223354 User submitted reviews online!!
Picacho Peak RV Resort (55+ park) was rated 7 out of 10 based on 45 user reviews. Phone: (520) 466-7841
CGID174

Picacho Peak RV Resort (55+ park)

Camp Information
Sites
312
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$31



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   9   10   8   5   9   10   5   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$31
Very nice park. Long pull through. We only slept there for one night but I would go again. No one was there, it was very quiet with a few people who live in homes or RV. I believe it is a place that most people go in the Winter to escape snow. What was strange is the office hours this time of year are 9-1. I could not get anyone on the phone and when I got there I had to fill out an envelope and provide my information like credit card, etc. I hate doing this, but there was no other way to stay. Thank goodness they had a security guard that was off duty that helped me. Otherwise I would have had no idea how to do this. Never stayed at a place where they did not have someone to check me in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$36
First Class spot, except they charge for overnight WiFi. Fenced dog run, large laundry, nice pool area, Extra large sites(new) but rock still needs to be packed down. Fuel and food (Subway and DQ) at highway exit. Most RV Parks have free WiFi so this park needs to get with the program. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Will stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$27
Convenient to freeway. Easy to maneuver a big rig. Super-size sites are level, spacious and have a patio with picnic table and privacy fence. Showers are clean and plenty of hot water. Laundry room looks really nice. Staff is very nice and helpful. The location is stunning, right at the base of PIcacho Peak. Just outside the park is plenty of room to take the dog for a walk. There is a charge for Wi-Fi but we were at the end of the row and got the free Wi-Fi from the truck stop. It worked fine. We have stayed here before and would stay again. A great park. Price reflects Escapees and off-season discounts. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$31
This is an excellent park. Sites are compacted gravel and roads are concrete. FHU 50 amp worked great. There is a small gym and pool and it was very clean. Staff very solicitous. We have stayed here before and will again. Easy movement to and from the freeway. The traffic noise was not noticeable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$32
I would rate this park higher except for the wind and the highway noise, both of which they have no control over. The people were friendly, the view is outstanding. There are lots of activities. We stayed 2 nights and the second morning there was an awful smell from the sewage treatment area. I would stay again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2014
$28
Access to the sites we were placed in was awkward. The hookups are placed at the entrance of each site rather than the middle, so that when we placed our 5er out of the roadway, our sewer hose was not long enough to reach, so we ended up not connecting anything but the power. But the park was clean and staff friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$28
Rate reflects Good Sam rate for one night. Easy off and on I-10, some highway and train noise but it didn't keep me up all night. Hot tub could have been a little warmer for my taste but was nice to relax in, we were the only ones using it. In my opinion, the sites would be more user friendly had they been angled instead of straight for the pull thrus. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2013
$25
Very scenic park located on the Picacho Peak mountainside. There are many Saguaro cactus scattered around the park, as well as other cactus plantings. The entry and courtyard area are quite impressive in a Mission Adobe style. Access is easy right off I-10, and sites are easy to get in and out of. All streets are paved, pads are concrete on gravel sites and quite a few have trees. Pool and Spa are in the Courtyard area, so are protected from wind. Clubhouse is huge, and seemed to us that there was something going all the time. This is a mixed park, in that, there are RV sites mixed with park models. Everyone was friendly! This is probably the friendliest park we have ever stayed in! I pay attention to Good Sam Ratings, and this park has some of the highest I have ever seen, like 10 10 9.5. we stayed here a year ago and now back again in November. A year ago the water was typical for Arizona, super hard and alkaline! You couldn't drink it. This year the park made the financial commitment to install Reverse Osmosis water plant for the entire park! The water now has to be the best in Arizona. We loved the park and we WILL return! I rate this park as a 10, and I don't give out 10's We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
The sites are very short for big rigs, the parking space is narrow and the utilities in a very poor location. We were given a pull-thru and couldn't stay connected mainly because we'd have to park the RV at the very front edge of the site to accommodate the car. Since all hookups are at the opposite rear end of the site we would have needed at least two, 20' sewer hose connections. The picnic tables were in bad condition and there was no shade. A big portion of this park has permanent park models. We were warned about the water taste but were told they were putting in park-wide reverse osomosis. The pool was small but nice and the office was friendly on check-in. There is absolutely nothing to do in the immediate area. The park is fairly far north of Tucson and south of Casa Grande. There aren't any restaurants except for a Dairy Queen. We would not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2013
$30
