, laundry room, jumping pillow, and shuffle board. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$45
We loved this park. The sites were large for our big rig and easy to get into. We loved all the trees and not being right on top of our neighbors. The only problem I had was that WiFi was patchy at best. Remember to log in every day. The WiFi is free but was frustrating to access. We used this campground as a base to see Baltimore and western Maryland. We would definitely stay here again hoping the WiFi would improve. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
We stayed in the Extended Stay from March till the end of December 2010. The park itself is well kept and gets full on weekends and holidays. Amenities are great for a family with much to do for all ages. Our main concern was leaving. The electric bill which is in addition to the $750/month, was $200 for 1065 KWH for December. The owner said it had to be from the electric space heater. This seems odd as in the sweltering summer months we had to AC on constantly and our bill was never more than $85. When questioned about the rate of $0.19 per KWH, he said he could charge whatever he wanted. I called the Public Service Commission and was told he has to charge market rate which is much less. We have sent a letter to the State asking for a ruling. In the mean time, feel free to stay here, but watch your electric meter and take weekly readings. Our $100 deposit was conveniently erased by the last electric bill. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$48
This is a great family campground with lots to do for the whole family. Recreation hall, heated pool, playground, game-room, horseshoes, shuffleboard, planned activities, and a catch and release fish pond. Free Wi-Fi. The sites are large, but a few are not level. The staff is very friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
We spent two nights here. It is a beautiful RV park with shady sites and lots of room. Staff was friendly and helpful. Quiet and peaceful place to stay. WiFi was restricted but we were able to do email. We would definitely come back and stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2010
$45
I agree with the last comment. I spent 4 days there. It was the worst camping I've experienced. There was no satellite or cable so I was unable to get weather reports. I had to stand on my head to connect to water, and after rain the concrete water connection was flooded, and I had to dip water to disconnect. They were very rude and overcharged us; the discount for 2 people was not applied. We registered in the middle of week and were placed in a muddy, unshaded lot. Their ad is not accurate. I'm surprised this is a Good Sam approved campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2010
$45
I was very disappointed with my stay here. They say that they are a pet friendly campground with some breed restrictions however as soon as we pulled up the man at the gate began questioning us about our dog. We have a great dane, not listed on the restricted list. However he was very rude with his questioning and was judging us before we even had a chance to get out of the truck. His questioning about our dog went on for 15 minutes and she didn't even bark at him. It was obvious he was questioning us because of her size. On other notes the campground is very large however the sites are pretty small. The sewer hook ups were difficult because of the slope to the sites. We had such a slope that even with having three steps on our camper we still had a huge gap between the ground and the bottom step. We will not be going back to this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$42
What a beautiful park! Your choice of shady (forget Dish) or front with no trees. Huge swimming pool (funny hours: 12-4, 5-8). Great entertainment on holiday weekends. We met several of the staff and they were all very professional and hospitable (although some were more knowledgeable than others). Nice playground, gameroom, and mini-golf. Nicely appointed. Very nice laundry setup. We will definitely go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
February 2010
$45
Warning! Do not stay here! These people are the rudest people I have ever met at an RV Park. We travel all over the US for business and this was the worst experience I've ever had. Forget getting any satellite, and they don't have cable TV. The wireless service is strictly restricted and slower than dial up in the early 80's. No trash service at or even near the sites. We got trapped here during the February blizzard and the General Manager (reminded me of a fat prison guard) reneged on an agreement she made with me in the beginning, to credit my weekly payments towards the monthly rate in the event I had to stay the month. There were no amenities whatsoever and the rate was $45 per day. I ended up spending 2X what it should have cost me. If I had it all to do over, knowing what I know now, I would have paid twice that just to stay somewhere else. These people are greedy. What a rip off! Rude, rude rude! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$47
This is a nice clean campground. They have a ton of things to do for the kids. The pool is always clean and they have a lifeguard on duty. They also have several playgrounds to choose from. My kids always have something to keep them busy. My only complaint is that I had to pay extra for my three kids. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$47
