206669 User submitted reviews online!!
Salisbury Beach State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 42 user reviews. Phone: (978) 462-4481
CGID1368

Salisbury Beach State Park

Camp Information
Sites
484
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$26



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   8   9   9   9   8   8   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$26
Our first time visiting during the off season. Found the campground only 1/3 full, a nice change from the peak summer months. We had no problem with our hookups. Typical beach area camping; place flat with little shade. Camp sites are grid style and on the small side. Bathrooms and showers were just so-so. No Wi-Fi, but good signal on our Verizon cell phone. Campground offers two beaches, kayaking, fishing and only 40 minutes drive to southern ME attractions. At $26 per night we find this campground a good valve. Would return again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$20
Worse check-in experience ever. We pulled into campground driveway and waited a little over an hour to get to the office to check in. They were unbelievably slow checking in the incoming units and they let some people who ignored the line go ahead of the long line of us who were patiently waiting. Beware the need for your pet's vaccination records. I don't think that is a bad thing, but they will not process your site assignment until you can present it. We changed site after a couple of days in order to lengthen our stay and had to go back to our RV to re-supply them with the records again even though they had the record info in their computer. Also, pets cannot be left alone in RV, so you need to make boarding arrangements for them when you are out sightseeing. This is due to the fear that there might be a power outage and since the sites sit in the open blazing sun, your pets ay not survive the outage. Sites okay - angled back ins with fairly sandy ground if you do not line up correctly. Streets are suppose to be one way, but it was not enforced causing a few issues with rigs trying to back in and cars zipping in and out. Dump station was a two lane station, so although it was busy on the way out, it was not too bad. However, there is not a pipe to stick your sewer fitting into as there is just an open drain slot to ay your sewer hose by. Beach is accessible from park by walking to day area to get around seawall that protects the river inlet. No swimming is allowed on riverside. You need to be on the oceanside to swim which is accessible in day area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$25
Although the sites are a little close for our liking, we really enjoyed staying here. It's a great, affordable location for going to the beach, with reasonable drives to Hampton Beach and Kittery Outlets. If you go to the outlets, eat at Robert's Maine Grill, it was amazing! Back to the campsite; as others have said, the faucet is way to the back of the site, so you'll have to use two 25-foot hoses. The campground is very pet friendly, with doggy doo stations here and there where you can pick up bags and drop off used ones. There is no alcohol allowed on the campground, but you do see many people drinking out of big plastic cups...Beaches are beautiful, but the ocean is very cold. They had dump station problems while we were there, but came up with a work-around within a couple of days and gave us a discount, so we were satisfied. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$24
This is a very nice park. The sites are large and well separated, but the utility hook-ups are far in the rear of the sites. Our electric cable barely reached and we had to use two 25' hoses. The restrooms are the largest I've seen. Plenty of shower stalls. No Wi-Fi but T-Mobile works. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$22
Location is fantastic. Easy access to ocean and river beach. Sites are well laid out and hookups are more than adequate. Pedestals are to the rear of the sites and are quite far back. We needed to use two 25' hoses. This an excellent location to explore Salisbury and Newburyport, MA as well as Hampton Beach, NH. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$24
We loved this place. Big and clean and not crowded. Lots of beach and riverfront area. Nice hiking nearby. very good value for the price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$22
We've camped here the past few years, always in September. The trailer sites were all full the weekend we were here. The location is perfect. It's where the river meets the sea. Flat roads, small sites with concrete pads, fire rings, and charcoal grills. Very pet friendly. The store is small, dingy, and not well stocked but does have firewood, which you may not bring in. The playground is great. We'll be back next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$22
This was our third year in a row here. It is an absolute bargain if you want to be at the beach. Legitimately walkable. The very end of the Merrimack river ends here, and prior to the ocean beach you have a beautiful river beach with plenty of sand. This is a great place for easy biking as the roads are tarred and dead flat. My wife was kicking herself that she didn't take her bike, but I and the little ones brought ours! We camped in a 17' Hybrid Trailer. I gave this place an 8 instead of a 10 because there is no shade (you are at the beach) and there are virtually no activities; although there are some nature programs and plenty of boating and fishing right here at the park, and nice playground for the little ones. Also there is plenty to do in Salisbury, Hampton Beach is about 10 miles to the north and Newburyport is 10 miles to the South! We camped with two adults and two children ages 6 & 7. We love this place and will be back again next year!!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$26
