223354 User submitted reviews online!!
Spartanburg NE / Gaffney KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 46 user reviews. Phone: (864) 489-2022
CGID2522

Spartanburg NE / Gaffney KOA

Camp Information
Sites
110
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   9   9   7   6   8   8   7   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2014
$40
This park is OK for an overnight stop off I-85. You have to drive an extra mile or so from the interstate down an access road to the entrance. The park personnel were very nice and we were escorted to our site. The parking assistant was very good with directions and cautioned us about obstructions for our departure the next morning. The pull-through site was very narrow. Our tires just fit on the gravel. We had a semi-rotted picnic table and the thick wet and rotted grass clippings made keeping the inside of our RV clean a challenge. This park does have an abundance of grassed areas to walk dogs, and there is a nearby outlet mall and a Cracker Barrel. We did use the laundry room and it was very clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$45
This KOA is convenient to eateries, movies, grocery and gas stations and is right off I-85 but one hears no noise at night. The sites are large and spacious and well maintained. The pool and laundry is spotless and the bathrooms are, too. This is one of the better KOAs we have been to and one of the cleanest. The staff is friendly and helpful with suggestions of where to go and things to do. The Freightliner school picks you up for their class and drops you back off in the PM. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$40
Easy in, easy out park. Roads were not paved but level and easily navigated in our big rig. We stayed here to attend Freightliner School. Staff was friendly, sites were level and wide. We would stay here again, We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$14
The nightly rate is a result of staying monthly. Overall we were quite satisfied with the park. It's quiet and clean. The staff were very friendly and always willing to give any assistance needed. There seemed to be a lot of staff as you could always see them working around the park. The major negative is that many of the sites are not level. We actually had to place boards under one tire on our motorhome so it still made contact with the ground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2014
$39
Many sites are in need of leveling. The water placement for a motor home was way way too far back. When leaving, the turn from the campground onto I-85 North is wicked tight if you tow and your RV is longer than 36ft. Find another way, know that you'll have to disconnect your car, or skip this campground. Other than that, it was okay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$30
We were there to attend the Freightliner class. The park gives you special rate for that. Very hard time leveling. We had to ask for another site. The office told us they always put there bigger rigs there but it was so obviously sloped I don't think the office person ever went out to check it. Lots of trees and the sites were large. Would have been a nice place to be if we had time to enjoy it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$43
This a a lovely campground, well maintained and very friendly staff. Had great WiFi service, a well stocked store and good playground for children. Be sure to check the directions when getting off interstate because it looks like you are getting back on the interstate, but the road is a service road as well as the ramp to the interstate. Could use a few road signs at the ramp/road area to help get to the campground. This is a very nice campground for overnight or longer, and would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$38
This KOA, like so many KOA's, is not worth the money, at least not in my mind. This a large park with a fishing pond, which I never did find, nice walking trails through the woods, and a small but adequate RV supply store in the office. It is well located from a large Camping World in Spartanburg, and, of course, Freightliner chassis are produced here and have a service department. That said, the sites are small, at least the one they put me in, there is room to put your awning out, but that's about it. You'll have a wooden picnic table, good water pressure and electric on a very narrow gravel pull-through that I could not level on, if a pull-through was asked for upon registering. The camp is quiet, and does have some "very" nice sites, but how to get one is the question The roads to sites are very narrow gravel with some pretty sharp turns, but coaches up to 42 feet were able to negotiate them while we were here. (Suggest unhooking toad at office.) A plus, if you are a pool person is the fairly large outdoor pool. I would stay here again to have my coach serviced, but for that reason only. I tend to think KOA's are over rated and over priced for the quality of the parks. Camped here for 7 days in 34' motorhome (coach servicing and Freightliner Chassis School) using KOA value card for discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
Good KOA. Interior roads are a little tight but I didn't have a big problem with them. We stayed in the open pull thru area as we were in for service at the nearby Freightliner facility. Sites here were gravel and level. Some others in the park aren't so level but there are great sites up in the trees for other types of campers. The sites are long enough for all big rigs but are a little on the narrow side. Satellite reception was great and the ATT service was very good as well. Park is close to the freeway but we didn't hear it at all. Great management and staff. We'll be staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$37
Park was extremely attractive, clean and well kept. Good gravel roads. Many trees (mostly tall pines) and shade, but trees all well groomed and no problems getting in and out. Big-rig pull-throughs are in open area. Most sites are back-in's. Staff was helpful and friendly. Escort to site. Easy well-marked access off I-85. Would stay here again. 9 is for pool(nice pool), no hot tub. Otherwise a 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$40
