223427 User submitted reviews online!!
Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 83 user reviews. Phone: (828) 497-9711
CGID2042

Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Camp Information
Sites
400
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$70



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   7   8   8   8   8   8   8   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$70
This was our first camping trip to Cherokee and are glad we chose this KOA. It is located on Big Cove Road which has a beautiful steam running through it. The campground is completely surrounded by trout ponds and streams. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We camped in a center pull-through sit that was very level. There were mostly families camping the weekend we were there. Mingo Falls is very close to campground and was very beautiful. We will return to this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2014
$42
I am not a big KOA fan because of other experiences at KOA's. I picked this because of the location and indoor, year round pool for the kids. The place was empty for the most part because of winter. The sites are close and I could see in peak summer season this place would get crowded. The staff was great. We had prepaid but had to leave a day early because of pending weather and they offered a refund. The grounds were clean and well kept and it is located in a beautiful location in the mountains. I would use this location again but only in off season. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$44
Don't use your GPS to get here, call the campground to get more specific directions. It's further off the main drag than most KOAs and enormous, its own city. I have a 20' class B and asked for a site out of the way. Site is fine, but cable hookup is very poor, unwatchable and, like the last 3 KOAs I've stayed at on this trip, Wi-Fi is sketchy and keeps cutting out. Despite the size the setting is beautiful and the campground looks to be about 2/3rds full even with Smokey Mountain National Park closed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$40
Beautiful location, full amenities, very clean laundry room, sites were level with plenty of space between trailers. Park was clean and well maintained. We had electrical problems (ground fault) that was taken care of immediately, they even came by the next day to insure that everything was to our liking. Very crowded on the weekend with lots of families, but the weekdays were very peaceful. We stated for 4 days and enjoyed everyone of them. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$55
Sites were level. My wife did not like the original site we were supposed to be on, and we had no problems switching sites. There are some permanents but most keep their site well maintained, and a few even have nice flower gardens. Staff was super friendly and went out of their way to accommodate our issues with the Wi-Fi. Wi-Fi was very sketchy, almost nonexistent. Verizon service was off and on; more off than on. Verizon MiFi card did not work. Do not stay here if you need to stay connected to internet or Verizon. USCellular was the roaming carrier. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$55
Nights Stayed – 3. Park Overall – A well maintained park with great level lots. The sites are close together, but certainly larger sites than you find in most commercial parks. Several of the sites are on the Raven Fork River, a fast and noisy stream, which I loved. We stayed in Feb so the park and the entire town was pretty empty. RV -Type Used - 5th Wheel, 28 Ft, one slide. My Site (234) - This is a beautiful (Premium) site directly on the Raven Fork River. The site is a level cement pad 15 ft. from the river’s edge. All of the river sites are aligned for maximum privacy. What We Did – Ate, drank, and had fun. Restroom –Very clean, hand soap and towels. Bath – Very clean (Heated). Cell Service - Verizon worked, 1+ bars - 3G Internet Access – The Park has WiFi. It is free, not too fast. TV – Cable included - 35 channels Basic. Shopping – 5 miles. Would I Return – Yes, Beautiful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$50
Great view from the cabin edge overlooking the river, and the weather was wonderful. The cabins can be somewhat tightly packed together especially the ones along the river edge, but the neighbors were definitely quiet, and the stay was comfortable. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$70
Horrible Internet! They say they have Wi-Fi and that is barely true. I could never get emails to send and they would only half way download. Totally forget about surfing the internet. I did ask other campers and they all had the same experience. Asked at the office if there was a way to get Internet and was told it is very slow and if more than two people get on it, it bogs down to useless. Basically no phone service and worst Internet service of any campground I have stayed at. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$70
$10 all day long to raft on the river. Leave on the hour throughout the day. What a deal, and had a blast! Internet connection is pathetic (as slow or slower than dial-up). Big sites with concrete pads and patio. Really nice people. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$72
Registration customer service was very good, campground well groomed and plenty of items for children's activities. Now the downside. Despite being a large campground, no escort service to sites (we got lost), plus there are no signage for the roads which made matters worse (spoke with others with same feeling). A camper actually helped us find our site. Outside pool water was not clean at all. The inside pool: the water stunk. Our granddaughter jumped into water and immediately got out due to the smell. The restrooms in this area were deplorable. In fact doors warped, vanities in very bad shape with nasty smell. Cable TV was poor along with the internet. After paying over $70 for premium site etc., and the extra $3.50 day for "resort fee" we found this campground not to be up to par for being a corporate owned KOA facility. Campfire wood: if you don't ask, they will not deliver. Whereas at other KOA's we have visited, if needing firewood they immediately contact a worker to have the wood delivered. Parking for registration is a nightmare due to KOA trucks parking where campers should pull in for registration, along with guest vehicles who park in area for the pool. We were unable to pull out due to closeness of other vehicles and the bicycles in the way for the kids going to the pool. The area is not well marked so a hodge podge of a mess. They need to do some infrastructure work and improve customer service after registration. If in area again, we will give it another try. One last item: watch which site you get as some of the trees drop berries and makes a mess of your camper and the awnings. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$53
