218896 User submitted reviews online!!
Yogi In The Smokies was rated 7 out of 10 based on 28 user reviews. Phone: (828) 497-9151
CGID2046

Yogi In The Smokies

Camp Information
Sites
180
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$170



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   10   9   3   7   9   9   8   10   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2014
$170
Just a quick note that we stayed up there from 8-16-2014 thru 8-22-2014. We checked out on 8-23-2014. We were in cabin 117. Here are the issues…. • Rude employees (on several occasions throughout the week) • Cabins are NOT cleaned properly before another tenant arrives. • Cabin 117 has to be the worst cabin on-site. (very little room to sit by the fire and very uneven (sloped, rocky and rootish terrain) Extremely small area for “enjoying sitting by the river” • Very rude desk employee when I asked for another wi-fi code. I explained I didn’t realize The codes are (Devise specific) • There were 8 people in our party (not counting the 16m old baby) We went to the pool 1 day, they watched us like we had a virus or something STARING out the window, even came out and yelled to us if our baby had a “little swimmy” on. • EVERY time I went into the camp store, the ladies behind the counter were constantly gossiping about Other campers in the park. (VERY unprofessional) • I found a set of camper keys in the driveway, I turned those in to the desk clerk, she rolled her eyes and Not even a “thank you” • My daughter found a credit card just outside the camp store, she turned it in and the lady just took it and threw it under the counter. Again she was rude and was not even concerned about how to return it to who it belonged to. (with a name on a card, it should not be too hard to figure out) She and the other lady was too busy gossiping to even act like they cared. NOW, here is my belief, if they don’t care who hears what they are saying, makes me wonder what they say about me When I walk out. It was almost like we were BOTHERING them. • Camp store closed at 6pm on a night (Thursday night to be exact). The sign says open until 7. I understand that the place was slow, but when you depend on a store to maintain the posted hours. It’s very aggravating to walk up there to a closed store. • Upon arrival, and checking in to our cabin, the floor was full of sand/grit. The help needs to attend to the cleanliness of the cabins BETTER. Also had a full bathroom trashcan. For the rates charged, we were very unhappy with our overall living arrangements. Would I recommend this place……….in a nutshell…….. NO This park has gotten OUR last dollar. And I will advise all my friends, and I know a lot (of people who do camp) To NOT waste their money at this so-called award winning park. ALSO, not to mention, when I got home from the trip, I had an email CLAIMING we had a pet in our cabin. ALL of our pets were boarded for this week. They said they found what looked like pet hair in the loft. WE found hair when we got there…….just another example of the outstanding cleaning job they did for us. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$50
Can't really say anything negative about this campground. It is very kid-oriented so it's great if you have them. There are activities throughout the day, bike rentals, etc. to keep them busy. One of the things that I loved about it was, unlike the other campground down the road, it has true "riverfront" sites for a tent or small camper. Wi-Fi is okay when it's working. It was out of service for the first half of our trip. Going to the "Unto These Hills" show in town was one of the highlights of our vacation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$45
When we checked in the lady in the office was super friendly. We were led to our campsite by one of the rangers who helped us get backed in and he also made sure that we had everything we needed before driving off. Our site was surprising level and all of the hookups were perfect distance. The site itself was private and very large. We were pleasantly surprised by that. We were close to the bathhouses but didn't use them during our trip. I did walk in there just to see how clean they were as I know families that tent camp and they are always looking for clean bathhouses and family friendly parks. The staff was always visible around the campground whether they were cleaning or just making sure they weren't needed. While we were packing up to leave the Ranger came over to make sure we didn't need help and to make sure we enjoyed our stay. He was such a wonderful man who truly enjoyed his job and that was such a great thing. They had plenty of activities for children throughout the day. I would highly recommend this to families. The road leading up there was a little winding but that's the joys of camping in the mountains. The weather and staff were wonderful We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2013
$45