Typical beach area camping; place flat with little shade. Camp sites are grid style and on the small side. Our site hookups were okay. Noticed place very crowded with lots of extra cars, boats with trailers, tents, and people, but found everyone very respectful. Was here 4 yrs ago and again I had checked off that the bathrooms and showers were clean, but to be honest I’ve seen better. Price per night makes this place a good value, would certainly return again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$25
3 Days of beautiful weather, but we love this campground for the level sites, clean area, next to the beach. Friendly staff at the gate close to major beaches in New Hampshire, need reservation way in advance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2012
$25
It is a very tired looking place. When we were there only one washroom building open. It is ideal for the July August crowds who just need the essentials! We will not be going back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$22
We come back here as often as we can. The ocean breezes reach most all the sites and the views of both the ocean and river are wonderful. It's a great, level place to walk and ride your bikes for great distances with beautiful views. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$25
Great beach accessible campground near the delightful town of Newburyport, MA. We had some difficulty with a blown electrical outlet, but the electrician came out on a Sunday and fixed it. Otherwise, our stay was quiet and uneventful. If you like geocaching, there a couple of caches in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$22
We like the State facilities because of the price and usually situated on some prime real estate. If you like the ocean, can't beat this place for convenience. In spite of all the sites (100's), we've been lucky to usually have decent neighbors. Each row has management or host campers so things don't get out of hand. It's older and has some limitations but I go for the beach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
Campground is maintained by the state; all sites are level and provided with a pad for RV's. The area is policed by staff and state police on horses. Drinking is controlled as well as other contraband. Access to the beach is great as well as access to a boat launch. Drawback is the campground does not have any full hookups, however, there are pump out services as well as an onsite dump station. This campground is convenient to Salisbury center, Newburyport and its fine restaurants, and Hamptonbeach, NH. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2011
$26
Great location near the ocean. The trees & shrubs need to be trimmed back. It's almost impossible to back in or drive on the roads without scratching up the RV. There are a limited amount of sites with 50 amps, but in many cases they are given to tenters or popups. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$22
We live in Massachusetts and this is the first time staying in this area. We were very happy with the campgrounds. This is on a nice clean ocean beach. I enjoy fishing and this was a great area for saltwater fishing and recreation. The sites were very clean and well laid out, level. Each had a fire pit and cooking stand. We plan on returning this summer and have reserved a few weekends. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$15
Awesome location to visit beach area! We camped next to a large group of fisherman that were kind of loud at night. We also experienced a night of very severe thunderstorms and the staff was very good about making the camper aware and checking up on everyone. We also experienced a lot of ticks right at our site location. Hampton Beach is very close and has many fun activities. We will return again, but in our travel trailer! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$15
This park is very crowded and is very difficult to get a reservation at. The good news is that it is a clean campground and the no alcohol is strictly enforced. We saw several campsites get tickets and have the alcohol taken away. Everyone we met was nice and my wife just loves going to the beach and hanging out. Our kids also liked the beach and the really big playground. The store is really expensive but there are grocery stores nearby. We will try and make reservations for next year but will have to wait 6 months before we want to arrive to be able to make them. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$29
The day we arrived we saw trash bags falling from the overflowing dumpers and no one in the registration office was aware there was an issue. Once we notified the office, the dumpers were emptied that same day. Four dumpers near the dump station were inaccessible due to a large wet muddy road that crossed in front of them that should have been paved. The dump station design was from the 1920s and not maintained or cleaned. Just point your dump hose toward the horizontal grate and hope it all goes down. The bath houses looked so unkempt from the outside with weathered paint that we chose not to go inside. Other than a trooper that drives through once a night, we saw little effort to maintain this wonderful river front and ocean front campground. In addition to the daily camping fee, there is also a one time transaction fee of $9.25. They give away their few 50 sites to campers in tents and/or small trailers that don't need 50 amp service. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
This is a very nice campground. We have stayed here for the past 4 years. It is very clean and comfortable. The host campers are amazing. It is patrolled by policemen on horseback. I only wish we didn't have to make our reservations so far in advance. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$26
We liked this park! Has wide open, level, sunny paved sites with easy beach access. There is a boat launch. Excellent bicycling into Salisbury beach. Power is only 30 amp, but worked fine, no problems. Mid week in June, the park is mostly empty. It will be completely full Saturday evening. If it had 50 amp, Wi-Fi, and sewer, we could give it a 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$22