Have stayed here several times over the years, in both a trailer or a Kamping Kottage on the river. Even though this is a large campground, the sites are fairly good sized, most campers are nice and polite, camp host is very friendly and helpful. We held our wedding here (5/12/12) and they did everything possible to make our wedding special and easy. Azaleas were in bloom and photos turned out great. We will return here soon in our new motorhome in September. Love this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$47
We were in Site 6 which fit our 32 ft RV plus pick up with not one inch to spare. It was across from the office so all the park traffic passes by. Off season it was very quiet except for the weekend when the park filled up with families with kids. We had no cell phone or air card coverage here so we used the park's WiFi which we could access from our site. It was free. After a rain, the interior roads have standing water in many places. The picnic tables are covered (open sided roof) but it was on a dirt so it was very muddy when wet. The park is in a good location for access to Cherokee and the National Park. They have a decently stocked store on site, a nice indoor pool plus many other amenities that would appeal to children. All the RV spots are paved, plus there are grass spots for tents and quite a few rental cabins. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$62
We spent a long weekend here in our 1st visit in our 40 ft 5th wheel. It was a busy weekend because of the fall leaves, but there were 4 or 5 employees working hard to keep the check-in process smooth. We had a full hook-up pull through site with a very level concrete pad. Almost all sites looked to be very level with a good amount of space between them. There was a fire ring at each site with a built-in cooking grate. It was a kid friendly park with a nice playground, bouncing pillow, 2 pools (1 indoor with jacuzzi, 1 outdoor with water slide), and nice quiet interior roads that were very popular for bike riding. There was a small burger grill right near the main office which made a great hot breakfast. Only negative small the Wi-fi- which while a very reasonable $1/day, it was so slow as to be intolerable. Our cell phones worked fine on an extended network, but some carriers might have poor signal strength in this location. Overall, we enjoyed this campground very much and will likely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$65
It is a large well kept park with lots of stuff for kiddies to do: bike/trike rental, two pools, hot tub, miniature golf, bouncy cushion. Fishing w/Cherokee license $10. It is a quiet, good location. There is a camp store, and cafe. We were a group of 7 in an RV and a tent. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$65
Very friendly staff, clean park and very accessible to fishing. We enjoyed our stay however the Wi-Fi was spotty at times and the price for the site was high. If not for those two things I would give it a higher rating. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$52
Great park for visiting the park. All level sites. Very friendly staff. Grounds are well maintained. Trees trimmed up high. Only negative was the amount of permanent trailers. Most were well taken care of but a few were eyesores. If you need cell service it is almost non-existant depending on your carrier. Park does have Wi-Fi but we did not use it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2010
$50
I would like to say I stayed here at this campground as we drove all the way from Gatlinburg through the mountains in a 31' motorhome JUST TO STAY HERE! It was July 2010 when we pulled in and they were very busy. There were 3 or 4 people giving directions on where to "park" your rig while checking in. I was told I could stay where I was (after much discussion) since there was no where else for me to go! When I had finally gathered my things to go to the office to check in I was rudely told that I HAD TO MOVE MY RIG NOW! I approached the "gentleman" and advised him that I had been told that I could be here for the duration of the check in process. He told me to "MOVE IT NOW". So, I got into my motorhome of which I had to drive through the park to get out and left the premises. This is not what I have experienced at any other KOA! The staff I encountered was rude! I will never attempt to stay at this KOA when there are many other campgrounds in the area to choose from. This place was packed and after reading other reviews I can not understand why. BEWARE if you choose to camp here! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$70
This looks like it use to be a great campground, and it still could be with some work. The bathrooms and showers were not clean. Not sure why, seem to be plenty of people in yellow shirts. The outside pool was disgusting the day we went to use it. You could not even see the bottom and the slide was out of service. The road to our site had water coming up through a hole the whole week we were here. Made a mess of some sites down below. Hole in road in front of our site was a hazard for foot traffic and bikes. They have rules which make for a nice place but they don't even enforce them. There were speeding vehicles with small kids on bikes, tents on cabins sites. Please improve signage on roads leading to front entrance, as several people all took the wrong turn as GPS directs, and were on backside of the river from campground. Pros: River front sites allow you to go right to water. Some of the RV sites are very nice with plenty of space and landscaping surrounding concrete pads. Water and electric were good, cable TV was fuzzy but was better when it rained. Wonder why they charge for WiFi when they should just add a dollar or two to the price of each site? Most all RV'ers want and use WiFi. $8 dollars per day seems very high. Wonder why campgrounds becoming trailer parks? It's one thing if you are here for several months as a work kamper. But when you have more things built around and next to your RV that would take one full day and several pick-up trucks to move everything, it's a trailer park. I want a place to visit, have fun and enjoy time with family and friends, not invade someone's backyard. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$70
