221664 User submitted reviews online!!
Twin Peaks Campground (NPS Campground) was rated 9 out of 10 based on 24 user reviews. Phone: (520) 387-6849
CGID163

Twin Peaks Campground (NPS Campground)

Camp Information
Sites
208
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$8



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   10   9   6   10   9   8   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2014
$8
Outstanding park at Organ Pipe National Monument. Great campsites with dyed desert brown flat cement pads. Pull through for any sized RV. Two lane dump and water station. Super clean! Nice restrooms with solar heated showers. Giant cactus next to pads. Perimeter walk on the outside of the park with well maintained paths. One of the nicest parks we have ever been to. No WiFi, no electricity. Used ACCESS pass for free entry. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2014
$6
Organ Pipe Cactus National Monument is one of the most magical places I have ever been. The Saguaro and the Organ Pipe Cactus are amazingly large and old. This is the only place you can find the Organ Pipe Cactus. We had a beautiful site at the campground with a picnic table, patio area, and a level cement pad. All of the sites are pull-through. The roads are a bit tight but we have a 38 ft. RV and managed. The staff was friendly and very knowledgeable about the area and taught us a lot. The trails are plentiful and well maintained. There were lovely places to walk your dog, programs at the amphitheater on the weekend, and our Verizon phones and WiFi worked but not real well. I can hardly wait to go back! Rate reflects Senior Pass. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$12
Beautiful campground! Park staff does a great job of keeping the campground clean. We saw them sweeping the pebbles off of a pad next to us. We spent 4 nights here, great place for star gazing & sunsets are beautiful. Very peaceful & quiet. We would return here when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$6
Beautiful, remote sites in the Sonoran desert: paved, private and pull-through, each with picnic table and grill. If you value nature and quiet over amenities, this is the place for you. Spotless restrooms with camp sinks. Hiking, scenic drives and ranger programs. I had a decent ATT 3G signal, but my husband kept getting a Mexican service, so be careful if you use your phone. If you are worried about the location being right on the border (it is), we saw Border Patrol all over the place on our drive down from Phoenix and over to Tucson. Our rate reflects Senior Pass discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2012
$12
A large national park campground. All boon docking, no hookups. Clean flush toilets in restrooms, some with showers. Nice modern dump station with 2 lanes. Good deal for $12 a night. Well maintained with roomy sites. Gas available at Why, AZ and Lukeville, AZ on the border. This is a very remote place, but interesting. If you like peace and quiet this is the spot. Gas station in Why (Why Not) had free Wi-Fi that worked great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2012
$12
We came late and slipped the $20 into holder at gate. $12 night plus $8 entrance fee. Found great spot. Nice concrete pad with table. Generator hours 8-10 and 4-6 pm. Its great park in Sonoran desert. Your are camping by giant cactus's. No power, there are water spigots all around but for filling bottles only no connections. Hot and dry. Nice. Visitor center. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$12
Great campground! Nicely laid-out. Each pad has a very level, long spot for your rig. Surprisingly lots of cacti vegetation between spots. Clean bathrooms and showers. The showers on solar power, so when we showered in April – HOT! Staff & volunteers very nice. Well-kept park. Verizon 3G coverage very good. Gas/Diesel can be found 5 miles south in Lukeville, just before the border crossing, or 22 miles north in Why. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$6
We stayed here in a motor home. We paid the Golden Age passport rate. The normal rate is $12. The park is first come, first served, but park has 208 sites so seldom, if ever, fills (I think.) Each site has picnic table and BBQ grill. Very quiet park. Rangers and volunteers very helpful. Sites are wide and level. A few water spigots scattered around the park so you can add water to your tank if you have device to attach to non-threaded spigot. Climate could be very hot in summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$6
An amazing place! Be sure to hike the Desert View trail daily and you'll get much more out of your stay. We saw different cacti in bloom every time. The showers don't get very warm in March, so beware. The Verizon service is excellent and thus we had interned via tethering and could keep up on email and such. Dark here and a sky filled with beauty. Near the the top of my Top Ten List, for sure. We're "Geezers", so paid only half of the daily rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$6
Wow! What a beautiful place! Hot showers. No power or water, but the sites are large, level, and gorgeous set right in the desert. February was wonderful with spring flowers with nice temperatures. Dark at night to see stars. Friendly rangers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$12
This is our second time here in the last 3 years, and we love this place. We do not care for commercial parks- too close together and too expensive. So State, County and National Parks are our choice. This one is absolutely beautiful, spotlessly clean, and has the most friendly hosts. Enough room between sites, restrooms now have showers, and the desert scenery is unmatched. True, there is no AC, but water is available, the dump station is good, concrete pads are pretty level. We'll be back. Don't expect any services at Lukeville though; it's pretty much empty. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2012
$12
Beautiful desert views, concrete pads for you camper, safe and quiet. This campground is far superior to most National Park Campgrounds. It is worth a night here just to see the sky show but there is lots of great hiking in the area as well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2011
$12
