220584 User submitted reviews online!!
Fishing Hole Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (907) 235-6090
CGID13975

Fishing Hole Campground

Camp Information
Sites
80
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   7   8   7   7   6   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  no  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$15
Public campground with some seasonals. Great location very near the spit shops and fishing fleet. The fishing hole was mostly unproductive during our one week stay. I do not think it is as good as in years past for some reason. View of fishing hole and area was good. No facilities other than a dirty rest room, fish cleaning station and a dump site. Public campground in Seward is nicer and cleaner with electrical hook-up option--for a fee. After several trips to Homer area, it is not as appealing as in years past--in my opinion. There is a lot to do in Homer and it is a special place not to be missed! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$15
A nice place to stay if you are only looking for dry camping. We parked right next to the fishing hole and walked to the shops at the harbor. Our neighbor welcomed us into camp with a big plate of delicious beer battered halibut and blackened halibut. Very friendly people at this camp, and a great place to watch the bald eagles. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$15
This review is for the City of Homer campground. There is a commercial site with this same name at the end of the spit (much more expensive and not any nicer for motorhomes). Level gravel parking lot with tight sites right on Kachemak bay and roomier sites just back a little bit. Spectacular views of mountains and glaciers. Many folks stay here with their boats. Fishing cleaning station and dump station available ($2). Easy walking to tourist activities: fishing, flight seeing, bear viewing, water taxis. Bike/walking trail nearby. Watch for eagles on the lampposts. A bit noisy and a somewhat of an industrial feel. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$15
You can pull straight into the beach front sites and have a great view of Kachemak Bay. Dry camping with a public sewer dump available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$15
This is essentially an all-gravel lot for dry camping right near the deep-water marina and the "fishing hole" on the Homer Spit. It's city-run and has a fish-cleaning station and an inexpensive dump station with potable water available. The city has another similar setup off the Spit near the Post Office. Many sites are separated by old railroad ties and are about 30' wide. "Beachfront" sites aren't lined off and are more appropriate for big rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$15
This review is for the campground right past the fishing hole. The sites are all back in. Most sites have numbers along the wooden dividers, but the sites along the water front don't seen to all have numbers and most don't have dividers. These are very close. There is a water fill and a dump station. The views are great. Homer is a fishing town and a little touristy. We would stay here again. They need a better layout and a host would be helpful as people were rolling around the dividers. There is no shade. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$15
There are three different camping areas on the Spit. The first you come to is Mariner Park on the right at the base of the Spit. The second is across from the Fishing Hole about 3 miles from the base on the right. The third is on the left just past the Fishing Hole. There are portal potties and flush toilets at the Fishing Hole area. There are no showers or dump station, although there is one in town across the highway from the post office. There are some picnic table and homemade fire rings on the beach. Parking is on gravel. If you can do without hookups and don't wish to pay high fees, this is a nice way to go. The views are splendid. You will see everything from tents to high-end motorhomes here. There is a 14-day limit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$15
This is dry camping with great views. Good access to everything out on Homer Spit. Dump station and water available in campground. No electrical hookups. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com