We stayed at this campground July 2-10 on site 86b which was a deluxe pond site. What they fail to mention is that you are on the "pond", but a chain link fence with barbed wire is in between you and the pond. Also our site was covered with kudzu so you couldn't even see the pond. I would not pay extra for the deluxe site again.I walked into the bathroom and it was so hot and flies everywhere. Luckily we didn't have to use the facilities. They have TONS of activities for your children and the recreation staff are awesome! It was completely booked over the 4Th, but never seemed to crowded for us. My kids really liked the slide at the pool. Also the river is too rocky,deep and swift for kids to play in it. There is an extra charge to fish ($7 per day for tribal license), jumping pillow ($2 per child), tubing trip ($10 per person),mini golf ($2 ) plus there are some charges for the activities. Overall my kids had a great time, but for the price we could have stayed at Fort Wilderness at Disney. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$59
We shared a super site with our friends and the rate was much cheaper than getting two separate sites. The hookups on site 135 are in strange locations and should be relocated. I can see some units not being able to reach the water or sewer. Other than that, we enjoyed our stay. This is a great family park. If you don't like being around active families using the facilities, than this place is not for you. Pool area needs some updating, but is adequate. Roads are great for bike riding and strollers. The rates are too high to make it more than a once every few years kind of place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$60
Just plain out absolutely Loved it here and can not wait to live here 6 months out of the year with my hubby two children 2 dogs and my cat! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$48
On check in, we were disappointed to find our campsite at the entrance. Some sites are at busy/unusual places: like right next to the dump station! They gladly switched us to a quieter one in the back. This CG is more like a resort: lots of activities. A large CG, a fair amount of shade and level lots, tucked back in the mountains next to GSM NP. Very nice pool and cafe, though the pool deck could use a little TLC. Very friendly staff. Had a great camp store. They have an activity booth where you can sign up for off CG excursions which we used for a white water raft trip. If you want to tube on the river that runs along the CG, they will rent you a tube for all day but go early as tubes run out fast. Internet is available on a pay for it basis: hourly, daily or weekly but is subject to crashes. By the pool, there is a small area with free public Wi-Fi. For cell service, AT&T coverage is little to none here (and most of Cherokee), but Verizon works well. Our second time here and we'd certainly come back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$63
This is a wonderful place to stay. There is enough here that you can vacation and never leave the campground! Lots of clean laundry facilities. The scenery is beautiful. We will come back here! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$64
This park has all the bells and whistles. The kids had a great time and are able to do so many different things. The adults also have a variety of things to do or they can just relax and enjoy the wonderful temperatures of the mountains. I highly recommend it! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$50
Very nice park; staff friendly but sometimes hard to communicate with as they did not speak good english. Looked like lots of fun to be had riding inner tubes on the river; water too cold this early in the year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2009
$84
It has an indoor pool. It did not seem very clean. Staff were unable to answer questions about rate. The price has gone up significantly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2008
$49
This is a difficult park to find and not an easy drive on the access road to it, being very narrow and winding. We had site 71, which was not level. Wifi is available at your site for an extra fee, but free if you take your laptop to the central office area. This park does not get a lot of sun due to it's setting in the valley. There was no cable tv at our site and extremely poor antenna reception. No cell phone service either. It was not a good value for the money and we felt it was not up to KOA standards. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2008
$50
It is difficult to find. Sites were tight and unless you spent $70 for the top level they were not really Big Rig friendly. It is a typical KOA campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$55
This is a first class, and I mean class, campground. I could go on and on, but all superlatives would not suffice to anyone going that way don't miss it. Its the Ritz. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$67
The campground is huge. Our site was very spacious and we enjoyed that part greatly. 2 of the 3 showers in the shower house closest to us were out of order for the entire 3 nights we were there. Our son's campsite had a broken faucet which we reported on our first day, it got fixed two days later. As for the pool/hottubs, the indoor pool was a little cool, the hottub was broken but was still hot. They had no problem taking our $8 per person (there were 9 of us) on the float trip. They cart you 3 miles up the road promising that if you have problems or just get tired to go to the road and they'll pick you up. We returned to our campsite after watching the beautiful fireworks display in Cherokee to their "Barney" night watchman. Our teens laughed maybe just a little loudly and he flashed his flashlight at us and told us to quiet down, it's quiet time. It was 11:03 pm on a Friday night. All the other people drove in after us and we never saw him call other people down and we're good, respectable people. I did see him yell at a couple of teens that were walking to a vending machine for them to return to their campsites. It was humiliating to have this man treating people so rudely. As for the other staff, they were young so you felt the need to re-confirm everything you were told. Otherwise, the area is beautiful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$60