You can not make reservations for Organ Pipe National Monument. The park ranger stated that even during the prime season (January through March), it rarely fills up. The narrow interior road is on asphalt with tight corners. All sites are on cement with a picnic table and a bar-b-que. No hookups are available at the sites. Water and sewer is located at the dump station. There is water spigots scattered throughout the campground but they are not threaded. There are 6 bathrooms with 3 or 4 showers for the entire park. The showers are heated via solar panels. Off season, generators are limited to 8 to 10 AM and 4 to 6 PM. The blue background site numbers are reserved for RV’s 28 to 36 feet in length. Verizon air card and cell phone worked well within the park. This is a nice campground, but the sites are pretty close to each other and probably would feel cramped if it was filled. The border patrol definitely had a presence within the park. We would definitely come back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$12
Very friendly people. A very nice park campground. Level sites, most with concrete pad. There is a dump station and water available at the dump station and at various places around the campground (for filling jugs, no hose connections except at dump). We stayed two nights and would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2010
$12
This is a lovely national park with a great Junior Ranger program and a wonderful setting. The place was packed with RVers when we were there, only some of whom were friendly. Obviously, many folks come and stay the entire winter and have solar panels and/or generators. The sites were very close together for a national park, but the space was adequate. Our only major complaint was that the corners were a little tight for a big rig, and it was hard to turn around when we made a wrong turn. Somewhere in the course of our drive to our space, we picked up a cholla fruit in one of our tires. Those are some serious needles if they can stick into a truck tire. As with most national parks, this one has no hookups and minimal restrooms. The park hosts were absolutely wonderful—friendly and fun. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2010
$6
Rate is daily rate with Senior Pass discount. No hookups, water and dump available, has two hour morning and late afternoon generator usage permitted. Narrow asphalt roads with concrete pads in a desert setting. Larger rigs need to be careful when turning into sites due to poorly placed markers or untrimmed vegetation. There are many programs in the Park making it a great place to spend longer periods of time, but after staying here many times over the years it was obvious that something or someone was very negatively affecting the morale of the numerous volunteers the Park uses. We would stay here again but hope the volunteer situation is rectified. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2010
$12
The sites are large with nice landscaping and concrete pads. The park is situated in a gentle terraced arrangement so the views are nice from most sites. There are restrooms situated in convenient locations and were well maintained. The park staff and volunteers are amazingly well informed and helpful. Be sure to take advantage of the programs offered to become more familiar with this national jewel. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2010
$12
Great campground in a beautiful desert setting. They offer a "no generator" area which was perfect for folks like us with solar panels. Great hiking out of the campground. Lots of birds! We had a wonderful time and can't wait to go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2010
$12
Well laid out. Good sites, mostly and reasonably level. A few sites are too narrow for slideouts but most are plenty wide. The check-in hosts are accommodating if you don't like your site. National Park Service rates of half price ($6.00) apply to seniors with the pass. Don't forget to take the 20+ mile scenic drive in this park to experience the beauty of the cacti from this area. Don't do that in a motorhome or trailer, though. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2010
$12
An absolute jewel. This is a must for everyone, no matter whether you normally dry camp or not. There is water available at the site and a dump station and water to put in your holding tank, but it is the absolute beautiful scenery and the serenity that makes this a must. The volunteers and their park programs are amazing and there are guided tours to the area if you are interested for just a small donation. What an awesome experience and one we will definitely repeat. Way to go Organ Pipe Cactus. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2009
$10
This park is one of the best RV Parks we have ever stayed at. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2008
$12
A beautiful desert location. Dry camp sites, first come, first served. Generators allowed from 8 to 10 in the morning, and 4 to 6 in the afternoon, otherwise, just the silence of the desert. We took the free van tour on the Ajo Mountain drive, and had two enthusiastic rangers talk about the cactus, wildflowers and birds in the park. This road is only partially paved, so why take the car when someone else will drive? Gas, groceries and restaurants in Ajo, twenty minutes driving north. We had Verizon cell on extended service, but the aircard did not work. Not a perfect ten only because of lack of hook-ups. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2006
$12
Great desert location and hiking trails. Mountain views. Very good paved pads. Most are level. Two generator periods. No showers in rest-rooms. This is a tranquil spot with no hook-ups. Fair visitor center. Some of park roads are closed. (border problems) Close to Mexico. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$10
Beautiful remote desert campgrounds. Quiet hiking trails. 208 campsites are available on a first-come first-served basis all year for $10.00 a night. Length of RV unit is not to exceed 35 feet. Generator hours 12 noon to 4 pm only. Water, rest rooms, grills, tables, and a dump station are available. Fires are permitted in grills, but wood gathering is prohibited. 4 miles from Mexican border. Gas station, cafe and Customs Station on US side. Small, poor town of Sonoyta on Mexican side, some shopping. 65 miles from gorgeous Sea of Cortez beaches at Puerto Penasco. Many beach front RV parks and hotels there. No visas needed just fill up with gas on US side and go. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com