206564 User submitted reviews online!!
Tip Tam Camping Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 31 user reviews. Phone: (732) 363-4036
CGID1826

Tip Tam Camping Resort

Camp Information
Sites
200
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$59



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   5   10   8   7   9   8   10   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$59
This is a good park, for the area. It is hard to find a decent park in the area (resort style). My main con here is the price and some things connected to the price ($59). I was pretty much forced by management to pay for 50 amp even though I have 30 amp, he said because I am using both ACs. I tried to explain that many RVs use 30 amp and run both ACs. Finally, I realized I was beating my head against a wall. Also, after you pay your high price, if you want to do laundry it is 2 bucks a pop, I feel this is high. The showers are pay showers. The bathroom area is tight with no AC, not that big a deal, but lets the bugs in since door always open. I also extended one more day to make it a full week and was not given the weekly rate. Also, there are many junky old rundown moldy trailers in here. I don't mind full timers at all, I almost am one, but wow, keep things in a semi state of clean/repair. The pros, #1 Big Sites! Nice Shade. Pretty clean. Better than average WIFI, but not great. We had a tent set up for the kids, so they let you do that, nice. Good pool area, would be nice if they had a hot tub for the price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$59
We have no idea how this campground got so many great reviews. Pros – woman in office is very, very nice. Now the cons – sites are tight – yes, they are wide, but not deep. Roads are tough to maneuver with a big rig as well. Sites are dirt, not grass. Sites are incredibly close together – so close that we are 5-feet from five different rigs – can’t believe this passes fire code. Lots of seasonals and their sites illustrate such. Lots of people very loud late into the evening – quiet hours do not start until 10:45. HUGE piles of bagged garbage in and around dumpsters that have not moved in days. Lots of rules – i.e. – no use of personal washers and dryers. Our favorite (note sarcasm) – dogs cannot be walked off ones site. What? Yes, that’s right. You can walk your dog in your dirt site, but not on any road. The owner offered that we can drive the ½ mile to her house, park, and walk the dog there, but seriously – we can’t even walk out the gate!?! When we asked why, we were told that there were too many “dog issues” and this is what her insurance company said to do. She wants to still be considered “dog friendly” since so many people travel with dogs, therefore they technically allow dogs, but you just can’t walk them in the campground. So basically, it’s a financial decision, as she’d have to turn away too many people who travel with their dogs. In three years of fulltiming, this is one of the few campgrounds that we would not stay in again – even if it wasn’t for their bizarre dog policy. Finally, a very “trailer park” feel, not campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$18
The owners are very friendly and go out of their way to help make you feel welcome. The park is a quiet, family friendly campground close to lots of attractions. It is clean and well kept and I will definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$54
We just bought our first trailer and decided on this campground because of its close proximity to our home. Staff was friendly. Clean restrooms. Thankfully, our neighbor was very helpful in helping us back in to our site. I still need much practice in this area. I mentioned that this was our first trip to the office staff and thought they’d send out a staff member to help with that, so this was a bit disappointing. The Wi-Fi was not bad, but couldn’t connect every time I tried. Cable TV only had 11 channels. Enjoyed a couple of the activities they hosted. Did not use the pool, but it appeared to be crystal clear. Site was level, with plenty of space. Campground is well maintained. Had a great time and will return here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$54
First time visiting this campground. Staff was very friendly at first arrival, and the campground and facilities were very clean and organized. The site itself was a nice size and clean as well. Easy in and out with our 34' TT. We had a lot of rain this weekend and the rivers flowing through the campsites were pretty big and deep, however, they did drain out pretty good after the storms passed. My issue was the number of seasonal campers who thought of themselves as mightier than the transients. They felt it was okay to complain about our radio at 10:15 when quiet hours didn't start until 10:45, yet their dog was barking, yelping and running all over the place. The campground staff was also very one-sided in this regard. Our radio wasn't too loud, and others around us were fine with the volume. So I am just chalking this up to the individual who seemed to be really tight with the staff. Since the heavy rain fell all day, we couldn't enjoy the facilities as we would have normally done. The campground just opened and RC Track, however, they don't tell you electric cars only. Just an FYI. We will considering camping here again, but hopefully another site will be available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
This campground offered great amenities and activities; we enjoyed the dance with Santa a lot. A lot of seasonals that really seem to love their campsites. Nice wide sites, good location. The bathrooms could have been a bit better--lots of bugs and the showers didn't look great. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$54
One of my lower ratings; however, I do like the campground. The site I stayed on was roomy. Hoxie was the name of the site and a corner spot. What I didn't like about the campground was the lack of grass. The sites were very sandy but they were level. I received very little assistance in getting into my site. I had to ask for help because another motor home was hooked up to my electric / cable / water and sewer. I actually lucked out when they allowed me to move over to the corner site. I plan on going back, so don't think of this review as a reason to stay away. If you have children, I believe they will enjoy it. I saw many children seemingly having a good time. I brought my dog; however, you are not allowed to walk him off your site. This was a major inconvenience. Other than that, check this campground out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$50
