206790 User submitted reviews online!!
Lordsburg KOA was rated 6 out of 10 based on 78 user reviews. Phone: (575) 542-8003
CGID1889

Lordsburg KOA

Camp Information
Sites
63
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   6   5   7   6   4   9   8   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$30
I like KOA while on the road because they are easy to find. Level sites, long pull-through, and a restaurant. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$43
Long pull through sites on gravel. The manager was very helpful and easy to work with. Cable worked well as did their Wifi which is free. Not much to do in the area, but a good place to stop for one night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2014
$38
Made two attempts to make reservations before finally getting through to a person that would take down the information. When checking in at the campground, there was no record of a reservation. Owner at desk said that the person who I spoke with is incompetent. Campground was messy and very old. Showers and toilet rooms are kept locked and were not open during the indicated open hours. Not a very good value for camping. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
Imagine walking into the office to register, and the clerk (manager?) is so sound asleep that you have to say "Hello" twice to wake him. He said, "Sorry, I am bored"! Not a good first impression. I wanted to use the pool; he needed to unlock it (had forgotten). Otherwise, it seemed "OK" but the neighborhood seems rundown and shady. I wouldn't stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$33
Lordsburg is a bleak, former railroad town "in the middle of nowhere" but often a logical place for a night's stop. This KOA worked for us. It seems minimal, and the landscape certainly is, but this is harsh country for growing a lush garden. There is little shade ,but the trees are doing the best they can. The staff was very friendly, the grounds well-maintained, the bathrooms clean and well supplied. All the usual KOA amenities are here from tent sites to cabins; it just isn't the place to plan to spend any length of time unless you really, really love the desert. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2013
$25
We stopped here one night while on the road. Quick check in, front desk clerk was very business like and impersonal with the customer ahead of us. We started chatting when it was our turn an he became quite friendly and informative about the area. Sites were basic, level, and spacious. Utilities worked well and the campground was quiet in spite of our closeness to the highway. Would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2013
$35
We were just passing through late afternoon so we wanted to stop for one night. The man at the front desk was not friendly. I didn't have our KOA card so he became irritated that he would have to look up our name. Most places just do that automatically. I should have just turned around then. When my husband came in at the tale end of registration we were given a list of what could run on 30 amp - no real explanation. We said thank you and walked out. We know what can run on 30 amps and everything was fine that late afternoon running even with one air running, etc. In the morning I got up early and there was no power. I had noticed that my computer had charged over night but no power for coffee. After a while it all came on so I proceeded to make coffee and might have had one light on and then it all went out. We wanted to be on the road early and the office was not open to tell him the problem. On the road my husband wanted to call to tell him the power was off and when my husband started to tell him the story he started in yelling at him for overloading the system. My husband could not get a word in so finally hung up. They need new power boxes desperately as it goes in and out of power. Wit out our regulator I would be very afraid to plug into it at all. Do your self a favor and plan to stay anywhere but here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$30
Great park. Very clean. Nice gravel/rock roads and sites. Nice laundry. 2 dog parks, very clean. Kranberry's restaurant, which is very close, was wonderful. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$38
Was a bit concerned about what the campground would be like as we drove through the surrounding neighborhood but were pleasantly surprised once we saw the campground. Neat, spacious spots and very clean and orderly. Crushed stone throughout the park. Yes, the desk clerk could be a bit more gracious but all other aspects of the stay were very good. All utilities worked, good Wi-Fi, cable TV. Will stay again if we are in need of an overnight spot as we pass through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
February 2013
$35
Small park and sites not clean. Man at front desk was rude and expressed disdain when we did not speak Spanish. Would never stay here again. Place is NOT up to KOA standards. Would be worth the extra hour to drive to the next town. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2013
$40
