219007 User submitted reviews online!!
Wawaloam Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 32 user reviews. Phone: (401) 294-3039
CGID2501

Wawaloam Campground

Camp Information
Sites
300
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   7   3   8   1   4   8   6   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$45
This campground is very wooded with 2/3 of the sites being seasonals. The sites are very roomy and our site #24 was downright huge. It had a picnic table and fire ring. It was completely shady with large trees that did not interfere with our roof or our 4 slides. Our backyard view was the pond. It was close to the store, laundry, Wi-Fi hotspot, and bathhouse. The only bad part was we only had 30 amp and the voltage was running low the entire 3 weeks we were there so we were afraid to use our AC. Fortunately the weather was cool enough at night that we did not need it. We stayed here 3 years ago and the water slide and mini golf were in dire need of repairs. Those repairs have been done along with repaving of the roads. All in all I think it is a nice campground and would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$50
Overall a very nice campground. We asked for a secluded site and we were put in the seasonal section. Sure enough, it was very quiet. The site was very spacious and huge fire pits. Water and sewer were easily accessible on the site. The power supply was a little of an issue. Although we were given a 30 amp site, we had our surge protector trip several times with just the a/c and the radio on. The site also had cable, but when we tried to hook up our cable it did not work. Although we do not go camping to use the Internet, a little pet peeve of ours is that this is the 21st century and Wi-Fi should be standard. (We were informed of "hot spots" but could never find them). The campground has 2 rec halls, a very well appointed store, game room, a big swimming pool, a water slides ($), fishing pond. We would camp here again in the future! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$52
Very nice park. Sites were huge but it was a bit difficult to level. Very clean and quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2012
$50
The campground looked nice and the sites were relatively clean with mostly seasonal rentals. However, they have an odd arrangement for hookups on the transient sites. For example, we could not get a 50A site with sewer and/or cable and we booked months ago. Since it was in the 90's outside and we were only staying 4 days, we elected to go with a 50A power site. Many of the sites are not very level and in our case it required my front tires to be in the air in order to level the rig. After I hooked up shore power I noted the no load voltage was around 113 VAC and as soon as we started the A/C it dropped to 107 VAC. Fortunately, I installed an EMS system to open the incoming power on low voltage because during the day it dropped as low as 91 VAC. This will damage electric motors over time and many rigs do not have an EMS and running their A/C, most likely unaware of the problem. We ended up running our generator for several hours during the day despite paying extra for a 50A site. The bathrooms/showers were OK, but getting even warm water was a stretch, plus it cost a few bucks in quarters to use the shower. Too many restrictive rules (like no mats larger than 2'x3' on the grass) and a few on the staff were pretty rude. Overall, a not very enjoyable campground and we will not be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$48
I have to disagree with some of the previous ratings as we had a wonderful time at this camp. The sites are HUGE and the owners could easily split them in half and be "normal" sized. It's true that activities and the water slides are extra $$, but we've been to other campgrounds (KOA's) where it's even more expensive. There are rules (just like most camps) but we did not have anyone stop us when we (knowingly) broke them. We camped with a large group and had a great time and will consider this camp again. I will agree with that there is an ugly turn (GPS instructions) where many cars/trailers have bottomed out! If it were not for this review site, I would have landed in the same intersection. Town Hall Road - easy shortcut to avoid nasty intersection! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2011
$50
This place is trying harder and harder NOT to be family friendly! No tents at all allowed. Everything costs extra. So basically, fun=dollars. Staff is rude and not helpful. Kids practically had to be leashed! Extra money for pets. Not a resort, planned activities are dinners that you had to pay for and dances once in a blue moon. I will not camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2011
$61
What a disappointment. This campground is nice and clean, but the adult staff was extremely rude. They will charge you for everything and anything they can (dogs, early arrival, etc.) and there are many rules that are ridiculous. We arrived from NY 45 minutes early and were charged and extra $5 to register (only to use 1 1/2 hrs to try to fit into our site). When we got to our "premium" site, our travel trailer would not fit. While we were trying to get it to fit, employees drove by in their golf cart and did not offer help. When we called the office and told them we could not fit, we were told there were no other sites left. Shortly after calling, the same two employees came back and sat in their cart, never exiting and never helping. One of them stated to the other that we didn't need help, since we had others there. Isn't that their job? Thankfully we switched with friends and squeezed into the next site, backing into some shrubbery. We left a message with the owner's sister and even tried to find her at a couple locations, but to no avail. We left a message for her to come to our site but she never came or contacted us. A neighboring camper was overheard arguing with staff who were giving them a hard time about having an extra vehicle on their site. They said that they won't be back, to which the staff member responded, "That's right. You won't." You're apparently only allowed one vehicle, since we too were "scolded" for a neighboring friend's truck too close to ours. Note that many seasonals have 2 vehicles and a golf cart, not to mention all the little yard trinkets, which make it look a bit trashy. Further, if you have a site with "grass", you won't be able to put your carpet out unless it's a small one. No carpets on the grass. In sum, I would not recommend this campground. It's very pricey, and staff are rude and too many ridiculous rules. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$40