Spent another weekend here, it was great. Place is spotless and staff is fun. Lots for the kids to do and they now have an R/C track. Boy those cars can fly. Took another family with us as Tip Tam is always a great way to introduce newbies to camping in NJ. Great fun, we will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$45
Very clean and friendly. There are many activities for children. Access to campground is an electronically controlled gate, if you want to go in/out, it is a $20 deposit for a key card. The area I stayed in had very large spots, about 30ft on each side of me. Wi-Fi access throughout the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$47
We just camped here and it was good; nothing to write home about but nothing terrible either. Others mentioned the dog policy. We brought our Shi tzu and he was on a lead at our site. There were two small dogs his size across the way and they were constantly off their leads and barking ALL THE TIME. The staff did tell them they needed to keep them on their site. There was some confusion amongst the staff as to what the boundaries of the site were, and staff parked us pinned between trees 30 feet from our hook ups. I finally went to the office for a new spot and a lovely woman came out and clarified the situation, and we were happy with the big site we had. We were at a large pull through site that was great we had a lot of space. Nothing negative to say, just a little pricey for us to be so close to home. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$89
After having to change my reservation from my own personal camper to a rental, I was very pleased. The staff was very friendly and helpful. My rental was clean and in nice condition. I saw a lot of other bad reviews on trip advisor. I don't know why. My experience here was pleasant. We stayed up past 10 on a Friday night: no one told us to put out our fire or to be quiet. But we were not a bunch of loud people. I would recommend this campground. My friends stayed in their own camper and had no bad experiences either. I had a nice 3 day weekend here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$47
Stayed here again for a short weekend trip to begin the season. A great place to let the kids ride bikes and be safe. Lots of activities the kids love and the staff is great! The one thing I noticed about this campground is how clean it is. Not a candy wrapper blowing in the wind as I see staff always picking up trash if the see it. Nice place, will be back next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2011
$52
A rate this a 5 because it is middle of the road. The rate we'd pay in May 2011 for full hook up is accurate at 52 per night. We chose to NOT stay here because of the pet policy this campground maintains. After reading a 2007 reviewer's experience of being told "NO DOGS can be off your campsite", I emailed to the campground to see if this was a misunderstanding. I received a reply in less than 24 hours stating, "yes this is true we allow dogs on your site but not around the park thank you." I know RVPR doesn't list "PET FRIENDLY", but lists only "pets allowed". Tip Tam allows pets, and if you have a small dog their restriction may be ok for you, I have two large dogs which need walking twice a day minimum; so we're not going to be visiting Tip Tam. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$50
Nothing but fun here. Nice family run campground! We stayed here with some friends who just bought a popup, their maiden voyage was right in our town. Pool and activities were lots of fun for the kids. Owners/staff are friendly and they check in to make sure there are no problems. We also liked the fact that everyone driving, crawls slowly as there are many kids on bikes. Felt very safe with the kids having a long "leash". Can't miss with this campground, give them a chance. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$40
This CG continues to meet our expectations. We come here several times a year and are beginning to be thought of as seasonals!! My kids love all the activities offered and always bring a friend. All the sites are well shaded and roomy. We are given sites as requested, near the back of the CG. You can hear the Sat. night DJ throughout the park, but the music will stop promptly at 10PM. There are two pools that are lifeguard protected. No golf carts allowed except by the owners. Owners are friendly and come check to make sure the site is okay. We will continue to return here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$35
This was a well maintained campground; however, it was an older campground. We stayed during the week; so I can't comment on the activities provided. It is in an excellent location for traveling to and from Six Flags Great Adventure. It is about 30 minutes from PT Pleasant Beach. The staff was friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2009
$48
This is a good place for a few days. The interior roads are all dirt. The pools were very well maintained and they have a lifeguard on duty. Very quiet at night. Lots of tent camping and seasonals, but all in all ok. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$51
We have stayed here three times this year starting Memorial Day Weekend. Our sites were all large enough with two being quite nice. We don't use much in the way of facilities on weekend trips, but my daughter loves the pool. They do have activities every weekend, candy bar bingo, flea markets, dances and the like. Free wi-fi is a real plus for me. We will return here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$5
The campsite that we were in was quite large and nicely shaded. There are a great deal of seasonals, but most of them are very friendly. We have been here several times,and my children have made some friends here. We did not get the site we requested, but I asked for a site further away from the activities because I have a young child, they were very accommodating. The quiet hour is strictly enforced, although the DJ plays until 10 PM. Quiet hours start at 11. There are plenty of activities for my kids to do and they usually attend all of them. We like to return here, especially on the holiday weekends as it is close by for us. Bathrooms and showers are kept clean, but I STILL have to pay a quarter to take a shower. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$28
The staff was very friendly. The bathrooms were clean for a campground. There were a lot of activities for the kids. The only downfall was that the sites for the pop-up sites (electric, cable and water) were very close together and not shaded (partially due because the leaves haven't come on the trees yet). Overall experience was good! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$40
