218863 User submitted reviews online!!
Homolovi Ruins State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 47 user reviews. Phone: (520) 586-2283
CGID201

Homolovi Ruins State Park

Camp Information
Sites
52
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   7   10   9   10   8   10   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$24
Such a beauty, set in high plateau grasslands. Sites are well spread out, some have "sandboxes" to pitch tents on soft ground. Clean restrooms, showers. Water to all sites, elec to many. No hwy noise, some lights from distant operations. All paved, no dust. Near ruins, lots of trails. About an hour east of Flagstaff. Would stay here again for sure. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$20
The campground is excellent but don't miss the archeological features. Not as complete as some of the more famous ruins but lots of interesting shards that folks find and leave on a rock for others to enjoy. A tour of Homolovi II is worth the short drive. Not much shade but the trees are growing, so a few sites have enough to screen a bit of the sun. Sites are paved and mostly level. Camp host was most helpful. She came to our site to sign us in so we did not have to drive up to the visitor center. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$20
Nice State Park right off of I-40 at a good rate. No sewers but has a dump station. Back in and pull up in a side of the road asphalt sites. The pull up sites have hookups on the wrong side but you can easily reach them. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2014
$20
As others have mentioned, this park is an undiscovered gem. About 2 miles off I-40, it's quiet and uncrowded. The showers were spacious, hot, and had good water pressure. They were not coin op, like some state parks' showers. The stars are absolutely amazing in this rural park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$20
November rate is $5 less as water is frequently off due to freezing conditions. Rate is less without electric. Hidden Gem. About a mile straight north of I-40 easy access. No highway noise. Campground host lives on site. Rate is cash/check. Reservations available, but must be made more than 24 hrs before arrival. After that, first come, first serve, but CG was almost empty during our two stays. Park/level sites all fully paved. All pull-through sites have 50 amp. No sewer, but dump site available at entrance to CG. No cable TV, no Wi-Fi, but beautiful park with starry night sky and huge sites. Stayed here in October and again in November and this would be our first choice anytime we are in north eastern Arizona. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$20
What a gem! At 4,900 feet and set in 4000 acres of high desert scrub this is a very well maintained State Park. Staff were friendly and helpful at check in, and the hosts came to our site to check on us as well. Roads and sites are paved. The sites were level, and pull through, big rig access was good. Very quiet, lots of space and privacy between sites, ample space for the towed, picnic table, grill, with wonderful desert views.  Bathrooms were spotless. Pet friendly and plenty of places to walk your pet, but there are sticker burrs in the scrub, so better to stay on the paved road with your pet. No WiFi or sewer as per most State Parks. 1-40 is close by, and the town of Winslow is about 4 miles down the road, it has Safeway and Walmart. Winslow is a neat little town, with historic Route 66 and of course the famous "Standin' on the Corner", well worth seeing if you are a fan of The Eagles. Not a lot to see at the Homol'ovi Ruins, but the walk to and from them was lovely. As all the previous reviewers have said, this is a hidden jewel, and few folk were here on our visit, such a shame. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$22
This is a very nice state park, no frills, but beautiful scenery and nice long pull-through sites. It's a little distance to Winslow, but not bad. Actually, it was nice not to have city lights spoil the night sky - we felt like we could see every star that is up there! We enjoyed the area so much that we extended our 1 day visit to 2 days. We would definitely stay there again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$25
We loved this campground! The "ruins" are minimal, so, if that's your interest, you may be disappointed. But the campground is great: paved level sites with tables and grills, clean, huge amount of space between sites, quiet (1.4 mi from I40), fabulous expansive view across desert grassland, amazing skies. We had a very relaxing two nights here and would stop again when driving across I40. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$25
We had originally reserved just a few nights at this campground but we liked it so well that we stayed for just a little over a full week. It is a high desert campground so the afternoons got a little warm but the nights were pleasant. This being late in July the monsoon was on so thunderstorms rumbled around in the evenings. But the rain made things interesting by greening up things and filling the Little Colorado River that cuts through the park. I don't know why but we were just about the only campers during the day and only two or three more at night. People are letting a real gem get away from them. Good Verizon signal, good over the air TV and good clear shot at satellites. Night time serenades by coyotes and brilliant stars. Dark enough to see the Milky Way. Close to Winslow which has a well preserved Route 66 section that goes right through the heart of the old town. Don't miss the La Posada Hotel, an excellently restored Harvey House from the days when trains ruled. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