A Fabulous RV Resort! I understand Trailer Life just completed a new survey and ratings were 10-10-9.5! That's just about as good as it gets. It is deserved. The scenery, with the mountain above the resort, is spectacular, especially in the evenings, when the sun goes behind The Peak. The Courtyard area includes a pool and spa in a nice setting. There are billiards, horseshoes, shuffleboard for those that like them, as well as other activities. The activities calendar is VERY busy for those that wish to partake. We participated in some activities, and the folks here are some of the nicest we have ever met! We liked this resort so well that we stayed several months this winter. Some previous posters have mentioned road and/or train noise as bothering them, however, we found that to be a non-issue as after a day or two, you don't notice anything unusual...besides, I kind of like watching a train go by. I almost never hear a train whistle. I guess there are no crossings close by. The other issue I saw mentioned by previous posters, was the hard water. We had no problem buying water (5 gal. for a dollar) for coffee and to drink. I have been told that the resort is installing a park-wide Reverse Osmosis and softener system this spring, so they may end up having the best water in Arizona when we come back next winter! All in all, this is the best park we have ever spent a lengthy amount of time in! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2013
$27
This park has potential, but definitely hasn't reached it yet! Looks very nice from the road and upon entry, but our site looked like an unfinished gravel driveway. The night time noise is unbelievable! It was a constant barrage of train noise and trucks on-the-freeway noise. ALL NIGHT! We had thought we might spend 2 nights in the area in order to hike Picacho Peak, but after a night of virtually no sleep at all, we decided to just head into Yuma. Granted, this is a new resort so there's still work to be done (clearly!). But they should avoid sticking people on the hill until that area is completed. And after our experience, I swear noise rises! Also, there is absolutely nothing nearby, except a fast food restaurant / service station. Nearest groceries are about 15 miles, and according to a resort employee, the store there is not worth going to. That leaves you with a 30+ mile drive to get groceries! I have to say, I would NOT recommend this park! There's a lovely State campground about 3 miles away: no idea if there are hookups, but unless you plan on spending days, it shouldn't matter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$32
Beautiful, well maintained park, with great scenic view, paved roads, and concrete patios. Stayed here overnight, but would like to come back for a longer stay. Utility hookups were in the back, and the sewer hookup was a stretch for our 5th wheel. Somewhat isolated, but that is part of the attraction of the park. Adjacent to the west side of I-10, and the ubiquitous railroad track, but the noise didn't bother us much. The only negative aspect was not being able to drink the water right from the tap due to high chemical content. OK for bathing, brushing teeth, etc. Purified water for drinking can be purchased for 5 cents per gallon, so we didn't consider this to be a big issue. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2012
$21
Scenic park. Busy activity calendar. Friendly residents and staff. Escorted us to our site. Gave us 2 big homemade chocolate chip cookies when we checked in!!! Big laundry. Dog run had lights. Nice big sites. Great weather. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
November 2012
$30
We intended an extended stay but left early (with no refund!) It is a nice looking park but the noise from trains and Interstate just a few hundred feet away was very annoying. The water was so hard it was undrinkable, and left gray stains on everything. The management was unpleasant, unreasonable and unprofessional. We would never stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$33
A beautiful and well maintained park. The word park does not do this park justice, it is a resort. Clean pool, hot tub and showers. The staff were ready and willing to help when needed. We really enjoyed the beautiful sunset behind Picacho Peak. Will definitely will make this an annual stop. Sites are mostly pull throughs which we appreciate with a bigger rig and the managers were both professional and friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$27
Paved roads and gravel sites. All services excellent. Staff friendly. Probably very hot in the summer. Dog park OK. No newspaper. Great overnight stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
We have stayed at this nice park before. The roads are paved, with gravel sites and a cement pad at every site. We were able to use our Escapees discount, for a rate of $25.50. The office was closed when we arrived after 1:00 pm, so we had to self-check in. We would rate this park higher if the layout of the pull-through sites wasn't straight on, making it more difficult to pull in. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$27
What a pleasant facility. An overnight stay enroute between cities, we thoroughly enjoyed the site. Services provided were excellent. Adjacent amenities (pool, exercise room, meeting room, etc) were excellent. A number of 55+ are calling this facility their home, and it's easy to see why. We will definitely return when passing through, and may consider the purchase of a park model. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$30
Being 55+ we appreciate the age and other restrictions more than previous reviewers. We like the people and place well enough we have purchased a park model and are making this place our permanent home. If you're looking for perfect, you'll never find it -- but for the price you would have trouble finding a better deal and nicer people. Beautiful park very close. Rural setting, but close enough to the city and any kind of shopping you could want. Train and highway nearby, but noise is not overwhelming and is hardly noticeable at night. For the senior, there is something for everyone here. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2011
$40
