214502 User submitted reviews online!!
Paul B Johnson State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 39 user reviews. Phone: (601) 582-7721
CGID1547

Paul B Johnson State Park

Camp Information
Sites
155
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   5   7   9   9   8   9   6   5   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$20
Nice well maintained state park. Bathhouse facilities have seen better days. Some recently rebuilt and other are just atrocious. Paved roads and concrete pads. We have stayed here many times, but the newest staff just is not as friendly as the old. Getting anything done in the office is very difficult. But when we needed help on our site they were Johnny on the spot. The lake is stocked each year and fishing off the piers is good. We will return to this park for sure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$14
This has always been a wonderful park, but not this time. We stayed in the new campgrounds. Power problems. 50 amp had one leg almost unusable . If we put a minor load on power would from 120 to 109 volts. We cut our stay short for fear of burning up electric motors. if they get the power right it would be a great place. most campers don't have meters to give them electric information . We were in a motor home . We had a similar problem when we stayed there 7 weeks earlier, made 5 phone calls with hope they would repair --- but no luck. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$25
Nice park with beautiful lake and shade. Would have given it a higher rating, but somewhat dirty campsites where campers burn garbage in fire spots and too many golf carts with loud music running around. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$20
This is our second stay at this campground. It is really nice. A great place to ride bikes and several trails to walk. Customer service is good. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$80
I would have given this park at 10 except that our cabin could have been cleaner. The floors needed to be swept and mopped (it appeared that they hadn't been cleaned before we got there). Some of the dishes (that were in the cabin and assumed to be clean) were not clean. Other than that, the park was great. They have a splash pad for the kids (extra charge) and a lake with roped off swimming area. There are playgrounds, lots of trees, video games and pool tables in the office area. Just an overall great, family oriented place. We would come back here in our MH. We drove through the park. It's huge and lots of very lovely sites to choose from. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$28
We camp here quite often and almost always have a great time. We camped in site 83 this time, great location, easy access to pier and the water, easy backing in, lots of room. This is an old campground but kept up. This sited was level and required no additional equipment.. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$14
Girl that checked us in was not friendly or helpful but the park is really nice. We used the washer & dryers-$1.50 each. Swim beach is nice. We would stay here again. Rate is the senior rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2012
$24
We were using this as a place to stop for the night on our way from SC to Houston, TX We had site #50 on 2nd loop. The campsite that we had was right near the dock with a great view of the lake and a large grassy area beside us. The kids loved playing on the grass and on the dock. There are also geese here who obviously have been fed by campers because they come up to the camper. However, they did not scare or bother us. Probably because they found food from another camper! We had reservations and we are glad that we did. The campground was nearly full because the schools in the New Orleans area were out for the week for Mardi Gras. So, many families from New Orleans got away for the week to camp! The campers here were very nice and friendly. Besides families with children, there were many seniors here camping as well. We were able to burn a campfire at our campsite on a cleared area but there is no fire ring. The lake water was very high. It looks like they have gotten a lot of rain. In the morning, a storm did pass through us with hard rain and hail. Our campsite flooded during the storm (or I would have rated an A and not a B). Thank goodness we were in our pop-up trailer and not our tent! The bathrooms had warm showers and were acceptable. They could use a little updating. I think they get a lot of use since this seems to be a well used park. The bathhouse is set back from the camping loop a little. So, a little bit of a walk up a hill, but not too far. I rate the view an “A” because our site was right on the lake (and many here are). Also, we had a lot of space next to our campsite that was grassy. There are many several things to do at the park including swimming at the lake, boating and canoeing. Also, there is a playground. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2011
$20
Boring park in the fall. Not sure if it's better in the summer unless the water level is higher. Only one hiking trail with dangerous bridges and walk-ways. Parked in what is termed a pull-through, but only entry is paved. Luckily had the toad disconnected so we could pull out. Bath house is a distant walk and has no changing area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$22