I would not recommend this campground to anyone. It all started with the guy from the park who said he would watch the front of the RV as we maneuvered into the site and let me run right into an electrical box with the front putting a hole in the body of the grill and the rock guard. This RV up until now has not had a scratch on it. Second the power fluctuates very badly. Turn anything on, and all the lights go dim. They changed the breaker, and it does the same thing. The AC unit only runs at half and is struggling. Third the cable (their satellite) started out fine and then got very snowy. This is after the breaker change. I went out to check the cable line, and it was hot. So hot it melted the connections on both end. The park guys came out again and did something. I went to hook up another cable and now get absolutely nothing on the TVs. Evidently fried the cable line through the coach. Fourth their WIFI is as slow as I remember dial up being. They say they are not responsible for accidents or anything else, and we should have a surge protector on the coach. What that has got to do with the cable I have no idea. All and all beware. We have been camping in various RV's for over 20 years and have never written a review for any campgrounds that we have been too. But I could not let this one go by. This is the worst camping experience we have ever had. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$55
Nestled deep in the forest and along the Raven Fork River. Park is old but well kept. Lots of kids and lots of activities for family. Very friendly and knowledgeable staff. Slow internet and limited cell service. We stayed 2 nights. Would we stay here again? No, there are other RV Parks nearby that appear more cozy. We just prefer a park that is less busy. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$42
Campground clean (Bathrooms could have used more cleaning throughout the day but overall fairly cleaned), staff friendly, plenty trees for shade, and several activities schedule for the children throughout the day. I would return again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$65
This was a great campground! There were so many activities that we didn't have time to do all of them while only staying for 3 nights and wanting to see the sights in Cherokee. We did enjoy the pool, the hayride with Yogi, the playground, the arts and crafts, the movie, and, most of all, the tubing down the river! The people were very friendly and courteous. The only reason I did not give this park a rating of 10 was because there were a few times when our power would get so low that we couldn't run the AC or anything else. When we had them look at it, they said that since it's on an Indian reservation, they would not come out an fix it after complaining about it for 2 years. It's not the campground's fault, but it's something that we had never experienced before. It turned out to be OK after we agreed on turning off certain things and our neighbors did the same. We really enjoyed our time at Yogi in the Smokes and will definitely return when we visit Cherokee again. It was definitely worth the trip! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$40
Great, family, pet friendly campground. We only had two issues with the campground. The game room was a little lacking. A lot of the machines were out of order. I say this because, in our world of video gaming kids, they love to play video games. Our kids were a little disappointed. The only other issue I would say we had, is when it rains, it is extremely messy. They really need to gravel the roads and sites a bit more heavily because of the black dirt, the shade keeping it from drying out, and the fact that it is so level that water doesn't run off very well. In spite of this, we really enjoyed the wooded, mountain atmosphere. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$49
We have been camping at Yogi in the Smokies for seven years and have enjoyed our stay there every year! It is a family campground and it kept neat and clean! We love the fun family activities! Staff members are friendly and helpful! Once you camp there you will want to go back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2010
$43
We stayed here about 10 years ago, and had a terrible stay. The place has different owners and it was a lot better. This is still not my favorite campground and will probably choose a different one next time, but my choice should not discourage anyone from staying here by any means. Pros: Staff is great and friendly. Smiled and greeted us when we arrived. Escorted us to our site and helped us back in. Delivered firewood to the site since we bought a bunch. Always smiled and waved when passing by on their golf cart. I needed a sewing needle to stitch something up and went to the office to see if they sold a sewing kit. They didn't but the manager had one behind the counter that she let me borrow. Activities: The activities for the kids were plentiful. They had trick or treating, a haunted house, movie, arts and crafts, etc. Cons: I visited the bathhouse one time. While it was modern enough, the 2 stalls in it were dirty. One still had "remains" from a previous visitor and the other ones had black stuff (might of been wet dirt) on the floor. I didn't stay. And I had just seen a cleaning person leaving the bathhouse. Never went back in there, so I don't know how long it stayed like that. But I did see the cleaning person go down there often which seemed like at least once an hour. The sites aren't marked very well. Seems like one site just flows into another. They are all very close together as well. Cable TV did not work well at all. I thought it was ours, but my sister's site had bad cable TV as well as the cable in my other sister's cabin. Wi-Fi was sort of sporadic. I could get a signal in parts of my site, but would lose it in other parts. While there were a lot more pros about the kids activities, the major con to me was that just about everything cost something. I can understand the arts and crafts, but other stuff should be included in the camping price. Location: while deep in the park, it's a pretty view, getting there is not the best. Right before you enter the chain link fence, you feel like you are driving through a scene from the movie "Deliverance." You also get the great sound of dogs (sounded like bloodhounds) barking, from a residence outside the park. Not to include the sound of machinery. All in all a good trip, somethings can be changed, others can't and will always hurt this place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$35