$40 for all sand/gravel, uneven, unlevel sites, PLUS Mr. Personality in the office? How can you go wrong? This is a way point from somewhere to somewhere else, a place to stay one night. It has everything required and all mine worked. I thought it strange that no one was in the office (it was closed until 2pm) at 1:30, but perhaps there is only Mr. Personality to run the place. I've stayed at worse places so no MAJOR complaints. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$38
I have no complaints. Stayed here overnight. Gravel roads and lot with some small trees. The bathrooms and showers were clean, plenty of channels on CATV. Internet too. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2012
$27
Exceptionally clean; all gravel, not the usual KOA dirt roads. Spacious sites, great view of distant mountains and sky. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2012
$34
WORST EXPERIENCE EVER! WARNING: If you have reward points you wish to redeem, forget it. Check-in clerk was beyond rude and would not listen to instructions from me on how to redeem our rewards (I am a former KOA Workamper). He didn't know how and wasn't going to learn. KOA Corporate Office was closed when I asked him to call for help. He slammed the phone down in front of me and told me: "They no there, you leave message." I took the phone and the recording was asking for his franchisee number, I handed the phone back to him and told him that, but he started putting inventory away in the cooler, and began ranting, not letting me speak further. As far as the campground is concerned, it is located in a questionable area and is basically a gravel parking lot with hook-ups. We had asked for 50 amp, but got 30 amp. Dogs barking and some eerie fog-horn like sound all night pretty much guaranteed a poor night's sleep. We were not given instructions on how to find our site, or even our site number (found it on our receipt). Due to other past bad experiences at KOAs, with this one taking the cake, we will no longer stay at them again. I would suggest driving an extra two hours to avoid this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$34
Basically a gravel parking lot with no trees. That being said the laundry was fine and we needed that. The pool looked nice but we did not use it. It is fine for an overnight but not much more. Adequate is a word that comes to mind. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
Our truck broke down just outside of Lordsburg. We didn't even know this place existed. We have always just driven through. We found a mechanic in town who referred us to the KOA. The park itself is nothing spectacular to look at and the area around it is questionable, but the man at the front desk was very kind and extremely helpful. They have a pool and laundry room. The parks looks like a dirt lot with hook-ups. There are a few trees dotted throughout. They have a big clubhouse and play area for kids. Not a destination KOA, but sufficient for an overnight or two. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2012
$42
For KOA parks, this falls into the "basic" category. It would serve only as a overnight stop RV park and does not live up to the Kamper experience that is the hallmark of the KOA. The staff person was a bit curt when we checked in and didn't tell us that the pool was closed. That would have been nice to know since it was 98 degrees and we were all ready to cool off. I think I would stay here again if we were in a bind, but I do think I would drive another hour or so to the next RV park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2012
$33
The park is functional...water, electric and internet work. Many (most?) pull throughs are a bit on the short side...even my modest 24' RV + Toad was a squeeze. The neighborhood seems a bit sketchy but I didn't get robbed. My real complaint -- and this is directed toward KOA as much as this campground -- is the KOA certificate redemption system, or lack thereof. I have been a Value Kard Rewards member for 3 years ($24 annual)...ever since I spent 100 days at the Flagstaff KOA while working a short term job there. I was not able to redeem any rewards while I stayed there but did accumulate about $100 in "rewards" (100 days averages to $1 of rewards per day -- whoop-de-do!). This summer, after renewing my membership twice (another $48 invested), I was determined to redeem my $100 in "rewards". My first attempt to redeem a certificate (at a Texas KOA) was met with some confusion but was ultimately resolved (apparently very few customers earn enough rewards to redeem). My second attempt, at the Lordsburg KOA, was an exercise in futility. The clerk was a complete fool -- he did not understand the concept of an "electronic" certificate despite my long an patient instruction. The KOA "help line" was closed by the time I checked in (just 8pm MDT), so I spoke with KOA in the morning in order to straighten out the matter. After a long explanation (one in which I had to convince the operator that the problem was no fault of my own, and one in which the operator repeated the exact same instructions in which I had given the clerk), the operator agreed to call the campground staff and help resolve the matter. Lo and behold, the campground staff had an all-day doctor's appointment so the office was closed. The KOA operator reimbursed my points (whoop-de-do again)...and now I'm looking for another opportunity to redeem these overpriced rewards sometime later this summer. See you next year, Good Sam. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$23