Stay here quite often and have taken advantage of the State Boat Ramp on site. Use is included in your camping fee and there is an excellent ramp/float setup that makes launching and retrieving even the biggest boat an easy task. Parking at the ramp is tight but we have always taken the trailer back to the campsite. Dogs are allowed on a leash on the riverside beach but not the ocean. The seals early in the season are fun to watch. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$22
This was a very nice, quiet campground. Granted, we camped here in the off season and it wasn't full. The streets were quite narrow and if the campground had been full it might have been difficult to maneuver. My kids loved riding their bikes, walking the beach, seeing the seals out on the rocks and playing at the very nice playground. I think my only disappointment was the fact that they had two stations for dumping. Even on the off-season there were very long lines, we gave up after two hours and drove home with full tanks. That might be the one thing that keeps us from going back. With 481 sites and none have septic, they need to add more dumping stations. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$22
Great location for a campground - spacious sites on basically open ground with paved streets and pads. Plenty large for even the largest RV with slides. Streets are a bit narrow but careful driving will pay off. Staff was helpful. HOWEVER, we did have a major problem which some of you may encounter. Our motorhome could not stay connected to the electric due to the GFIs tripping. It is unusual that campgrounds have a GFI on the pedestal. We tried to connect to 3 separate pedestals without success as a consequence we did not have electric service. There was nothing obviously wrong with the pedestals or our rig, just some unexplained incompatibility. We have never encountered this before. A trip to the office for a refund (which was granted) and there were knowing remarks about some RVs not being compatible with the electrical in this park. Bottom line, if you can connect, this is a great place to camp. We left after our first night and connected at another campground without a problem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$24
This is a great campground for the beach or fishing. One small disappointment was that we were expecting to be able to boogie board at the beach but life guards wouldn't allow it. We had to walk about five minutes to get off the state beach property to go boogie boarding. Found staff friendly and seemed to be experienced. There was not much going on in the Salisbury area as for things to do, but it was a short drive to NH and ME attractions. It was very pet friendly with lots of dog stations through out the campground. Campground store was decently stocked, but everything in the store was way over priced. I had checked off that the bathrooms and showers were clean, but to be honest I've seen better. Also had our cooler stolen the first night we were there, which I found later. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$20
We camp here every year. Big sites, walk to beach and excellent fishing. Pet friendly, nice little store. Book early in season if you want 50 amp We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$22
This is a very nice park, although quite large. We called one day ahead, and there were plenty of spaces since it's not summer season yet. The ReserveAmerica booking fee is $9.75, and there is no other way to make reservations! Friendly and helpful girl at check in gave us a choice, oceanview site. Verizon cell and aircard work at full signal. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$22
Very nice Campground. Nice level site. Size is good, Liked being close to the river front. It was our first time here and we arrived after dark. Had a bit of a problem finding the turn into the campsite. We like the campground, we like the price $22 per night. We think the Reserve America fee of $9.25, 42% is exorbitant. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$22
This is a good low cost campground for visitors to Massachusetts to stay to see the local area and sights. The only problem is that all 481 sites are reservable. On local festival or vacation weekends, out of state visitors are at a disavantage if showing up with out reservations. We lucked out and got a tent site to situate our 31 ft 5th Wheel on. With a little judicious maneuvering, we managed to park the RV and truck on the site. The 30 amp service worked great and didn't drop any voltage while the air conditioner was running. The water connections were very crappy looking and the water was salty. We used the water in our on-board fresh water tank during our stay. We had to leave 1 day earlier than planned, due to not having reservations. Very crowded park even on the weekend after Labor Day. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$27
I have been coming here for almost 30 years. It has turned around in the last 10 years. We enjoy the beach,the sunshine and NO mosquitoes. Often called parking lot camping, as your neighbor is close. People are always friendly and willing to help. Dry park - Alcohol prohibited, which helps keeps the rowdy kids out. The bathrooms and showers need to be updated. But all-in-all, we go 2-3 times a year. Nice place to relax and watch the water and boats in the mouth of the river. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2007
$30
The best part of this campground was the location. We had our dog with us. Dogs are allowed on the "fishing" beach. The worst part about this campground, is the bathrooms. I actually told my daughter to hold off on a shower until be returned home! It was only a 3 night stay. Store prices are high! The campground is policed by the Massachusetts State Police, which we found to be very friendly. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$22
