219848 User submitted reviews online!!
Raleigh Oaks RV Resort (Closed) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 53 user reviews. Phone: (919) 934-3181
CGID2104

Raleigh Oaks RV Resort (Closed)

Camp Information
Sites
102
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$47



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   8   9   9   10   8   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$47
This is a nice park - easy to navigate, roomy spaces and very friendly staff. The waffles and coffee were a nice treat. Wi-Fi worked well, as did the cable and other utilities. If I had to complain about something it would be that it is a bit pricey, and I really don't understand why some campgrounds feel the need to charge extra for kids. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$38
Been a few years since we stayed here and it is now a KOA which I always find to be pricey. The place is well kept and WiFi and cable worked well. The free waffle breakfast is after 8 am so we didn't get to try it since we wanted to leave shortly after 8 am. Office staff was friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$38
Nice park and relaxing setting. The staff couldn't have been any nicer. We couldn't take advantage of the pool this time of year, but we enjoyed the nature walk and large play areas. Well stocked camp store, and we were treated to free, homemade waffles before we departed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$38
Ours was a level pull through site. Services were very good and voltage in low 120's. Wi-Fi worked well. Very friendly staff in a clean park. Only point would be to correct some of the rough sections in the lower end of the park. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$38
We stayed here for 3 nights mid-week off season while enroute elsewhere. Very few people in the park, but you could not have asked for more from the staff: friendly, courteous, prompt to meet needs and fulfill requests. Store and grounds were very clean--the grounds crew was visibly doing their job during the day. Garbage picked up promptly from in front of our site. Utilities and hookups worked as advertised. I never give a 10 just on principle or this campground would have one. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$23
Took advantage of stay 2, get 1 night free. Great team of folks, very cordial and helpful. Free waffle breakfast was very good. Great cable and Wi-Fi. Very clean facilities. Well cared for sites, they inspect each one and clean them up upon a camper's departure. Nice long sites, pretty level. Very peaceful and quiet toward back of property, otherwise some road noise, depending on wind. Nice walking trail in back of property. Highly recommended. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$38
Nice clean park. Great place for travelers with dogs as they have two pet parks. The staff was very accommodating and worked to ensure we had a site with satellite reception that was close to the pet park. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$39
Very nice campground. Clean, with level sites. Very friendly staff & nicely stocked store. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$42
This is the second time we have stayed at this park. Both times were for a week or longer. This is one of the very best parks we have stayed in. The staff went out of their way to make sure our visit was enjoyable. The park is clean and very well maintained. It is a quiet park with easy to access pull-through sites. The dog parks are excellent and well maintained. We will be back to stay again when we are up this way. We can't say enough good things about this excellent park and the staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$39
Pleasant, clean park. Great staff. Good amenities. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$47
Good park with easy access from I-95. The staff was very good and helpful. There are level sites and good interior roads. Satellite will not work in most sites. Good water pressure and power good. Wi-Fi was very good. Will stay again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$30
Great KOA near I-95, but no noise. All amenities, and we have stayed here 3 times. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$53
What I’m looking for in campgrounds – Easy big rig access, full hookup at 50 amp, level sites, secure area, and clean restrooms. Drive-thru, Wi-fi and cable TV are bonus features which are much appreciated. I have no interest in a pool, a dog run, or kid’s activities. I’m here to see sights in the area and the campground is simply a place to park my 37‘ 5th wheel. Easy in and easy out although the exit was a bit pot hole rough. Power was good, level sites, secure, clean but small restrooms. The wi-fi was reliable. The access roads were asphalt and the sites were gravel with a picnic table and fire pit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2012
$38
The Smithfield KOA is less than a mile from I95, making it great for an over night stay. As previously reviewed roads and sites are a bit tight for larger RVs. Our site was level and easy to set up the RV. Voltage at our site was 120VAC. Would consider staying at this campground for one night stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$40
Great place to stop over. Very convenient to I-95. Far enough off the highway so there's no road noise. Everything was clean and tidy. Staff was very pleasant and helpful. Wi-fi and cable worked well. Will definitely come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2011
