206886 User submitted reviews online!!
Happy Holiday RV Village (formerly Happy Holiday RV Park) was rated 7 out of 10 based on 35 user reviews. Phone: (828) 497-9204
CGID2043

Happy Holiday RV Village (formerly Happy Holiday RV Park)

Camp Information
Sites
375
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$44



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   9   7   8   3   8   5   10   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2013
$44
We stayed there during the heavy rains and flooding. (We know the campgrounds are not to blame for this). If they would put more gravel on the road, and gravel the spot where the camper is parked, it would help. There was a camper on the back creek that would leave his dog tied to a tree while going away. At one point he let it run loose, and it went after another camper and dog. Workers talked to him, but the next time they went away the dog was back on the tree. The internet was mostly non existent. We were told it was due to all the kids using e-readers, i phones, and computers. Even after the weekend we tried it up at the office and had very little luck. Workers were of no help. While leaving, someone broke the water line next to us. (Once again not the campgrounds fault). I asked one worker if they could run a line from the other road to us. I was informed he was not in charge and was told to see another worker. When I want to the 2nd worker, I told him the 1st worker told me to see him. In a few minutes 1st worker showed up with a hose and informed me not the tell the worker in charge things he didn't say. When I informed him I didn't, he stated he didn't have time for this and stormed off. My wife and I have camped at many different campgrounds over a 20 year military career. This is by far the worst. Most of the workers couldn't care less about the campers. This could be a great campground with a change in the staff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$47
We had a great time with friends at this park. It is a very big park but not very crowded at all during the four nights we stayed. From the folks at the office to the guys who helped us park, everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. For $3 more per night, we had wonderful premium sites with concrete pads on the lake. These sites allow you to back in almost parallel to the lake, so the water was no more than 10 feet outside our door. We loved these sites. The only drawback came the final day when fishermen (I don't know if they were campers or not) walked between our camper and the water, right past our door on their way around the lake. I don't think there are many campers dumb and ill-mannered enough to do such a thing, so I'm assuming these people had day passes. Nonetheless, we loved the sites and would definitely go back. The campground is very close to the Casino and other Indian attractions. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$48
Nights Stayed -3 Park Overall – The Park is large, it is well maintained. All employees go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. A negative thing about the park is it is very near US19, a busy highway. A few of the creek lots, on the Highway side of the park, face the back of some houses. There are a few gravel sites but they are mainly grass. Most of the sites are reasonably level. There are two creeks and a lake all with water front sites. A really nice park overall. RV Type Used - 5th Wheel 28Ft My Site (94) – is on the creek near the highway. The water was so loud that we heard little road noise. The site faces the back of a house on the other side of the creek. We never saw anyone. What We Did – Went to the “Museum of Cherokee Indians” it was interesting, $10/Person Restroom - Modern and clean, soap and hand towels provided. Bath - Modern and clean Cell Service - Verizon worked, 3 bars and 3G at least Internet Access – Wi-Fi at the site, reasonably fast access Basic Shopping - Groceries etc. 3 miles Dining - Best restaurant in town is the “BRIO Tuscan Grille”, at the Casino. I did not get to try Ruth Chris’. Most restaurants are Buffet. Would I Return - Yes, I’m not a gambler but the Casino offer good entertainment and restaurants. The weather and the countryside are beautiful. If I returned I would select site 97 or 98. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$47
Enjoyed our weekend here. Camped on the river side and loved that we had a fire ring. Staff was friendly and entertainment nightly at the stage in center of campground. The only negatives were that the WiFi was not consistent. We rarely ever were able to connect. Also, the 24 channels that we were supposed to have via the host were very poor quality. It was not our TV/cable connection. Everyone we spoke to said it was the same with them. We really liked this campground, but for the price would like to see them improve the WiFi/cable issue. One last note, a previous review complained about no AT&T cell phone reception and I will tell you we have frequented this area for years and it's always been that way. Complain to AT&T because Cherokee can't fix it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2012
$44
We have stayed here twice. Most recent visit found new management. Staff in the office and on the grounds was friendly. My negative observation was to many so called staff workers on the grounds. They spent to much time riding around on golf carts doing nothing. The grounds needed much upkeep. Grass needed cutting and flower beds away from the entrance had weeds and grass taller than the flowers. We arrived on a Sunday so there weren't many campers around so it was quiet. I wish the new owners success with this park. We will stay here the next time we go to Cherokee. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$39