Our second trip this month to this campground. The prices are very reasonable and everything you want is very close. The activities, pool, waterslide, mini golf all very affordable. This is the best secure facility I have ever been to. Gates close: just get a gate card to re-enter. A great place! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
This park is catering to their seasonal for sure. The campground area has very few 50 amp and sewer sites. On the plus side, the sites are large. The CG being an older one, has serious problems with the electric voltages on both the 30 and 50 amp sites. This can blow out your AC without you being aware of why it happened. They fussed at us for unhooking our car near the entrance, yet no one had instructed us otherwise. Also they recycle but don't tell you this, or where their laundry is or what the trash small trash cans around the park are for. The store and the laundry and one of the only two dumpsters are all located outside the park. The staff was just so-so, a take it or leave it, attitude. There is an extra charge for pets as well as AC. They don't seem to have much in the way of activities either. Roads are paved and easy to traverse. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$48
We just spent our first weekend at this campground. The previous review was accurate. You need to be back by 10 PM. We were informed of this at check in. They also offer a gate card for a $20 deposit which will get you back in after 10 PM. We actually really loved this place and wanted to give it a higher rating but held back since we had no cable hookup or Wi-Fi. I know it's not a big deal when camping but we enjoy catching news before bed or at least reading our local paper online. The sites were very nice and huge. The Friday night dinner and Sunday morning breakfast were excellent. We will be back in August. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$64
I gave this campground a slightly above average rating due to a few things. Pros: Overall clean; large sites, some with concrete slabs; seasonally campers are pleasant, more helpful than the staff; and a very well laid out campground. Cons: Bring your wallet as everything is extra except for the pool. Water slide is a nice, but not worth $20.00 a day or $5.00 five rides. Mini golf not worth the $3.00, needs updating. Crafts for kid is also extra. Gates are locked at 10pm during the week and 11pm on weekends. There was no mention of this in any park rules or by the staff upon checkin. If you plan to go outside the park, be home by 10pm. Will not return as it's too far to travel for entertainment, 30 plus minutes. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2009
$40
Overall this is a 'rustic' campground. I rate it a "5" in that the amenities are definitely dated, and in some circumstances, in need of repair. But I would re-visit as the kids were immune to the shortcomings that an adult would take notice of. We were able to navigate our 37' Class A well enough along the dirt roads, and getting into the site we were assigned was easy enough; but we were not informed that our site sat on the back edge of private property on which a very feisty rooster resided. Obviously 4:30 am comes early. I think he got drunk and got lost in the park on the second night because he hooted and hollered continuously from 4:30 to 7. Dinner was good that evening: a little gamey tasting if you know what I mean. The pool area left a bit to be desired as the pool house is a bit dilapidated. Bathrooms were old and suffered from it. The playground for the kids was a newer jungle-gym type but offered no reprieve from the sun. They do have a waterslide albeit not humongous, but it was fun. Fees ranged from $12 per day to $20 which is a bit on the high side; or you could purchase 5 rides for $5. Which do you think the kids wanted??? So three times $12 to $20 adds up. They have Mini-golf: nothing spectacular but the kids liked it, and at $3 a head a good bargain. Their store is incredibly well stocked with many necessities and impulse items all priced at what you would expect for a camp store. They apparently make their own ice cream which was delicious. This is a larger park with friendly campers. It had all shaded sites that were very large and spacious. Large rigs up to 37 are good, with larger rigs probably squeezed by the tighter corners within the park. Again, a "5" because I feel there is a tremendous amount of potential that the owners are overlooking. Kids liked it, so we'll probably go again. Now I just hope that rooster doesn't have a brother. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$46
As to the two posters who complained about their GPS taking them the wrong way to the CG. You both state that the CG website offers a better route. How is it the CG's fault that you chose to go by the GPS directions instead of the CG directions? We love this place and will come back again many times. One of the few CG's in New England that include two adults and children in the cost of the site. We enjoy the amount of trees in the CG and the secluded feel that you get while camping here. Very large sites, we stayed on site #37, a grass site. Very level side to side. I didn't even have to use any blocks under my tires and was still level side to side. The only things that would make this a better CG is if the the cost of the water slide was included in the site fee. I would be willing to pay a little more for my site if I didn't have to pay for my kids to use the slide. And if the CG offered sites with cable tv. Even with the new digital converter box the channel selections are a little slim. Overall a great family campground that we have been to 3 times now and will continue to return to. We stayed here in a 30' TT. Combined with my Yukon XL it is pretty long and had no problem getting into or out of the CG or any of the sites that we have been in. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$60