I have stayed at this campground for approximately 20 years, in the spring and usually again in the fall. Management has changed in the last few years and I see a decline in this campground. The positives: Beautiful area and campground. Kept up nice (not quite as nice as before management change). Pool and hot tub. Nice sites and big rig sites. Nice cabins. The negatives: Not kept as nice as before. Staff not knowlegdeable about much (it took three people to figure out how to refund a ladies charge when charged for wrong thing. it took 4 to figure out how to refund one night for us). Fishing is going downhill (campground has no control over this). Pool was dirty and too much chlorine in water. Not prepared for large weekend. Cable was off 3 times. It's just the little things that have declined in this campground which I have previously rated at a 10. The staff aren't as friendly and not trained very well. In all this is a nice campground and it is very busy from spring to fall, so if you don't like crowds this place isn't for you. Staff needs training, campground needs attention and work. There are a few hidden charges as well. The site quote isn't what you pay. Expect about $3 per night extra for resort fee, misc fee and so on. I don't use internet so I can't say about that but cable (when working) is free, pool and hot tub are free. Mini golf has a charge and so do bikes and things of that nature. The usual for most campgrounds. Camp store is well stocked and very nice. I will return again but if this campground continues as is, or worsens then I may stay somewhere else in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2008
$61
The campground was very quite since we were visiting during the off season. The sites were large and had steel fire rings with grills. The sites had cable, but ours did not work. The indoor pool could have been great, but the area did not smell clean and the pool itself was very cold. The staff at the park were friendly. WiFi was avaiable for an extra charge. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2008
$99
We didn't take our trailer this time and opted for a river cabin instead. Well laid out park, although not many restroom and showers available for the size of the campground. Pool area was nice but could use a bit of cleanup. Sites next to road may not be everyone's cup of tea, there is a light buffer but I wouldn't choose those sites. Staff OK, nothing special, cabins on the river are very nice. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$50
We have stayed in this campground for about 30 years usually in the spring and sometimes in the fall. The ownership has changed hands but mostly the CG remains the same. Not quite as clean as it used to be and I agree, they have started charging for the little things that used to be free. On holidays and busy weekends this campground if full and often isn't as clean as it should be and is usually noisy with the children that are there. It's a nice place and in off season, quiet. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$45
Nice campground with fantastic sites. Office people put us on a "camping suite" site with my sister-in-law, but the site didn't fit 2 35' trailers plus our suburban and pickup truck. They moved us to two different sites without a problem. Only 2 problems. First there is a $2 a day "resort" charge and, second they want $7.99 a day for WiFi access. All the other campgrounds we had stayed at on this trip had FREE WiFi. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2007
$70
Very, very over priced. Everything costs extra. A very busy place with absolutely no personal service. They ride around in carts all day and all they seem to do is pick up things that people have left behind, except the trash. More worried about taking your money than anything else. Laundry rooms were dirty and for the size of the campground, insufficient in size. Took a couple of days just to get the laundry done. Not our kind of place. Saw more of the Fish and Game Warden than anyone else. EVERYTHING COSTS EXTRA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$67
This park has been very crowded on the weekends we have spent there. It is clearly designed for maximum usage rather than quality of experience. The indoor pool and hot tubs are a nice attraction. The roads need to be updated and speed limits need to be enforced better and on a regular basis. The sites on the river are probably the best, but are just OK. "Pricey" is the best word to describe the experience. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$46
We were here on the July 3-5, it was a very crowded campground on a holiday. If you like an active campground with lots of activities this is your campground. We amuse ourselves occasionally for our children. Since we like quieter camping. The kids loved it here -- Indoor pool, outdoor pool with slide, snack bar, mini golf, bouncing mat, plenty of children with bikes, giant chess game on the lawn, DJ, dances, large camp store, tube on the river just behind the campground. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It was a short drive from the Smoky Mountain National Park entrance and visitor's center. The only thing I did not like about the campground was the mixed sites. Since we camped in a motorhome and we where mixed with tents and pop-ups as well as travel trailers its hard to relax - its two different types of camping. I felt we were riding over there nicely spread out tents and cooking areas, if we drove out for the day. Would stay again if in the area, but not on a holiday week and I would specify the site area, since I am now familiar with the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$50
Nice campground, crowded on holidays and special times just like any other campground. Nice sites. Friendly staff. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$33
This is one of the nicest campgrounds we've stayed at. Large sites, friendly staff and clean campground. The campground is huge. The only complaint I have is that I thought there was free WiFi. When I went to get on line in the evening, I had to sign up and pay for the service by the hour. The charge was 2.99 per hour. I opted to pass on that. The cable TV wasn't working very well when we first got there, but the staff had worked on it for 2 days straight through the park and it finally came in clear. We would definitely go back to this campground and next time we're going to request the premium site with the concrete slab and wire mesh patio furniture. The regular sites are equally as nice too. Would recommend this KOA to everyone. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$52
A bit expensive and you are sandwhiched in like sardines. But the park is nice enough, serves good food and has a place to leave your pet all day if you want. They also offer shuttle service to the area attractions We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$51
If you have children you will love this park. If you are traveling without children don't bother. The park has many things to offer a family with children as a result the park was at times over run with children tooling about in golf carts and big wheel (three wheeled bicycles). The do offer help and shuttle service to some of the area attractions. Sites are large, paved and adequate. The WiFi was not available when we where there except in the area of the office/swimming pool and the staff were not particularly concerned about this. We will probably stay there again (they are literally at the door of the National Park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2006