Park has lots of shade, with roomy sites. This park is beginning to need a facelift around the sites. Lots of mud, leaves, and tire ruts among the campsites. Sites could really use some stone or grass, and some filling in of holes wouldn't hurt either. Overall it is a nice park with some decent amenities, but you can tell maintence is beginning to lack. Some of the Staff could be a bit more upbeat also. Hopefully they get back to work around here since it is one of my favorite campgrounds. We'll still keep coming for now. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$42
My family has a long history with Ramblin' Pines - my parents used to camp there, years ago, and now that I have a camper I've visited a couple times myself. In general it's a pretty decent park, but I find public address announcements extremely annoying - "Attention campers! The snack bar is now open!", and the like. We heard a couple of those throughout the weekend. Also, the shower was a mess one day (probably some kids, overnight - I was willing to overlook that problem), but then the next day the shower was clean but the water wasn't draining from the shower so you ended up standing in several inches of water. Again, that wouldn't bother me so much (I'm sure these things happen everywhere from time to time), but another camper told me that he'd reported the problem several days before, and obviously, it wasn't fixed yet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2009
$47
This campground is nice and shaded. I gave it a rating of 4 because of poor management and front office personnel that lie. We reserved a pull through site more than 30 days prior to our arrival and were assured a specific site. Upon arrival, to the point they escorted us to the site, we found somebody else there. We were told our reservation was not entered into the system. Our 2 options were a tough back in spot, or a full refund and we could leave. After taking the back in spot, I went and talked to the manager. Another staffer who did more talking than the "manager", then told me that the occupants in "our" spot extended their stay. This is wrong, they should have been told they could, but the site was taken, and they needed to move. My wife was also told, upon checkin (we thought about extending another day) that the site was not going to be taken for another several days - why didn't their system show it was already occupied?? So, we were told 3 different tales, which is right, we still don't know. Management's philosophy was take it or leave. What if there would have been no free sites for us? How would you like to drive all day, only to find out the reserved site you thought you had was already taken? I would NOT trust this campground's management - and I will NOT recomment this place to anyone else. VERY dissatisfied with Ramblin Pine. Will never come here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$42
This is one of our favorite campgrounds. The majority of the sites are tree covered but there are a few that aren't. We love the trees, keeps it cooler in the summer. There is a nice mix of seasonal and temporary spots. All the seasonals keep their areas clean and tidy. I like the fact that they can't put decks and other eye sores on the sites. The bathrooms are bit outdated but kept clean. All sites but tent sites have full hook-up, which we love. They have always been very accommodating when making reservation, especially when you book as a group. They have a nice pool, though a bit on the small side. One word of warning, the pool doesn't open till noon and closes from 4-5 for maintenance then only stays open till 8. Also, every hour on the hour there is an adult swim for about 10 min. I don't agree with the adult swim, it's a campground for god sake, not a pool with a membership! We like to go when they have a Halloween weekend, which they do a nice job. The kids really enjoy it. We will continue to come back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$42
This park is located on the back of a farm. The facilities are not new but very well maintained. The park roads to your site are narrow but in good condition. Park is completely tree covered so forget SAT TV. Parking sites are somewhat level, spaced well apart but in among heavy trees making parking a challenge for large units. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$41
Nice quite campground, pull thru's are fairly level, wooded. Wi-Fi was intermittent, TV reception was marginal but what do you expect from a rural wooded campground. We stayed for two weeks while visiting the surrounding sites and would return again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$45
One of the nicest campgrounds we have been to. We have several other campers and we like to camp as a group. The staff did whatever they could to accommodate us. Good facilities, nice staff, large sites w/trees. We were very happy there and we will go back. We camped in travel trailers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$42
Nice campground with plenty of things for the grand kids to do. We were close to the store, pool and playground which made it easier for us to keep an eye on them. We will be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$43
In our short 1 1/2 year stint of pop-up camping, this has been our favorite campground so far. We were in site #6, a large shaded site that backed up to one of the several playgrounds. We were within a short walking distance to a bath house, the lovely pool, the game room, the snack bar, mini-golf, and the camp store. There in fact is a petting zoo, with just a mama goat and her two kids, down near the large fishing pond. They had a hay ride and a few other planned activities. We found the staff to be very friendly, and the many seasonal campers were too. The WiFi worked well when it worked, which was not often (they use HughesNet satellite, which apparently was having many problems related to weather). We will definitely return and ask for this site again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$47