Nice place to stop over night. The manager was very informed and helpful, and changed us to a spot that allowed us to keep our toad connected. The restrooms were clean. Although there were previous complaints about dogs and trains, we experienced none of those. Not a vacation spot but a decent overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2012
$38
Trains going by all night, dogs barking at all times of the day and night. Office run by folks who don't know how to work the computer, driving through what feels like the 3rd world to get to this park then this is the place for you. We stayed here for one night in our motorhome and hope this review will keep you from making the same mistake. We have yet to fix the mess with the LOA main office, so stay far away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$34
This is a typical KOA no frills park with level gravel sites and long pullthroughs. We found the management to be friendly and accommodating. Due to rainy weather we left a day early and the park refunded the fee for that day. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$37
Sites were long and wide enough for three slides. Did not have neighbors on either side so hard to get perspective of width. Roads and sites were gravel and fairly level. There were two "camp dogs" that roamed all over the CG. The little Chihuahua even had access to the office. Totally against parks rules; the dogs belonged to the owner/manager. Park was quiet; train and interstate noise barely noticeable. Having propane on site was handy. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2012
$35
Typical desert type of park. Office was closed when we arrived but owner was nearby and checked us in. Hook ups were fine, internet was fast and free. No road noise, some train noise. Only stayed one night, would stay here again. Rate reflects W & E with KOA discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2012
$36
A good overnight stop. Sites are gravel and pretty level. Mr. Grumpy checks you in; he is in need of of some customer service training. I received a whole dollar discount for paying in cash. At $36.00 that is 3%, what a deal. The 10 or so sites along the back of the park are the only sites that are long enough to accommodate any rig 36' with a tow. I observed no less than three people having to return to the office because they were too long for the assigned site. I am 34 with a tow and barely fit in my site. The free Wi-Fi and cable TV were very good. There are several extra fees, like electricity, RV dump. Be aware there is train noise. I would select Deming for any time I traveled this route again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$34
Nice park, great for an overnight stay, but a little convoluted to get to once you leave the interstate. Follow the signs and no problem, follow your GPS and you'll get lost! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2011
$38
I stayed here for 1 day. Campground elevation is 4,316 feet. Maneuvering my 40 footer towing a dinghy in the park was no problem. Roads, sites and patio are gravel. Pull through sites hold a 40 foot motorhome towing. My site 12 offered 30/50 amp service & full hookups. Wi-Fi and cable were included in the daily rate. I was able to receive AT&T Wireless 3G Internet & Cellular service. I received Dish Network 110/119 Satellite TV from dish on roof of motorhome. Campground is pet friendly. Walmart is 47 miles away and a grocery is 1 mile away. I am unable to comment on other amenities due to not using them. This is a nice KOA for an overnight stay. The roadways are wide as are the sites. It is surprisingly quiet despite being fairly close to I-10. I have stayed here 4 times now and will continue to stay here when passing through this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2011
$32
Very nice KOA, suitable for overnight stays as you are passing thru on I-10. Pets required to be on a leash, except for the large German Shepherd and the yapping little ankle biter who belong to extended stay units. The sites are large, given this is a KOA. All gravel, all pull-through sites. Wi-Fi is strong. We are here one night only and it is perfect for us. We would use this park again as we are coming or going. Freeway is close, but there is no discernible noise. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2011
$33
We pulled into Lordsburg KOA for an overnight stay. Our site was on the end of a row with a road running right next to us. Other than that the park was clean, quiet and convenient. We have stayed there before and if traveling along the I-10 in that area we will probably stay there again. Our site was reserved and we left early the next morning and we did not meet the office staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2011
$38
The owner is very rude, his wife and employees are real nice. But this guy is something else, he talks down to his customers. I don't tolerate his behavior and I tell him so. I'm here for a couple of months. The park is very quiet, but he won't allow visitors after 10 o'clock. I don't like that, as long as we are quiet, I should have visitors. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2011
