214822 User submitted reviews online!!
Kings Mountain State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 31 user reviews. Phone: (803) 222-3209
CGID2503

Kings Mountain State Park

Camp Information
Sites
125
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$19



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   3   7   4   4   10   6   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$19
We had a great time here. The park and restrooms were clean. They had some activities for the kids at the campground as well as hiking and things to do at the State Park and the Kings Mountain National Military Park. It is impossible to do it all in one weekend so we will be planning more trips. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$22
Wonderful park! Glad our rig is only 24 foot, do not think we would have been able to drive the loops with a bigger one. Sites are nice, plenty of privacy and nicely shaded, too. That was good because we stayed there on one of the hottest days this year. The walk to the living farm is deeply shaded and perfectly doable, a family with small kids did it easily. The self guided tour on the farm is a bit simple, but still fun. Too far to walk to the battle site. You really need auxiliary transportation for that. We did it on our way out. GREAT museum/visitor center and film. Must see! The lake at the campground is small and has rental paddle boats and canoes, but unfortunately no swimming allowed. We didn't go to the other lake, again it was darn hot and too far. Overall, wonderful place. We'll be back when it has cooled down! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2013
$21
Although in a beautiful setting, I cannot recommend this campground - especially for big rigs! Even the campground hosts talk about the lack of maintenance and other problems here. The roads are in bad shape, and most aggravating to me, was the low-hanging branches that scraped the roof, sides and antennas on my RV. They are right over the middle of the road, so unavoidable. Come on, how hard is it to get up there and trim the trees? The apparent "zero maintenance policy" for roads, sites, and trees is a major problem here. Most sites are not even close to level - bring all the lumber you can carry! The water pressure at my site (#27), was abysmal - 20 psi. Hello? That's not even usable so I had to supplement it with my pump during the entire stay. The 30-amp service was good, though, with strong voltage. No sewer, but two very narrow dump stations are available. The sites are closer together than most of the state parks I've been to. Each site has a picnic table and fire pit, and the office sells firewood, which is nice. My amplified MiFi using Verizon worked well, but unamplified reception on my Verizon phone was only one bar. There is no noise from major roads due to the campground's isolation. Bathrooms are old and not cleaned daily. The showers were not so good - no shelves for soap/shampoo, and no privacy at the bench outside of the stall. I didn't like or use them. There are many miles of nice hiking trails and paved roads for bicycling. The staff was friendly. The nearest stores and services I found were in Clover, which is about 11 miles from the campground. Finally, the "no alcohol allowed in the park" rule is ridiculous. I can understand not wanting people walking around the park with alcoholic beverages, but I can't have a glass of wine at my own site or even in my RV? Doesn't work for me. Too bad about this campground. There is a lot of potential if some money were spent to fix it up. Unless that happens, I would not consider returning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$18
Stayed 4 nights over Labor day weekend. This park is located in a beautiful setting; will maintained, great staff and many LARGE sites. On the negative side many of the sites on the outer perimeter in ‘Section A’ are seriously un-level. Sites are sand / clay. Site 86 A, is a large, tight, pull through. The site was private. However, it was externally un-level. I had to lift the passenger’s side tires six inches to level. We hiked the Farm Trail from the RV Campground to the Live Farm. Was interesting: look it up. 3 miles total, easy hike. Restroom was aging but clean, no soap in the restrooms but a blow hand drier. Bath was clean, big, however could use some hooks for cloth. Cell service was Verizon, low signal strength and goes between 3G and 1X. Very slow for data. Internet access through Verizon Hotspot. No other available. Basic shopping, groceries, etc. was 5 to 8 miles away. Restaurants in nearby cities but most dining is in Gastonia NC, 12/15 miles. Would I return? Yes: a very nice park but I would try to stay in sites 42, 44, 46, 48. Good sites and level. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2010
$22
I hate to give this such a low rating because it had a nice family atmosphere. I was very disappointed in the condition of the roads and campsites. Compared to Lake Wateree and Dreher Island State Park it is in desperate need of an overhaul. The amenities are in great shape, but the roads and sites are a mess. The whole place is a dust bowl. The main road is not paved and is in need of a new top layer of gravel. The sites are even worse. We had site 70, which was for a 35 ft rig, it was so unlevel that a six foot person could walk under the front end of our fifth wheel standing straight up. We needed an extra step to get out of the trailer in addition to the 3 stationary ones. I doubt this lack of maintenance is due to the economy, it is obvious the state has focused on other parks during the boom times. It is a shame because it is a nice park that is always full. The least they could do is put some money back into the park to provide adequate site setups for all types of rigs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2009