Friendly, helpful staff. Dog park is great for our 4 legged friends. Sites are gravel. Needs some more gravel in some spots. Flower pots at each site....nice touch. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$34
We had a pull through (site 81) however we had to unhook and backup to get level as the site sloped in the front. This site has no trees and is suitable for satellite. They do have shaded sites available. Verizon Wi-Fi worked great with 4G service. Cable TV was good and more than just basic channels. Sparkling clean pool and laundry. Still making improvements. Overall a nice park with reasonable rate with KOA card and KOA points coupon. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$38
This is a nice park with a friendly and helpful staff. I was guided to my site and helped with parking, which was great since my wife was not with me to assist. Trees are plentiful and trimmed well so as not to scrape tall RVs. Roads into the park are paved, then access to the sites and the sites themselves are gravel. The pool is very well maintained, and the bathrooms are nice and sparkling clean. The showers are clean with lots of pressure on adjustable heads, and they have holders for soap and shampoo - yay! The laundry room is small but clean, with 3 washers and 3 dryers. There is a short walking trail around the western border of the park. Noise from I-85 is minimal and the park is generally quiet. Sites are spaced well enough apart, but I must disagree with the reviewer who said they are mostly level. Many are not level enough to easily level up in a motorhome without additional lumber. Each site has a picnic table, no fire pits. There are a lot of shopping and restaurant opportunities within 5 miles of this park. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$35
We used this KOA as an overnighter. It was clean, quiet, and reasonably priced for a KOA. We stayed here when it was called Pine Cone Campground, the new owners really appear to have upgraded all of the facilities. I'd suggest this campground to families because of the amenities. I'll definitely stay here again when going through this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$42
Not a bad place to stay-not many seasonal campers and the park is clean. Some of the sites have the sewer hookup on an incline above the site making for interesting dumping. The sites are mostly shaded and level. Access from I-85 is easy, but you must pay attention or you will end up going the wrong way and have to drive 5 miles to find a place to turn around. Will definitely stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$35
The owners are extremely nice and helpful. You get the escort to your site which is always nice. The site we were on was good and level, out in the open with a good distance (as distances go in a campground) between us and the next site. There appeared to be several "long term" campers, but that seems to be the norm nowadays rather than the exception. All in all, very quiet - some interstate noise but not excessive where we were located. Well kept grounds. Convenient to the interstate and restaurants and shopping. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$31
Great Park! Hands on staff, very friendly and interested that we had a good stay. Our site was a level pull thru. Would definitely stay again when we are back in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2013
$40
The KOA facility is very nice. The site assigned was long (NOT LEVEL) w/all amenities. Considerable blocking was needed to level one side of the RV. That in turn placed the entry steps at a considerable height. I then had to create a series of steps to the entry step......All-in-all a OK overnight albeit a bit pricey. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$38
The price reflects a KOA discount. This is a pretty typical "No Surprise" KOA. The park is clean and nicely spaced out. The sites in the area where we stayed were recently leveled with new gravel. These sites are also pull-through sites. The park has a fenced in dog park, which our dogs enjoyed. It is a nice size and has a few pieces of equipment to play with. Staff were friendly and helpful. There is some road noise from the Interstate, which can be glimpsed between the trees. Some sites are in the trees, others are in the open. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2013
$44
This is a nice park, really pleasing to see. Kudos to fellow Workamper s & KOA workers. Though I was doing a mad dash, cross country run and stayed just the one night: never even unhooked the truck and camper. I saw a prior review that mentioned sore repair of storm damage (?) and I think I must have been given one of the newer/repairs site. Nice level crushed stone site: possibly dedicated to the very short stay over. I could see the area where sites were more landscaped and "prettier," but like I said, I was here just to relax and sleep. The staff was very friendly and host offered to help with the set-up, until he realized I was done once I pulled in. A great looking place, and I hope to stay again when I have more time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2012
$39
Easy to find off of I-85 out of Spartanburg. We were put into a freshly graveled and leveled site. It was clean quiet and peaceful. Just a little highway noise from I-85. The camp store is really nice, and the staff goes out of your way to make you comfortable and welcome. It looks like they are working hard to update this campground. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2012
$37