$38
This park is Ok for an overnight stay. The sites are small. Overall, the park could use some updating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
January 2011
$36
This is a typical KOA. Dusty dirt roads and overpriced, with little or no shade, although they advertise mostly shady sites. Managers do not enforce rules. I complained about a truck speeding through the park going over 20 mph and kicking up dust. I was told that they could not control the speed people drive through the park. I was then told that if it bothers you, you can leave. The dog that roams the park unleashed belongs to the managers. We were provided with codes for the restrooms and laundry. The mens restroom has no keypad, the space has duct tape where the keypad was. Although I could not find another park in Lordsburg on the internet, there are three other parks that charge $20 per night on the old highway through town. We would not recommend this park to anyone and would not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2010
$26
This park was fine for an overnight stay. It seemed as though everyone decided to stop at the same time because there were 5 or so RVs lined up to check in when we finished, but there was only one person checking in. She was thorough and did not get in a rush with anyone, or get flustered. The park was clean, and the showers were hot and clean. Our only concern was a large tree that grew over the pad and scraped the top of our camper. The management needs to be more aware of this type of hazard. Couldn't tell them because she stayed busy and they were not open when we left the next morning. This place also catches high winds and we are on the leading edge, so we were the block for the other campers. Watch for this when camping. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2010
$35
This is a good place to stay for a night. The surrounding neighborhood is a bit run down, but not troubling. The campsite was small, but since the place was not busy it didn't matter that we hung over the back end of the pull through. There is no landscaping to speak off, so there is no "charm" to the place. Easy access from I-10. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
December 2010
$32
We arrived here about 2:30 in a snow storm, having spent last night at a wonderful KOA in Van Horn, TX, that served a scrumptious dinner, was well staffed with trained and helpful people who obviously liked their jobs. We were looking forward to a continuation of our proven campsite-picking skills. Our trip started in Michigan, taking us through Indiana: where we stayed at a Flying J truck stop, using our generator to heat a less-than-20-degree outside temp to a comfortable 70 degrees. Oklahoma with an equal experience, and then the two nights in Texas at KOA's. All of these nights were wonderful (we were headed into the sunshine). Then came this place. The staff was obviously frazzled and stressed. It took forever to check in. There were a number of travelers both ahead and behind us, and there were ample sites available. We later discovered that was so because many had simply left. About two minutes after having activated shore power, the power abandoned us. When I went to the office to report the problem, I found myself in a debate with the manager about who was at fault. All I'd wanted to do was report the problem, so he'd be aware and know to repair it. But no, the manager was adamant that I'd overloaded the circuit. When a fellow camper came to my rescue by pointing out that he'd also tried our site with similar result, the manager acquiesced, and put a meter on the circuit, only to find it worked: but, without a load, he'd not tripped the circuit. He left in a huff, the problem unresolved. We decided that we'd stay, rather than brave the foul weather into Tucson. The problem still unresolved: we would use our generator for electric power. Stay here again? Not going to happen. As much as I hate to wish business failure on anyone, especially in this economy, this guy just doesn't get that customer service is what makes for business survival. In your shoes, I'd find another place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2010
$32
This park is fine for a short stay. The sites are gravel, level and roomy enough. The Wi-fi and all hookups worked just fine. The surrounding neighborhood is a bit run down, but nothing that looks dangerous. Very close to the interstate so there was road noise, and every so often train noise, too. There is not much to see in the area so it serves as a good overnight on the way to somewhere else. We would stop here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
Late checkin. We just needed a place to stop for the night. Bathrooms were clean. The only problem was since we arrived so late we did not have the code to get in, so we had to wait until the next morning to use them. Sites are easy to use and hook up. Would recommend for a short stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