My kids love Yogi Bear Campgrounds and this one up there at the top compared to the others. The owners are nice and helpful. The staff were very nice also. They had plenty events scheduled throughout the day to keep our kids from saying "We're Bored" every five minutes. The bathrooms and showers was an add-on building which was new from the last couple of times we camped here. (We stayed in one of their cabins the first time here and they where nice too!) We stayed here in our tent on the river. That was nice, but the site was a bit steep, slanting down toward the river. The campground is outside the hustle and bustle of Cherokee which is a good thing, but can be a bit much if you just want to run into town for something. We enjoy this campground and that's why we keep coming back. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$51
I stayed here 3 nights with my sons ages 7 and 10 years. We had a wonderful time swimming, tubing, and fishing in the river, swimming in the pool, riding bicycles, and cooking out. I will definitely stay here again if I visit this area. Space sizes are generous and ground is level. They also have numerous cabins. The only negative aspects are: (1) It is a long 7 miles back to Cherokee for entertainment, dining, shopping, etc.; (2)The campground has very limited groceries and no prepared food; (3) Cable TV did not work and local channel reception is poor, but in my site # 29 I was able to get a great signal on my satellite; (4) There is no cell phone service but Wi-Fi Internet service is good; (5) Camping fee is high, but with all of the amenities I felt it was worth the money. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$43
Very kid friendly, my 4year old had a blast. The down side is some of sites are close together and others don't drain very well. We got lucky with the site we stayed on (236) it was big and right next to small field. Some of road are tight but most shouldn't have any problem. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$50
The kids loved the park! They are 7 and 9 and still buy into the whole "ride with Yogi and Cindy on the wagon" thing. We had a river site and going to bed with the sound of the rushing river was great! The kids tubed from one end of the campground to the other many times. It is a bit shallow/rocky but for young ones thats better so you don't have to worry about them drowning. The pool was clean, bathrooms were a bit dirty but overall it was a great experience and the view was great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$38
Excellent Campground!! We were right on the River and the staff was extremely helpful. I am in total agreement with the other reviews. UNDER NO CIRCUMSTANCE FOLLOW YOUR GPS!! We got really lost getting there and arrived very late to the CG but there was someone there who took us to our site and helped us back in. Nice wide sites and clean. We would definitely return again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$40
Very nice campground, with a very friendly staff. Our site (#129) was right on the river - absolutely beautiful. Restrooms and showers were clean, although a few of the adjusting knobs on the showers had issues. The cable was not working in our section of the park, but they plan to completely rewire this winter. Wi-Fi worked fine. Lots of Halloween activities for the kids. I will reiterate the other reviewers who have said to NOT trust your GPS to find this campground - get directions from the office! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$43
Just returned from this park. My children and I loved it. There were lots of activities for the children to participate in all day to keep them busy. The staff were very friendly. Being a new camper, the site manager was very helpful in helping with the setup of my trailer. The sites were spacious and clean. Cable hookup and wireless worked great. Will definitely return in the spring. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$55
First and foremost, DO NOT try to use a GPS to find this campground. Even the staff snickered when I went into the office to register as I recounted being LOST while trying to find this campground. Learn from my experience and call ahead to get directions - even GoogleMaps and MapQuest don't get you there (yes - I had printed out directions as a back-up). The campground is very rustic and primitive in appearance. The full hookups were nice. There are lots of kids and seemingly hourly Yogi wagon rides for the kids through the park (beware the squirt gun rides...lol). The campground has cable hook-ups but staff told me it was "corroded in the ground" so I never got even ONE channel on my digital/LCD television. Even the antenna wouldn't tune in anything (so I missed the Heels first football game). The bathrooms were clean and spacious. There were more staff present here than at any other campground we've stayed at in past 3 years. It felt like a very safe environment for the kids to run around and bike and play in the river. There's a nice wide and level hiking trail to Mingo Falls. It's 2 miles each way and has a STEEP set of stairs that must be climbed to view the Falls. It is beautiful and worth the effort! We will stay here again. My family enjoyed the stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
