218844 User submitted reviews online!!
Mount Magazine State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 23 user reviews. Phone: (479) 963-8502
CGID252

Mount Magazine State Park

Camp Information
Sites
18
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   6   9   10   8   10   10   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$30
A very pleasant campground. If you are not a confident driver the drive up the mountain from Havana might be challenging but we are a very large rig and had no issues other than a few low hanging branches. The campground is small and has been very quiet during our stay (school is in session). A mix of RVs and tent campers. We camped in the longest site and one of two with 50 amp. The electric is not the most robust but we have had no issues and the breeze really helps keep things cool. All of the sites have some shade and many are well spaced from their neighbor. The actual site is quite large with plenty of room for camp chairs and the barbeque, plus a tent pad. The interior roads are a little narrow but we had no issue with a 38 foot fifth wheel and a semi tractor. Our site is not level and looking around that may be a frequent complaint. Another potential negative is very spotty cell phone service although the MiFi is working well. We have Verizon. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$28
This is a nice small campground with spacious sites. Lots of hiking trails including the trail to the highest point in Arkansas which is right across the street from the campground. The restrooms were clean with hot showers. Great views from the lodge and they have various ranger programs on the weekends. The food at the lodge is OK, breakfast was better than dinner. There is a gas station in Cove Creek at the bottom of the mountain which has very good hamburgers, it is only about 10 minutes away. We will stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$28
We enjoyed the park's views, backroad bicycling, birdlife, botanical richness, and breezes. Site was spacious, hookups good, although park rules were prohibiting use of onsite sewers, yet charging for sewer because we reserved a sewered site. (We had to directly contact the State of Arkansas park director in Little Rock for a refund, and the director was unaware the sewer system was not operational in the park, caused by a Barbie Doll in one of the lines.). Food at the lodge was really good. The swimming pool is off limits to campers, so a cool hose spray was the only way to cool off in the hot summer afternoons. That was disappointing. Make sure you have plenty of fuel before leaving Paris or Havana, it's a long way to walk to town. One concern was venomous snakes. We saw timber rattlesnakes, and copperheads were said to be common. We were careful on trails. Yellow jackets found every available water droplet from our AC unit, somewhat a nuisance. Overall, we thought the park was nice, but it caters to the lodge tenants, not the RVers, and that was a turn off for us. We would not return in the summer, but might consider a visit in cooler months. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$13
This is a really nice shady park. Had a nice breeze most of the day. Excellent walking trails. Pet friendly. Will definitely go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$28
Mt Magazine is a beautiful state park. The sites are spacious and shady. Campground is paved. The hiking trails are nice. We bring 4-wheelers and ride the multi use trails. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$25
When we arrived at the park, the beautiful foliage was almost breathtaking. I chose a 50 amp site because I thought it was surely designed for a big motorhome and would be fairly level. Wrong! Our site was 70 feet long, and if we had pulled forward about 35 feet, we might have been a little more level, but we backed up to be near the connections. We had blocks under the jacks, the wheels, and our front wheels were still off the ground, which we do not like. When sites are being redone, as these have been fairly recently, how much trouble is it with a bulldozer in there to level the sites? The lodge was extremely nice with beautiful views and a good restaurant. They offered a computer room with fast wi-fi. The lodge had a beautiful indoor pool and fitness center, which only hotel guests are allowed to use, even though I offered to pay. We enjoyed our stay and the beautiful scenery. Not sure whether we'll be back or not. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$28
As expected, a fantastic and relaxing stay! Sites are spacious and spaced out very well for a private atmosphere. Paved roads and sites. Temps were in the low 90's while in the valley, Paris, temps were 110*. Very enjoyable, lots of hiking and bicycling. We will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$31
Very nice sites, all with full hookups. However, only two sites have 50 amp service. We had 50 amps, yet due to the cooler "mountain" temps 30 amp service would have been fine for us. The forest and hiking are absolutely incredible. Lots of birds and butterflies. Saw no bears, but park ranger said they are around yet stay away from public. We felt very safe. The mountain top views are truly amazing. We spent five nights here. A real forest / hiking treasure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$30
Beautiful clean campground. Staff are very efficient; water connection was dripping & they repaired within 30 minutes. Clean restrooms, although shower drains did not drain well, water was standing in dressing area. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$28