$35
We stayed here since it's only 1 hour 20 minutes from our house and it is close to all the outlet shops. It's your basic KOA with all pull-through sites in the middle, and tent camping on the outer edges. They do put the monthly (and longer) staying campers away from the nightly folks within a different section. When we camped here, the majority staying here was a motorhome traveling club with a few travel trailers and pop-ups. The roads get a bit tight with all the motorhomes plus a car in tow to navigate. The pull-through sites are close to each other but typical of a KOA. The owners are nice and very helpful. They have coffee and waffles every morning in the office. My two kids liked the playground and riding their bikes on the paved streets. All and all: it's close to the Smithfield shopping via I-95, but more like a overnight stop off point for traveling on I-95, and not a week long destination to me. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$20
Smithfield KOA was a good place for us to spend a month near the Grand-kids. While it is little dated, as it seems most KOA's are, there were 2 or 3 staff members working around the campground all the time so it is generally clean and kept up pretty well. The staff is friendly and helpful and the rate quoted is the result of our monthly stay. The negatives that kept us from rating it higher are that they have ceased enforcing the rules that make an RV Park outstanding. While the last post referred to the long term area of the park where most of the long term have permanent campsites, the problem is the longer term campers in the main part of the park. There were at least 8 to 10 sites where the clutter around their campers was really junky. Many units had carpets on the lawn areas killing the grass and while they had signs that said don't drive on the grass, they don't enforce it. The showers was one area where the maintenance man hasn't been in a while. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$40
Good Campground. Used as base for college football weekend. Friendly office staff with most essentials stocked in store. Store has lots of souvenirs and camping supplies. Campground was clean and well maintained with two pet facilities. Cable TV and free Wi-Fi was excellent. Bathhouse facilities a little dated and small but sufficient. Previous posts referenced "long termers". We road through long term section, which is separate from rest of campground and thought that the campers were well maintained and clean. Game room is also dated and most games did not work. Exercise room definitely needs attention. Most of the equipment was from the 70s. Easy on/off to interstate. One of the few negatives (and reason for 9 rating) was that they did not have a newspaper box or sell newspapers in the store. We would definitely camp here again if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$15
OK, for the Raleigh area this is a good as it gets for monthly folk. You know, the contractors who if they bought a house it would never get lived in. That's me and my wife. It has it all: hot, showers, pool, store with fair prices, Wi-Fi offered free for monthly and dailies, cable TV, and a quiet nice environment with friendly folks. The only draw back is how far you have to drive if you have to go to Morrisville or Durham. I wish KOA would open something close to the Morrisville area but with an hour or so drive it seriously not bad. This is a place for monthly, if you are seeking a get a way the Raleigh area Smithfield included. This no Jacksonville FL. But if you are looking to find work as a contractor and want to stay out of the city, this is a place worth looking at. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$35
A nice KOA, just off the Interstate, with great staff. We had a good, level pull through site with FHU. Had free waffles for breakfast. There is a tight turn at the far end of the park, but overall a good place. We would return again when passing through. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$34
A good sized park with spacious sites. I must disagree with the previous comment about the sites being on the small side. We found them extremely spacious and were able to park our truck directly in front of our fifth wheel without any problem. This is a very convenient stop if traveling on I-95 but that also brings the noise level up a notch. This is not a destination stop as there is not much to see in the area other than the Premium Outlets. We liked the staggered sites because you are not directly along side of your neighbor. Every morning they have complimentary waffles and coffee to get you going. A good, clean overnight stop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$49
Nice clean park. Very friendly staff. Excellent directions to local attractions. Pull thrus a little short. Had to unhook 32 foot fifth wheel to stay on site. Two dog parks. Very pet friendly Stayed two nights. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$36
One of the best KOAs we have stayed at. Sites were wide and level. Hosts seemed to mean it when they welcomed us. Wi-Fi and cable were good. A turn that was a bit tight on leaving. We’ll be back when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$29