Park is good for over-night stop. Desk staff was not the friendliest. Had a problem in the laundry and they did not seem to care. Lots are long and level for 50 amp. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$41
The neighborhood is a bit rundown, but not a ghetto. The sites are level, but the pull-through sites are too short. We had to disconnect, which defeats the main advantage of a one-night, pull-through stop. The pool was nice and clean, but only 2-4 foot deep, which makes it a kiddie wading pool. I wish more pools were at least 6 feet deep. Also, it was only open from 3-8pm, which is strange. It's OK for a one night stop, but we'll try somewhere else so we can stay hooked-up. The rate reflects a premium for 2 kids and 2 small dogs. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$36
Our rate reflects an additional charge for traveling with our dog. This park worked as an overnight stop, but it isn't the nicest KOA we have stayed at. Our site was pretty level, and the sites are a decent width with picnic tables. The biggest problem we had was a very bright light shining right outside our RV, which made sleeping difficult. We eventually covered the overhead vent in our bedroom area with a piece of cardboard to block the light that was shining in. They advertise a serene mountain view, but there really isn't much of one. It seems like a run-down area. The people were friendly, though. We'd stay there again if we had to, but will probably check into other options first. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
Another KOA with kamper kitchen and electric and water on site. We actually stayed only 1 night but will return. The sites were level and very clean. The on site security kept the noise from getting to much. On our return trip we flew so we didn't get to stay here again. Clean, clean, clean. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2010
$32
This is a great stop on the way somewhere else, which is what we did for one night. The sites are reasonably level and the pull throughs are plenty long enough for my 35 foot MH with toad on a dolly. The Wi-Fi is especially strong and fast and the manager is very knowledgeable and friendly. I only gave it a 6 because it is not fancy and the roads & sites are dirt/gravel but take it for what it is, a one nighter on the way down the road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2010
$30
Access was well marked and easy to follow, just off I-10. Although you go through a few blocks that look a little shaky, the campground felt secure. We arrived early and the office was closed so we picked our own site. The sites are spacious and level. The printer malfunctioned at check-in but the attendant had our receipt out to us in no time. This is definitely just an overnighter campground along the interstate. There is not much going on in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2010
$38
The staff / owner was a very rude person and not helpful at all. This park is like a parking lot. Okay for a quick stay-over but expensive for a quick nights sleep. Would not stay here again. KOA parks are usually okay. Not this one. The way I was treated at the desk was uncalled for. Treated me like I was bothering him by staying at this park. If it wasn't late and we weren't so tired from traveling, I would have left and gone somewhere else. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$32
It is pretty easy to get to the campground, just off I-10. Actually felt as if I was driving through a Mexican shanty town to get into the KOA. Once into the campground all was secure. The guy at the desk was pleasant enough but acted a little strange. He gave me a pull through (which I needed because I was towing a car). The lot was just long enough. I barely had enough sewer hose to reach the sewer connection had to use an extra 10 ft of water hose as well. I can't understand why some campgrounds have their utilities so spread out from each other. The sites were dirt and gravel. The cable TV worked great as well as the WIFI. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2010
$32
We were given a site that was too short for our rig towing a car: despite the fact that the place was almost vacant and he saw the length of our rig. Entrance is through a very bad area, but the campground felt okay safety-wise. Guy at the desk was less than pleasant with both the lady ahead of me and with me. Complained about how other campers overload the electrical (30amp). Pages of written rules (which he told us in no uncertain terms that we must read). Dump station water was turned off due to freezing temperatures, but water at sites was still on (strange). Cable TV to our site didn't work but Wi-Fi worked great. Okay for a night but would likely find somewhere else if we were to pass through again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2009
$31
Stopped for an overnight stay, but would not want any more time. Clean and quiet, but directions were very poor and eventually had to go through a really bad section of town to get here. Made you uncomfortable, even driving through it. Management was not overly friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2009
$35