We camped with water/electric/sewer and a slab. The slabs are nice and level. This is a very nice camp ground. It is very clean and has a nice pool. The one thing that gets me is that they have this nice new water slide but charge you extra. $5 for 5 times or $20 for the day. Seems like more and more campgrounds are nickle and dime you. But beside this it was a nice stay. We'll be booking again next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2009
$46
We also had trouble getting to campground. Intersection of Ten Rod Road and Hwy 102 is horrible, and our GPS also led us that way. Damage to rear stabilizer jacks occurred. In addition, there are many trees with very large, low-hanging branches on all roads leading to campground and within campground. The intersection of Hwy 102 and Town Hall Rd ( the one listed on the campground's website) is better, but we almost scraped bottom back of camper leaving from that road, and trees were still an issue. Grass sites in campground were extremely uneven, and with the rain, we were sinking into the ground. Campground entrance road is extremely narrow. They require that you park rig on entrance road while registering which blocks in and out traffic. Everything in campground is an extra charge. We arrived a little early and had to pay $15 fee even though our reserved site was vacant and campground was half empty. Interior roads are very narrow, and there are trees with low hanging branches which make driving to your site, and backing into sites difficult. We would never stay at this campground again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2009
$43
Our complaint with this campground is there is a dangerous route to this campground for a big rig. Our GPS took us on the most direct route off the main road which required about a 110 degree turn on Ten Rod Road off 102 (to the east of 102) causing our rig to get hung-up on the rear bumper. True their web site offered a different route but no warning of this intersection. If one Googles this intersection and uses street view, you'll see pavement carved-up by dozens of RVs and trucks. I mentioned this to the front desk to suggest some website warning, intersection signage, curb or other indicator and received little feedback and sympathy. It was very disappointing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$38
This was our first stay at the Wawaloam Campground. We stayed over the Father’s Day Weekend from Saturday through Tuesday. Wish Mother Nature was nicer to us; that would be our only complaint. You are always a little leery going to a new campground. We found this campground solely by RV Park Review. Most of the reviews were good but they give you just a small idea about the place. Our experience with Wawaloam Campground was a great one from making the reservation to heading home. All the employees are friendly and hospitable. We made a few phones calls to ask little questions about the campground and each time the person was informative. Arriving we where met at the office by a very helpful person who checked us in and gave us information about the area. The roads are a mix of paved and dirt, all wide enough for big rigs. Driving to our site I was amazed by the sizes of the sites. Being in one of the smallest states in the Union, they sure do give the largest camp sites, not just the seasonal sites but the transient sites too. Our site was unbelievable large; most other campground would have tried to make 2 or squeeze 3 sites on the same area. The store was a nice size having many campers’ needs for your stay. Their food selection could have been larger. One of our only complaints would be that the store had no hours during the week. When we stopped in the store, the workers were young ladies. All of the girls were very friendly, helpful, and happy. The campground has a large swimming pool, water slide and one of the best mini-golf courses I have seen at a campground. We have camped from Maine to Florida, East Coast to West and this is one of our top 10 if not top 5 campgrounds we have stayed at. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$34
The campground was very clean and the staff wasted no time cleaning the sites once campers vacated. The sites were big and easy to access. The bathrooms/showers were very clean and well maintained. The camp store was well stocked, ice cream was very good ! The menu for food at the camp store offered a nice variety and was reasonably priced. The kids enjoyed the waterslide , 5 rides for $5, or $20 for the day. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$40
This is actually a campground that describes itself as a family campground and means it. The rates, ($40.00) per night water/electric/sewer in the summer, are for 2 adults and 3 children. Too many places call themselves a family campground and then charge extra for the children. This is a very quiet and relaxing campground with plenty for the kids to do. They have a great pool and also two huge water slides. The only complaint about the slides is that they charge extra to use them. It is $5 for 5 rides or $20 for an all day pass. There are a couple of water parks in the area (Ct or NH) that don't charge much more then $20 admission and you get a lot more then 2 slides. If they could lower the price a little I would have given the campground a 9 rating. The sites are large and some what private. The seasonal sites are very well kept. I also think they need to cut back on the number of sites that they allow dogs on. It seems that most campers had their dogs with them and some would be barking early in the morning. We will most definitely be back to this campground again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$40