$21
This is a great park and I love it. However the park is going down hill. The upkeep of the park is poor at best. The park is not big rig friendly. The sights are not level and you don't know where the parking is. Also the campground host are not friendly they are the ones who run the park and will let you know it. If the management would take charge and treat the campers with the respect they deserve it would be perfect. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
We love this campground!! it's close to home for a nice weekend get away! The park is always clean and full with families having a nice time. I would like to mention the lady from the general store. She's always nice, polite and professional. I love chatting with her when I'm checking in, and picking up some last minute supplies. The sites are all shaded, pretty level and easy to access. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2009
$14
It is still early in the camping season for some but this park has gone downhill a little since our last visit. The interior roads are rough with very little gravel and the sites are not much better. A lot of the sites are very unlevel. It is a State park and the rate is cheap enough but some upkeep would be nice. Something that worried me was all the downed trees inside the park. If a fire escaped a fire ring it could be a big mess. We will stay here again because it is close to home and the price is right. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$18
This is one of the nicer State Parks we've stayed in. The sites are very nice, lots of trees, fire rings & picnic tables are in good condition. Very family friendly. Quiet hours are very quiet, unlike some other parks we've stayed in. There was a dutch oven cooking demo by one of the Live Farm workers which was fabulous! Very nice staff and overall a very beautiful park! The park is just a short drive from Kings Mountain National Park which has a great museum and trails. The only reason I didn't give this park a full 10 stars is because the bathrooms could use a little work. Some were closed for the season and the ones that were open could use some tidying up. No where near "dirty" and much better than a lot of bathrooms I've seen in parks, but it did have a little wear and tear. This park is definitely a keeper and we'll be going back again this year with the extended family (and hopefully to catch more dutch oven cooking!) We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$26
Spent the weekend here. The park is full of history... Revolutionary War battle site. The park also has a living farm area with period exhibitions. The campground is very neat and clean. All sites are wooded which adds to the "camping" atmosphere. The park is close to home... perfect for a quick inexpensive trip. I would highly recommend this campground to everyone! We had a great time!! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2008
$15
This rustic state park campground was almost empty when we arrived and only had 10 campers on average each night until the weekend. With the 115 campsites they advertise, you will probably have the place to yourself during the week. There was no ranger at the gatehouse, trading post or to check us in. We used the self-service board of sites. We struggled to find a level site. When we did meet a ranger, he explained that there are only two rangers covering 6-7000 acres. According to the literature, the park is listed as a total of 11,000 acres. He drove through to count sites in the evening. The sites are rustic and many unlevel in an effort to save the trees. There is lots of shade and miles and miles of hiking. There are two small lakes for day-use fishing. One is really a large pond. It was disappointing to see layers of algae taking over the bottom. In the five days we were here, we saw two people fishing. There are paddle boats available, but no attendant to unlock them. Maybe they are only used by groups? You will definitely need your shower shoes as the bath house was very unclean - mildew in the showers. Someone did come through and sweep the floor with a broom one day. There was no change in the showers. On the smaller campground loop there is a newer bath house facility that was a bit cleaner. With no sewer hook up, we used the bath house. At the dump station we were able to get a low Internet signal and our phone signal worked while we were here. On Friday, they opened the Trading Post for weekend check-ins from 2 p.m. to about 5 p.m. We enjoyed sitting on the front porch watch the hummingbirds at their feeders. Next to the state park is the Kings Mountain National Military Park. This was very well-maintained and worth the visit. We enjoyed the museum and its creative interactive displays. We hiked to the top of Kings Mountain which is really a tall hill, but good exercise. The path is paved with benches and interpretative signs along the way. It was very interesting. The staff at the military was very helpful. We were able to get answers to all the questions we had been needing to ask. The drive into the parks is beautiful through the wooded forest. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$22