We loved the park! We do have a couple of suggestions: Getting in the park and up to the office to register was a little challenging. There was no one at the main entrance, and the signs could be marked a little better showing how to get around the park (to the main office). Also, we would suggest a place for large rigs to be able to pull in to register at the main office. We pulled our 40' trailer into the parking lot and had to 'back it out' onto the road to get out of the parking lot. The parking lot could be modified to allow for 'cars/trucks/etc.' parking and a separate area for big rigs to pull in and be able to pull straight out. As a camper in the park, we still had to pay a $10 (fishing license) fee to fish (catch/release). We'd like to suggest that if you are there for less than a couple of days, that you are able to fish for free. We were just overnighting it, and felt the $10 fishing license was a bit steep, especially since in Texas, if you stay at a state park, the fishing is free. The sites themselves were nice. Relatively level, E/W/S was easily accessible. We left early in the morning, and it was a picture perfect site seeing the lake. There was a lone fisherman in a small boat surrounded by the mist coming up from the lake in the early morning sun. Something one would see on a postcard. We would stay there again but probably not fish. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$14
This park was not what we expected. Sites were not level, some as much as 15 to 20 degree incline. We had to move from original site as there was no way to level the motorhome. This park is pretty much ruled by the locals, not camping, just littering. Rest rooms and showers were in dire need of some cleaning. Grills are rusted out. Our sewer hookup was broken and we could not screw in the correct fitting. Had to let the connector "rest" on top of pipe. Worked OK, but with some leakage. Would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$22
This a beautiful state park that has a nice lake and spacious paved sites. Full hookups. Our site #86, however, had sewer hookup on one side and water and electric on the other side. Very odd set up. We elected to not connect to sewer to use the dump station on the way out and was then able to pull in forward with the motorhome for a sweeping 180 degree view off the point of the pretty lake. On this site we were able to easily launch our canoe right from the site, as we were 20 feet from the shoreline. Very limited shade at this side, however and hot in full July sun. The bad: Campers here do not respect the park at all. The previous camper obviously did not want to bother with pulling out their sewer hose or connecting. There was a huge ring of dried up half disolved toilet paper and a stench, as they had just opened it up and let it fly. Really awful as the spot is only feet from the lake. We took out liquid digester and disinfectant to clean and hose down the area. Really gross. Reported to camp office, who did not seem to care. Real shame. Trash and litter was everywhere, as people just tossed stuff from cars and pickups. We picked up a whole bag of trash just from our site alone, and picked up trash on our walks every morning. Bathrooms were "hosed down" but not clean. Soap dispenser was never refilled the whole time we were there. Lake is pretty much overfished, as they have tournaments there, but if you head down to the little bridge on the "slow speed" side, you will find some very hungry Pickeral and Bass. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$20
Nice park. Loop 1 and the straightaway has some very nice spots. Beautiful view of the lake from most spots. Always enjoy trips to this park. Don't get the pull though spots unless you want to be really close to your neighbor with no shade, packed like sardines. The normal spots are 90% nice. Nice club house with games and nice porch area. Disc golf is great! New splash pad is great! (not free though). Nice small church service at 9 a.m. The park could use some updating, the wooden playground on loop 1 needs to be tore down, bathhouses are a bit old and nasty. Sometimes the sites have small bits of trash left behind. Inmates do most of the cleaning (beware, my wife found out the hard way in the bathhouse). In the summer bring ant poison! Decent amount of snowbirds from Oct - April. Normally quiet. Occasionally, some of the campsites do become a noisy party hangout for the locals, the park management apparently allow loud country music, 7 cars, 6 water craft, 1 camper, a crawfish boil and 2 motorcycles on a single campsite, but it did quiet down by 9 p.m. That being said, this is still one of the nicest campgrounds in the area! I hope the state of MS can manage to keep it maintained and will keep it a nice family campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$14
A few miles off of I-59 S of Hattiesburg, MS. A beautiful state park well worth a few extra miles. Many sites with view of lake - some on lake. Senior discount shaved 40% off of bill. Some cabins and tent sites. 20 pull-throughs are nearly hub-to-hub with little ambiance. We stayed at site 110 which is in a secluded area with nice space between sites w/ view of lake. Sites 109 to 125. Sites have good concrete pads. Park is oriented towards water sports, nature. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$22
We had site 86 which was right on the lake so we could launch our kayaks. It is a lovely park and any other time of the year when the temperature wasn't over 100 degrees it would have been very enjoyable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$14