Fairly nice campground. We stayed here on the way to the NASCAR race in Atlanta Labor Day weekend. We checked in fairly late and the map with our spot was in the drop box. Site was easy to pull through in the dark. Sites are fairly level although with the trees and roots around all might not be like that. No complaints and we would recommend this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$40
Nice campground. Nice sites. Good Cable (over 70 channels) and Wi-Fi. Convenient to I-95 as well as outlet mall. Staff was friendly and courteous. Great showers. Would use this again as an overnight stop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$37
I wanted so bad to give this campground a 9 but a few things held it back; non level sites, small sites, and sites weren't maintained very well (grass not cut, etc). I was greeted very kindly at the front desk. They gave me either a military discount (10%) or stay 3 nights get one free. I took the latter and actually stayed an extra night. The CG was very, very quiet as we were in the very back section. The pool was small but nice. They are very pet friendly. I really enjoyed the free BBQ on 3 Jul (they also have free waffles every morning). The only negative experience besides what I already mentioned was our next door neighbors decided to rev their motorcycle engines at 1:00 AM Sun morning. I can't ding the CG for this but I can tell you I was quite upset. Overall it was a great CG that needs to work on the details to become a top notch CG. I don't understand why they were nearly empty on a holiday weekend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$40
This is a clean, nice park. We stayed here overnight. It was very easy on & off Interstate. Nice bath house and laundry. Ask for a site where the sun won't be facing your awning. Pool for kids but not much else to do here. Overall nice campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$40
Nice quite park, everyone was very helpful and friendly. The WiFi worked great, pool was nice and clean. Roads could use some work, easy off and on to I-95. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$39
A good cg right off I-95, easy in and out. Some sites have very good shade. The roads need a little work, but were not bad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$36
It is a nice, older campground. The dids loved the pool. We stayed here overnight on our way to VA. The only complaint I have is the placement of the sewer connection. Our dump valve is forward of the trailer wheels, and the sewer outlet was at the far rear corner of the site. It took a lot of hose to reach the outlet. I would have rated better if roads and sites were paved and level. The road and sites were gravel in OK to good shape. The site was not level, but not bad (one board off). We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$50
Nice place to stop by for a few nights. The staff is very friendly. Two very nice fenced pet walk areas where you can let the dogs off their leashes. Nice pool and play areas. Thought is was a little "pricey" but I suppose you have to expect to pay for an easy on/off I 95. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$36
A very nice CG. Only stayed one night as we were passing thru. But I would definitely have stayed longer if time permitted. Great staff and really clean facilities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$34
Nice for long term. Many Civil War sites in area. This was our 3rd time here and it is better than before. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$33
Nice facility. Campground was clean & well kept. Facilities were very clean. Staff was very nice & helpful. Some sites a little small. Turn at the back is a bit tight, due to little fences. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2008
$34
Very quiet campground. Friendly staff, very helpful. Sites level and well setup with water, sewer, and cable. Will come back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2008
$36
We just stayed one night on our way north on the I-95, as it is close by. The staff is friendly and helpful, we had a nice level site and I used the laundry, which was excellent. In the morning we had free coffee and waffles which was a bonus. The campground is well maintained and we will use it again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$32
It was just a quick overnight stop, and we arrived well after closing. Check-in info hanging on bulletin board with our name. The campground host came out in a golf cart and led us directly to our site and was very nice. Level sites and, no problems with hook ups. The cable TV worked very well. We left the next morning so didn't get to use the parks amenities but would like to return sometime. There is food and shopping in a huge outlet mall close by. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$45
Very Nice clean campground - from the pool to the bathrooms - very clean - nice quick overnight stay off 95. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$34
The sites were level and easy to pull into. Campground was quiet and clean. The bathrooms and laundry room were both very clean and nice. The pool was on the smaller side, but in good condition and warm. The staff was so friendly. They kept the grounds immaculate, even cleaning the leaves off of our awning one day. This was children friendly and pet friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$50