This park is an adequate base for exploring the Cherokee area attractions, but the park is not particularly attractive. I reserved a site by the water presuming that we would be on the river. Instead, we were given a site (#812) on the lake. The ducks and their droppings were tolerable, but the bullfrogs, 20' from our coach, kept us and our dogs awake throughout the night. We requested and received a new site (#608) away from the lake the next morning, which the staff handled pleasantly. They even gave us a price-differential refund without our asking. Park is OK overall; just avoid the lake. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$52
This park was ok for us. We travel with 3 young children and this park is definitely not "kid friendly." The pool was pretty clean, but the playground was very outdated and consisted of a few swings. The arcade was very old and dirty. The staff was not the friendliest either, especially the ladies working the front desk/gift shop. The price was also a little high in my opinion for such an outdated park. We will definitely not be camping here again. The only reason I give the park a 5 is because they have a few good stream side sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$44
We camped here for 4 nights. Very nice and very quiet. Campground cable TV is excellent. Wi-Fi a little iffy, but Verizon signal great. We will definitely be returning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$40
Location, location, location! This is the closest RV park to the casino and to most other activities. We checked out some of the other RV parks in the area and they are nice, but far from rafting, gemming, etc. and the ingress and egress is not always very good. The Gem & Gold mine in Cherokee is not the best. We went to Franklin to the Cowee Mine. They were more honest in telling us what could be cut and much less expensive. We would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$31
We camped here for the June bluegrass festival. We have been camping here for this event and the fall festival for at least 10 years, because we have made some dear friends from 4 states who all return here for the event(s). The site has a pool for kids, cabin availability, bunkhouse availability, primitive camping sites, and plenty of sites for full hookups. Each site has a rock pit for campfires and a picnic table. The 4 bath houses were cleaned and re-supplied every 4-6 hours; no-smoking in the bathhouses and cabins was enforced. The staff is very friendly and very helpful with a store on site for basic supplies. The only reason I rate a 9 instead of a 10 is that when it rains (sometimes heavily), water drainage sometimes goes directly through the campsite instead of being controlled away from where tents and campers are sitting. We will definitely return here, even if not for the bluegrass festivals. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$24
This is a very nice park. The staff were very helpful and made light of booking people in though the campground wasn't "officially" opened for the year - so rate reflects the "non-seasonal" fee. Despite the area being a little soggy (a week of rain) I felt it deserved the high rating I gave it. The CATV was a little iffy but the staff stated a service call was expected the next day(s). There was plenty open places or clear views for my Sat TV to work. The WIFI was really great (free too). The place was laid out very well and the stream (river) "noise" was a perfect sound barrier to cover the traffic noise from the nearby road. They were looking for work campers at the time I was there, but was enroute to a position elsewhere. I will use this place again and suggest you should too. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$34
This lovely park is OPEN! The owners of the land (park is on Cherokee Reservation) have taken over management of the park as of March 2010. The restrooms are immaculate. Staff is very friendly and helpful. We arrived at 10 PM. Gate attendant led us skillfully to our site and then showed us another one better for our satellite setup. We took that one. Branches touching our front A/C unit were trimmed away the next morning. Sites are level. Cable TV in row 600 is good, rest are spotty or nonworking, but management is revamping park and working on that issue. Currently no WiFi, but we have HughesNet and had no problem. Air cards will probably not work here due to being in a valley. There are fire rings at sites. It's very peaceful, very quiet with loads of space between rigs. We are staying here 2 weeks and hate to leave. Easy to get to if you follow directions on their Website. After looking at other parks nearby, this is THE place to stay. We will definitely be back if we are in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$41
This park is OPEN. I know as we just stayed here over the 4th of July holiday. It is still the most wonderful park in Cherokee. Flat, flat, flat and has the biggest pull through sites. 4th of July entertainment was good. Hope you all read this and know that this park in still open for business. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$25
Love this campground in Cherokee, it's close to Harrah's Casino. Nice level pull through sites. Will always stay here when in Cherokee. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$41
We stayed here for 2 nights, unfortunately we had heavy rain for the days that we were there so the campsite was very muddy. The bath house and showers were clean, especially if you take into account the amount of mud due to the weather. This is the second time I've stayed here, and would recommend it to others. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$35
