224371 User submitted reviews online!!
Johnson's Campground and RV Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 67 user reviews. Phone: (406) 732-4207
CGID1699

Johnson's Campground and RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
157
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$39



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   1   5   5   8   7   6   7   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  no  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  no  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2014
$39
Two very small bathrooms for 157 RV, cabin, and tent sites. AND the bathrooms are very small, outdated, and not very clean. They say they clean them twice daily, but with this heavy usage it never looks like cleaning has been done. The sites are on dirt and not particularly level. We had good Wi-Fi reception using our Jetpack. This place is definitely overpriced for what is offered. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2014
$34
What it has going for it is an amazing view of the mountains and lakes. After that, it's awful. The roads are so dusty, everything becomes covered in hours. There is no wi-fi other than at the office and that is quite poor at best. The sites are unkempt, not even close to level and in our case, hard to even walk on. Clearly no effort or money goes towards maintaining the place. After seeing the KOA across the street, we'd have been better off spending the extra ten a night to stay at a decent place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2014
$44
Conveniently located to the East Entrance of Glacier National Park. This campground sits on the side of a steep hill making it difficult to level rigs. Bathroom and laundry facilities are located at the bottom of the hill with a steep climb or descent to access bathroom and laundry facilities for full hookup sites. The laundry room was nice and well maintained. Wi-Fi was advertised to be available in laundry and office areas. However, this did not work at all, even after the owner rebooted the system. There is a café on-site. A lot of seasonal workers seemed to reside here. Sites were narrow and short. Grass was overgrown. Staff was friendly and helpful, however, we will probably not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2014
$39
The place is dusty and the wifi didn't work. We had no AT&T service. Their restaurant had pretty good food with good service. We tried to change spots since it was noisy and dust flying around from every passing vehicle. On the plus side, great location for going into West Glacier. We won't stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$50
Very pretty spot in the "tenting area" of the park (site 29). A picturesque valley complete with horses (on the far side) and all the adventures of a beaver pond (frogs!), and a nice grassy field for Frisbee and baseball games provided by our children made them enjoy it. These sites only have 20 Amp circuits so the AC didn't work, but as the weather was a little cooler so it wasn't missed. No sewer in these sites, only in those at the front of the park. Nice easy access to Glacier Park and the Going to the Sun Road. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
Incredibly friendly and helpful staff. Gorgeous views and convenient entrance to glacier national. Loved the place and has a good restaurant. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$44
Its the old moniker of location, location, location! Right close to the east entrance of Glacier NP and the stunning drive of Going to the Sun road. Registration folks not sure what to do with a motorhome towing a car and 4 people but they finally charged us $5/day ea for two additional people. As other reviewers have noted; not much in the way of amenities and the restaurant wasn't all that it was cracked up to be (try the Two Sisters up the road, north a little bit). Showers were by tokens and our guests reported they were clean and apparently well maintained. Great views, gravel roadways, killer speed bumps near registration, tenting area is down the hill, past the motor home area, elec only area is out front - right next to road and registration and cabins - if they are full, you will pay for full hookups whether you want them or not. Pay attention to the No Trespassing signage on the hill where two of the roads continue; its NOT the motor home park! Will probably look for something else next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$44
Spectacular views from campground which is situated on a hill overlooking lake and mountains. Sites are terraced, so not terribly level. Adequate gravel roads for easy in and out. Tight between spaces with a little vegetation and some small trees between some units. Not much shade if you're in Row B, but the view makes up for it. Shore services were good. Satellite reception was good. Verizon 3G and cell service worked well. No Wi-Fi at campsites, but is available at the office. Café on site with yummy homemade bread and a knock out tuna sandwich. Convenient to Glacier National Park. No extra amenities to speak of - no pool, playground, etc. A park more suited to adults rather than families with children due to layout (families with small children would be better served at KOA across the road which was nice). We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$62
This is our second visit to the campground. While it is pricey, I recognize that they have a relatively short season and seemingly and had every site filled each of the nights we were there. Staff very friendly and helpful. Other than the price the only other negatives are the sewer connections are not located conveniently close to other (water and sewer) services and some of the sites can get very muddy after a rain. That said, we would definitely stay here again when in the the area ... as we love Glacier National Park, We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$39
