224079 User submitted reviews online!!
Queen Wilhelmina State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (479) 394-2863
CGID240

Queen Wilhelmina State Park

Camp Information
Sites
35
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$12



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   4   9   9   8   9   7   9   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$12
Great campground on top of Rich Mountain. Very clean and quiet. The staff are very friendly plus the Camp Hosts are the greatest. I would rate higher if they had Wi-Fi and sewer. Will be staying there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2013
$20
We just experienced the best and worst of Arkansas state parks. And Queen Wilhelmina has to be the worst. We were assigned a site that was barely long enough for our 32' 5th wheel and truck. But it was probably one of only 3-4 that would have worked for us. Most would have been impossible to back our 5th wheel into. The site next door had a fire pit only 5-6 feet from our bedroom slide. And of course, our neighbors kept a fire going their entire stay. No real turn around - either at the office or in the campground. We were able to back into the double site across from the food wagon - otherwise we might still be there. And there's the constant roar of Harleys on the nearby parkway. Can't say that there's a lot to do at the park - other than the parkway. The lodge is supposed to be undergoing renovations, but it looked abandoned to us. No Wi-Fi - even at the office. On a positive note, the bathrooms were clean and the ladies at the food wagon were extremely nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$16
Beautiful area, situated on top of a ridge along the Talimena Scenic Byway. They didn't mention when we made our reservation that the Lodge was closed for remodeling. That meant no restaurant and no wi-fi. Not a big deal for us, but check before you go if you're planning on using any Lodge services. Still a great place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$20
This is a beautiful state park. Be prepared for about a 14 mile drive up the mountain, but with awesome scenic views along the way. The road to the park is very good, as are the roads in the park. The only negative for this park is that many of the sites are very close together, and all are back-ins. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$15
Beautiful and cost friendly place at the top of a hill that seems really undiscovered. The bath/shower facilities were clean and spacious. The scenery was amazing. The only thing missing was Internet access. None until you get into the town of Mena. We had a great couple of days here and would go back if we are ever in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$20
Beautiful location. The drive to the campground is wonderful. Park is well-maintained; showers are clean. The lodge is an easy walk from the campground and the food there is excellent! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$18
Nice park, easy access from highway. Plenty of activities including a miniature train ride, putt-putt golf and the lots of scenic rides along the mountain ridge. Some sites were more suitable for big RV's than others, however the registration clerks were not particularly aware of this. Site 7 was large enough to hold a 40' RV without a problem, and two or three other sites might be able to handle a big RV as well. The restaurant at the Queen Wilhelmena had great food. We would camp there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$18
Very nice park. Sites are nice and shaded. Lots of fun things to do at the state park: train rides around the park for kids, a soda fountain, and the lodge and restaurant are all a short walk from the campground. I would have given this campground a ten, but I have one complaint and it may be petty. The shower head in the showers are very old and cannot be adjusted. They pretty much spray you in the face the entire time you are showering. Other than that, this is a great campground. Staff are so friendly and helpful. Very much recommend. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$11
Nice shaded sites, trees on the west side. Can have meals at the lodge, reasonable. Weather is the nuisance: can have rain, fog, or snow on a moments notice. Real breezy, felt good on a hot day. If your rig can take an 8% grade for 2 miles, you can make it. Got senior discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$18
Had a wonderful stay at Queen Wilhelmina State Park. The support staff were friendly & helpful, even gave us free fire wood. The park is the 2nd highest location in Arkansas and the temperature is about 10 degrees cooler than other Arkansas locations. The mountain lodge has a restaurant, hotel and snacks. Not much related to camping. The nearest location to get supplies is Mena at 15 miles, but the drive there is beautiful. Our 3 boys loved the mini-train ($4 each), seeing wildlife and climbing on the real steam locomotive. The site was 1/2 empty, probably because of remoteness. It was cold at night in June in Arkansas because of altitude! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$20
A very steep yet beautiful drive leads to a breathtaking area at the top. Lodge has an excellent restaurant with great buffets and superb service. All staff was friendly and very helpful. The campsites are smaller than normal and some are short and it took me a little while to get into ours but was well worth it. Tent area is also very nice. The entire park is clean and very neat. We will be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$17
Beautiful, scenic drive up to the park, and a very clean campground. Like most state parks in AR also has very afforable rates. Only 30 amp hookup, had there been a few more amenities i would have given this a 10. There is a lodge/hotel with in walking distance with a nice restaurant if you are looking for something nice to eat. Tent campsites also looked nice. The park is right on the beautiful Ouachita trail. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$19
This is a great place to visit. The campground hosts were wonderful, the park was incredibly clean, and you can't beat the views. There are several trails and attractions for the whole family. There is a lodge and a restaurant on top of the mountain in case you don't feel like cooking. I can't say enough about this place. Definitely a place I will return to. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$17
Nice shady, level sites. Some are short but we had a long one. They are all back in. Sites are close together for a state park but was not a problem as each site was a few feet lower than the one next to you. Only 30 amp but was not a problem because of the shade. It is about 18 miles to Mena and the closest WalMart. We would stay here again. The park has a lodge with a buffet and every time we were there there was a line for the buffet. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$15
What an incredible area of Arkansas to visit. We spent a long Labor Day weekend and had a delightful time. The sites are somewhat narrow but we will return again in the near future. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2005
$10
Very nice state park. Relatively level sites. Ours was on a very pretty overlook. The park rangers lead several nice activities, including a sing-along, an informative hay-ride tour of the park, and story telling. We had a really nice time during the three days we camped here. We will stay here again when we get back in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$15
Nice,clean,very cool breeze campground.All rigs take highway 270 to highway 272 to get up mountain. Friendly campers and staff at the lodge. Wonderful views.We go there every summer to get away from the heat. Some spots tight to back into. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com