$62
The people who run the counter at this place do not speak English. They are hard to understand. The park is very expensive and the river sites are a joke for travel trailers. They put you next to a mosquito pond. There are few sites for travel trailers on the river. They will take your extra money though for a river site. Our river site was next to the jumping pillow and a stagnant pond. People kept walking through our campsite. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2006
$45
My husband and I stayed at this campground in 1999 and found it to be excellent. A few years has changed everything. We felt that this campground will no longer be on our list as a favorite. The only nice camp sites were the new big rig sites and they are overpriced in my opinion considering the conditions of the campground. Sites are dirty and littered, laundry was filthy as were rest rooms, staff was not friendly, electric didn't work on our site and had to be repaired with new breaker. The roads are potholed, the grounds are not well kept. The staff rode around on golf carts all day and did nothing. No one in charge here. We will not go back to this campground. There are some other campgrounds in Cherokee that are very clean and nice. We checked them out while we were here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$38
This is our 5th year coming to this campground, though still a nice campground, things are starting to go down hill under the new management. Restrooms in prior years where cleaned multiple times during the day, this year once maybe twice, but not a very good job of cleaning. Not sure if we will return. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$62
I have nothing but good things to say about Cherokee KOA. We booked a rally at this location. The staff was very friendly and accommodating to any special requests that we had. The grounds and facilities were well maintained, restrooms were very clean. The campground store was well stocked. Cherokee KOA treated us very well and we will return again in 2007 for another rally there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2006
$62
This was a great park to stay with children. My kids are 5 and 7 and they were constantly busy. There was a visiting youth church group and they had face painting, tye dye t-shirt and flip flop making, which was wonderful. My children went from the pool to activities all the time. This park is a constant buzz on the fourth of July. People everywhere. Park has a great covered pool and the jumping pillow was so hot in the daytime that it burned my kids feet. Only problem was that it closed at 7pm which is really the best time to do any jumping and not burn up. Overall our site was awesome, but should be since it was $62 a night. We had a nice paved "super site." If your looking for a lot of peace and quiet then this is not the park for you. Like some action and activities then this will be right down your alley. Was a nice stay and quiet time rules are enforced. Only bad thing I can say is that this park does allow golf carts and four-wheelers. If you are driving a vehicle or a big rig in and out of the park you have constantly got to navigate between kids which rule the road and will shoot right in front of a big rig. This made me extremely nervous and it looks like a accident just waiting to happen. Parents have a tendency to let their children run wild, they have no clue there are vehicles around. Even little ones riding bikes with no parents. One ran out in front of me on a bike with training wheels: I don't know where she came from but Thank Goodness we did not hit her. Just be careful as it is kind of chaotic. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$58
Very nice campground with all the amenities. It has an indoor and an outdoor pool, hot tub and kiddie pools etc. There is an exercise area available also. Many sites have concrete pads. River fishing and tubing and trout fishing in stocked ponds are available for a daily fee to the Cherokee reservation. Very friendly staff who have always been helpful. The campground was not quite as clean as when we visited in September 2005 but this could have been because we were there right after the fourth of July holiday. All in all I would go back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$45
Just got back from a week-long trip here. It was absolutely wonderful!!! We did the "7-night Super Saver" which is not mentioned on their website...ask for it! We stayed on a super site which gave us ample room for our truck and camper. Every camper site has concrete pads. There were many, many people (children and adults) on bikes, scooters, and golf carts, but it's not a problem if you drive slow and share the road. As with every vacation, you can make it good or bad depending on your attitude and patience. If you're going to take advantage of the tours the campground has to offer, ask for Deanna or Amber to assist you; they are awesome! We had to make several changes and they were super nice in accommodating us!!! The campground offers free shuttles to all the tour destinations and local shopping. With the high cost of fuel and heavy traffic in the area it's a great bonus. The food that the 2 snack bars offer is delicious. Nightly dinner specials are also offered. For example: New York Strip Steak, potato, and corn on the cob for $10.99. They also offer all you can eat pancake breakfast with a side order of meat for about $4.50. You can't beat this place for activities, cleanliness, and relaxation. This is our 5th time back to this campground. We have never been disappointed. The staff was extremely helpful and pleasant. I highly recommend this resort. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$40
We used RV Park Reviews to help us select a campground for our recent trip to the Smokies. I seriously debated between the Cherokee KOA and the Yogi Bear campground that is also nearby. The Cherokee KOA won out because of the fun things for kids since I have three small ones (ages 7, 6 and 5), but I was still very worried about my decision after reading the reviews here. Specifically, I was worried about it being nothing more than a large "concrete pad" as someone here wrote. But I was pleasantly surprised--and glad that we chose as we did! Cherokee KOA is a very nice family campground with lots of trees, and it's nestled right between the hills. The one negative I found was that their Web site doesn't tell you that you have to pay $2 for 15 minutes on the jumping pillow and $2 per round for the mini-golf (or $8 per kid for an all-day pass to use both). Our site on the river was spacious and shady, but it was also all dirt. And since it rained all weekend, that meant it was also all mud. That's not really the campground's fault though, although I suppose they could add some rocks or something so people didn't have to wallow in mud when it rains. I thought it was a lovely campground overall: clean restrooms with lots of showers, clean laundry room, 2 pools and 2 hot tubs, a kiddie pool, 2 playgrounds and lots of activities, plus a nice store for supplies. It also has a great deal on an all you can eat breakfast each morning! Despite the rain, I think we chose well; we will very likely return again. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2006
