214822 User submitted reviews online!!
Shady Cove RV Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (601) 268-1077
CGID1548

Shady Cove RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
85
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   7   3   4   5   5   7   3   4   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2014
$33
This is an old run down campground with lots of full timers. Most units are not well maintained. It works for a quick overnight but I think we will look elsewhere when we travel through again. Didn't check the restrooms / showers. Utilities worked as they should. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2014
$25
Good access. Quiet and shady. A little soggy in some areas due to recent then overnight rain. Pet friendly. Nice people. Wifi worked. I would stay here again. My only real complaint is that they are too close to the Watermelon patch shoe store right up the road. Yes, we had to go by there the next morning so the wife could buy 3 pairs of sandals. We would still be there if I hadn't stopped her at 3. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
December 2012
$33
Old run down facilities. No one was in the office even though we were checking in during the posted office hours. The sites were okay, and it was like camping in an open field with hookups. There was something wrong with the electrical connection as it fried our 30 to 50 amp adapter. We were just stopping for the night or we would have found someplace else. We would not have felt comfortable leaving the motorhome unattended at this campground. We would not recommend this campground to anyone and would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2011
$30
Stayed overnight. Cash Only. Road maintenance past due. Maintenance and cleaning did not appear to be a priority. Some permanent residents were not particularly tidy. We would try somewhere else next time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2010
$33
This has been a very nice park in the past. Obviously the current owners are only interested in pipe liners and long term-er. Way over priced at 33.00 for what you receive. I will say the park was quiet, large pull thru site which was uphill. No Wi-Fi, no cable, no pool, no pick nick table. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
Would have rated this place much higher if not for the bathrooms and showers. Although they are tiled and in good condition, there seems to be no maintenance. All three toilets were without toilet paper for days. Showers never seem to be cleaned. The dumpster has been overflowing for days. With a bit of TLC this is/could be a nice campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$22
The manager was very helpful and took us to our lot. The wireless was excellent, no cable TV but we got several local channels. We wouldn't hesitate to camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2009
$22
The office was already closed when we arrived. Posted at the office was an eraser board listing the sites available for us to use. The sites were poorly marked and in a random order. We had difficulty maneuvering through the park. We would only stay here again as a last resort. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2009
$27
We picked this park because it was listed as the only Good Sams Park in Hattiesburg. We arrived just at dusk and the office had already closed. We proceeded to find a spot and were met with horrible, bumpy roads; the spots were randomly numbered and impossible to figure out; it looked like people were living in tiny little campers permanently. The only positive about this park was it was right off the hwy. We probably would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2009
$26
This park in on a hill, but generally level. Sites are long and roads are wide with gravel. Electricity had good voltage and good water pressure. Lots of shade. There were some longtimers and older trailers, but they are spotty. We will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2008
$22
The lady in the office was very nice. The place is pretty unkempt although the facilities at our site functioned just fine. This could be a pretty campground if it was given some TLC and some of the monthlies need to clean up their sites. The price was very reasonable at $22. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2007
$24
Stayed here overnight on the way to Destin. Manager friendly, left envelope out for our late arrival, and arranged for a pull through big enough for us to leave our truck hooked up. Park was OK for overnight stay but smelled like sewer and seemed to have a lot of longer term residents. Lots of nice trees but place seemed a little unkempt. Roads little rough with some washouts and parking spaces were not very level. Didn't really see anything wrong but did not feel as safe as we would have liked. Park was adequate for overnight stay but would not consider staying in it any longer than overnight. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$22
This campground was torn up during hurricane Katrina in 2005 and the owners are new since Katrina. They are friendly, very nice and helpful. Our campsite was a little hard to level, but have had worse. There are a lot of people staying at this park who are evidently permanent, but we just stayed one night and the campground was full the night we stayed due to it being so close to town for functions, etc. There are a lot of pot holes in the paved driveways, but maybe it just takes more time to get everything back in order after such a terrible hurricane. There was nothing really wrong with this park, but probably would not stay here, again. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$22
We stayed for one night. Very pleasant and friendly staff. The staff arranged for us a site so we did not have to unhook our 21 foot toad. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$22
This is a great park for overnight or longer. Easy in and out sites, but there are some back-ins also. A very friendly staff. We had a long pull through with plenty of room. Did not use the facilities, but would stay here again and recommend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2006
$24
Good campground for an overnight stay. Friendly staff. Easy access to the highway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2005
$24
Nice small park with very friendly owners. On the outskirts of town, yet close to all attractions. Hattiesburg has a nice zoo and a real "drive-in" theatre. The restrooms and showers were some of the nicest and cleanest that I have ever seen. Hook-ups are very new and most sites have 30 and 50 amp. All sites are pull through and have nice gravel pads, although some are pretty close together. Some sites have concrete patios and most sites have picnic tables. Individual sites did not have fire rings, but there were a couple of fire rings available around the park. There is a small pond for fishing. There is not a lot to occupy children in the park, but the park makes a nice base for exploring the Hattiesburg area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$22
Great spot to stop over and visit Hattisburg. Rest rooms and Showers are spotless. Friendly folks and quiet to be so close to the highway. I think most Mississippians sleep at night not drive around. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2003
$20
A nice CG with a woodsy feel. Staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Used them 3 times as a 1 night stop only. I was always put in their "1 night spaces" which are very close together. There were other sites that had more elbow room and they would be good for extended stays. I was impressed that there were no trashy RV's here. Like others stated, this park is quiet with the exception of occasional truck noise when they get stopped at the traffic light just outside the CG. No amenities like a pool, just a small CG with a state park feel. Will use again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2002
$20
Good stopover site. Very laidback. If you are late, they leave you a site ticket and an envelope to put money in. Good safe place to stop and sleep when passing through. Grassy sites with gravel loop road. We have stayed there to sleep 2 or 3 times and would again. Hattiesburg and stores closeby if you need supplies. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com