218071 User submitted reviews online!!
Fort Custer Recreation Area was rated 7 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (269) 731-4200
CGID1381

Fort Custer Recreation Area

Camp Information
Sites
219
Date of Stay
April 2012
Latest Rate
$21



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   7   3   7   2   9   10   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$21
We stayed in this park while we were handling some family business in the area. Great value for the money. Roads coming in were quite rough, they are supposed to be resurfaced soon. Nice big and private sites. Many hiking, equestrian, and biking trails. We would definitely stay at this park again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2011
$20
I was here before the park was ready for the season but they still let me camp for a week anyway. The bath facilities were not open yet. This is very typical of the Michigan State Park system: ie, kind of rustic, no frills, which is the way it should be. The staff was great. Roads are paved (very rough coming in) and the campsites are grass/gravel and they are spaced quite a distance apart. If you are looking for an upscale RV resort with all the bells and whistles, well, this might not be the best place. However, it is one of only a very few campgrounds in the area. This is a good place if you enjoy the woods and nature kind of thing. If in the area, I'd sign up to stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$21
If you are expecting a resort you will be unhappy. This is a nice State Park in the woods with decent privacy between sites. There are lots of outdoor activities like mountain biking, hiking, and canoeing. There is also a nice swimming beach. There are mosquitos but if you use bug spray or a Thermacell bug repelling lantern they will leave you alone. I did not experience any problems navigating our 30' class C anywhere in the park and saw several large Class A rigs there also. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2009
$21
Talk about mosquito's! They will eat you up alive! And if you have a pet, you better not go site seeing around Battle Creek or Kalamazoo! They will impound them so quick and then you get to come back for a court date! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$21
While I have to agree with the previous post about Ft Custer SP sites being a challenge for large rigs, we stayed there for three days in August and had an enjoyable time. I rate it a 7 because most of the sites are conducive to tent campers, pop-ups, and TTs or 5ers that are less than 28ft in length. For a such a large CG with 219 total sites we found it surprisingly quiet and the other campers well behaved. We had site 158, which is a beautiful site, very shady, but tight backing into because of huge oak trees as you back in and along the length of the paved pad. By using part of the unpaved tent site just across from my site I was able to maneuver my Chevy 3500 and Jayco 31RLS 5er into the site. All sites at this CG are back-in. For the benefit of those with rigs of my size/length, other sites I investigated on foot that would accommodate my rig, especially in terms of ease for backing in were 109, 56, 52, 90, 82, and 66. If you are driving a Class A or a Super C, about the only site that will work for you is 169. It's easy in/easy out, but it is wide open with no shade at all from the am/pm sun. There are lots of very nice biking/hiking trails throughout the park, and the lakes are very family friendly. The dump site was adequate, however, the hoses and fittings need replacing, and the potable water pressure was low. It took forever to fill my potable tank upon arrival. The bath/restroom buildings looked new, however, we did not use them. Firewood is pricey at $5 per bundle. Expect the CG to be crowded Fri-Sun, but very open Mon-Thurs. The CG is easily accessible from I-94. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2008
$41
If you have a class A motorhome do not use this park. We scraped numerous trees with our roof both getting into and out of our site. We told the ranger that they really needed to trim a bunch of trees and he didn't even understand why. We also had trouble accessing the electric hookup and we have a 50 foot cord and that is a problem on most of the sites. If you have a tent or popup and you like mosquitos then this park is fine but be aware that, in addition to the fee, you have to pay another $8 for your MH and $4 for your toad. $41 is pretty high for a 30 amp connection with no sewer, water, cable or wifi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$21
Once again a great trip to Fort Custer. Many of the sites have had some new landscaping by filling in low spots with dirt and planting new grass. The already modern shower/bathrooms have had slight remodels, updated towel and paper dispensers and new stall walls mostly. Wood is now also available at the ranger station all the time, no longer a private company selling wood at selected times (ice also still available at the ranger station). Excellent facilities as always and a pretty quiet park with plenty of space between most sites. If you like "being in the woods" but still have electric this is a great place to do that. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$21
Beautiful Campground. Usually quiet except for occasional gunfire from the Army Reserve camp nearby, Great bike trails. Beach nearby. Busy around holidays. Good food nearby We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$19
This is a state campground. We stayed here twice this year and it was very nice both time. There are some sites that are more secluded then others. The staff was on top of any problems that arose. There wasn't a whole lot for kids to do right in the camping area but you could walk/ride or drive to other parts of the state park to enjoy the lake and playgrounds. Very nice place to stay at a reasonable rate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$19
We loved this park. Unfortunately it rained just about all weekend. Our site was not too bad, but seen other sites that were pretty muddy. It was quiet at night. Lots of trails and paved roads. One restroom/shower building per loop, but there is pit toilets in the woods. Lakes for fishing and swimming nearby. Very nice beach area with snack bar. Registration fee of $8 added to camping fee and entry fee either per day or annual. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2006
$19
Our first experience with this park was at registration. We expected a nightly rate of $19, but had to pay an additional $5 just for registering, then a whopping $8 a day for the entrance fee. Since we had only planned for a two-night stay - this totaled at over $30 a night for a spot with no water or sewer at site. There is only one water fill location per campground loop. The dumpsters are located at the front of the park outside the campground gate. The park is surprisingly clean considering the dumpsters are located so far away. The sites are very private and lots of trees and vegetation abound. The electric boxes can be quite far away from your site. We have a 25 foot electric cord and had to use an extension. We saw some sites which would have been impossible even with our extension. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2006
$19
We really like this park for it's rustic nature. Majority of sites are very large and those in the forest parts are private, surrounded by trees and brush. Many sites have a "driveway" which then opens up into a large clearing in the woods in the back. Fort Custer is actually a State Recreation Area and not a state park. This means there are lots of activities such as fishing and boating on one of the many lakes or the river, hunting and tons of mountain bike trails. If you are expecting lots of things to do for the kids you should look elsewhere. However there is a very nice and large beach on a lake so there is something for the kids to do. Bugs can be bad. I think it's just the nature of being in the woods and near water. Bug spray is a must or have a screen room. There is one shower/bathroom facility per loop. Personally I think they need more on busy weekends. But we took showers in the "off hours" and didn't have a wait. They were generaly clean but I've seen better at other state parks. There is no camp store but wood and ice are available at the campground office. Horeshoe pits are near the camp host. BIG NOTE: There is no alcohol allowed in the park! I'm certainly known to toss a few back myself but I actually find this refreshing. I don't know how strict they are but not having a drunk loud party next to you is pretty nice for a change. Overall we will be back despite the bugs. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2005
$19
This trip was a disaster from the outset. The sites were muddy. Very wooded campground, but the mosquitos were so bad we could not sit by the fire, even wearing heavy-duty bug spray. Shower/restrooms were far away and not clean. The shortcut path to the building was too muddy to use. The beach/lake and its facilities were very nice but I would not stay at the campground again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$17
Very nice quiet campground on the edge of town. Very private sites. Swimming beach was awesome. This is a state park so they charge a fee to get in plus your site fee. But we only paid $17 and fee of $4 per day and was well worth it. Had a very enjoyable time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com