This was a nice park near I-95 and an outlet mall. The staff was very friendly. We stayed over the 4th of July, and they had a lot of activities going on including a "pig pickin'" and games for the kids. The only problem was that the gnats were so bad during the party that your food was literally covered with them and no amount of shooing would get them to fly away. I quickly tossed the food and headed to the trailer. The cost was too high, but the park was clean and well cared for. My site was not level, and from the number of blocks under other's tires and motorhome tires jacked off the ground, I assume many other sites were not level as well. We would stay here again, though. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$35
Stopped here for an overnight. Less than 1/2 mile from I-95, some highway noise but not bad. Utilities are in excellent shape. Crystal clear cable with 70+ channels. Wifi works well. Interior roads are a little tight, but sites are wide and long enough to leave the towed attached for the night. Staff was polite and registration was quick and smooth. I would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$37
This nice campground has a very nice staff. It is very quiet yet convenient to 95. They go out of their way to be helpful and keep the park very nice. We've stayed before and will stay again. A note: The name of the campground is Smithfield KOA and the physical location is Four Oaks NC (per the receipt). Selma is about 5 miles further north. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$40
We were only here for one night, as a stopover while heading south. The campground was very easy to get to from I-95, yet we didn't hear any road noise at all. While the campground appeared to be quite full, it was very quiet. The staff was very, very helpful when we discovered that the cable tv wiring inside our RV wasn't functional - we made several trips to the camp store and they were just as friendly on our last visit as they were on our first! Bathrooms appeared to be clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2007
$37
Wifi worked very very slow. Management knew nothing about how to fix problem. Cable also worked very poorly with lots of snow in picture. Also very expensive for quality of park. Would never stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2007
$34
Easy access from 95. Nice staff. Nothing super special at campground other than a quiet well run campground for those traveling the I95 "concrete tunnel". You can find cheaper sites but spend a little more and pick this KOA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$16
We are halfway through our monthly stay and have enjoyed the park and facilities with grandchildren and their parents during this time. The pool is clean and well kept, as is the entire park. The sites are adequate. Staff are friendly and the park is well patrolled, but you do not feel as though you are being watched. This is a great park for relaxing. It is close to some good restaurants, shopping and a large outlet mall. The park is close to I-95, but the noise from traffic was not distracting. We will stay here again in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2006
$30
Very clean pool, restrooms, laundry,etc. Sites are fairly level, not roomy but large enough to fit a good size RV. Managers are very nice and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$29
This is a nice but typical KOA. The general appearance was attractive and well kept. The roads were paved but narrow. The sites were gravel and fairly close together but long enough not to have to unhook. The staff was friendly. We didn't see much of the park because we were only there for an overnight, and it began to pour down rain just after we got set up. We would stay here again and would recommend it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2006
$35
Nice stop-over campground with easy access, good interior road layout, well kept hookups and nice facilities. It was no problem getting to our site in the motorhome with the Jeep in tow. The staff was nice and the office had a good selection of odds and ends. We would stop here again without hesitation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2006
$34
Clean, quiet campground. Staff was friendly. Sites are adequate for slide outs. Nice place to stop for an overnight stay. No restaurants in sight, but I'm sure the staff would have helped if we had asked. Propane price was very fair. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2005
$40
A nice overnight CG not far off I-95. Very clean. Campsites were adequate size and lots of shade. Wi-Fi was free and worked good. Very pleasant here. Only issue is the price. $40 is too much for an overnight spot in our opinion. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2005
$33
VERY nice CG. Very well maintained. Even has fitness room that would rival a Sheraton! We loved the fenced pet park where the dogs could roam without a leash and do their business. Park even provides a scooper and bags! Our site was nicely shaded and I'm entering this review via their free wifi. Pool was Very nice! Very nice folks operating the CG. We'll be back. PS: we stayed at the other park near here, very nice people also but does not compare with here... EXTRA $10 worth it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$24
Friendly and cooperative manager. Easy off/on access to I-95. Convenient to area attractions and outlets. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com