Very nice state park. Sites are pretty level. If using a pull through, go in the wrong way as water and electric are on the wrong side. All RV sites are long and the RV/tent sites have a nice sandy area for tents. Only 6-7 sites occupied the night we stayed and it doesn't get a lot of usage. Don't know why, as it has very interesting ruins and all trails are well marked. Rangers and camp host very well informed and helpful. Looking forward to returning. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$25
Wednesday, May 22 – Homolovi State Park, Winslow, AZ: This is an Arizona state park right off interstate 40 in the northeastern part of the state. The park which was supported by the Hopi people was established in 1896 and opened in 1993. It serves as a center of research for the late migration period of the Hopi from the 1200’s to the late 1300’s. There is not much for shade in the campground that has two loops and 53 sites. Most sites have water and electric and cost $25. There are showers that were clean, hot, and easy to use. There are hiking trails and interpretive exhibits at the Visitor Center. This was an overnight stop for us, and we enjoyed it, but in the afternoon Arizona was getting high winds east of Flagstaff of up to 46 miles per hour, and it was in the high 90’s. It was hard to walk on some of the trails because of the gusts of wind. One can drive to Homolovi I and Homolovi II ruins and then walk a very short trail to see the ruins of Pueblos that were ancestors of the present day Hopi people. The park is at an elevation of 4,900 feet and has 4,00 acres, it seems you can see for miles. The term “Homolovi” is Hopi for “Place of the Little Hills”. There are over 300 archaeological sites identified within the park. Good stopover or for a longer stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$25
What the other guys said!! Nice place with a view, easy to get in with a long rig and close to the highway. Quiet and peaceful. Good Verizon service. Some sites are only 30amp, but that is enough. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$25
Long sites, some are said to be 110 ft long. Pull through sites all seem to have the electrical and water on the curbside. The park was very quiet and all paved. We pulled into the campground, located some distance from the park main office, and then chose a site and unhooked the tow car to drive up and register. The camp host only accepts fees from late arrivals after 5 pm she told us. RV site payment also includes the park entrance fee which we appreciated. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$20
We wish there would be more places like this along the interstates. Just a mile away, but very quiet at night. No noise from the interstate. The only downer is the long road to the visitor center for check in and the back to the campground. The road is plagued by erosion which caused cracks, and it feels like speed bumps every 50 yards. The sites in the campground are well apart from each other and fairly level. Good hookups. Dump station on the way in/out. No WiFi, but good Verizon coverage. We checked out the ruins but you need a lot of imagination to get excited about the place. However, if we needed to stay overnight in a 50 mile radius, this park would be our choice. A little known gem in the area is the little painted desert county park, just 12 miles away. Leave the park, go to the highway, turn left and drive 12 miles north till you see the signs to turn left. It's just a quarter mile rim drive left and right but an amazing view when the sun rises (that's when we were there). Maybe sunset is also worth driving there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$20
If you can go with out cable & free Wi-Fi, and sewer (although a dump station is on site) this is an excellent overnight stop if your east/west bound on I-40. Close enough to I-40 to not be an inconvenient deviation, yet far enough to get away from any Hwy noise. The park is clean, generous space between sites, paved roads & sites, camp fire rings, long pull-thrus, and a very peaceful AZ mesa to enjoy and relax in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$25
This is a great park. Sites are large and well spaced, good electric and water. Only negative is no sewer, but there is a dump station. Staff and volunteers are friendly. The old ruins are interesting. Nearby town of Winslow is also interesting. We had great Verizon cell and broadband signal. We would stay here again. Very easy access from I-40, but no highway noise. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$15
We really enjoyed our stay at this Arizona State Park. It is only a mile off of I-40 and at $15 a night makes a very nice overnight stop, but better yet spend several days! The roads and the sites are all paved and very accessible, with some pull throughs available. The restrooms and the showers were very clean, and the showers were huge. The ruins (especially ruins II) are very interesting and worth hiking around a bit. The visitor's center is great, and the rangers there were very informative. Also drive just a bit further north for a spectacular sunset at Little Painted Desert Park, which I believe is a county park. My only criticism would be that the campground might have been situated so that you could not see I-40 from it, but that is very minor and it is far enough away that you don't hear any noise from it. Would definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$25
If you enjoy exploring ruins this park is a must visit. Just outside of Winslow, close to I-40 with easy access, roomy, well spaced sites with a view of town in the distance. Site water is turned off during winter, but water is available at the dump station. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2013
$20