This is a park that's trying hard to recover from previous owner's lack of caring about the park. Unlevel gravel and dirt sites abound, it was VERY difficult to find one that enabled us to get level. We tried two sites before having luck and then we had to borrow wood to beef up one side of the rig. This is the campground Freightliner picks you up from if you are attending the Freightliner's chassis class. The park has added thousands of dollars of gravel in attempts to make the sites better, but they have a long way to go to getting things straightened out. We probably would not stay here again with as much trouble as we had. They do have a nice camp store and the staff is very friendly and goes out of their way to help you with any thing. Other than the very irregular sites, it's a nice park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$38
Friendly helpful staff. Well kept grounds with a little putt putt course. Very clean bathrooms, shower and laundry room. Small, but well stocked store. TV cable and wireless internet worked well. I did not have any problems with ants and it was in the 70's. 5 minutes from outlet shopping, and 15-20 minutes from USC-Upstate and large shopping mall. Easy access from I-85. Stayed 3 nights. Camped in 15' travel trailer. I will definitely camp here again if I'm in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$40
Very plain jane, but this was in close proximity to Freight-liner Custom Chassis classes. Very friendly staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2011
$37
Friendly hosts. What can you say, its a KOA. Roads(?) were narrow, the dirt sites were not level. It had been raining so we could not put our jacks down because I was concerned they would get stuck in the mud. Did I mention the mud? I didn't unhook the toad because I would needed rubber boots because of the mud hole it was parked in. There are a lot of trees which was nice. We were traveling with another couple and I would have rather pulled into a Wallyworld but they are afraid to stay there. It was a place to park over night and that's about it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2011
$37
I used this park for an overnight. From northbound I-85 the roads are a little confusing and difficult to manage. The park was good for an overnight, close to the interstate but far enough away to be quiet. The staff was helpful and efficient, the site was fairly level and the hookups were convenient. Decent cable TV which I understand is new, and good Wi-Fi. I would use this park again if passing through. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$37
This definitely looks like a campground coming back to life. As others have said, interior roads are tight, but we took it slow with our 40-footer and did just fine. Our back-in site was long and spacious, although power and water connections were on the curb side, which made them a stretch. Easy highway access with minimal highway noise. Wi-Fi was strong. Cable would be a welcome addition, especially at this price. On a hot day the voltage got so low our surge protector tripped. Staff was cheery and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$37
Nice park with new owners. Still needs a bit of work. Tight turns on the interior roads going to your site. Long sites, no shade on the big pull throughs. Nice pool! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2010
$45
If you have children, be prepared for the extra expense. If you are looking for long term, prepare for constant observation. If you are looking for expected friendly KOA folks - you'll not find them at this location. However, if you are in an expensive motor coach for one night - not wanting to use the pool or listed amenities, it serves its purpose. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$45
This was a great campground close to home. It was kept very clean and the staff were very friendly! Our 3 children stayed busy the whole weekend doing crafts and scavenger hunts. We really enjoyed the pet play yard. There were a lot of dogs ( we had 2), but you never heard any of them or saw any "mess" left by them. We will be returning this summer! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$37
Very nice campground and staff. We used it as an overnight spot to and from Georgia. Easy off and on to I-85, the road noise was minimal. Fast Wi-Fi is now available. I understand that a small fishing pond should be available later in the year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$40
The staff was very nice. Escorted us to our site. Sites are nicely spaced. We only spent a quick night driving up I-85. There is a fenced-in dog run area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2010
$37
The nightly rate reflects my KOA discount. We stopped here for an overnight stop. We had had some water issues and were in need of a fan. The staff was more than willing to loan us a fan and the owner even came by and loaned us hers. Check in was easy and the office staff was very friendly. Campground is a work in progress but after having a conversation with the owner, who previously owned the Fayetteville NC KOA, we know that they will soon have it spotless. We had a pull through site that was level. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$32
This park has new owners and is now a KOA. The staff is very friendly and willing to help in anyway. The park is under lots of renovation. They are completely redoing the bathrooms, laundry room with brand new machines and office. They have cleaned up the park and it is looking great. Soon they plan on having Wireless Internet. Nice big pull-throughs with new electrical boxes and the roads have new gravel. A great place to stay if you are going to Freightliner School or Service Center. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$32
Camped here when it was Pinecone CG. Wasn't excited about returning, but was pleasantly surprised to learn it had become a KOA thanks to new owners. We could see many changes (for the better) and others in progress. Am sure this will be a great CG, especially for big rigs. We stayed on a 50amp, full hookup pullthrough. While there is no cable TV or Wi-Fi, the owners say they are planned for the near future. We will certainly stop here when in the area and will tell our friends to stop as well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$32