Every time we've came here in the last two years we are pleased to see the improvements that are going on. This time was no different; the host's did craft's for the kid's to give on mother's day and games for them to play. Checkers on the front porch of store, and shuffleboard at the playground. It was very peaceful at night, a little noisy at first, then quiet hours were enforced, and the night was very peaceful. They are picky about where you park your cars, but after explaining why, we could understand. I guess the only ranger there is the girl, because she is the only one we ever see. The young lady in the store is very courteous and friendly. The music on Saturday night was great. the hosts stay on top of this campground ensuring a safe place to bring our kids. Can't wait to come back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$22
This is a great State park if you like U.S. history. The battle section was very informative and educational. It has a nice paved 1.5 mile trail with story boards along the way explaining how the battle played out. The way it is put together made it easy to see and imagine what both sides faced during the battle. The campground was in a different section of the park. The entrance is very easily missed so be careful and look for the small sign that says campground/day use area pointing to the right. The road into the campground is paved but once you get in the campground they are dirt, very little gravel. Pay attention to the site length when making reservations. Most places you can always allow a foot or two variance, but most of the site here are exact. They do have sites available for most every size rig. The bath house in our loop looked very new, and was kept clean. The sites were mostly dirt with wood chips scattered around the edges, which made for dust when dry, and mud after a rain storm. More woodchips or gravel would be a huge plus. They did have lots of available activities on the grounds to keep both children and adults busy. The park is a great place to walk and ride bikes. They have signs on the web site, and in the park, saying they have swimming, but the info from the rangers we were given said they have not allowed swimming in the lake for several years. We will stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$18
We have camped here three times in 2008 - February, March and April. It is very close to where we live so it's a nice place to go for a weekend trip. Some of the sites are hard to get into as they don't cut a lot a trees down. Some are also uneven. You really need to be careful which site you select. However, if you get the right site, it is really a nice place to camp. There were two camp hosts on our last trip. We had a problem putting our awning up when a storm was coming. One of the hosts came over and helped us. I noticed the same host repeatedly helped campers get backed into the sites and made sure all was OK. The park has a lot of hiking trails. Otherwise, it's a nice, relaxing place to me. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$18
I would recommend Kings Mountain Sate Park. We stayed there over Labor Day weekend. The park was a little crowded but that was to be expected. We had a pull through site. The staff was friendly and the little store had items we needed. The restrooms and bathhouse was clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$21
Great Park, thought we were going to have problem with noisy neighbors, but when quiet hours rolled around, the campground host's were there to quiet them down. Park was dusty because of no rain. Park had activities for our children and karaoke on Saturday night. This is a great family place We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$20
The park was very nice. We never did see a ranger, but had already payed via the website, so just got our site. We left and came back to a locked gate. Had to go to the ranger station to get the combo to the gate. There are a lot of bath houses and the one closest to us was clean. This would be a great place to spend a week, lots to do there. We will be going back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2007
$22
Our family has camped at KMSP for the last 6 years. Many great activities for our 3 children. Bingo, movies, etc. We have camped 3 times since Easter 2007. There have been many changed this year. They have made extra parking that was good but not many activities for our children. The bath houses are not very clean and the staff are not as friendly. We have reservations for Labor Day. We hope things improve. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2007
$17
As stated by another review, there are far too many golf carts running around in this campground. It was quite dusty and many of the sites I can see as being very difficult (not level) for some campers. We were there over the Memorial Day Weekend, so we had many campers there for the races and family reunions. We enjoyed our stay, but I doubt I will be headed back there anytime soon. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$22
We have camped here several times in the last 5 years. the new management have really made a difference to this park as a whole, it looks great. The new host's are great, helped us get in our campsite and bird house building for our kids on Saturday was something we had never experienced at a campground. The music that night was a blessing, and chapel on Sunday morning. We already have made plans to return We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2007
