223354 User submitted reviews online!!
Raccoon Holler Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 30 user reviews. Phone: (336) 982-2706
CGID2059

Raccoon Holler Campground

Camp Information
Sites
200
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   4   9   9   9   7   7   4   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$15
We stayed here for a month to enjoy the area and camp with family. This park is a mixed bag for us. The location is about as good as it gets - getting in and out wasn't too bad given the mountains. The proximity to the Blue Ridge Parkway cannot be beat -- less than 1 mile away. Nice man made pond with large grassy area and playground for the kids. Sites are quite variable in size, level and tree coverage -- do your homework before reserving if you intend to stay a while. Since we stayed for an extended trip and we both work, we had the local telephone company install internet directly to our site to avoid struggling with the park's internet (which is very spotty). Now, the less desirable side, for us: our encounters with a few of the staff was not that great. We bring along a street legal scooter to get around parks and the first thing we were told was "you cannot ride that here". Ok, rules are rules, we respected it. However, that would have been nice to see that policy on the web site ahead of time before I drug the thing 1300 miles. Beyond that encounter, they were curt and unfriendly during most transactions. Felt like I was bothering them to buy something, etc. I had a great laugh at one of the other reviews description of the "Golf Cart Mafia". Couldn't agree more with that. The park definitely had that "I've got my eye on you" vibe in places. There are a bunch of seasonal sites here and some are quite cluttered which is a bit of visual noise pollution. That said, the seasonal folks were extremely friendly and that park has a great social vibe to it. The rate reflects a monthly rate, which has metered electricity. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
Overview: This is an OK place to stay if you're just passing by overnight on the Blue Ridge Parkway. Roads: Nicely paved, but narrow. Campsites: Gravel - Most are decent. Minor leveling is needed in some. Some are shaded, some are not. Scenery: Decent with a man-made lake in front. Not much going on there, no shade trees. Bathrooms: The bath house I used was pretty lame. Hasn't been updated in decades. The Bayou Segnette State Park bath house in New Orleans likely spent more on one toilet stall than this entire bath house. Expect peeling paint coat after paint coat for your shower walls. The shower heads are awful like sandblasting equipment nozzles. Staff Attitude: Expect one. Something about these folks comes across as arrogant. It's a campground - not the Ritz Carlton. It seems to depend on who you get, but don't expect a simple "thank you" when purchasing items in the store. There are old guys sitting around like the golf cart mafia. Firewood: It's more like Firebark. Doesn't burn well - some of it actually has the burning behavior of a meteorite. Security: Excellent. Likely because of the golf cart mafia. Conclusion: I wouldn't plan on staying here for long. Many of the campers are nice. They don't make up for the rest of it in my opinion. Plan on staying a night or two. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$28
This clean, quiet campground is a stone's throw from the Blue Ridge Parkway. Our first stay was in 1990. This was our second stay. About one third of the sites are seasonal and the rest for visitors. Visitor rather than travelers. This is great for an overnight, but the facilities and setting makes it great for a longer stay. A very friendly person on the phone made it easy for us to arrive late. This park is better than I remembered. Our kids loved this place and now I know why. Great camping experience for a family. Plenty for kids to do. Quiet for adults to do nothing. We'll be back again without our long wait. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$28
This is a beautiful park with mature trees and impeccable landscaping. Underground utilities and no street lights. We did feel it would be difficult to arrive late because of darkness. It is true that many of the RV sites are occupied by seasonal RV's, but because of our late (in the year) visit, we felt very comfortable. Also, we were told that there is most often room for the daily and weekend visitors. Not much cellphone signal for us. Bathrooms very clean. Staff very kind to us. We definitely will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
Our first trip here this weekend was great. Beautiful campground, clean, quiet and friendly neighbors. The campground is populated mostly with seasonal campers. Everyone we met was extremely friendly, and loved our dogs! Rate was $28/ night + $2/ night for AC use. I felt the rate was reasonable for the park. We will definitely camp here again. If I was in the market to set up in as a seasonal camper, Racoon Hollar would be at the top of my list. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$32
This is a nice park, but unfortunately, it seemed that most of the good sites (shade, size) accommodate long term seasonal campers. The rest are kind of small and not shady. The 'regulars' aren't very friendly and I got the impression that weekenders were intruding. I'll probably stay here again, but only because of family in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$30