Scenic, relatively level, nice wide sites. Lots of activities on weekends. No cable and can't get satellite from nearly any site. Good thing Wi-Fi is free - it's pathetically slow and often not working at all. Had someone in the campground trying to hack into our computers for an entire weekend. Awesome "paw walk" for the dogs. Gated access is nice but camp host seemed annoyed one afternoon after ignoring our first buzz to get in. Lots of seasonals on weekends. Convenient to Maryland but not really to D.C. Pricey for what you get. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$45
Overall, a nice campground. There is a secured gate at all times. You need a card to get in after hours. There are pine trees to separate most campsites. They do charge a $5 visitor fee each day, which is high. The store was pricey. Alot of playgrounds for the kids. There is no petting zoo, as put in their website. It does have a fishing pond and putt-putt. All road to get there are curvy, but manageable. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$43
Excellent Halloween activities and trail. Clean park, and quiet. Store prices are a little high. Sites are mostly or easily leveled from what I had seen. Sites are larger then most weekend camping sites. We'll be back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$45
This is a well run family park. Staff is helpful and friendly. All facilities are in good condition and they maintain a clean park. Some sites will handle units up to 45'. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$32
The front desk personnel were friendly to make a reservation with. The entrance in to the camp ground was secure. There was someone at the front gate 24 hrs checking on people coming into the camp grounds. Clean and quiet and will I would camp there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$45
Nothing but good things to say about this campground. I would say the only knock would be the directions. I was traveling east on 70 and I saw a sign to exit #73... A bit far and down small back roads. I would have prefered to have exited #76 (Hoods Mill Road) which worked just fine. Small roads (I have a 34' 5th wheel) and one tight turn but a better route in my opinion. If you leave the campground and use Hoods Mill Road you will see a sign stating a 13% grade ahead. It may be true but very, very short and I really don't believe it would come into play for anyone. The grade is no big deal. I would look forward to staying here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$40
They have a great pool, well stocked store and neat snack bar. The game room was a little small, but also have a fishing pond, shuffle board and a Rec. Hall. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Some roads are paved and some gravel, all seem to be in good condition. Overall I enjoyed this park and will return there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$40
We like this park. Some sites are not suited for a larger rig but many are. We have a 35 ft 5th wheel and they have a number of pull thrus and back-ins that are situated quite nicely for bigger rigs. They have a nice lake for fishing and a trail for hiking. There are many activities to keep kids busy. Many of the park's sites are seasonal and permanent and they seem to be strict about their park rules but we have no problem following rules. We are guests and want the park to be left in good condition for our next visit. The fenced pet area is great because we have a lab and our rving buddies have Jack Russells. We will definitely be back. It is close to our home so good for our first outing as well as a few quick weekend getaways. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$45
Large sites, mostly shaded. Campground is primarily seasonals and full timers. About 20% looks to be open in general so they stay booked up. Store and rates are a bit expensive for the norm. Very average campground. Place was clean and secured. We may camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$42
Well run family oriented park. Many summer and fall activities, weekend snack bar, movies. Big rig sites are limited. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$38
This was a beautiful campground. We used it as a base camp to visit Baltimore and Washington DC. It took us about 40 minutes to drive to the Shady Grove metro station, so it may not be the closest campground to DC, but it was very nice. The sites were not very level, and the wifi service was spotty, but the grounds were well maintained. I used the laundry here, and it was small but clean. The staff was friendly and helpful, and our kids enjoyed the different play areas. There are a lot of seasonal campers parked here, but the majority of our time here was during the week, and the camp was very quiet. We plan to stay here again when visiting the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2006
$44