We liked this park for the most part. Sites were level and well maintained. We went here in the pre-season and the owners were great. They did activities with the kids even though there were not many there. We went back in season and they were not the same. I suppose they were busier but sometimes they would just ignore you. Pool hours close at lunchtime (prime sun time) and the pool was way overcrowded. I would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$46
We have returned to this CG several times. The sites are small and close together but there are a lot of activities for the kids. Two playgrounds and two pools. My kids are busy all day! Showers are the only ones where I still need a quarter. Also, the showers have no curtains between shower and dressing area and no bench to sit on. And, I had to wait for the water to heat up. The owners are friendly and the seasonals are, for the most part, polite. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$46
We spent three nights here. This is a nice, well kept and clean campground. Lots of sports opportunities and one of the best playgrounds for kids we've seen. Internet access (Wi-Fi)was good, with an occasional signal dropout. The campground seemed to be mostly seasonal and looks as if they've been there for years. Many had very nicely decorated sites. Camp store is small. The bad: If you do not have your own restrooms and want to use the campgrounds, be advised they only have one. Three showers stalls for an entire CG may be on the short supply side. We were in the back and it was quiet...the sites up front may be subject to road noise. Yes, we'd go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$60
Nice family place, but lots of mosquitoes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$44
We camped Memorial Day Weekend. It was a last minute change of plans since gas is $4/gallon and we couldn't afford to go to VA Beach. We were pleasantly surprised. Our family loved this campground and we are going back in August. Although the sites are right on top of each other, everyone was friendly. Make sure you have an extension cord and a long hose because the hook-ups are far. Bring quarters for the showers. Even though there was only 1 bathroom they were clean and not crowded since most people have trailers. The DJ was great and the location was convenient to six flags and the beaches. The mini-golf was only $1. The staff was always accommodating. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2008
$44
A large group of us went to Tip Tam for Mother's Day weekend. We have been camping as a group for several years and have been to numerous places. Well, we were very dissatisfied with Tip Tam. We rented 7 campsites, 2 cabins and 6 RV rentals. We had about 50 people, 21 were smaller children. We went to Tip Tam because of the website info. It seemed like a fun place. However, management was very unfriendly. They kept complaining about us being too noisy while we sat around our campfires talking amongst ourselves. (and before quiet time). They advertise pedal carts with a picture yet they had only one. Bring plenty of change for the showers, you'll need them just to wait for the hot water. Cabins are not heated (and it got cold at night), I don't think that's too comfortable. Very close to the road. We did have fun because of our group of friends but it would have been better at a nicer place. If you want to camp at a place that you can't talk, can't play music (at a normal volume) and have no activities, this is your campground. But if you want to have fun, go somewhere else. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$45
We had a real nice site at the end of a row, which had more room to "stretch" out in. The draw back was the sewer hook up was too far away and we couldn't back up the trailer any further because there was a tree in the way. Other than that, the pools were nice, the people were friendly and the campground clean. We will definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2007
$35
I camped here because it was close to a car "swap" meet in Englishtown and close to Great Adventure. They supposedly are a pet friendly campground but when we checked in they said that pets aren't allowed in the park. I took this as any public area which is understandable. When I had my dog on his leash right outside of my site the woman from the office rushed up to me in a golf cart and rudely said "I told you NO DOGS can be off your campsite." Apparently the whole campground to them is considered a "park." If it wasn't for it being Saturday already I would have packed up and left. The rest of the time this woman kept watching us no matter what we did. Be sure I have been telling everyone that I know this campground is not pet friendly as they advertise. Most people I know take their pets and appreciate the info. I will never go to this "park" again. One other thing is the sewer connection was so far away that even with a 20' hose it didn't reach without holding it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$43
This is a great place to camp with kids! There are planned activities all day long every day. Sites are on the small side, and not much privacy between sites but that is just a small set back with all the activites the place has to offer for kids. The store was not well stocked, but local stores were just a hop skip and a jump away and had better prices. Sites are a sandy dirt so a grass mat is a must! Really enjoyed our stay there We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2005
$40
We camped here because we thought both of our boys were going to bring friends and they allow tents. The CG is basic. Site we had was Lilac and it was a good size and fairly easy to get into. Negative was that we could not reach the sewer connection because of placement. The store was stocked well, good activities on Sat & Sunday with a band and DJ. The owners were very nice. The big negative that dropped the score on this CG is that there is only 1 bath house for the entire CG. 3 showers and very tight stalls for you know what. If not for this, we would have rated it an 8. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2004
$45
This campground would have been fine if it hadn't been so expensive and called itself a resort. We camped here with four of our grandkids. The pools are nice and clean with a lifeguard, but they have tiny activity center combined with the store and no place for the kids to go if it's raining. There is no parking anywhere in the park. Not the store, pool, laundry. There were no activities at all although they did have a clown party on Saturday night which the kids liked. We picked this campground specifically because we thought if would have stuff to do if it rained. Okay campground but not a resort. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com