We stayed here 9 days. In spite of its pitfalls, this is probably the best place to stay while visiting Glacier National Park. St. Mary is on the east side of Glacier and is thus closer to the summit of Logan Pass. It is also within an easy drive of Many Glacier, East Glacier, and Waterton Lakes National Park in Canada. While we were there it was much cooler than Kalispell, which is on the west side of Glacier. But on the downside, St. Mary is very small, although it does have several restaurants and a small grocery store. A larger grocery store is in Browning, but that is about a 45-minute drive to the south. The park is built up on a hillside above lower St. Mary Lake. The full hookup sites face either east or west. The latter give a nice view of the lake and mountains, but the east view is cooler and provides a nice view too, just not as spectacular. Sites are dirt and grass; the roads are dirt and dusty at times. Most sites have a slope to them, but in most cases it is not excessive. The pull-through sites are narrow, but fairly long and close together. The potentially claustrophobic conditions are reduced somewhat because the sites are sort of terraced up the hillside. So you are somewhat higher than your downhill neighbor. There are a few scrubby Aspens between sites, but in most cases not enough to block satellite TV reception. The water pressure is low (usually about 30psi, but at times as low as 20psi). Power is only 30 amps and can vary from 117 volts to 109 volts during hot afternoons around dinnertime. WiFi is available, but only in and just outside of the office. Our site had very good Verizon service, so we used our aircard for internet access. Given all this, we would normally give this place a really low rating, but it is such a beautiful area these shortcomings are easy to overlook. We just dealt with them (eg, turned off the air conditioner when the voltage got too low) and enjoyed our stay immensely. The park also has a tent area which is a fairly large with trees and grass, and is a great place to walk the dog. The staff was helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$42
It would be easy to let the wonders of Glacier NP make me like this campground more than it deserves. The only reason to stay in this park is that it's $20 cheaper than a campground across the street. Most spaces were 11' wide and 60' long. Our site was so narrow we had to pull ahead of the neighbor's slide to be able to open our door. A picnic table didn't even fit in our site. Sites on the hill would have views if there weren't wires in every direction. The wind made us sorry we picked the upper level. The whole park lost water for a day with no explanation. Their restaurant was mediocre and needed a good scrubbing. Laundry was a hodgepodge of old machines and expensive. The WiFi just didn't work - even in the office. I understand the difficulty getting broadband in remote areas but don't advertise it if it doesn't work. The only thing we liked here was the sign in the office that said, "Please be kind to the Desk Clerk. New customers I can get." We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$36
We stayed here one night after overnighter in the St. Mary Visitors Center parking lot. We chose the sites in front, which are all back in, but fit our 62' length just fine. When these front 18 sites are full, you are just inches away from your neighbor. They are 30 amp with water only but no sewer. The sites up on top are full hookups. Great overnight place, and just outside the gate to Glacier National Park. There is a restaurant on site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2013
$47
Stayed here one night until I could move to another place. Only 30 amps and the two sets of speed bumps by the office are crazy; even at 3MPH. Sites are Very narrow, roads are all dirt with some stone, and sites are weeds and some stone. The dust from the roads is incredible and so is the wind up the hill,where all the "full hook-ups" are. I would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$42
Stayed here because of the closeness to Glacier Park. Sites are level and some shade. We were able to get satellite . Laundry is busy and $2.25 to wash. The cafe is over priced, $18 for 3 small pieces of chicken. The whole town has limited restaurants and high prices. Might stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$45
Rustic campground considering proximity to Glacier National Park. Campsites are on a hill overlooking the park which was nice, but access was difficult. Small sites with no level area for eating outside. Wi-Fi in the office, but had very poor reception. Restrooms and showers were quite a way from site and not very clean. If it wasn't for the proximity to Glacier, we would have been unhappy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$43
very nice park. Friendly staff, all full time worker campers. Lots of walking areas. Cafe is the best, breakfast was awesome. It is also great to walk the .4 miles, 10 min. to St. Mary Lodge for gifts or groceries. The other yellow 3 letter park is 1.5 miles to the lodge. Only complaint is, I have never been so tight in a site that my slides and awnings would not go out. I had to pull up and back just to get my left slides out and was not able to get awning out. Outside chairs, if reclined all the way would have hit my neighbors slide. Yes, that close, very tight. Restrooms and showers were clean but we don't get the pay showers. We took very long showers in our bus, same water right?? Would return again, great spot to visit Glacier Nat'l Park and the Red bus tour will pick you up at office. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$42