This place is absolutely awful! Loud highway and train noise is only outdone by the rude and mean staff! We had to have a place for the night and they said that we could stay but for only one night. Apparently it is due to the 55 rule. I am going to open a 55 and under park in Arizona and if any of these miserable people show up they will not be let in! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2011
$30
When calling about this park, they were VERY specific about our ages. It's a 55+ park, and only 1 of us qualifies. Our RV is a classic - and they don't allow older than 10 years. So we WON'T be staying here. We'll be staying in a park that appreciates a senior RVing in a well re-furbished classic that looks better than many of the modern rigs on the road today. Discrimination is alive & practiced daily here, so we'll roll on. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$27
This is a great campground all around. The site is beautiful, the staff is helpful, and pleasant. There may be "fancier" RV parks, but for the money this place has everything you need for getting away from the northern winters, or just stopping for the night. One other note - it is a 55+ park, so it may not be "family friendly"' but for us, that's one of the main attractions. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2010
$18
Nothing positive to tell about this park. It is very, very noisy. The Interstate 10 is adjacent,and a train track is next to the Interstate. The heated pool and jacuzzi were cold, the putting green is just a rug, no cable TV, and just one (Spanish) program by the air. Dog waste all around our site. The only positive are the clean restrooms. The rate is $ 15 PA plus $ 3 for electricity (we did not use our air conditioners nor our water heater). We camped here one night. We would never come here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$30
We have stayed here in a fifth wheel and stayed here in a truck camper now we stay in a park model. This is a very clean and friendly park, it is under new management this year and they seem really interested in everyone and in keeping you happy. The changes here seem to be for the positive. Have never noticed any overly loud excessive noise from the highway or the train and it seems most parks we've stayed in have been next to the highways or the train tracks or both. Would recommend this park to everyone, will be staying all season. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2010
$25
The traffic noise from I-10 was unbearable! You could not sit outside and have a conversation. The site width is restricted due to elevated concrete patios. The gate staff were rude and were interested more in attending a staff dinner than checking in a paying guest. The coup de grass for this location was a park wide power outage in the morning. The pools were warm and clean and the faculties appeared to be recently renovated and were spotless. The narrow spaces, surly staff and traffic noise put this location on the Do Not Camp list. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
January 2010
$20
We paid for 4 nights but had to leave after 3. The noise was unbearable for us. The train ran all night and there must have been a crossing nearby because it's horn was heard far and wide! The highway is visible and you can hear an on-going drone, but it wasn't terrible. We went and asked for a night to be refunded but they declined. They said no one had ever complained about the noise before. I find this hard to believe. On the positive side it is beautiful and the hiking is great. I would never ever stay here again. Hike yes, sleep, no! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
We are long term campers at this campground, four years, and are very happy here. We enjoy not being over run with pets and the new highway has made it very quiet. The rules are plainly printed and strictly followed. All employees are helpful and courteous. We would recommend this park to anyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
Suddenly management deccided to limit the number of pets a camper can have at this so--called resort. When we first stayed, our three small dogs were fine. On returning, only two were allowed--with no notice, and the size of the dogs made no difference (our largest is 20 pounds). It was late at night, making this very inconvenient. I'd recommend against this place for anyone, even without pets. The gate keeper was not polite about it either. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
February 2009
$30
LOOK OUT! I wanted to rent a space for one year. I was prepared to pay their annual fee, plus deposits, in advance. ($110mo. or $2,200.00 for 12mos.) But then the Park Manager decided she wanted an extra month rent at $400.00 a month. (13mos?) This seemed inappropriate to me. So, I walked away. I was willing to pay 12 months in advance! I feel this was bad management and I cannot trust people who try to take more money than I am willing to give. Happily, I found someplace else, with nicer people, to put my motorhome, for a lot less money. WE DID NOT STAY. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$30
Really liked this park. I was not too happy with the wifi. I paid for it then cut off due to to much usage. That was my only complaint. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$30
We are finishing our third winter here at Picacho Peak RV Resort. We own a park model and a fifth wheel and spend 7 months here. This park is very clean and offers alot of activities for the residents. The manager and staff are very professional and very kind. The park is always improving and the owners are always putting money back into the park.The rates are very affordable and sites are big. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$27
We have been visiting this resort on and off for over 10 years and have never found it to be less than spotlessly clean and well maintained. While it is an older park, the management and maintenance personnel do an excellent job of updating and making repairs. The office personnel always seem to be upbeat and genuinely glad to have you stay with them. We always visit during the Winter months so there are always a full calendar of activities going on. Our only complaints are about things the resort has no control over, such as the highway noise and the construction going on when we were there this year. But even that they tried to mitigate by telling us about it when we called to make our reservations. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$15