We camped in site 78: a Water/Electric/Sewer site. The sites here are some of the largest I've camped at. Lots of room for the kids and a dog. There is a nice sized playground and a nice pool. The new water slides were open. After returning home, I checked their website to see if there was any mention of the cost of the water slide. Nope, not a word. $20.00 each kid a day or $5.00 for 5 rides. Seemed crazy to me. They should have had this on their website: saying there was a charge. But I took my daughter on it for the 5 rides. Should come up with another way, charge $20 a day per site or something. The camp store is good sized and well stocked: ice cream as well as video games. We'll return again next year even if we don't go on the new slide. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2008
$48
This campground has nice spacious sites, but not much to do, unless you have a lot of money. The pool is free, but you must bring your own chairs. The brochure shows a nice water slide, but it is $20 per day, per child. Mini-golf is $2.50 per person (not too bad). The basketball court is supposed to be lit up until 10:00, but they shut the lights off using their own discretion, leaving children in the pitch dark, before 10:00 pm. Staff spend a lot of time riding around in golf carts trying "to catch" someone doing something wrong, but if you need assistance with something, they are not available. In the past, this was a nice family campground, with the owners tending to visitors in a friendly way. Since it has been passed down to other family members, the service has been poor. It seems service is being replaced with greed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$38
We enjoy this campground year after year! Nice family activities - crafts, movies, etc. Our children love the water slide (2!). Great location for day trips in Rhode Island. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$52
Huge sites! The water slides are fun but a little expensive if you have more than one child. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$40
Very nice campground! Large sites, most are shaded. The seasonals are well-kept. Very clean campground. Large playground. The pool, waterslide and mini golf were all closed for the season but looked nice. Good location for day trips to Mystic, CT and RI beaches, etc. The only thing I wish they had there is cable TV, but otherwise, I'd go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$40
Campground is very neat and clean and staff is very friendly. All of the sites we saw were nicely spaced apart - many with trees, grass and some dirt and many with full grass. Getting into the campground with a big rig is tight but doable. From the staff, they planning on a new entrance. Some of the turns in the campground are tight but again doable. Although it should have cable, the campground is laid out well and is so beautiful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$36
This is a really nice campground with lot of amenities. The sites were a good size. The campground store has a lot to offer. This is definitely a family oriented campground. My two children give it two thumbs up. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$33
Great family campground. The kids loved the water slide. very clean facilities. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$46
This is a quiet place. I liked the fact that most of the transients were in one area towards the front the park near most of the activities such as the swimming pool with water slide, mini-golf, playground, and basketball court and small pond. The seasonals are in the back section of the park. Most sites are larger than you normally find and nearly all are back-ins. There is a mix of shaded sites but there are also some sites in full sun on grass. They serve food on Friday nights that is quite good and reasonably priced as well as a nice convenience when arriving on a Friday evening and just want to relax. We like the chowder and clam cakes. Upcoming: We heard that the campground is adding a 2nd water slide that will certainly ease the long lines on those hot summer days. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$45
I want to echo previous reviews. A really nice campground. Our kids greatly enjoyed the water slide, pool (pool was not heated), and playground. The weekend we were there was very quiet, no DJ dance party, few activities. We very much enjoyed it. We had a shaded, full hookup site with concrete pad. Most sites are really big. Our site, as with most, had a stone fire ring, a nice change from the standard truck wheel rim. Camp store was well supplied, I thought the prices were reasonable, and they had a large ice cream selection. Bathrooms were clean and had large shower stalls with room to change clothes. Showers are pay, though, a minus to me. Seasonal folk were very nice and sites were very well kept. We will be returning here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$35
The only reason I didn't rate this at a ten was: Cable TV hook up. If this campground had cable it was going to get a ten from me. It's very clean, nice BIG sites and privet. Great location, pet friendly. That's a big plus in my book! The seasonal people are very friendly as are the owners. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$35
We prefer very private sites but went camping with a large group, which this campground is good for. There is a lot for kids to do - pool, waterslide, putt-putt golf, campstore. They had a dance for kids on Saturday. A lot of seasonals who kept their sites up well. Camped in the safari field, which really wasn't a field - it had trees, fire ring, water, electric. $3 extra for dogs. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$40
It was a very nice site.it had a waterslide for the kids.it had a nice lake We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com