218848 User submitted reviews online!!
Cowan Lake State Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 16 user reviews. Phone: (937) 383-3751
CGID2235

Cowan Lake State Park

Camp Information
Sites
237
Date of Stay
August 2012
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   7   5   2   7   8   6   7   10   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  no  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  no  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2012
$27
We were camping here for four nights. Restrooms were filthy with large mold spots on ceiling, that were never cleaned. Cigarette butts, shaver caps, and dental floss accumulated on floor and never removed. Walls and floor filthy. Cleaning consisted of custodian walking in with little broom and walking out with trash bag. Nice programs for children and nice sites. Sent 2 letters to Ohio parks about dirty restrooms and showers, 3 weeks passed with no replies. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$27
Cowan Lake Campground is average for an Ohio State Park. We stayed the second weekend of April, only the showerhouse and restrooms were open. Both were clean (other than cobwebs in the windows) and in working order. The non-pet section is nicer, though a large majority of those sites are not level. Bring an outdoor rug if staying in the pet section. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$27
We had a large shady site. We stayed during the week and there were very few campers there and it was quiet and peaceful. The restroom and shower house were disappointing. The restroom had a strong smell of cat urine. The cleaning routine seemed to consist of emptying the trash and replenishing the toilet paper. There were tons of spiders, bugs and spider webs. The shower house had a strong odor of cigarette smoke. Again, lots of spider webs and bugs. It didn't look to have been cleaned thoroughly recently. The campground had its own beach which was nice. The lake had some seaweed in it and the water was green, which might have been because of the 90 degree weather. The personnel were friendly and helpful. The store had a restaurant which offered reasonably priced fast food. Because of the restrooms and shower house, we would not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2010
$27
We stayed at Cowan Lake State Park with our little dog the first weekend in June. We had heard good things about the park. We camped in the pet area of the campground, and were not impressed at all. It is very wooded, so there was basically no grass on our site. It was nice and shady, but also nice and muddy. It looked to us like almost every site in the pet designated area was about the same. The restroom was the dirtiest I've seen in the state parks we've visited. We were here for 3 days, and it was not cleaned once during that time. There was a strong urine smell which was not at all pleasant. What really upset me, though, was driving through the non pet area, and seeing just how beautiful it was. I felt like I had entered a different park. Beautiful mowed grass, lots of huge shade trees, spacious campsites, and no mud. I felt like we were discriminated against because we have a dog. We have not encountered this at any other state park. I doubt if we will go back, and I know we won't go with our dog. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$26
We camped in the pet-friendly area so it was highly wooded. We thought we were getting a "lake-view" spot but the numbering on the sites is similar to the cabins so we were mistaken. We went to the front office and picked another site (near restrooms) as the corresponding site number was undesirable and they were very helpful. This is a state park so we had no water/sewer, but knew this in advance. The restrooms near us were clean-ish, meaning "usable" but bring a flashlight. The showers were warm and fairly clean. Make no mistake, you won't get "commercial"-quality amenities but it's good for a state park. The campground was very spacious, the store well-stocked, neighbors were quiet, good roads, beautiful lake and large, ample play areas for our 4 kids. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$28
We go here alot because it is close to home. The price creeps up every year but no improvements are made. The airplane traffic has gone down significantly since DHL has laid off the entire town of Wilmington. This place is alot of fun for the Halloween weekend. The same park ranger is always there but you don't see him much. Watch out for raccoons and skunks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$27
Second time we've camped at this park, this site was very small, pad listed as 66 feet, but a 28 foot trailer and an Expedition wouldn't fit on the pad. Bathrooms needed some work, paint and cleaning. The Showers were OK, but hot water lasted 3-5 minutes, and we tried for a hot shower at three different times throughout the day. The Dump station was very nice, near the trash, and easily accessible. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$30
We have camped at Cowan Lake on several occasions, so we knew what to expect. Large sites with plenty of tall, established trees provide good shading. Showers and restrooms are a bit dated, but have always been clean during our visits. Weekends during the summer they show a "family oriented" movie - a nice touch for those camping with children. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$26