$65
Typical KOA with nice amenities. We paid for a premium site which was simply a concrete pad that was no bigger than the other sites in the campground. First site had trees on both sides and had to ask for another site so we could extend awning. Roads are very narrow and people tend to park along the sides of the road. Makes it almost impossible to get into your site without asking someone to move their vehicle. We were there on a holiday weekend and the place was packed. We normally enjoy KOA's but found this one to be too crowded for our taste and, in my opinion, over priced as well. Will likely not return to this KOA. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2006
$40
Stayed here in 2004 and again in May 2006 and opinion is that under new management, this place has slid downhill a bit. Still very nice place to stay but hospitality counts. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2006
$44
We stayed here last year and it was great. This year however the stay was very bad. We traded up from a pop up to a TT after the reservations were made, I called and ask for full hook up site 1 month before our check in date and was told I would get a full hookup site if one came available. When we arrived they gave the man in front of me a full hookup site who didn't even have reservations and told me sorry they had just gave the last full hookup site to him. I ask why this happened and there were no answers available. Pop ups in super sites, TT's in pop up sites, tents in full hookup sites. Could not put out awning on site, children running and riding bikes through site, drunks behind use in tent playing music loud, and some older lady in KOA shirt yelling at all kids to get their bike helments on. Will not go back to this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$44
Really a nice, clean family oriented campground. Many people on the staff to assist campers. Lots to do for kids - 2 pools, jumping pillow, carpet golf, basketball goal, 2 playgrounds, paved roads throughout the campground for biking. Can park your car at the campsite and never have to move it again - campground provides shuttles into the town of Cherokee, other shopping areas and tubing. Wish campground fees did not go up during holiday weekends, but that happens everywhere now. With 400 sites, it can be crowded when full. If you want to be secluded during peak seasons, this is not the place to go. We look forward to visiting here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2006
$40
Last time we will stay here. The parents here do not supervise their children at all and the owners and staff never say anything to wild children or their parents. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2006
$59
This was our first visit to this campground. We were very impressed. The campgrounds were clean and well maintained. The staff was knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. The directions supplied with my reservation made the campground easy to find. One small issue, one shower I used could not be adjusted for height, but I was able to make it work. We intend to make this a yearly visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2006
$60
I'm glad I didn't find this review until after we stayed at this park or I might not have chosen it. We had a great stay but it was also during a very slow time - only about 5 other sites were occupied. We stayed for about 4 nights and found the staff very friendly and helpful. Some construction and renovation was going on but it didn't interfere with us. Only problem was that our cable went out on the 3rd day. We didn't discover it until nearly dark. The guy came out in 20 degree weather and fixed it within the hour. We enjoyed the location and took several day trips. We loved coming in at night and using the indoor pool and hot tub. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2005
$55
Another KOA rip-off. Roads are confusing and the map they give you is no help. They charge $55 per night for their paved "supersites". These sites are about what you would pay $25 for everywhere else, and our site was very unlevel. Your cellphone will not work in this place and neither will your dish tv, but their cable selection is mighty slim. Forget about getting satellite internet in this place, but you can pay a ridiculous fee for their wi-fi. In short, way, way overpriced. Unfortunately, what we have come to expect from most KOAs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2005
$37
Second time for us in this campground. Although we still like it fine and recommend it, we did have a little trouble. We reserved and paid for a full hook-up site. When we got to our site, we found it did not have a sewer connection. It was after dark when we got there, so I agreed to go ahead and set up camp in the site. They mentioned changing sites the next day, but I decided to stay put once we were set up since we were only there two nights. I was able to get my money back for the difference between a full hook-up site and a electric/water only site. Turns out their computer showed the site (#290) as being a full hook-up while in reality it isn't. Otherwise we had a great time and will return here again in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2005
$45
Very nice park. We got there late, after dark, but was able to get checked in and then into my spot without much trouble at all. I had read negative comments about the staff not speaking English, but we had no trouble at all. A nice young lady from Bali helped me several times in the campground store. The whole entire staff that we came in contact with was super-nice. We had a full-hook-up back-in site. A nice family was camped next door and, since it was dark, they helped me get backed in and situated where I needed to be on my site. The pools and hot-tubs are very nice. The other park amenities are all very nice. The only thing that aggrevated me a little is that the map on the campground website is somewhat misleading. It portrays a straight shot through the town of Cherokee to get to the turn-off for the campground, but there are a couple turns that must be made. I wasn't expecting to have to turn and I missed one of them and wound up going several miles the wrong way before I found a place to turn my 53-foot rig around. This was a minor setback, however. My overall opinion of this campground is very good and I will be staying there again on my next trip to the area with no second thoughts. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2005