This park has beautiful views of the Lake and the Mountains. The facilities are a bit worn and sewer connection hoses may take some work to get to flow up the hill, but this is location, location. The staff was very helpful and knowledgeable about the local area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$42
Wi-Fi available in office. Sites uneven and narrow. Poorest water pressure I've ever encountered. Staff is friendly but for the money you don't get much except for the location and that says it all. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$42
First couple of rows where we stayed are full hookup sites and have great views of the lake and mountains and easy to access and level. Sites back in the woods not so much. Very quiet. A little pricey at $42 with GS discount but less than the KOA. I guess that's the price of staying near a park. Showers are old but clean. A little funky in that you need to get tokens from the office and each token gives you a 6 minute shower. But it worked okay. Woke up to frost in the morning. Gas is expensive here so I suggest filling up in Browning before you get here where it's 30 cents cheaper. I would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$40
We were lucky enough to arrive when the park was somewhat vacant. Our site was in the western most row and the view was spectacular. The sites behind us and down the hill do not have the view and are not very level. The Wi-Fi was ok, but only at the office or laundry room. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The food at Johnson's Cafe is good BUT the homemade food at The Park Place Cafe was beyond expectations! If you want manicured lawns and concrete pads, this is not for you. We stayed 3days and enjoyed every minute. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2012
$42
You only camp here because there is little elsewhere. There is no room between the RV sites, and the water here turned my filter red in two days, yuck! There are no fire rings next to the RV sites, and the bathrooms are in need of some work. They also said they misquoted my 10 day stay, so it ended up being $100 more than originally stated. We weren't happy! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$37
The price includes Good Sam discount. We arrived here very late, but were able to fill everything out with the directions on the office door. We woke up the next morning to a beautiful view of a lake and the Glacier National Park mountains. We were only a couple of blocks away from the park entrance, which was really nice. In addition, we were only 15 miles away from the Canadian border, so we went there to check out that part of the park as well. The sites were nothing special, it was a field with power posts every couple of feet. It wasn't very level, but we were able to get our RV set using extra blocks. It wasn't too busy, so we just picked a spot on one end of the field and didn't have to worry about having any neighbors. There are only a couple of picnic tables for the whole area, so you need to share those with your neighbors. The owners were nice, but not overly helpful. It felt like you were intruding when going into the office. We would stay here again as the location is great and the sites were decent. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2012
$36
The view is outstanding and the staff was very kind and friendly and it is very conveniently located for touring Glacier Nat'l Park. That's about all I can say that's good about this park. Sites were so tiny and unlevel you could not put out an awning and it took more than 40 minutes to try to get some semblance of level. We felt we were walking on a rolling deck in the coach. The laundry room was small and was available to people from all over the area. Wi-Fi was only available at the office and the laundry room and was always in heavy use and very slow. Wi-Fi usage was also sold to anyone who wanted to use it. Water hookups were set up between 2 sites, but electric and sewer were always on the driver's side. I had to literally crawl under my rig in order to reach my hose to connect it on the passenger side of the coach. I recommend staying in the other campground. Much nicer and much cheaper. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$37
Our rate reflected Good Sam discount. Would have rated the park higher if they would cut the grass. The location is fantastic on a hill overlooking the valley, town of St. Mary and Glacier National Park along with the lower lake. The setting could not be better. On a side note the Johnson family restaurant is to die for. The food is all fresh and home made along with the pies. We ate here 3-nights in a row it was so good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$40
Good Sam nightly rate. RV sites are a bit tight for my tastes, not terribly wide, but not too many choices in St. Mary. No AT&T here, but Verizon strong: both air card and cell. DirecTV no problem. Nice views of St. Mary valley from this park. Wi-Fi only at/near office, so I used my air card. Though RV sites are on a set up a sloping hillside, front to back is fairly level. Left to right may require some leveling for larger rigs. Tent spaces well separated from RV sites. No campfires allowed in RV sites. Very convenient for touring East Side of Glacier Park. Note that local fuel/supplies are limited and expensive: plan ahead. Would stay again if visiting this area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$42
Good park for the resort area. Wi-Fi is poor and only at the office. Sites are semi-wooded but very unlevel (you will need boards in addition to jacks). Staff is rather indifferent but they have a captive customer. Johnson restaurant soup and bread is good but also try Two Sisters Cafe, several mile north for a unique setting. If from the south, suggest 89 coming in and 464 going back to Browning due to hills. Water pressure was very poor, but rumor was a line break was giving them issues. Stayed seven nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$38