Very nice campground with a lot of activities for the kids. We really enjoyed tubing in the creek. The staff was all really friendly. The site we had was in the back corner of the campground and was really large. Some of the sites close to the entrance were not as impressive. The park is a little dusty but a really nice place to take the kids (mine are ages 3 and 9). Will definitely be returning next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2008
$41
We have camped at Yogi In the Smokies many times over the years and have always had a wonderful experience, until this last time. We have two 8-year-old dogs that we have taken camping with us for years. We recently acquired another stray puppy that we have adopted, taking our total to 3 dogs. Well this was our first camping trip we made with all 3 dogs and were very apprehensive about the new puppy and how well she would do. Well it turned out that she was wonderful and our other two dogs are always good and we had no problems with any of them barking or scaring other campers. Well we were taking them out on a regular potty walk when the manager of the campground came up behind us in his golf cart. The first words out of his mouth were to ask us how we "Smuggled" 3 dogs into the campground. We thought he was just trying to make small talk with us and was joking around. But he kept following us with the cart and asked once again how we "Smuggled" the dogs in. I finally stopped and turned to him and asked what he meant by his question. His reply was that the rules stated that only 2 dogs max were allowed in the campground and we obviously snuck the 3 dogs in. I promptly replied that we didn't "Smuggle" anything into the campground and that we informed the campground we had dogs when we registered. He then proceeded to inform us that he would let us stay with the dogs this time but we would never be allowed to come back with 3 dogs. So I promptly informed him that we wouldn't be coming back if that was the case. He then mumbled something under his breath that sounded like "that's fine by me" and proceeded to drive on. My wife and I continued to walk the dogs in silence after that because both of us were so stunned we just didn't know what to say. We talked with multiple campers around us that had seen or heard what had happened and it sounded like the other campers weren’t happy with the staff either. I can't speak for the other camper's experiences but the rest of the staff seemed friendly to us and didn't say anything about having 3 dogs whenever we walked them. We also checked the rules on the flyer that they hand to us at check-in and it said nothing about a maximum number of dogs. When we got home we also checked the rules on their website and found nothing their either. My guess is if they have a rule like that, it’s unwritten or in the legal jargon that you are supposed to read before you sign when you check in but I’m guessing it’s probably not their either. Anyway, the manager's accusatory remarks and tone was enough to make us never want to go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$41
Jellystone is a "classic" campground. It appears to be around 20 years old with many sites of all different sizes and configurations. Most are for TTs and Popups. I think the biggest rig they can handle is about 40ft - and not too many of them. Overall it is a nice CG with its best feature a river that hugs the edge of it. It nice for wading and many people use it for gentle tubing. The pool looked clean although we did not use it. We also did not check out the the showers/baths. The roads are gravel/dirt and a bit narrow in spots. Also the office is not near the entrance so you need to drive into the CG a bit. Most folks looked lost when they first came in looking for it. We give it an 8 since we did have some issues, although most of the staff were very nice and apologetic. The cable never really worked. It worked a little the first day and then went out completely. The other issue we had was with power. On the second day our Surge Guard kicked off a few times. We called the CG staff to make sure it was not our device, but found one leg was only putting out 98v. We moved to the 30amp connection and had a few problems with that too. We believe it had to do with load since the CG was packed. Once everyone left, we never had another problem. Despite the issue, we would probably come back since it is a pretty location and we want to try to get one of the limited large sites along the river. The sites were level - ours was nearly perfect. Cell phones do not work here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2007
$45
We have been going to this campground for a few years (and it was one of our favorites) but we were very disappointed during this stay. This campground used to be very kid friendly with a lot of kid activities and the people running them used to be very friendly, but that was definitely not our experience this time. They have switched ownership and it just is not the same any more. The people doing the crafts were not prepared and very disorganized. You can no longer rent tubes to go down the river. They have taken away a lot of the campsites and put up cabins instead. Still a beautiful and very clean location, though it is a significant drive to civilization. A stay here can get very expensive with all the added cost for extra people, extra tents, river front, etc. Would definitely recommend the Jellystone campground in Gatlinburg instead of this one if you are looking for a place to go with your children that has some activities. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$33