Another excellent park in the Arizona State Park system. Sites are spacious and a comfortable distance from each other. Camp host is friendly and attentive. A windy winter storm cleared in time for us to enjoy the area sights. Water to the sites are turned off during winter months. We would camp here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$28
Quiet, beautiful, high chaparral! The jackrabbits had very long ears, the birds were sublime, and the view: if you like this type of landscape, it's a jewel! You can reserve an exact site on the website, and everything was was better than we expected! Wonderful! We would stay here again and again and will return when heading west on I-40 next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$25
Always pleasant! About a mile off the interstate, always clean and always comfortable. Arizona evening are enjoyable here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$25
I was very glad I selected this park to camp in. What a gem. The peace and solitude of the desert in a well planned out campground. Each spot has a strategically placed tree to provide some respite from the late afternoon desert sun. Give them time and these trees will be perfect, but they're still young and do their best. Super great restroom/shower accommodations. I am remembering this place for sure the next time I pass through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$25
Very nice park. The view looking toward I40 and Winslow was great. The showers are the largest I've ever seen in a state park. The ruins are interesting. We couldn't resist going into Winslow and standing on the corner. Fun tourist thing to do. We stayed here as a base to go to Petrified Forest. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$25
Restrooms & showers were clean. Showers separate from restrooms. Site was level and the ground was hard. We had a pull through and plenty of space. Site access & park roads were paved. No internet access. Not crowded and quiet with no light. Not a real busy park. Park is well maintained with space between each site. We stayed to see the ruins and have park ranger talks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$23
Beautiful, well run park. The sites are big and easy to get to. The ruins are really interesting and the rangers are very helpful. And there is the best Mexican restaurant near the airport- E&O Family Restaurant. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$18
A little expensive for a state park. We used the non-electric sites but we had water. Clean restroom and showers. Only one channel available on the antennae. Lots to do at this park with the ruins, a cemetery, and several hikes. Watch for the rattlesnakes at the visitor center! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$20
This is a very nice park and the host was extremely pleasant. We only spent one night here since we were in transit but it is definitely a place I would stay at again. One note regarding water hookup: we stayed here in early March, too early in the season for them to have the water turned on for the RV sites. They did have water available for our tank if we chose to fill up and then park. The water is not turned on until April. The bathrooms and showers were great, very, very clean and warm with plenty of hot water. Even though there was no sewer hookup, there was a dump station if needed. This park is super clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$25
We made reservations on-line. The park host and her husband were very friendly and helpful in telling us things to do in Winslow. Campground was clean. Showers clean. Nice place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$25
Loved it. Park as a great view, friendly people and good rate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$25
This was a fabulous campground. The park was very clean and the camp hostess was extremely helpful. The scenery was beautiful and relaxing. The visitor center was very interesting, the park rangers loved sharing the stories of the ruins, and there is a free i-pod narrative of the Homolovi Ruins and tour included with camping fee. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$25
This is a beautiful new looking park, very large, set above the town of Winslow. The light and sunset are spectacular, facilities very clean. Sites are wide and level, easy access and there is lots of space between the sites. Each site has a little tree, struggling to provide some shade. The ruins are interesting and included in the price. Follow highway directions to the park, not your GPS! Staff helpful and friendly. We will stop here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$25
On I-40, stopover campgrounds abound. Many are not pleasant. Homolovi is not one of these. It is well off the highway, though one can still hear the song of the tires. This is a great place to enjoy a sunset after a day on the road, and a sunrise before returning to the journey. The ruins and little painted dessert give reason to spend a few hours exploring. Restrooms are spotless, TV signals decent, cell coverage weak. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$25
Easy access to I-40 but far enough away to be quiet and peaceful. Host was helpful with after sunset site selection. Great transit site while supporting the State Park system. Excellent Verizon Cell and air card reception. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
I agree with all said about this campsite. Very interesting Hopi Indian history, rangers very friendly. Although I could not find 50 amp service, with diligent use of power had no problen with 30 amp service. If you stay here make a trip to Winslow and go to the La Posada Hotel. It was a Railroad hotel in the 30s and is being rebuilt. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