We stayed 7 nights while we explored Glacier National Park. The laundry was closed due to plumbing problems (we went to KOA for laundry), but the showers and restrooms were very clean and working. The staff was very friendly and helpful with changing our dates (we stayed 7 nights) and advising on surrounding activities. Our particular site was a bit crowded, but I saw others that were fine. You should ask for an outside site for the best views. The Red Eagle Restaurant next door I believe to be owned by the same family and had great homemade food. We would stay here again. Our camp directory told us to take 89 from Browning to St. Mary's, but Highway 89 is bad from the south so we were told by the office to take 2 from Shelby, MT, to 464 N at Browning and then south on 89. Good roads. They have adequate signs except at the T in the road at Babb--take a left. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$41
This campground is on a hill and there are no sewer hookups, but they do have a dump station as you come into the park. The view we had was wonderful. Sites are gravel, fairly level with 30 amp service. Our AC ran just fine on this. They have a great cafe located next door and their huckleberry coleslaw is fabulous as is their Mile High Huckleberry Pie. We would stay here again and recommend it to others. It is about 1 hour from the Canadian border. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
This is a historic family owned operation. It is rustic in nature, but the sites are adequate with great views of the mountains. Wi-Fi is only available at the office hot spot. Expect a folksy response. The lady receptionist related a story of a RV'er making comments about the poorly maintained sites. She simply remarked to him that perhaps he would be happier at the KOA across the street ($60.00/night). A historic family operated restaurant is adjacent to the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
Wow! This campground is very simple, but very comfortable and the restaurant has terrific food. Be sure to eat here! The views of the mountains and St. Mary's Lake are gorgeous. The sunsets were lovely. All in all, a terrific campground! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$38
Our stay here after one week can be labeled as pretty darn good! The site we have (B14) is nothing short of spectacular in terms of the view out our front window. This is an older, family run campground that is not glitzy, ritzy, or fancy. The sites are scraped in and dirt or gravel. The power is 30 amp and very consistent. The sewer hookup is just fine. Water pressure is adequate, but not extra-strong. Verizon signal is good in this area. There is a picnic table and ample room to park our 40 ft rig, tow car, and our bicycles. The campground is very quiet at night. We have an outstanding view of the mountains and Lower St Mary Lake. The restaurant/cafe onsite had a reasonably good meal the one night we ate there. There are other very decent restaurants in the area. We are very close to the entrance to Glacier NP and the Going to the Sun Road. A wonderful location to explore the park. The office staff was very nice, but we have had little need to connect with them. We would certainly stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2012
$38
Weekly rate is a $12 savings for the week. Positive: Beautiful, spectacular view. Close to Glacier NP entrance. Negative: Sites are far from level; motor home wheels had to come totally off the ground to be somewhat level. The sewer line is uphill and broken. The best you can do is drain your tank down to 1/3. The electric plug was shattered but worked. Several neighbors also had cracked electric plugs. The Wi-Fi only works in the laundry room which is down a steep trail. Every time we were in the laundry room, it was crowded so you would have a hard time using Wi-Fi. The laundry costs were "pricey". The showers are token. While clean, the showers are minimal quality. Basically, the park is overrated. We probably would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$41
This RV park has great views and a great location, but I think they are overpriced given the facilities. They are a slightly smaller rip-off than the KOA across the street (their only competition in the area). The other reviews are accurate, the bathrooms are clean but tired. Built on the cheap, the stalls and shower dividers are all made of painted low-grade plywood. The shower curtains are held together with duct tape. You'll get tokens for your 6 minute shower when you check in. I'm paying for a site with (unlimited & unmetered) water and electricity, but for some illogical reason they are limiting me to a 6 minute shower with a low-flow shower head? This is just annoying after a long day hiking. Some of the sites don't even have their own picnic table, the whole row we are in has one table per two sites. All of this would be forgivable at $20/night. But at $41, inexcusable. They are charging a premium and provided sub-standard facilities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$20
$20 rate was an "early bird" rate...they had not formally opened but offered space anyway. The views are magnificent but the spaces needed some grooming and leveling...perhaps they would do it before formally opening. The park is very close to the Park's entrance which was a real plus. Nice long-term owners. Again, the views from the park are wonderful. We'll go back on our trip home from Alaska. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$32
Beautiful view, but the path from the upper level to the showers, laundry & office for internet is pretty steep & treacherous. Not as windy or dusty as the KOA across the valley which is a plus. The old guy behind the counter at check-in was not particularly friendly or welcoming or helpful. Facilities are clean but could use some updating. Also, internet is only available at the office, we could not get a Wi-Fi connection from our site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$43