The entire campground area was always very clean while we were there. Could become very messy during heavy rain fall. Advertised services such as the shuttle rides, were available but very slow. Very good around the clock security. Everybody had nice size trout from the well stocked steam. Sites are large and easy to get into with easy access to the hook-ups. New patio pads are being added. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$45
We made the mistake of camping over Labor Day weekend. This place was wall-to-wall with people building campfires, and being noisy all evening. Just not the experience we had hoped for in the Smoky Mountain area. On a less crowded weekend, I am sure that this campground would be fun. There is fishing, a very large store for supplies, and planned activities such as an Elvis Impersonator and other musical entertainment. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$32
Nice, open campground with many pull-through sites and a friendly staff. Convenient to town. Wi-fi was good but cost extra. We camped two nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$48
Very nice campground. There wasn't very many camping when we were there. Some of the staff in the office were rude to my mother when they were checking in. If you go and plan to fish the stream don't expect them to stock the stream the same as they did in the past years. I realize this is not the campground manager fault, but when you purchase a permit from them I feel they should be able to tell you what days the streams are stocked. Several of the campers went there just to fish. The staff was asked to contact the Tribal fishery and ask questions about the lack of the stream stocking and no one there acted like they had the time to do so. I feel it should have been at least attempted to be done for the campers. Most of the campers left early due to this reason. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2008
$45
Stayed 3 days spot 904, a real mud hole since it rained, low hanging trees for my 40 foot coach. On arrival had burned rubbish in the fire pit, broken glass all over the area, goose droppings everywhere, an empty milk carton wedged in the tree trunk and the clincher was a used prophylactic laying on the ground. A real mess!! Many open sites with grass were available so I don't know why we were put in that spot. The people at the front office were not helpful at all. On the good side the security is good and the Wednesday night pizza was good. The lake is very muddy and full of geese that create a real mess in the campground. $.95 a day for the Wi-Fi and you must walk all the way to the office to sign up. A real bummer. I would not go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$30
We love this campground, especially the river sites. It's in a beautiful setting, with a lake in the middle and the river running on both sides. Sites are large and the park has great entertainment on the weekends, and a restaurant and well stocked store on site. The only downside is that Cherokee needs a serious "face lift". The only thing to do there really is the casino, and that's not for us, so we wish a good restaurant and some other entertainment would be added to the area. Yes, there's a museum in town, and the outdoor drama, "Unto these Hills" is excellent, but we've seen those more times than I can count. So, for a quiet weekend, this is a great destination. For more than that, I think we'd cross the mountain and stay in the National Park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2006
$30
1 night stay. Re-charged battery. Water had a sulphur taste did not use. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$30
A fine park and great location for the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. We were here for the Fall colors, not to be missed. Happy Holidays while a nice lay out, there were some tight areas for big rigs and considerable mud. The restrooms were few and far between. Only two were open while we were there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$29
Great, Christian campground! We loved it and look forward to our visit again in 2007! Lots of things to do inside and out of campground. Please visit...you'll love it...especially if you have children. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$24
We returned from Happy Holiday today. Definitely one of our favorite campgrounds to date. Sites were large and roomy. Many were stream-side. There's nothing like falling asleep to the sound of rushing water. The staff were friendly and very helpful. This is a very family friendly campground with lots for the kiddies to do. Bring a tube to float down the stream. The weather in Cherokee is the best, except for the sudden afternoon storms. Take care of the awning, we lost ours. Despite that one major issue, we had a wonderful time and will return as soon as possible. The bathhouses were large and immaculate. The only problem we saw was that the interior sites seemed to flood quickly during the rain. Store is stocked with everything you might need. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2005
$28
This was our first time to camp here,we usually go to River Valley Campground. We like to go tubing and the running stream by our campsite was great for that. The sites were spacious and the restrooms were clean. We probably will come back here on our future camping trips to Cherokee. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2005
$36