This park was pretty clean. Easy to get around (grid park). No sewer but dump station on site. No cable, no Internet. Sites are right on private beach bordering ocean belonging to park. Sites are a bit tight but you can fit camper w/2 vehicles easy. Pets allowed. No limitation on visitors. 7$ a carload of visitors. Store on site but rather costly. No activities. Boat launch in park. State police patrol park in car and on horse back often. Very quiet park. Fire pits on sites. Very good deal for the money. Can't beat this one. We were satisfied and will definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2006
$27
Large Campground. Good if you like to fish or swim in the ocean. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$22
Considering that the main attraction of this park is the beach and boat launch, the campground is quite nice and is much nicer than several of the local private campgrounds. It is near to both Salisbury and Seabrook, NH which have ample restaurants, stores etc. We were there a few days before Labor Day weekend and again a few days after. Naturally, it was more crowded before the weekend, but we were able to get a site without a reservation and could have stayed the entire holiday weekend if we wanted to. Staff is very friendly and helpful. We noticed a park ranger (or possibly a State Trooper) on horseback, patrolling the campground one morning. The sites are flat and generally open with little shade but they are level and well laid out so you don't feel like you are on top of your neighbors. The campground is kept very clean. We didn't use the showers or restrooms, so we can't comment on those. We saw a surprising number of people camping in tents. Many campers had dogs but they were generally well behaved and you didn't hear a lot of barking. There are some 50 amp sites, some 30 amps and some 20 amp. Bring extension cords because the boxes can be quite a distance from the site. Ditto for water - you definitely will need extra long hose. Each site had a fire ring and picnic table and some also had grills. We certainly would go back there again and can recommend it either as a stopover or for a longer stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$20
This is an ocean park nice beach, good fishing, only have water and electric but easy in easy out. The staff did a very good job of keeping everything clean. Great for kids. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$22
Location-Location-Location...is everything. This park is huge and located right at the mouth of the Merrimack river and the mighty Atlantic Ocean. Awesome spot. The park itself is in need of some clean-up. Rest rooms are filthy and the grounds are shabby. The work campers can't seem to keep up with the needs of the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2005
$18
I guess it’s what to be expected from a beach campground: small sites, very noisy, no trees. You are “cheek and jowl” with your neighbors, small level asphalt pads for your trailer or vehicle if you are tenting. The bathhouses are nothing special, but seemed to be clean. Luckily when we were there it was cold and rainy. We had a non-electric site and four days without shade would have made the trailer unbearably hot. The cold did seem to put a damper on the rap-music-playing car-top-dancing folks across the street from us and quelled the sand fleas that have infested the campground. The campground has no view of the beach, or any direct access to the beach. A short drive does get you to the beach, which was very nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2005
$20
This was our first stay on a crowded weekend (Memorial Day). We were very pleasantly surprised at how quiet things were given the campground was pretty full. The store was decently stocked and open long hours. Bathrooms were fairly clean though the showers are a little dingy. A big plus was each evening, a couple of state police would ride through on horses, making their presence known. A negative is that there are only two dump stations - making for long lines at the end of a busy weekend. Just as an FYI - they are upgrading the campground to have electric at all sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$18
We admittedly stayed here after the season was over and there were only 20 or so campers in the whole park. Access to the ocean is a short (5 minute) walk away. There is also access to two rivers, including the Merrimack. Restrooms were well-kept. Price is reasonable. Very nice state campground on the ocean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$17
Not bad and for the price!!! Just wish they had sewerage and it would be much better. The sites are large and level. Friendly and helpful staff. We camped there for the first time this past week and really loved it. Will be going back there as much as possible. Great ocean only a few minutes walk and very friendly people who camp there too. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$17
Excellent State Park, although there are no "Ocean Side" sites, they are a quick 5 minute walk away. The site is nestled between the Ocean and a river. There is boat access, excellent fishing off the river and the ocean is quite nice and a quick walk away. Since it is a state park there are interpretive programs for adults and children to tak part in. A nice pavilion for picnic lunches just off the beach. Rest rooms at the beach are nice and there is a small snack shack at each parking area (there are 3 parking areas: due to the fact that it is open to the public who are not camping as well). The campsites are not large or wooded, but they are paved, level and large enough for privacy or to talk to your neighbors. Electric is 20 amp, and water. Sewer at dump station. This is a very family oriented place, many children, lots of bikes: lots of fun. Plenty to do for everyone. If you like the ocean, you will like Salisbury SP!! We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com