There does not appear to be any reason to stop in Lordsburg other than to get gas and/or sleep. We have stayed at this KOA before and will again, we have found the staff pleasant and the park good and easy for an over night stop. The park is next to some run down properties and the restrooms are a little dated but were clean and functioning as did the laundry. The Wi-fi worked and so did the cable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2009
$32
Older campground. Gravel roads and pads. Very short pull-thrus. Manager was a bit sharp in his manner, didn't leave us with a friendly feeling. Good free Wi-Fi and cable. OK for an overnight stop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2009
$34
The turn on Maple St is the 1st street south of the Interstate, it can easily be missed; go to the end of Maple and turn left. The RV park is at the end. The Park is fair to poor gravel with picnic tables at the sites and medium height trees. Sites are good level wise. Check-in was friendly and efficient. Verizon air card and satellite TV worked fine. The rate is for 50 amp site. It is good for an over night stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2009
$31
I needed a place to park overnight after driving 20 MPH for 10 miles on I-10 due to a blowout. We called the KOA office and they said they would wait for us. I arrived at the office at 8:01 PM, the person showed up 10 minutes later and asked if I had been "wandering around". He also had a couple of other snide remarks during check-in. The park is run down and in a rough part of town. The rate reflects electrical only, I wouldn't stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
A nice park in southern New Mexico. Not a lot of amenities but is very clean and a great overnight spot or for a few days of sightseeing of the area. RV sites are long and you won't have to disconnect. Rates are reasonable and the staff was very friendly. We will stay here again on our journeys east. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2009
$27
Another typical KOA. Good for overnight and longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$31
Overnighted here on our way back to California. This is the only game in town. All gravel. Our site was level. Very quiet, and set back from the interstate. Nice, clean. Friendly staff person checked us in promptly. Good ovenight spot! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$35
Nice quiet stop over. In a low rent part of town, but clean. Still late winder so temperature wasn't too bad nor was the wind, but I bet it could later in the year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$30
Arrived after posted office hours and proceeded to complete night registration as office was locked. It is difficult to find your way in the dark in this campground as all of the ground cover everywhere is the same... dirt. There are markings, but evening arrivals should be warned. Manager met us at our rig and assisted as they were expecting us and 1 other. I strongly suggest the back row (6-12, 55-57) if you have a tow vehicle with you as these are longer. Wi-fi is available and strong. Remember that nights and mornings are cold any time of the year. Watch out for spurs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$33
Overnighted here. More than decent. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2009
$34
Okay for a one night stay. Staff is great. WiFi works great. Quiet and far enough away from I-10 but easy access both directions. Would only stay here as stop over. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
February 2009
$35
The worst KOA in North America, we're certain! We arrived during the owner/manager's lunch break, apparently, so the office was closed and there was no information left for us regarding our site, although we'd reserved a spot two weeks prior to arriving on Feb. 8th. It wasn't like they didn't know we'd be there that Sunday! We certainly don't begrudge him having his lunch. That's not what this review is about. Please read on. We picked out a spot (the place was practically empty), got all set up only to have this very sour-looking man (the now well-fed owner/manager) come up to us shaking his head and telling us, in no uncertain terms and quite angrily, that we'd just parked our 34-foot travel trailer in a 50-amp spot...and: it would be an extra 10 bucks to stay on this particular site! Or, we could take everything down, re-hitch the trailer to our one-ton truck and move to a 30-amp site. Yeah, right. (Merely a thought, but do you think he might've been watching us as he munched on his BLT?) Brutal customer relations, which have been passed on to KOA's head office. Do not...please...ever stay at this park. In a word? Awful. I won't go on. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2009
$34
Near the highway, but not very well signposted. I would put this near the bottom of what KOA campgrounds offer, but there are no other campgrounds in the area. Next time I would drive a further or shorter distance to stay somewhere else. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2009
$34