Very nice park, which honored our Golden Age Pass. It rained heavily when we arrived, so we switched sites twice in order to find one that didn't have a mud hole at the front door of the coach. Staff was helpful. We will think twice about coming back here because of the terrible condition of the U.S. highway from Jackson to Hattiesburg. Just be ready for some really bumpy riding, especially around Jackson. This certainly has nothing to do with the park, which is really nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$22
This campground was nice. We stayed in site 71, it was on the lake and a great site. Some sites have very big inclines, so check ahead on the site you will be staying on. Has several playgrounds, one of the wooden ones needed some severe updates. The lake is under construction so it has very low water right now! Fishing is good on the lake. Our site was not very shaded, but was a pretty site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2010
$18
As far as a "RV" campground this is a good park. The sites are well spaced and properly equipped by modern standards. However, the park does allow monthly and or seasonal parking. Some of the "Residents" have let things get quite messy! I would rate the park higher if not for the trash around some sites. The park is geared toward boating and enjoying the lake. There are very few trails and the park is a good distance from other attractions. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2009
$25
We stayed here for 3 months while working in the area. This is a wonderful quiet park, it got full on the weekends. We had a nice concrete, level spot overlooking the lake, which was great when the Bald Eagles came in. The staff kept it clean and mowed. We will come back for fun someday. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2009
$18
Really enjoyed the solitude of this park. Did not want to leave and would have given it a ten if the laundry facilities would have been a little nicer. Beautiful park, some sites take a little maneuvering, but well worth it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2009
$22
We camped at site #71 from 11/26-11/29/2009 and the site was beautiful. However, the bathrooms were overflowing and there was a horrible sewer smell in the evening. The garbage bin in our area was extremely full. It was a holiday weekend and the park was full but they should have been prepared for it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$16
A great place to stay and lay over if you have the time. Sites are roomy and everyone I met here are friendly. The fishing isn't bad either. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$18
This park was very clean and the park has added 15 to 20 new very level, concrete pull through pads. These all had 50 amp, sewer, and a good view of lake. We stayed only one night and would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$18
A very nice park. Our site pad was on a small hill and not level but we knew that beforehand as it's stated on their website used for booking. I would recommend site 65 or 67 on the straightway section. We stayed at 67 which was beautiful and a great site if you have kids. If you stay on the straightway section, be prepared to use your RV bathrooms because it is a pretty good hike to the bath houses. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$22
Very nice park. Sites are situated around a lake and many have lake views. The park is easy to find and the roads leading in are easy to navigate. The personnel seemed ready to help. You have to be careful in booking your site as some are not very deep and if you have a big rig, you would be in trouble. The only thing that kept the park from getting a 10 were the laundry facilities and bath houses. Both are in serious need of updating. We had planned to do laundry, but the machines were full of grass,leaves and bugs! The looked like they had not been cleaned in a long time. Inside the bath houses the stalls were in need of painting and updating-- bare plywood does not cut it. Showers were small and not very clean. This could be a great campground with a little maintenance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$18
I had booked 1 of the pull-thru sites on reserve america and upon arrival the site was not acceptable. The pull-thru sites are nothing more than a field with hook-ups good only for over night. The staff was very helpful and gave me a transfer to a open site that I had selected with no charge. This is a very nice family park with plenty for the kids to do. Bathrooms were very clean and there was also laundry facilities. Most sites are either really good or really bad. Getting RV level is an issue and also so sites retained water. All sites are paved and have full hook up. We would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$15
Very nice State Park. Clean and quiet. Great view of the lake from quiet a few campsites. Highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2009
$18
I made our reservation through Reserveamerica and when we got there our site had workers building a retaining wall. Office personnel were not aware of the work so we had to go back to the office to request a different site. We were lucky there were more available. Had this been in summer months I am afraid we would have been stuck without a site! Otherwise, park was nice. I can't say quiet due to the sawing and such associated with the building of that wall. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$22
Very nice. Well maintained. Good place to take children. Lots of wide open areas for them to play. Park security was always noticeable. Fishing from bank was easily accessable. Big flea market across from entrance of park. Going back next month. Highly recommended. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$18