This is our favorite park in Arkansas. Absolutely beautiful place everywhere you go. The CG is in the woods, so no views from your site. But a short walk down a trail from the CG and you are at one of the most scenic vistas on the mountain. Miles and miles of hiking trails all over this park from easy to strenuous. ATV and horse trails also available. Stunning views from all over the mountain. Awesome visitor center with friendly and knowledgeable staff. And if you're in the mood for a nice dinner the lodge in the park is exceptional. Lakes nearby also. Just love camping here. The spaces are easily leveled, and the power is steady. Black bears in the area so be smart and maybe you will be lucky to experience a sighting. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
Absolutely our favorite campground. Lots of hiking trails, beautiful overlooks, places to bicycle, and best of all, very quite and peaceful at night. And another thing, it gets very dark (no street lights), you would be amazed at the stars you can see. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$20
Beautiful scenery in park, though no mountain view at the campground itself as it is in the trees and not looking out over anything. Stayed in site 14 and it was pretty level. Nice size sites with ample privacy. Many people had satellites hooked up, though service is not available from all sites. Plan to return another time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
A nice park. The campground is well shaded. The sites are adequately far apart. Our site (#2) was not exceptionally level. The hookups were in good shape. The park employees are helpful, and friendly. The park itself is a beautiful place. Lots of hiking trails. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
We stayed here on July 4th weekend and it was very clean, very quiet, and very peaceful. Since there are only 18 camp sites, there was not a lot people. The over looks are beautiful and the temperatures were great, which is unusual for Arkansas! I would highly recommend this park for someone seeking a great camping experience, although if you want someplace to entertain small kids, this isn't it. The trails here are nice too.We camped here in a pop up. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$25
A beautiful park to spent a couple of days. Sites are not especially long but we were able to park our truck in front of our 32' trailer and stay out of the street. This is a great summer camping spot since the temperature at the park is nearly 10 degrees cooler than the valley floor. Recreation mainly consists of hiking the area trails, but we did get to watch the hand gliders take off in the park. There were also bear sightings near the campground. The views are spectacular and overall the park was in great shape. Be sure your gas tank is full and you have all your supplies. The camp store has a very limited amount of supplies and town is about 15 miles away. We will definitely return to this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$24
Very beautiful and clean. The campsites are divided by trees and foliage so very quiet. We loved eating at the lodge, enjoying their incredible view. We even saw someone hang gliding as there is launching place nearby the lodge. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$19
This is an incredible park. The facilities look new, everything is clean, the sites are spacious and level, and the staff is friendly and helpful. The hiking trails are beautiful and very well maintained. It’s definitely a park for nature lovers, with no large town close. Cell coverage is weak in the campground, but ok at the Lodge. Paris is about 19 miles north and has a grocery store and a few shops, but the park scenery is the main attraction. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2008
$10
Our campsite was not level, however, it was spacious. There are only 18 campsites. It would seem that the area could stand more of them. For anyone wanting to camp there, you would have to get reservations in early. Perhaps they're in future plans. The visitor center was 3 miles away from the campsites, and there weren't very many signs for directions. Stop and eat at the lodge. The food was great! The views of the fall colors were outstanding. Make sure you have a camera handy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$26
If you like hiking in a beautiful atmosphere, this is the place to camp. You have to drive up a mountain to get there, but the views are spectacular. The campsite itself is heavily wooded, but we had no problem getting TV; not so good with the phone and internet. We actually had sewer at our site, which is unusual for a state park. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$9
Very nice State Park. We had the campground almost all to ourselves. Very clean restrooms probably because no one was using them. Good sized sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
Everything you read is true! This is an awesome place. Everything about this park exudes peace and comfort: from the site layouts, hiking trails, to the park rangers. We stayed 3 days. Time went by much too fast! Butterflies, hiking trails and the ambience. We must experience again! P.S. If you're pulling a big rig, consider going up the Paris side. Havanna is much more difficult. We found out the hard way. When we got to the park, one of the rangers said someone should have told us. But we made it. Feeling our success. When we left, we drove Scenic 7 from Russellville to Harrison. And we made that too. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2007
$26
A small campground located on Cameron Bluff. The sites were level and the campsites were very well laid out. The trailer pad was asphalt, with the balance of the site limestone. Easy access to trails from the campground. A walk of 1/4 mile will take you to a scenic overlook. The park has many rocky outcroppings offering long views of the Arkansas River valley. It is a moderately steep pull for several miles up the mountain to the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$22
Nice wooded areas.Nice spaces between sites.Some sites not level,some up hill.Sites pretty clean. Ranger very helpful and friendly.Excellent hiking areas.Very nice welcome center with mountain history area.Not a real steep climb up the mountain. Will go again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com