Some sites have great views, most are not level and somewhat tricky to get set up. We had to run our lines under the camper so we had a view other than the unit in back of us. We felt it was pricey but for this close to GNP they were in line with other places. The showers and restrooms were at the office which is down a very steep, weedy path, not recommended for early morning or evening walks. Overall, the staff was very nice and helpful if we asked questions. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$42
Before talking about the campground, I have to warn RV drivers NOT to take rte. 89 out of Browning, MT. It is narrow, hilly, has many curves, is dangerous, and ends with a 3 mile descent into St. Mary at a 7% grade. The smell of overheated brakes permeates the air. Take 464 out of Browning instead. It's a better and safer road. The campground is OK. It's close to the park entrance and the few stores in St. Mary. It has its own restaurant on the grounds with very good meals. The sites are narrow and perhaps hard to park on and make level, but everything considered, it's a good place to stay when visiting Glacier National Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$41
It is pretty to stay here overlooking Glacier Park. They have wi-fi available but only if you hike down the big hill and sit outside the office. It says they have miniature golf, but we sure didn't see it. The guy that checked us in was crabby and told us there were no spots available after we had already called to confirm they had some still open. Then someone else came in and all the sudden there were 4 spaces left. They gave us 2 tokens to shower even though we had 3 people in our party. We would stay here just because it is a beautiful view. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
Great campground with beautiful views! Private, grassy sites and clean restrooms. The only reason this campground didn't get a 10 is because the showers are token operated and allow you only 6 minutes of hot water per day. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$40
Old campground and it shows it. Small spaces that are close together. Sites are dirt/gravel with grass/weeds. It had not been mowed in some time and was not very appealing. The full hookup area is on top of a hill so the views are great, but be aware if you have a large rig with slide-outs on both sides. It took us some maneuvering to get it right on the site so all slides could open freely. Close access to the east entrance of Glacier National Park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2010
$39
This park is in disrepair. Sites are narrow, unlevel and suffer from a need for gravel to fill the ruts and level. Grass between the site is terrible. The are large rodent holes, tire ruts and mud. The grass has not been mowed. We could not level without digging a hole for one tire. Would not return. The park roads also need repair. This definitely not a park for big rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2010
$40
Very disappointed in this park. The park needs a lot of work. The sites are not level. What very little grass there is, is covered up by dandelions and weeds. Campers are packed together very tightly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$38
This RV Park was a disappointment. The views from "B" circle were good, but the Wi-Fi was only available in the office and was not predictable. Getting to the showers requires a LONG trek down a steep hill: very difficult. The only trash cans are located near the entrance and they were FULL when we stayed here. The tenting spots were more shaded at least. I would stay at another campground next time for sure. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$39
This park was better than expected. It is old and desperately needs some upgrading. The laundry room is clean, but very old. While Wi-Fi is available, it is only available in the office or laundry room not very convenient! Laundry room doesn't have any plug outlets. The sites are somewhat level for your rig, not very level for picnic table or walking. Sites in row "A" have the best view row "B" has some views and nice natural green bushes/trees behind it. Sites on lower level next to office are very narrow and short. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$32
We enjoyed this park. A great location overlooking St Mary's. A little aged, rustic you might say. We camped in a pull behind, stayed in the back of the park where most of the tents were. Able to find a level spot, used water and electric. Nice shaded spot, however still very windy: St Mary's is often quite windy. Bathrooms were nearby, quite clean, maintenance crew each morning. Quiet and non crowded where we camped. Mostly full in the front of the park. Reservations recommended for the full service sites. Did not try the restaurant. Will be staying again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$47
We were in space 18 which had a tremendous view. We encountered tree limbs upon entering and the maintenance man immediately addressed the problem and removed the limbs. The site was somewhat out of level front to rear, and we unable to level our rig in that direction. We would have had to reconnect which we chose not to do. It appears that some TLC is needed to justify the $40+ fare. If we had it to do over again we would have taken our chances on camping in Glacier NP. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$44