We love our local state park campground! We camp here frequently every summer. We camped for a week on site # 172 which is right beside a water spigot and a grey water dump basin. This allows us to stay and not have to use the dump station to get rid of our grey water. This is a beautiful campground and is perfect for bike riding and just plain walking! It is always clean and well kept. Never have had any problems while staying here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2007
$25
The sites at this campground are fairly large and well spaced with lots of shade trees. I don't know if things would be better farther into the season, but we were disappointed that the campground store was not open, and the bathrooms were in desperate need of a good cleaning including putting working locks on the doors, a new paint job to cover all of the peeling paint and removing the numerous cobwebs and dead bugs. The playground equipment was in poor repair and the beach was in need of a good round of weed killer and perhaps a few loads of new sand. We stayed for two nights and the restrooms were not cleaned at all the entire time that we were there, which made them pretty nasty by Sunday morning. Also, the shower house was fairly clean in comparison to the restrooms, but all of the windows were still locked shut for the winter which made showering on an 80 plus degree day rather hot and miserable! We would consider staying here again maybe later in the season to give it another chance, but have stayed at much nicer state campgrounds so would return to them before returning to Cowan Lake. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$25
My wife and I camped in our 28' Trailer, in the Pet area. We had a site listed as 'Slight Slope', and 'Afternoon Sun'. The slight slope was exactly right, not enough to be a problem, if you had a few blocks for the jacks. The site had lots of trees, very tall, and provided lots of shade, there was some afternoon sun, but not much. The bathrooms were a little dated, and I cleaned the shower head to improve water flow! Otherwise, the bathrooms and facilities were in good shape, pretty clean, and the wife was even happy with the showers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$24
My wife and I stayed at Cowan Lake at the end of October and we were fortunate to literally have the campground to our selves. Yes, it rained and was cold but the beautiful fall foliage more than made up for the climate. I will agree that since this is directly below the path of planes landing and taking off from the Cincinnati airport (60 miles away), it was somewhat disturbing, but that was only because a plane woke me up at 5:00 AM and with all the rain I wondered if it was a tornado. However, after I figured out what it was, the sounds did not bother me at all. I did not have any problems with the camp ground hosts.They came by a couple times on their routine tour of the camp. The campground is right beside a beautiful lake with nice walking trails through the woods. I do plan to go back and given the close proximity to my home this will definitely become our weekend get-a-way site. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2005
$23
We have camped at this campground since our kids were little, and they are now 21 and 23. My husband camped there as a child also with his family of 8. We have never encountered any bad CamperHosts (remember they are volunteers, not paid employees). By far this is the best state campground we have been in. We have always said that once you have been to Cowan Lake, you are spoiled for anywhere else. When our children were little, they participated in all the camp sponsored events and were thrilled with the attention they received. They have very fond memories of camping. Maybe some people's children need more of mom and dad's attention and not be allowed to freely wonder the park. I hope your next visit to Cowan Lake Park is a great one. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2005
$21
We agree with previous post... Our first trip to Cowan lake; and while on a trail with the dogs; wandered into the no-pet section...we got yelled at by the camperhosts to get the dogs out of there now! without even a chance to explain...We did explain to the office and the park ranger who were exceptionally friendly...but between that and the planes from the airborne central hub shaking the ground from 3am on we will not go back...The park is nice; but not worth all that. This is the first state park in Ohio we have encountered and have not liked. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2005
$23
This campground was a nightmare. The campground HOST'S are RUDE! RUDE! If you are looking for a great family place to relax and enjoy yourself this is not the place. I suggest that the hosts retire and soon. They should be in a retirement community not a state park. I have vowed that I would NEVER return to this park and would do what ever it takes to get the word out about the worst camping exerience I have ever had in the 30 plus years that I have been camping. PLEASE DO NOT VISIT THIS PARK IF YOU HAVE CHILDREN We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2000
$16
This is a very quiet campground for the most part. On holiday weekends it books ups way in advance. You may make reservations, but they charge you from that date. It has a pet section and a non pet section. Actually the pet area is more shaded and better campsites. Water is available and so is a dump station. It sits on a lake (HP limit 10 HP) and you can rent pontoons, canoes etc. Also a nice hiking trail. Campground has private beach area. Pets are $2.00 extra a night. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com