Entire park is gravel. Virtually no shade. Good Wi-Fi. Limited number of 50 amp sites. Hookups were poorly placed with electric at the front of the pad and sewer at the back. Long hoses and cords were mandatory with out parking in the driveway. Good cable but with limited number of channels, e.g. no CBS or FOX but satellite friendly. We found nothing in the town, other than work or relatives, to justify anything more than an overnight stop but we would definitely use it again for that We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2009
$34
Old KOA seems pretty run down. In a run down part of town. The people seemed friendly. The sites were wide and easy to get into. The dog yard is small and didn't have any grass. Would stay here again just for overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2009
$30
We stayed over night on a trip to Arizona. Lordsburg is on a main railroad line and trying to sleep is a problem. Otherwise this campground is very adequate, although not a thing of beauty. We stayed in a pull through site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2009
$34
Campground is overpriced in that internet is very slow and cable TV did not work on our site or neighbor's. Sites are gravel, almost level and spacious, no shade. Access to site was good. Laundry was satisfactory and 50-amp power is good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2008
$29
This is a good spot for staying overnight while traveling on I-10. We were on the road late and called here to book a site. The desk employee was very helpful and gave good directions since we would be arriving in the dark after the office had closed. Our check-in information and a map to our site was waiting on the office door when we arrived. We had a very large gravel pull-through that accommodated our motorhome and toad. The site was long enough that we did not have to unhook the toad, which was nice since we were just staying for the night. We appreciated the cable TV connection since our satellite receiver had just gone out. The Wi-Fi signal was strong and worked great. This is a typical KOA, but it is well maintained and quiet. We'll stay here again while overnighting on our journeys on I-10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$35
Nice spot for an overnight stay. Easy in and out, large sites & roads and convenient to freeway. Entire campground is gravel and there appears to be nothing in the area to keep you there more than one night. We would definitely stay there again on our way through New Mexico. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$35
This park is very freeway friendly. Noise is there but isn't a problem. Entire park is gravel which means it isn't necessarily pretty but it's probably easier to maintain. Spaces are generous and utilities were all in working order. Makes for a fine overnight stop. Nice, clean pool area and small playground. Surrounding area is a little run-down, but there's not that much else out here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2008
$27
We called in advance to reserve having never been to this area and were told we had to pay for the entire holiday weekend. We decided to take our chances and stay at a hotel if necessary. We arrived late & there were only about 9 occupied spots, clearly a ploy to extract more money. Shortly after we arrived a man came around & told us 3 times to pay at 8am. We tried to talk to him & he said I can’t hear you, pay at 8am & walked away. We had not done the drop box because they crossed off the spot for credit card (we payed by CC over the phone the week before). He left a note on our car saying “Do Not Drive out of this KOA until the problem has been corrected”. In my mind the “problem” is rude management & shady practices to hide funds by bringing in untracked cash. We had to stay later than we wanted to so we could pay by credit card for fear that leaving cash would result in him claiming we didn’t pay. Restrooms & showers were clean. Unfortunately this is the only viable stopping point in this area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$35
Nice clean and quiet campground! Especially a good place to relax and rest up from travels. Within a couple of miles to a Flying J for fuel. Nice area for dogs includes a fenced dog run. Plan on stopping here again We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$29
It is a OK place for a overnight stay. The cost is a little high for what you get. It was clean, but nothing to look at. Just a hundreds of feet of gravel. If not for the power hookup poles, it would be a large gravel parking lot. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2008
$29
Nothing to brag or complain about. Typical KOA. i.e. slightly overpriced. What I like about KOA's is - You usually have a good idea of what you'll get for your money. What I don't like about KOA's is - You usually have a good idea of what you'll get for your money. They're great for a couple days with the Grandchildren. But overpriced if it's just an in-n-out overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$32
Park appeared to be the nicest place in town. Area seemed very depressed. Staff was very pleasant. A great overnight stop. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$28
Personnel were very friendly and helpful. We just wanted a quick off the road spot for the night. Very clean park; well run. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2007
$28