$52
If you like crowds and lots of things to do, then this campground will be nirvana! We had a super back-in site next to a trout pond with a nice view, however, the road traffic noise was annoying. This is a huge campground (2000 people over the July 4th weekend). The staff was friendly and communication was OK, no problems there. If you do not feel like cooking, there is an on-site restaurant serving 3 meals a day. Being the 4th, the owners had a decent fireworks show and ice cream was supposed to be served afterwards, but, due to a massive power outage, it all melted. Oh well.. Lots for kids to do including swimming in 2 pools, tubing, fishing, bring your bikes! Overall, this was a great experience, the staff did a great job keeping the grounds clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2005
$55
This is truly one of the worst parks in which we have ever stayed. It was full of out-of-control kids (and some parents) roaring around on bikes and big-wheels. The family next to us continually ran their gray water out onto the ground and onto our site. When we complained (3 times) to the staff, nothing was done. The smell was awful. Dogs were running loose both night and day, coming over to fight with our dog (which was leashed). We had one of the most expensive, river front, sites in the place; but when we got here we learned that you couldn't even see the river from the RV because of a large mound. This is a place to avoid. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2005
$32
Wow another Great park! Very family oriented. Has a lot to do in the park itself very big indeed! H ad a Great time; we were last there in 2002. Even has a river that you can tube down for a very long way. Also has kennels for your dog if needed while your site seeing. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2004
$50
This an excellent family vacation destination. The campground has very extensive recreational facilities and there is so much to do, both within the resort and in the surrounding area. Our premium paved RV site was huge. The staff is very friendly and eager to please. I highly recommend this place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$38
Beautiful area. Lots of work on new sites. Pool and hot tub were a bit too cold on some days and, a bit too hot on others. River front sites are great and give you extra space for privacy. All amenities. A bit far from town but, only about 4 miles. Only drawback is language barrier of staff (most from Indonesia). The staff tries very hard to be accommodating but, there does not seem to be anyone in charge. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$45
I gave this campground a rating of 9 instead of 10 because they do have some people, that are sometimes hard to understand. (Their accents, being from different countries) Although that being said, they are extremely nice and helpful. The campground is beautiful, nicely kept and clean. The staff is friendly and helpful. Their accommodations are very nice: pool, hottub, volleyball court, basketball area, tubing in the river and more. The pool is indoors opening up for summer time use. They have a small restaurant and snack bar. Movies at night although I would like a better area and a TV instead of a projection type system, but that is the only bad thing you can say. Great place. Would reccomend it highly. I have stayed here for approximately 15 years both in spring and fall. Busy during major holidays, book in advance. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2004
$55
Upon arrival, the campsite for our 30 ft travel trailer was muddy as well as the other travel trailer sites. There was not enough room between the trees for our slide out or awning to be extended. It was all I could do to get out of the site and head back to the office frustrated. The only decent sites were the expensive super-sites that are concrete. The office was ok to deal with after trying to understand them as they were from Indonesia. The office which sold the trout licenses when asked did not mention any fishing rules. We later found out that only one rod per person is allowed or a $100 fine per additional rod. The campground needs to be cleaned up in my humble opinion. I seriously doubt if we ever go back We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2004
$45
Manager is excellent and doesn't hesitate to ask folks who are being ugly to leave. There's plenty to do in the park - 2 pools, hot tub, internet cafe, gym, tubing, fishing, playground as well as a variety of bicycle rentals. CG store is nice. Having said that, the sites are waaayyy too close. We were back in The Swamps in the back of the park and our site stayed muddy the entire weekend of July 4th. Kamping Kabins & Kottages appeared to be dropped in willy nilly with no thought to orderly layout. At a minimum, they need to pull out every other site; preferably every 2nd & 3rd site. The RV Supersites looked nice but still too close. At least they had nice lawns & patios. We won't go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$45
Great fun for kids, loads to do without leaving the park. Shuttle to all attractions close by. We will be back!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$49
Stayed at the park for one week. Some of the sites are rather small, but they now have supersites for the big rigs which are very nice. Campgrounds provide transportation to many tours and attractions. River runs through the campground which is nice for tubing and trout fishing. Planning on going back next year!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$32
Arrived May 6th hot tub out of order, 1 pool open inside. Site 78 back in at fishing pond but cannot see pond brush grown up so blocked view. Cable tv not working black ants everywhere really bad. Grass had not been mowed concrete pad had not been cleaned, leaves and dead limbs everywhere really bad so cleaned myself between killing the black ants. No cable tv so had to move to site 245 to have cable tv and a lot that had been mowed. Staff is very nice and helpful, store well stocked it is a beautiful place, lots of really pretty cabins to rent, I think I was there a little too early in the season because seemed like a lot of mowing and work needed to be done. Also they are located long way from the town of Cherokee, seems like a lot of driving to visit anything you want to see and do in Cherokee. Bring shampoo from home 6.00 for a 16 oz bottle Alberto VO5. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2003