The only amenity provided was by God. The view was incredible from all sites. Owner doesn't seem to want to invest much in capital improvements. Wi-Fi was available but only from the office. Only one bath house and that was a long ways away down a steep hill. They were clean but there was no men's urinal and showers required a token which limited your use to 6 minutes. No satellite TV. I wouldn't want to be there in a heavy rain. My rig would sink into the grass. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$43
The showers were nice and clean, although not quite hot enough. The campsite was moist and my RV started sinking into the grass. And forget about using the jacks, they went straight into the ground. The pool and jacuzzi were closed because of some temporary leak. The WiFi was the real kicker. It was so slow, it made 10 year old dial up seem fast. The reason why? They were backhauling the ENTIRE park's usage over a verizon MiFi!!!! It was THE reason I chose to stay here, and I let the guy know that when I was checking in. At least he could have been honest and told me their internet was terrible. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$39
Rate reflects the FHU daily rate with Good Sam discount. Roads and pads are gravel. While the park is definitely on a hill, the sites are level, with 30 amp electric. Even though the sewer outlet at our site was in an awkward location, the fabulous view out the front window more than made up for the small inconvenience. Park was great as a base from which to explore the east side of Glacier NP. Did not use restrooms or showers, but be advised they are down at the bottom of the hill by the office. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$37
This park was very well kept and located just outside entrance to Glacier National Park. Wi-Fi was not available at the sites, but worked fairly well at the office. Did have ethernet connections in the office. Cafe was all others have said about it: good food and plenty of it, at a fair price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$35
The location of this RV Park is very convenient to Glacier National Park. We stayed in site #2 in a motorhome which is one of the largest sites on the "hill" with a great view facing the mountains. The meals in the restaurant are family style and very generous and delicious. The people in the campground office and in the restaurant are very friendly. There are also cabins available as well as motel rooms. They also have a pavilion for special occasions. We've stayed there on three trips to Glacier and plan to return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$36
Spent three nights here with one of the best views I have encountered for over a month on the road. Site was area "B", up a good hill but the site was as level as they come. Walkable (about 3/4 mile) to the St. Mary Visitor Center for Glacier Park and Going to the Sun Highway. Some of the tour vans stop at the CG, which is handy. Their cafe has great food. Wi-Fi is satellite based, so it is slow. The only gripe I have is the speed of some of the vehicles going through our area. And it is not policed by management. Other than that, it was fine We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$33
Stayed here for a week in a trailer. The view was quite good. Bathroom was pretty clean. Shower requires tokens for 6 minutes but you receive one per night with an RV check in. Wi-Fi must be used at or near the office unless you have a lower level site right near the office. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2009
$35
The view of lower St. Mary's Lake is great because the park is on a hill top. We had a a great view of the snow capped Glacier Park mountains. The sites are uneven with all gravel roads. The best part of our stay was the park owned restaurant - the food is excellent and all homemade. Try the french toast or the chicken dinner - both include the homemade bread. The desserts are huge and delicious. The staff is friendly and helpful. Our site was rated as 30 amps but we had to turn off the electric water heater to use the microwave oven because the voltage dropped to 105v. Still, I'd come back just for the ambiance of it all. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$36
The park has a great view in some of the sites.  Wi-Fi could only be accessed in the office area.  On a hillside.  Some sites had a great view of the valley.  Staff was friendly and accommodating.  Fee was with Good Sam discount.  Site was full hookup, however, the location of the sewer was so far from water and power, that I had to disconnect to dump holding tank at site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2009
$38
If you get the right site you will have a good view. Many sites have trees that will be up against your rig. One full day before we departed, we asked the gal behind the desk if someone could maybe cut 3-4 limbs. She acted like I had slapped her. No one came by to do that. Only because no one was parked on the site behind us was we able to back out. Cafe on site was very good food with large potions. Rather price as is everything in St. Mary, Mt. There is a KOA across the road. If we visit the area again we would stay at the KOA which has far fewer trees and more level sites. Of course, when you check into a KOA we know KOA stands for keep on adding. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$38
Whats real about this campground is the beautiful view, no doubt. The sites are extremely close together and can be very rough and uneven. We could not open our awning at all because of the very narrow spaces provided. It can be a rather noisy place with lots of bikers. The restaurant is very overpriced and home style means very small servings, and the menu is very limited. We were there for three days, would not return if other parks in the area were available. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$38