The ad in our Trailer Life Directory claims that this is "Lordsburg's Finest", but that's not saying much since I don't think there is anywhere else to camp in Lordsburg! True to our experience with KOA campgrounds, this park was overpriced and poorly managed. We were first put in a space that was not long enough to accommodate our 32' rig and its toad without one or the other hanging out into the road. When my husband went back to the office to see about moving to a different space the manager (I use the term loosely) informed him that according to his computer our assigned space was big enough for us. Of course he couldn't be bothered to come out and actually look at the space. After some wrangling and more paperwork he allowed us to move to a different space. When I inquired about the advertised WiFi he told me that it was available only from 7:00pm to 7:00am and if I couldn't get on to bring my laptop to the laundry room! After we got settled in I went to the office to get change for the laundry room and the manager was talking on the phone to a customer. The conversation was not going well -the caller and the manager were having trouble understanding one another and after awhile the manager just hung up on the caller! "Oh, he'll call back" he said! I don't think so. I got my change and went to see what might be available in the ice-cream freezer. There was an assortment of ice-cream bars, popcicles, etc. Unfortunately, none of them could still be described as frozen. The best I can say about this park is that it was clean and relatively quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2007
$30
We stayed here for two nights because I had some business in the area. I had read previous reviews but this is one of the only RV parks in the town. I was also leery of the report of tight spaces because of our three slideout. We were checked in by an Asian (Indonesian) couple. The man was very brusque and surly and he announced that there was only one 50 amp site left. We asked to see it and the woman walked us out to the site. We did not like the site and asked if one of the long-term sites were available even though they were 30 amp but much wider. The woman was accommodating and trying to keep it all together why the man made a few more remarks and just walked off. She had trouble with the registration system so it took a while for us to get registered. Meanwhile, the line got longer and longer. The park is off from I-10 so it gets filled up with people passing through. The park is in a very dumpy part of town but the Lordsburg, overall, is a dying town, and there are not many nice areas. This is typical of many towns in NM. Being from NM, I guess we are just use to it so it is not shocking to us. There was a sign posted that free Wi-Fi was available from 8:30pm to 7:00am. I asked the lady if there was a WiFi connection for pay and she said no, it was free, but to use it during the posted hours. I thought that was strange. I tried using the Wi-Fi at 5:00pm and it worked fine. It worked throughout our whole stay and the connection was strong since our site was behind the office where the Wi-Fi thing was. The park was not that bad but I would not like to stay at one of the side-by-side sites. Most of had this configuration. I gave it a lower rating because of the unfriendly host. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2005
$29
Bare bones basic KOA, and like most, over-priced for what you get. Sites were gravel, and the park was fairly well maintained for what it was. The park has the advantage of being somewhat in the middle between Tucson and El Paso for those in transit. There are not a lot of services available in Lordsburg. If we had to do it again, we would opt to travel another 45 minutes to Deming. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2005
$32
I agree with the last reviewer, you go through a bad area to get to the campground. Sites are tight and owner also opened up to check me in late one night, then led us to the site. We wouldn't stay there again unless we were so tired we couldn't go on. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2005
$32
Stopped here late and left early in the morning. The sites were small gravelled sites that were close together. Easy to get in and out of. I had no problems with power while I was there. The biggest problem with this campground is that the area around it is not very wholesome. I felt like I was driving through the ghetto just to get there. I did not feel safe while I was here and did not sleep well. A train woke us up in the middle of the night. I gave this campground a 5 because the owner or operator opened the store up late ( I think he was out doing a security walk around) and checked us in. He was very friendly and I appreciated that given how late at night it was. I think the next time I come through here I will wait and stop in Tucson. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2003
$28
Typical gravel/dirt overpriced (for what you get) KOA. The night we were there the power went on and off at least a half dozen times. I only saw two or three "overnight" RV's come in and about 25 permanent type RV's set up in the campground. There were a lot of empty spaces (June 2003) We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com