First of all, the facilities, the laundry room are all at least adequate, the park is clean and neat and well-taken care of and nice with a lot of trees. The lots are nicely sized and one of the better ones I have seen. The background is nice with forest behind it and fields near it. However, the management is extremely strict and micromanaging. They have rules and if you fail to abide by them, you will get kicked out very fast. For example, no visitors after 9pm. One guy showed up at 9:01pm and they wouldn't let him in! Then the person he was visiting found out about it and was furious with the managers and they asked him how much of his fees he wanted refunded, if he didn't like it! They definitely have an attitude. Customer service is not one of their strong points. Let you license plate tags expire and that's another very quick way to get booted out. Some areas of the park have the strict one car per lot rule and they will absolutely not make any exceptions, even for handicapped people. I couldn't believe it. If you have someone with a handicapped license tag visit you, they will be told to park elsewhere, not near you. They will patrol the neighborhood and look for things that are wrong, like any dogs off leach, which will also mean they won't renew your monthly lease. Warn you once, warn you twice - and you are out of there. They are the only COG in the area convenient to both Baltimore and semi-convenient to D.C. area and they know it, so it's heavily booked and have a 40 person waiting list during the camping season. In fact, when I got there, they didn't have a monthly spot and were charging me a steep weekly rate which turned out to be over a grand per month (for a piece of dirt with a few hookups) They supposedly have Wi-f, but don't believe it and don't count on it. The SpotLink service it extremely spotty and one time has been down for weeks after a storm knocked the dish out of alignment. I called SpotLink everyday to no avail, and Rambling Pines people called them many times. Even when it does work, it covers a relatively small area near the office (maybe 150-200 yard radius) and doesn't reach to about 3/4 or more of the campground due to the heavy forest. Since they offer no cable TV or anything like that, it's a pretty boring place to stay for any extended period of time. The staff is low class except maybe one guy who was friendly. I have been to many Cogs. Many of them not as nice as this one facilities-wise, but I would have to say that out of several years full-timing, this has to be the worst experience I ever had. Plus, it's too expensive for what you get, it's not even close to being 5-stars. I did hear that the rates go down in the winter some. So to sum it up, nice facilities if you stay short term, but long-term you will wear out their welcome. Some people told me they have been there for years and never did felt like that place was their home. It's definitely not suited towards full-timers. Not a bad campground but the management's attitude and lack of respect for their clientèle is the key problem. The woman that runs it is a micromanaging control freak and spends all her time there in her little world. Maybe it gets better in the winter when the office works limited hours and the "administrators" go to Florida. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2006
$36
Nice campground. We stay because it is close to family. Will definitely return. Only complaint is we were unable to get a sattelite signal strong enough to get any channels and there is no cable available. We were able to use an antenna but reception is not the best. WiFi is available through LinkSys and worked well. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2004
$37
This is an overall nice campground. The facilities are a bit old but kept clean. This is a nice campground to go for a short weekend get-away but I don't think there is enough to keep anyone busy for much longer than that. We live in Maryland, so it's nice to go there for a couple of nights and stay close to home. The Halloween activities were good. They had a haunted trail that I heard was scary, but I didn't go myself so I can't say for sure. The trick-or-treating was fun for my daughter. We will stay there again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$35
Great campground...very nice staff. We are looking forward to more visits. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$37
We found this campground after having to leave Bar Harbor Rv Park in Abingdon, MD because we couldn't fit. As soon as we pulled through the gate (I like when a campground is gated) and the kids saw the beautiful mini-golf course it was already better! They also have a pool, well stocked store and snack bar. There was a small gameroom,a couple of playgrounds, a fishing pond, shuffle board and a Rec. Hall. The staff was very friendly. Some roads are paved and some gravel, all seem to be in good condition. We had a wooded pull thru site (we could have also chosen a open grassy site) it was a nice size site and had no problems with trees, etc. They had planned activities for the kids. The bathrooms, although they seemed clean, could have used alittle updating. The Laundry room also could have been a little larger, although the machines were in good condition. Overall we enjoyed this park and would stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$31
We really enjoyed our stay, friendly staff and very clean campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$29
CG was a 200 acre farm in past years. All sites are under trees, some roads are black top and some are gravel. Some sites are level and others are not. Lots of things to do here for everyone. CG has fishing pond, cows next door, two goats, toys for kids are all over the place. The roads from I-70 to CG are small in places. Very quiet here. Most people would be happy here. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
1998
$25
Clean well maintained park. Fishing lake General store. Nothing much to do there for kids. Game room small, no A/C in it. Small pool. Cabins were really great (larger than most). Quiet atmosphere. Nice mini golf compared to others. Gameroom needs to be enlarged. Sites looked spacious and shaded. Weekend activities. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com