Convenient when traveling I-40. We were on our way to the Grand Canyon S. Rim and this put us only a few hours drive away. Very clean campground, the restrooms were the cleanest we have seen at any state park or private campgrounds. We only stayed the night on our way to west, but would definitely recommend this to others and the ruins add a nice stretch after a long day of driving. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$25
This is a great place to stop-over when traveling on I-40. Checking in at the visitor center was painless. Get their pod-cast when you tour Homolovi II ruins. Adds another dimension to a great learning experience. Site was fairly level with great water pressure. We'll be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$25
Please note. This Campground reopened in March 2011. This is our first visit to this campground, so I cannot comment on how it used to be, but I found it in excellent condition. Although the website said there was no water at the sites, there was a working spigot at each site. Showers and bathrooms were clean and in good order. This is in a lovely location. Although it is only a few minutes from the highway, it seemed like we were far away from it all. They had not yet remarked all the hiking trails, but that should be soon. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2009
$10
Campground closed as of Oct. 1 '09, one of several by state of Arizona. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2008
$10
There is no water available at this campground. Sign says "due to water shortage". We have stayed here several times and it has declined. They did have one bathroom open but it was really dirty. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2007
$15
We enjoyed this park but only stayed one night due to travel to another destination. Besides the hosts, we were the only ones in the campground. The sites were were spacious and the hosts were very friendly. I did not use the bathrooms but checked them out and they looked very clean and user-friendly. We enjoyed the visitor center, the petroglyphs and ruins, and hiking on the trails. It would be a great stopping off point to tour area sites. Winslow is close by for supplies and you felt isolated, yet you were not too far off from I-40. I highly recommend this state park and look forward to staying there again. AZ does a marvelous job with their state parks! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$20
This is a little used and wonderful small state park about an hour east of Flagstaff. We've stayed here twice and loved it both times. The sites are spacious, the campground is quiet, the bathrooms/showers are clean, and the ruins are beautiful and interesting. Decent hiking, gorgeous sunsets, interesting petroglyph's, and a wonderful small visitor's center with a terrific collection of Hopi pottery. The rangers love their work and are very knowledgeable. A nice change of pace from huge national/state parks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$19
Neat State Park. Our choice was a moon-shaped pull through sites with water & 50A electric hook ups on the passenger side. No overgrown trees to block satellite or cell phone signals. Lots of small wildlife like jackrabbits. Campground fee included park admission and was well worth it. Really enjoyed our two night stay and visits to the ruins. Flying J located conveniently close just a couple miles west on I-40 @ exit 255. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$19
We enjoyed the quiet of this campground. The shade sites were not quite shady and the afternoon heat was intense but the evenings were cool and pleasant. It was a nice park to walk around. The camphosts were attentive and regularly checked the campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2006
$19
Clean quiet park with plenty parking for big rigs. Rather pricey for sites with no sewer hookups, but most state parks are raising rates. Dump station available. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$15
A special lightly-used state park campground, which offers a quiet place to contemplate the peoples that used to live there. You can walk amongst the artifacts, and actually pick up decorated pot sherds (as long as you put them back). The park offers very clean restrooms and showers at a reasonable rate. Helpful park rangers and camp host. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2004
$7
At the time we camped at this state park the water line to the place had ruptured and water was not available, thus the small nightly rate. Registration was at the Visitor Center. Trees had been planted that eventually will provide shade. It is desert terrain however and accordingly there was not an over abundance of trees. A very nice place, close to I-40, and worthwhile to stop over for a night, or even longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$19
Located 5 miles East of Winslow on I-40, Homolovi Indian Ruins State Park is a great overnight. The park has all pull through paved and mostly level sites with full hook-ups for $19 and no hook-ups for $12. The individual shower/toilets are roomy, clean and the water is hot and soft. Great for showering. Most sites have a tree for shade although they are not mature yet so do not provide much more than a place to sit under. There is a envelope box system in place and all the sites were spaced well apart and easy to get into and out of. We were there in early spring so the heat was not a problem. There is a commercial park in town with a billboard advertizing $15 full hookups but it is next to the interstate and a truck stop. Homolovi has no store or amenities other than the hook-ups and a dump station, but the price includes access to the ruins. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com