Pluses: spacious, all sites paved and clean. Sites are level on hillsides near a lake. Bathrooms and showers were clean. Roadways in the park made for great bicycling. Sites were shaded to semi-shaded. Back side of the campground (called "The Straightaway") is newer. It is quiet at night. Background highway noise from trucks on US Highway is too distant to be of concern. Minuses: a boil water notice was posted, but check in attendant did not advise us of it. We had to read it for ourselves long after we had drunk the water. There are many, many semi-permanent dwellers in this state park. A resident in the park told us that there was a six month limit, and to get around it, all one had to do was leave for a few hours, and the six month clock restarted. We found that odd for a state park. There was a lot of "semi-permanent" evidence around many of the RVs, lowering the overall feel of a public park. Overall, a nice park, but the state should examine the "length of stay" policy. We'd stay again, but would go to the back of the park, not the front two loops. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$14
This is a nice park. Priced at $18, $14 with senior discount, and not limited to residents of Mississippi. It is located on a 300 acre reservoir, and many sites are on the water or have water views. Many parks on a lake this size would allow oars, paddles, or sails only. This park allows ski boats and jet skis on the lower part of the lake while the upper part is a no wake zone, with a few fishermen and sailboats. All 125 sites have 50 amp power, water and sewer hookups, and all are reservable. Each site (except pull throughs) has a table and a BBQ grill. Camp fires are allowed; only a few sites had fire rings – others just built fires on the ground. Although most pads were fairly level, the land surrounding the pad was often on a slant. We were there the first weekend in May; sites were nearly full for the weekend, thinned out during the week. The campsites are in 5 sections. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Bathrooms and showers were adequate and clean. We saw a washer and dryer at one of the bathrooms. We would go there again. Campers, however, were the messiest we've seen anywhere; many of those who pulled out on Sunday ignored the dumpsters and left loose and bagged trash at their site or next to the (not full) dumpsters. One especially irresponsible person left a 30 gallon garbage bag of crawfish bodies on the ground next to a dumpster; animals tore into it and scattered it around the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$22
We stayed 4 days and were very happy. Staff were very helpful and friendly. All sites have sewer now, not so in the 1980's when we camped there last. Newer sites have no shade and are smaller sites than the older ones. The restrooms, showers and laundry were kept clean and neat. The weather was very windy and thunderstorms coming in on or last day but that was the problem we had and you can not help the weather. We stayed on site 16 lakeside and next to the playground and a fishing pier out in the lake to a small island where the ducks were nesting. They would make a lot of noise when disturbed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2008
$25
We camped here for three months while on a project, found the to be very nice and peaceful. It was always clean, the people at check in were not very friendly. The bath house near the back that has the washers and dryers is the nicest, it has been recently remodeled. They are nice site with plenty of shade and most are pretty level. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2007
$16
Good value for overnight stop. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$18
We camped here the last weekend before school starts in southern MS so the park was full. Our 4 year old granddaughter was the only child in the section we were in though. She enjoyed fishing (playing with the worms) and splashing around on the beach. Our golden retriever enjoyed swimming in the lake too :) There are 2 beaches, several places to fish. The boating people are kept well away from the beach and fishing area. The people who run the park were helpful and pleasant. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2007
$16
Beautiful park with a friendly staff. The new loop of sites added last year is great. The pads are all concrete and level. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2006
$13
Really beautiful park. Just stayed here one night when passing through the area. Not much shade but the sites were paved and level. Would definitely come back to this park and spend some time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$13
The park was very nice. Great place to stay for a couple of days. No swimming pool, but had a playground for the kids that was kept up pretty good. Not much space between sites and no privacy at all. The entire park was clean and trash picked each day by prisoners. The park attendants were not very nice, actually rude. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2002
$12
This place is huge. Many trails, bicycling road. All kinds of activities like frisbee golf, boating, fishing etc. Nice store selling snaks and fire wood. Shade is sparse, you can only get it for one side of your rig and its minimal at best. Pull thrus have no shade whatsoever. In September 02 the gate was not manned. You drive thru pick a spot and set up. The ranger comes around about 5 pm and collects your fee. I was told the park is full in the summer and on weekends. Highly recommended during off peak times. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com