Campground was nice and clean and relatively quiet despite the large number of children there. Our site was very small - we barely had room to put our awning out. There were other larger sites. We have a 26' travel trailer and made reservations for 10 nights so don't know why they put us on the smallest site in the campground. We saw some other campgrounds in the area we will try next time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2005
$60
Arrived at the park and enjoyed the rustic look that welcomed us. The employees were very friendly but thought that it was a bit pricey. Arrived at campsite and found a large RV in lot next door with their fishing equipment and tents in our site. Dropped trailer in next lot and went back to office and they stated they had problems the night before with the group camping there and I reminded them I was traveling with two children and didn't wish to expose them to their antics. They attempted to move us to another site but we were again faced with a group of "rowdy" campers/fishermen. They stated it was an unusual week because of the trout tournement and they were very sorry for the inconvenience. This park has much potential, but stay clear during this trout release season. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2004
$36
This is very nice park. The staff is friendly & leave you alone. The restrooms,showers, & grounds are kept clean. It has a laundry room, camp store, clean pool, video room, & nightly movies on a big screen. The play ground is OK , could use some updated play equipment. All the sites are very shady & the river is beautiful & soothing. We all waded out in the water. It's not too far away from Cherokee or GSMNP & peaceful & quiet at night. We stayed here twice with our 4 children & would certainly stay again. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$31
On the plus side - this is a nice family campground. Great for tents, pop-ups and TT's or renting one of the camping cabins. Very pretty sites along the river. Good trout fishing. Lots of shade. Clean grounds, bathrooms and showers. Nice new pool. Quiet at night. Staff friendly and helpful and worked hard at keeping everything clean. Nice little camp store. Activities for children. Lots of kids and pets - most were well behaved. On the negative side - sites and road definitely need to be better defined. The road needs to be paved or at the very least get graveled. Difficult to tell a site from the road - do not arrive after dark. Caution to big rig owners: it is VERY hard to maneuver due to skinny roads, trees hanging out into the road and too tight turns. Maneuvering through the park and putting a 40' motorhome in most of the sites is a real push! We ended up taking over two sites but could only do that because the campground was not full - forget it during the busy season. Large motorhomes will not fit on a river site. Not enough sites with sewer hookup. Most have water and/or electric - 30 amp only. No satellite TV available due to all the trees. No cell phone coverage - too many mountains. Cable TV is a joke - about 3 clear stations and the rest were all fuzzy or snowy. The ground is packed dirt with maybe some sand mixed in and not much grass because of the heavy tree coverage. Be careful of this place if there is much rain - it will be very muddy. From recent rains some sites in the front area were still muddy and rutted. Road to the campground is a windy 6 1/2 miles at 35 mph in a car (much slower in a motorhome) with a couple of sharp curves. We would have given a higher rating except that this campground is advertised as welcoming big rigs but we did not find it suitable for big rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$25
This campground has been improving since the current owners bought it. It still has a ways to go but the potential is definitely there. The bathhouses are always very clean and the kids love all the activities. Last year they totally redid the swimming pool so it should be in great shape this summer. It wasn't open when we were there recently, too early in the season. On the still needs to improve side, site definition needs to be better defined and the roads need some more gravel. The location is absolutely beautiul along the Raven Fork River. We drove thru the Cherokee KOA because on our last visit to Cherokee we camped at the KOA. They have almost turned this park into a concrete parking lot. HUGE concrete pads and almost all the trees are now gone. Not a very camping like atmosphere. If you like more of the state park type layout and trees, located along a beautiful river then you may like Yogi better. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2003
$27
Dirt interior roads, gravel on some sites to keep the mud under control, but messy if raining. Heavily wooded overhead so don't count on satellite TV. Don't know how many sites have cable TV. Owners and staff were very nice, but park was a little too rustic for us. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com