Passport America rate. Still a nice little park. Looks clean. Didn't use any facilities. Road noise and construction at the entrance. Desk staff could have been a little more help. Ask for a table and was told to get it myself. Wi-Fi worked for email but not for internet explorer?? Makes for a great stop for the night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$25
Great Park with lots of activities for it's guests. Very clean bathroom facilities, laundry, pool area etc. Great view of Picacho Peak right behind us! Staff and guests very friendly. Will definitely return! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2008
$24
Nice location with Picacho Peak in the background. Freeway close by so expect some traffic noise. WIFI wasn't working at the time. Lot of long term residents. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2008
$30
This park has a great group of employees and campers. It is clean and well run. They have many activites to join etc. The negative comments are that the water is horrible, the WiFI that you pay for is a very poor value. You are only allowed 48 mb of download in 24 hours! The road noise is constant, and even though the trains are way across the busy highway, they travel at 60 mph and come past about every half hour! There are no whistle stops, but they were working on the tracks while we were there, so they do blow the whistle to warn the workers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2007
$15
We stay here for a month or two almost every winter. The freeway does not bother us.Staff is very friendly. Bathrooms are always clean. The pool and hot tub are in good condition. They do have a problem with the water, they have a reverse osmosis machine at office complex. We love going for walks in the desert with our dog.We find it very peaceful, other than the freeway.Oh yes, there is an Ostrich Farm next door. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2007
$25
My husband and I stayed here from Oct. 2006 until Feb. 2007. It is clean and well-cared for with level pea gravel sites, each with a concrete patio and a table. Streets are blacktop. The view of the peak is lovely, as are the various types of cacti growing in landscaped areas. Finches and hummingbirds have been here all winter. The "cons" might be a lack of religious services in the park and the absence of personal interest in the residents on the part of management. (Management showed no interest when two ambulances came to a site late at night. They did not know--or seem to care--what had happened to the resident.) Also, while there are many activities scheduled, participation lags. Crafts activities are not planned in advance, but posted on a board a day or two before the activity. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2006
$23
Where do I start? Upon check-in was informed that the water is no longer drinkable nor to be used in cooking??? This park is beginning to show its age and in need of some maintenance. Don't think there is a level site in the park. The Wi-Fi is through a pay service called RVLogon which for $6 a day is almost worthless and slower than slow! Now if that is not enough the I-10 freeway noise is totally unbearable as you might as well park on the shoulder of the freeway, you are that close. Anybody that thinks this park is a 10 must be deaf! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2006
$25
Great park with spectacular views of (and easy access to hiking in) Picacho Peak. Had a really nice, very wide, pull-through site that afforded us a daily view of the peak right out our windshield. The staff were very helpful and friendly, the park was very clean and neat, and we truly enjoyed our stay. The only item to knock them for is being a bit close to Interstate 10. You can hear the highway, but it was not overly loud. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2006
$10
First impressions might be negative but this is a great park. The only negative is the traffic and airplane/helo noise. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2004
$20
This is a lovely park with a nice rec area, pool, computer modem hookups, pleasant managers, etc. in a beautiful area. It has everything one could want and the price is right. Why the low rating? Because of noise from I-10. We were given a site that backed up to the freeway and we did not sleep a wink as semis and traffic zoomed by all night long. Our RV literally shook and vibrated from the racket. We left the next morning. If you stay here, be sure to ask for a site in the back. We won't return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$22
This is a very interesting park, considering it is next to Picacho Peak (a national monument) and approximately half way between Tucson and Phoenix, and only a short distance to Casa Grande and the old Casa Grande ruins. We stay there every chance we get. Hospitable managers as well as lots of activities during the winter months. Intend to visit this year as well (2004). We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2002
$15
Very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2001
$22
What a lovely RV park! It is billed as a resort and it really is. We stopped there in November of 2001. Had no prior knowledge of the park, just needed to stop somewhere for the night. I'm sure it is a haven for snowbirds, but they hadn't arrived yet when we were there. The pool and hot tub area was immaculate. The food in the dining hall was absolutely outstanding. Their chef, Elesa (probably spelled her name wrong) would be worth following across the country. I want to go back there for the winter months. There is a lovely huge peak behind the park, makes the area more interesting. We thought it was a great park and plan to return. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com