This was a clean park. Some sites not very level. Ours dropped off on both sides, so had to make sure we were right in the middle. Also a sewer smell around the site. They charge $2 extra per night if a camper wants to use air conditioning. My main complaint was although we made reservations as a club, we were still scattered around the campground. They also seem to have a real hangup about their paper vehicle passes. It has to be turned in when one leaves. The guy in the golf cart will chase a vehicle down if he doesn't see the placard immediately. I would go back if the club wanted to, but probably wouldn't by myself. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2012
$26
Good park: the restrooms are clean, and the grounds are very well kept. Sites around site 135, are on a gravel lane and tend to get very dusty with traffic. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$26
This park has many seasonal campers on large sites, most with decks, sheds and decorative items arranged around the site. None were junky, and the entire park was well-kept. We told them we had a dog with us, and their only comment was to be sure and pick up after him. We were not charged extra. Our site was not level, and required three blocks under each tire on one side to get close to level. None of the other sites looked much better. There was Wi-Fi in the park, but not at our site, which they told us on check in. This was not a problem for us since we have cellular Internet service. Bathrooms and showers were clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$28
This was our first time camping here and we had another couple with us in their travel trailer. The hosts helped make our stay very nice and were very helpful giving instructions to places we wanted to go. It was conveniently located to the beautiful Frescos, the Blue Ridge Parkway, Boone, and other wonderful mountain locations to visit. The campground was quiet, friendly, and extremely clean. It was more than we expected. We will definitely go there again and highly recommend it to others. Everyone we met there was very friendly. It was a less than full weekend because it was the weekend before they were closing for the winter and they made apologies for the movement/storage of seasonal trailers, but we found the campground in great shape and everyone there was quite friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$25
Great level sites, roads paved, shade, beautiful view right from camper. Great place to camp; not much to do for children, but we aren't children. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful and other campers friendly. Campground was quiet and peaceful. Would rate a 10 but no wi-fi at site. We will be back next year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$33
Beautiful sites ... most are shaded. We got charged $5 extra for our dog, even though that is not stated on their website. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2011
$39
Nice grounds, great lake with a view. But if you show up with a dog (any size or breed) you simply are not welcome. Management tries to accommodate visitors but has mostly seasonal sites. The seasonal guests sort of write their own rules, leaving both unhappy seasonal and visiting guests. We've traveled and camped all over this country never seen anything like it. No second chances here, this was out of control. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
It is a nice park but somewhat isolated. There are no restaurants, etc. close by. The park was on the Blue Ridge with easy access, but owners didn't tell us, we found out on our own. The laundry and restrooms were clean. There were quite a few full timers, but there was plenty of space. The WIFI would not work at all...office said it was only in their location where it worked. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$32
Sorry I couldn't rate this higher, but they charged a dinner guest $5 to visit for 3 hours. After I complained, I was refunded the money. It is supposed to be that amount for an overnight guest and $2 for a visitor. Since I travel alone and rates are based on 2 people, I don't think this is fair. Most of the sites are pretty and shaded; the pond is a nice place to fish and the Blue Ridge Parkway is only 50 yards away. Overall it is a good park and I would stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
Raccoon Holler Campground is a very nice family owned campground. This resort is clean and well taken care of. Bath houses were very clean. The staff are beyond friendly and make sure that you are enjoying yourselves. The staff keeps the rules enforced 24/7. All paved roads, spacious sites, quiet country settings, well stocked store, and gated. A very safe place for children to ride bikes and play. The owners are always here working. We will definitely return. There are not many campgrounds left that have such high standards, for the 25.00 nightly rate. Great place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2009
$28
I thought this campground was pretty nice and perfectly situated between the Blue Ridge Parkway and the New River. Unfortunately some of the permanent residents that take up 75% (my guess) of the campground aren't so nice. We took our dogs with us (as always) and our puppy likes to talk (bark) to people as they walk by. However we were always right there to quiet her. So even if she barked at somebody it was only once or twice, not non-stop. But we were called to the office and told they had multiple complaints from the residents. The lady at the desk offered to give me a refund if I wanted to leave a day early (politely telling me to leave) and she told me we would not be allowed to bring our dogs back, to which I replied promptly that she wouldn't have to worry because I would never come back. The funny thing is that we walked our dogs multiple times while we were there and they never made a peep when we walked but we heard all kinds of dogs barking at us as we would walk by the permanent campers sites. I guess we just got the feeling that they really didn't want us weekend campers there and it was a very clicker-permanent-camper type of place. So all that on top of having to pay cash for the site, and being nickel-and-dimes for everything like having kids, using your water heater, using your air conditioner, etc., is why I gave the rating I did. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2009