I made reservations early for this campground and specifically asked for a shady site. When I got there they put me right in the hot sun. I asked if we could be moved to a shadier site, but they refused. I asked for a refund so that I could go somewhere else, and they refused. I told her that they had falsely told me this site was shady and I should be given a refund. The manager finally came out and gave me the refund. Poor customer service! I will never go back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2003
$30
We had reservations for Labor Day. As we were setting up our popup, 2 of the cables broke. Instead of trying to prop it up (a heavy, 13' roof; setting up at dusk) we decided to go to my wife's aunt's place, a couple miles away. We went to the office to try to get our money back, and got no sympathy; we ended up forfeiting a nights rent. No, it was not their fault our camper broke, but it's not like they were going to lose any money. We went back to the site and ate a sandwich with some friends before we left. While we were eating, a staff person knocked on the door, wanting to know when we were leaving, since they had someone to take our place. I told him that we would stay as long as we pleased, since it was paid for. He backed off. Needless to say, we won't be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$34
We just got back from a 4 night stay at this great campground. If there is a better campground out there in existance, I don't know how it could be possible! We fell in love with the campground! The sites are very spacious. We had a site right by a beautiful, running stream. The site was grassy and on dry land, no mud. The site had plenty of room for our 28 ft TT as well as a big space for our truck. We didn't have to cram our truck in front our RV like we have to do at some campgrounds. There is a nice fish pond and also you can fish for trout in the stream. There is a nice swimming pool. There is a cafe on site where you can get ice cream, pizza, etc. It has a very well stocked camp store also. The employees there are very nice. It is situated in the beautiful mountains in Cherokee. There are many attractions nearby. I can not express enough just how wonderful this campground is! It is absolutely beautiful and I recommend it VERY highly! We enjoyed it very much! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2003
$27
Arrived for Memorial Weekend, wouldn't honor my good sam discount. Had lots of rain in area, site given close to the next person. Awning within 2 or 3 feet of next campers slide. Tackle box stolen, water shut off by unruly kids, water shut off by camper backing over faucet, crowded, people would walk thru our site to get to the river...I mean by the door, staff wouldn't move us to better sites when we arrived...tried later..offer no good sites. Ladies in the cafe really nice, music and fishing nice. Nice views. Won't go back to the campground or the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$35
We stayed here in a tent on 4th of July weekend and it was the best experiance of our lives. This campground was clean the staff was friendly and the showers were hot. We camped here in a Tent.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$32
Wonderful place. Live entertainment, pleasant staff. Offered a Good Sam membership that would save me money even though I only stayed 5 nights! We were away during a small storm and the full timers next to us lowered our canopy to make sure it wasn't damaged. This is my wife's favorite campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2002
$26
I have stayed at this park in several ocasions over the years I normally camp in a 30' Fifth wheel but this time I traveled with my daughter and we were going to tent camp the sites were either in the sun or on the rocks, the site we were assigned was not to our liking. we found a site that we liked better on the creek which we wanted in the first place, I sent my daughter up with some money to the office, I knew it would be more to see if we could change. Keep in mind there were probably 75 empty sites. She came back and told me their computer would not allow them to put a tent on that site. When she told me that, I thought that was the most ridiculous thing I ever heard, so I went up to the office and was given the same answer, I asked to speak to the manager after waiting for a few minutes he finally spoke to me and he stated that he had to save those sites for when the big rigs that come in later that evening. I asked the clerk if that site was reserved for that night, she stated no, I explained to the manager that I had the money and the site was vacant and that I wanted to rent it and he refused. It appears that the Happy Holiday park does not like tents. I asked for my money back and left not to return. Management not very accommodating. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$30
Nice, well maintained park run helpful friendly staff. Lots of activities for families. Some permanent sites (all were very well kept by the friendly occupants). Bath houses are clean, but not a/c. Best sites are shaded along the streams. A band plays on Saturday night, but stops at 10pm. Gravel drives are well packed and suitable for bikes. Harrah's Casino nearby (If you can stand the heavy smoke). Full service restuarants are in close by Towns of Maggie Valley and Sylvia. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2001
$30
This is a big park. The RV sites are close , but not too bad. You can still get your slides out and your awnings and party lights and enjoy the campground. They have live entertainment on the weekends (Not bad). Close to everything in Cherokee NC. A must see is the Indian Village, the Indian Museum and the drama at night "Unto these Hills".!...The pool was clean and some camping right on the river. Bathrooms are so,so but not bad. I would go back again... We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com