$40
Lock your stuff up. Campground is not secure. Campground is nice enough but weekend was ruined when someone stole PDA from my pick-up at night (the first and only time I have had anything stolen at a campground. Too much activity and people moving around. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2003
$40
Park used to be great! Today people are allowed to park on the grass, leave dog dropping on you site, dead trees standing by some sites and staff inadequate to meet needs of large active campground. Park offers cabin rentals and this area is always messy looking and crowded. YUCK! The Park has a lot of activities but my opinion is they are trying to cut corners and it shows. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2003
$43
Very nice park. They have gorgeous new premium sites that are wonderful and were all full when we camped there. We would camp there again. Very friendly and helpful staff. Sites were big and clean. Laundry room was spotless! Bathrooms were clean every time we used them. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2002
$35
This was the worst campground we have ever stayed at! The staff barely spoke english and the sites were so small we had to share with the people next to us. The bathrooms were nasty the showers were cold and nasty to be in. The staff was very rude and when we asked for another site they told us it was the only one available for tents and we would have to deal with it. We will never go back here again! The only good thing about this place was the hot tub and they had limits on it. The kids were treated very badly when they went to play at the playground and when they got in the creek to play the staff screamed at them to get the h... out of there or they would make us leave. All they had to do was tell them they could not get in the creek and they would not have gotten in it no more. We camped here in a Tent.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$40
We stayed at this part in mid November. When we checked in we paid for only one night and asked if there would be any problem staying a second night. The person at the desk said to just come on by before 11 AM the next morning. At 10AM the next morning my husband went down to the office to pay for a second night an was informed that we would have to move as the site we had been given was requested by another group arriving this day. We had our grill, lawnchairs, dog pen, awning, etc. all set up so the last thing we wanted to do was pack up & move. I went to the office, asked for a supervisor and was told the same story - I asked why they gave us a site that was booked in the first place and she had no explanation - no appology, no offer to move the new people coming in, no offer to compensate our inconvenience, ziltch. And to boot there were only 4 sites occupied in the entire place! We packed up our site, left in disgust and headed for another park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$45
This is a good, clean and safe campground. Lots of activities for all the family. Location prohibits satisfactory usage of some cell phone services, and there are phone hook-ups at only a very few occupied sites. If you want to watch TV, take a satellite or vcr and movies; good reception has been spasmodic at best. If you are a camp-worker, give it very long and serious thought before working here. To paraphrase an old saying, "It's a great place to camp, but I wouldn't want to work there" We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2002
$35
A lot of international students were working there. They were friendly. We were not happy with the first site we were given. We were in a tent and they put us in the middle of a lot of RV's. However, they were very accommodating about moving us. The shuttles to area attractions is a nice feature. My only complaint was they allowed a church group to come in at 1:00 am. They were loud, noisy and rude. They woke up everyone around them. It was very disturbing. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$40
Very, very nice campground in the Great Smoky Mountains, on river, with cabins, friendly staff, snack bar, swimming pool, clean restrooms checked throughout the day and theme weekends. We had a great time! We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$40
Took a good care of my pets when I was gone. Have a lot of activities, tours, free shuttles to shopping center and casino. They have a lot of exchange students - it makes that place funny and interesting. Store was opened 24 hours - had all the supplies I needed; groceries, fire wood, ice, RV supplies, etc. Very nice place overall!!! We'll come there again next summer. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$50
Nice family-oriented place. Secluded, no major road nearby to bother with noise, access road fenced off, so kids won't run onto it accidentally. Speed bumps everywhere, security on duty at nights, very safe. One sharp turn on the way there, but no problem even for a big rig, paved pull-thru sites make for easy parking. Pool, hot tubs, grill, snack bar and store around nice,brick-paved plaza. High-tech, payphones with modem hookups, automatic hand dryers in bathrooms, even cellular repeater for clean signal. Bus tours to all major attractions of the area. We had such fun with the international students - you may have to speak a little slower but my kids loved learning about where they were from and visiting with them about their country. Owners are fun and helpful. Will definitelly come back in August 2002. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$38
We had 2 big full hook up RV sites side by side. The staff has some international college students who were courteous and very helpful finding 2 sites together in a shady area. The theme weekends are fun! We went on Mardi Gras weekend, the free Chicken Gumbo in the pavilion was tasty, the colorful, winding parade through the park with a saxaphone player leading the way and tossing of beads and candy to campers was great! The band started playing by the pool, kids and parents danced around. Super memories for our whole family. My husband and daughter enjoyed the fishing. Security was courteous, quiet time enforced, free shuttles, clean bathrooms, a well-maintained campground that is family run. We made more reservations for July before leaving. Great experience! We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$45
This a beautiful park and the sites and campground is well maintained.The workers are friendly and will help you in any way they can. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com