$28
Clean, large campground caters to a lot of permanent/seasonal campers. Even though we called a few days ahead and requested a 30 amp site, and called again when we were about one hour away to confirm, we were not told that no credit cards are accepted until we arrived! We were told we could take our 35' Class A back down the mountain (or farther up) in search of an ATM. Fortunately we had enough cash on hand. Then we learned that even though the site had both 50A and 30 amp receptacles, it was considered a 50A site and we were charged the higher rate. To add insult to that injury, if you use electric heaters or your a/c, an additional charge is added. Also, there is no site trash pickup, and the dumpster is a 1/2 mile walk down a steep drive. Better bring a toad or golf cart! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$28
We found this to be a great cg. Quite, clean and friendly. Many permanent set ups. This is a good place for walks and getting away from the stress for a while. We will stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$28
Decent campground. Alot of amenities for young and old. All the sites were good. They had a local bluegrass band there the weekend we were there. They also had a church service that Sunday which we really appreciated. We will be back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2007
$30
Someone else said it..."Pick your site wisely, here!!" Nearly all the sites are seasonal and they dump the temporary people in some pretty awful sites. We had a pull-thru with gravel roads on two sides: one from the park and the other a county road (where the "good-ole-boys" roared up and down all night with their radios blaring!). This is NOT what I was driving the Parkway to experience and I felt like I had just pulled off to the side of the road to park for the night! It was hot, so we were able to run the A/C; but that's about the only good thing I'd say about this place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$35
Choose your site wisely; phones do not work and no internet. However staff is great, place is pretty and a good place to camp. Great sites; big and easy to use. Level and a great place to walk. Don't miss the church with Fresca in nearby town, an easy walk from the campground. If they had internet, we would go every year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2005
$17
This was a nice park, but did not have a lot of recreational amenities. The bath houses were clean and well maintained. This is a nice little campground, but not on our "Top 10" list of places to visit. We have small children and there wasn't a lot for them to do. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2005
$20
Very clean campground. We camped with a large group and had a ball. The staff was wonderful and we will definitely go back! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2005
$35
Nice campground with a small lake too fish. Would be better if 90% of the campground wasn't bought up by perment campers. During our stay in mid summer only noticed a third were being used. It was a nice stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2005
$25
Great Park, we camp here often. The campground is comprised from mostly seasonals, but lots of transient sites available as well. Does not have the bad reputation that most campgrounds with seasonal folks have. Park is located beside the Blue Ridge Parkway, with nice view of surrounding mountains. We highly recommend this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2004
$25
We really enjoy this campground. It's right on the Blue Ridge Parkway so you can take a nice hike so easily. It is a very quiet park. There are many seasonals but most are considerate and quiet. It is very scenic too. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$22
Very nice park. Lots of seasonal but well kept. We had choices of wood or open sites and chose open for the view. Only negative is no modem hookup but we went into town of Jefferson and the phone company had computer on line we were allowed to use. Very nice area.We camped here in fall of 2003 We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2002
$28
Beautiful campground, beautiful lake, just one problem, almost all the really nice sites are taken by permanent residents.We got stuck with a site that was no more than 20 feet from a nearby county road. Of the 200 sites I believe there are aprox 20 sites for rent. It's too bad, it would be a fantastic campground if all the good sites were not unavailable. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2001
$22
Beautiful campground and setting just off the Blue Ridge Parkway between mileposts 257 and 258. Sign can be seen from the Parkway but if you're headed north, when you see the sign, you'll have gone too far and will have to turn around somehow. Most of the park overlooks the lake and christmas tree farms. Very scenic. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com