It has beautiful views. It has a great location for Glacier National Park. HOWEVER, Sites were so small you couldn't put out an awning as there was only a 8' space between sites. Advertised as having WiFI, but you have to go to a hotspot in the Office as only 10 sites near office had Wi Fi. The entrance had dumpsters with no lids and trash spilled out, maintenance area. Be aware there is no Phone Service in Area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$43
While the facilities and staff were fine, we thought that the rate was a bit high, although we find this is usually the case with KOA campgrounds. We had to use leveling blocks. We were placed at a site where we had a great open view of the surrounding mountains with terrific sunrises. The campground does not have cable TV, there is no cell phone service if you're on AT&T, and the WiFi, while free, is only available for two hours (7pm - 9pm) each night. It was explained to us that this was because of some issues with people using Skype. Huh? The staff was very helpful in explaining some of the features around Glacier National Park and gave us some good advice as to where to visit during our three-day stay. Good laundry facilities, but again, relatively expensive with $1.75 for wash and $1.00 for 25 minutes of dryer time. Because of the location and views, and the friendly staff here, we will probably stay here again on our next visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$31
This campground has been given a bad rap. It is expensive because of where it is, but we had a great experience here. You need to plan to have your tanks empty upon arrival and stay in one of the sites next to the office that only offer water and electric (free dump is available if you should need it). They are very nice sites with great views and you save $5 over the other sites that offer sewer. Utilizing these sites (and there are about 20 of them) puts you near the office and showers. The employees are super and the restaurant is very good. Our 3 day stay was great. While sites are narrow because the campground is old, the employees were very accommodating to allow us to utilize two sites during our stay. I assume this would be different if they were full. We enjoyed our stay very much. You should also be aware that the only cell phone service that works in this valley is Verizon. Good Sam park! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$43
We stayed here for two nights. Very close to the E. Glacier entrance. We had no neighbors next to us so we didn't feel cramped. One draw back was that we had to hike up and down the hill to the office to use the bathrooms and the laundry. You have to get tokens from the office to use the shower which will last for 6 minutes. There is a huge camping area for tents behind the RV park. Ate at their cafe both nights. Family style dinner special Saturday night was roast pork, very dry. Sunday special was Fried chicken, excellent! Very friendly owner. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2007
$39
What a joke! The only truth in their ads is that the views are great, but only for 1/2 of the sites. The sites are extremely narrow and not very level. After scratching the rig getting into the site, we had to trim the scrubby trees to get our slides out. The sewer connection is at the very back of the site, right at the road, so have lots of sewer hose with you. It is the smaller pipe, so the donut fitting will not work. Then they put the site post right next to it so you can't use the screw in type. On top of that they have a pavilion they rent out behind their "world famous" restaurant. Loud music into the wee hours of the night. It is way over priced, but they know they gotcha if you want to see the east side of Glacier NP. I'll try the KOA next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
Nice place to stay, better than the KOA down the street. Stayed here a few nights before going to the west side of GNP. Very nice people, great food. Our site had a nice view and was fairly easy to get into. Would come back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$35
Sites were fairly close together as we could not put our awning out. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2007
$38
In 2 ½ years of full time travel, this is the least value for the money we have ever received in a campground. For $38.50 a night ,(with Good Sam discount), we got an extremely narrow site - if I had tried to put out our awning it would have been over our neighbors slide. Sites were very out of level, no 50 amp electric, no pool, no wifi, no cable, only one off air station. Water pressure varied from barely adequate to virtually none. While my wife was in the shower the water slowed to barely a dribble. Poor 30 amp electric - must turn off A/C to use any other appliance, such as hair dryer or microwave or you will trip the breaker. The only views are of other RVs. Roads are dusty gravel, sites are dirt. The few weeds between the sites were in need of mowing and the entire park had an unkempt appearance. I would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$23
This park is very tight. You will not be able to open your awnings in the majority of the sites. The RV part of the park is located up a hill with good access gravel roads. The view is spectacular with both upper and lower St. Mary lakes below with Glacier Park in the background. Good location to start "Going to the sun road" in Glacier. If you go to the site and look at the FAQs, note the one on wind. What an understatement! However, since you won't be opening your awning, it shouldn't be a problem. This location is also about 27 miles from Waterton Lake (Canadian part of Glacier park). Be sure to take "High Tea" at Prince of Wales Hotel in Waterton. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2000
$16
Great View, close to Glacier Park. Quiet, would use again. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com