Recently converted to a KOA under new owners. Lots of renovations: office, laundry, bath house. Can see pride of ownership in all the work. Plenty of workers busy everywhere. Our site was a large pull through and grassy. We stayed an extra day to visit the area. Freightliner is 4 miles away. A great location: am sure this will be a winner. We plan to return again to see the changes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
It is not as bad as I expected based on previous reviews. The grass was mowed, and after being led on a tortuous trip with mud holes and low tree branches, we arrived at our site. It was fairly level gravel and with good hookups, the sites for motor homes and Camp Freightliner attendees are on the edge of the park near the entrance road, separated a bit from the rather seedy resident trailers. We didn't use any of the bath or other facilities and don't think our stay would have been enhanced by doing so The power was steady and kept our air conditioning running in the heat, and the noise from the residents wasn't too bad, so overall our stay here was acceptable. It's the only game in town unless you're having Freightliner service done, and then it's only an electric site at the service center. We can't imagine ever staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2009
$25
Yikes! This is a campground in need of serious attention through cleaning, painting, repairing, etc. It served the purpose of one night just off the turnpike. Many people going to Freightliner stay there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2008
$25
We stayed here to attend "Camp Freightliner" since the park is only 5 miles from the Freightliner service center. The park is mostly seasonal or permanent residents and is poorly maintained. A lawn mower and some gravel would fix the most glaring problems. We had a 50 amp big rig site that was pretty level with good electric voltage and water pressure. Cars start leaving the park at 5am, I guess going to work, and the noise from the interstate is especially noticeable at night. The staff is very friendly and the park is very convenient to I-85. There is no cable TV or internet access. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2008
$27
Stayed at the park while attending a school at the Freightliner Service Center. The sites are adequate in length and width but are unimproved except for providing hook-ups. Sites are not level. I had to put the front wheels of my motorhome on stacked two high 2 x 12s to begin the leveling process. Electric power seemed to be OK. Water pressure was almost non existent. Not a whole lot of money is spent sprucing or repairing the place. The door to the rec room was lying on the ground. It appeared that it had been their quite awhile. The rec room did not appear to have been cleaned in recent memory. The bathrooms and showers could have used a good scrubbing. Grass had grown inside the inside the edges of the miniature golf course. Ant beds close to hook-ups are untreated. Could be they didn't see them in the tall grass. Everyone was very nice and friendly. The park is quiet. Not really a destination park, unless you need or want to be in Gaffney or surrounding area. I've stayed in much nicer parks for less money. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2008
$27
We camped in site #78 and it was fairly level. The roads definitely need grading and the addition of some gravel. They were pretty muddy. The sites are long enough that we did not have to disconnect our toad which was nice since it was raining heavily and we were only here for the night. They are also plenty wide enough for slides. We could use our satellite dish with no problem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2007
$28
Mostly ill-kept area for permanent residents, but also an area for daily visitors that is acceptable for an overnight. Gravel interior roads and spots. Looks like there are not too many rules about anything so those not liking rules might like this place. If you need to stay here, call ahead because of the Freightliner factory and service nearby, it can be filled by groups. Not a destination. The wonderful national scenic by-way Route 11 goes from Gaffney south to Lake Hartwell area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2006
$28
Close to interstate 85 with easy access to the campground. To get to the over night sites you must drive thru an area that needs gravel and is muddy if there has been recent rain. Sites are large with easy access for big rigs but are very unlevel. Lot of permanent and long term sites occupied by workers which leave out very early every morning. Not much else in the area to choose from. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2006
$30
We arrived at dark. In the morning the park looked nice as we were driving out. The price they charged was high, but I guess if you use all and every amenity they have and spend time there it would be worth it. Would go there again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2005
$28
This campground is very unkept. They had built nice facilities but the restrooms/showers had not been cleaned in a very long time. The grass had not been cut in a while & no trimming, (lot's of brush). Too many "old, mildewy permanent sites" (old school bus) yikes! We had a very nice site, shady, private & quiet. No one bother's you. Could be a very nice small campground with lot's of attention. Just really unkept, but okay for 1 to 2 nights. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2001
$25
This campground is old and hasn't had much attention in the last few years. The people were pleasant and welcoming. About 25% of the sites looked to be occupied on a fulltime and were those occupants primary residence. The pool did not appear very inviting. It was OK to stay overnight, but a longer stay would not have been enjoyable. It was quiet and no trains or airplanes were heard. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com