$20
We had a great time at the park. It is very relaxing with plenty of walking trails, two lakes, and a creek that my dog loved to play in. I found the park rangers to be very friendly and laid back. We stayed in lot 30 and had tons of space. Bring an outdoor rug/carpet as the spaces are dusty. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2007
$22
We camped at this park in March of 2007. The park is nice but, the camp sites are not level, so bring some boards. the park rangers are known as the fun police, do not park anywhere that is not graveled, I was told that in the future mulch is going to be put in. And it will distroy it??? The woman ranger is one of the rudist people I have ever met. She talks down to everyone. And they all think they are better than people who camp. The trees that they have cut down are laying everywhere (Don't walk at night dangerous) and they look bad, this makes the park unatractive. But it is a park that could be the showcase of the area. I will not camp in this park for these reasons. Also watch out for low hanging limbs, if you value your rig. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2006
$18
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Kings Mountain State Park. The campground is laid out nicely, although some sites would not be suitable for larger units. Our site did require some leveling, but nothing out of the ordinary. All campers were courteous and obeyed quiet hours. The staff members were extremely helpful and gave us information on what to do in the area. We enjoyed the Living History Farm and I would recommend visiting the Kings Mountain National Military Park. There is a nicely paved 1.5 mile trail within this park with markers along the way showing where the Patriots won a victory in the Revolutionary War. This is a beautiful park and we will definitely return! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$19
Woodsy setting with good trails. Laid back management. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2006
$21
Very nice location. Roads in the campground are dirt and quiet dusty. We promised a pull-thru, but the site we had, we had to back in. Still not a big problem. Access to lots of hiking trails. Noisy at it seems that many campers are from close by and they all have golf carts and there's always someone driving by. Also, people seem to driving in and out constantly. Do not believe we will be back. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$20
This was the second time we camped here and both were excellent, the Trading post was only open on the weekend in April but all week after 15 of May. The play ground was new and clean but was in an open area which made the slides hot, this is a good area in early morning or late in the afternoon. some of the camp sites were a little sloping so take something to level up with. The only draw back is the gravel road get a little dusty but take the water hose and wet the road down around you site to keep the dust down. We will be back for Memorial day week for three days and gain in September. Great place to get away from the rat race and rest. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2005
$18
We live close to here and have visited the National Battleground Park before, but this was our first time staying in the campground - we'll be back. Our site sloped back slightly, but with a frew boards under the tires, it leveled easily. Nice large site, but theer are many smaller/tighter sites. Some of the interior roads are a tight fit for large/tall rigs. The bathhouse was clean and acceptable. Lots of hiking/bike trails and of course the playground for the small kids. We are already plannig our trip back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2005
$16
Great setting, very secluded feel. Our site faced the woods; there was one loop not to far away that was very loud even after quiet hours. Park staff was very friendly and great camp store. Nice to have 2 dump stations (no lines when leaving). Great playground for kids, great hiking trails and living history farm. Paddle boat rentals and fishing. Would go back again!!! Bathrooms could have been cleaner and after a decent thunderstorm and rain the bath house was pretty filled with bugs of all types. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2005
$18
Great State Park for a weekend getaway. No sewer but 2 dump stations. Great new playground!!! The children loved it. Carry a book and toys for the children. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$16
I camped here in March 2004. Overall, the park is very nice. The bottom section is better than the top section for leveling sites. Most of the activities were nill when I was there, however, that do have a big lake for swimming, pedal boats, and canoes. They also have a mini golf course. Hiking trails are very close buy. One is 16 miles all the way around. They also had special camping for people with horses. The showers were really clean and very hot. All the sites are shaded and give an atmosphere of being away from civilization. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2003
$16
Decent campground with a very secluded feel. Would have given a higher rating had the restrooms been a little cleaner. They have a lake, but the area around the lake has not been kept up very good. We visited on Halloween weekend and they had trick or treating throughout the cg and also had activities for the kids. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com