214919 User submitted reviews online!!
Dakota Campgrounds was rated 8 out of 10 based on 28 user reviews. Phone: (605) 996-9432
CGID2584

Dakota Campgrounds

Camp Information
Sites
66
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   7   8   9   8   8   8   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$22
Nice campground, shaded, and close to I-90 with no freeway noise. We were there on a weekend and many families were there. The quiet hours are from 11PM - 8 AM. Unfortunately, some parents allowed their small children to be out riding bikes until after 10 PM. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$24
Great campground right off the interstate. Owner was great and site was very nice. we stayed overnight while on the way home. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$25
Our level full hookup site was small in width , the sewer was right next to our picnic table. The water had good pressure and good electric. Had a little road noise from the interstate but not real bad. The sites and road were rock and made for a little dust. Getting to corn palace was easy as was the other attraction. Would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$25
A cozy little campground right off I-90. Very friendly owner who offers a lot of amenities in a small space. We didn’t have a chance to try the game room or swimming pool, but both looked nice. Wi-Fi wouldn’t connect, but worked once the router was reset inside the office. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
Nice older park. Old KOA.? SHADED sites. Real quiet Labor day eve. Near the interstate but not much road noise. Had a tire problem and the owners recommended a place for repair. Good suggestion; they took good and fair care of us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
This campground is nice. It is almost all shaded and site are a nice size. It is convenient to the interstate but not much noise. All the stores and amenities just a mile or two away. It gets busy on the weekends so I would make a reservation if possible. We stayed here three nights and would return again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$31
Good Sam Park. Great hosts, well kept park. Some Interstate noise. This park is the closest to town and the Corn Palace. Good Wi-Fi. Good Verizon signal strength. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$31
VERY FRIENDLY!!! We were just passing through the area and only stayed for one night, but it was a good experience. It is grassy, and the trees make it very peaceful. It was quiet and the atmosphere was very calm. If you are following your GPS it will take you to EAST Spruce St., when the park is located on WEST Spruce St. I spoke with the owner and he agreed that most GPS systems made this error. So just double check the address once you put it in the GPS. We camped in a fifth wheel, which they didn't have a pull through for, but the man at the office was very nice and offered to help back in the trailer. AT&T worked perfectly. We were placed in the back of the park and the wi-fi still worked great. If we were staying for an extended period of time cable would be nice, but for one night it was well worth not having television. The price we paid for this park was very reasonable for the experience we had. It is roughly 3 miles from the Cabela's and Walmart located at exit 332. I would recommend this lovely little park to anyone for a good experience. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$22
This campground appears to be an old KOA facility. The campground was acquired by new owners 2 years ago and they appear to be working hard to make improvements. The campground is near enough to I90 to be "easy on" and "easy out" but far enough away to not have the road noise be a problem. A big plus is the mature hardwood trees that provide plenty of shade in the summer and give the feel of being out in the woods. The campground has interior gravel roads that are level along with pull through sites for big rigs. The only drawbacks we noted were the dated pool (cracked concrete apron) and bathrooms, which were dimly lit and are not handicap accessible. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$33
As others have said, the owner bought the park a couple years back and has been fixing it up. It is all true. The staff is great and the location is wonderful. We stayed as a one night stay and will be back We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$23
I must whole-heartedly agree with the other, recent reviews. I called to see if they could accommodate a 40' moho. The owner answered the phone and was very courteous and helpful. I reserved a site. Upon arrival, he took me in his golf cart to make sure I was happy with the site. I was able to pull in the pull-through site, without unhooking, with ease. Owner informed me that he has had the park a couple of years and it was run down when he bought it. He has done a great rehab job. Several full-time rigs here, but no junk. My site was shaded. Pull through sites have 30 amp with 50 amp back-ins available at no additional charge. Great, convenient over-night or a great place for extended trip to explore the area. "Bravo" to the owner. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
Convenient location near I-90 but far enough away to avoid highway noise. We did hear an occasional train but it wasn't loud or often enough to be disturbing. On a 100+ degree day we were glad to have the shade of mature trees. The host was pleasant and helpful, escorting us to our site and making sure all hookups worked for us. We were just passing through, but would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$22
Convenient location, friendly, conscientious owner. Seems to be dedicated to improving the property after purchasing about two years ago. Pool looked nice but we did not use. Owner helped pick site to fit us in best and assisted with parking. Area is suffering through terrible drought so that affected the look of the place, but access road was oiled to control dust. Had 50 amp site which was good for a 108 degree afternoon! Good for a stopover to see the Corn Palace, Cabela's, etc. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$23
This is a good campground - very shaded, nice sites, no pull-through for 50 amp, but 30 amp was enough - cool in evenings. Easy sites to get into with big rig - we had 40' and tow vehicle. Satellite not too good - has nice pool. Owner very friendly, helped us to our sites and came by later to check on us. Price reflects Good Sam discount. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$24
Owner was outgoing and friendly...and it shows they are working hard to renovate this park. Tree cover was a bit iffy for satellite TV, but he told us to pick whichever site would work... and a pull through at the back worked fine. Electrical outlets are upside down for 30 amp cords... usable but needed a bungee to keep surge arrester connected. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$17
Nice little park; friendly staff; laundry room and restrooms were very clean and well kept. Quiet even though close to the interstate. Park wasn't even half full due to the season so we had lots of room. Nice trees for shade. Nice playground for kids. Lots of grass for walking dog. Would definitely stay again if passing through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$24
Rate reflects a Good Sam discount. New owners are going all out to bring this park back. And so far so good. Showers/restrooms in good shape. Enjoyed the swimming pool. And the shade of the trees. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
New owners in 2011 that are working hard to upgrade the park. Lots of gravel hauled in, working to re-paint everything and Wi-Fi added. Daily, weekly, and monthly stays are welcome (We stayed all summer!) Very friendly owners that are on site 24/7. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
This was a different experience as we were here the end of September and never saw anyone. There were 5 or 6 other rigs there but no one was in them or in the office. They left a note on the door for us and did not come to collect the fee so we left a check. We stayed here 2 nights and found it to be easy access off the highway and quiet. The shade trees were nice. It is close to town and to the Corn Palace which we came to see. We would stay here again when we are passing through and will recommend it to others. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
This is a nice little park for an overnight stay or two. It is nice and shady, but definitely older and a little tired looking. Staff were very helpful and friendly. It was right off the freeway so it was convenient for easy-on and off and even though it was off a major city street it was quiet at night. We would stay here again for an overnight on the way to or from destinations. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
This was an ok campground but nothing special. Sites were level and the restrooms/showers were clean. This campground is fine for an overnight campground. Price was reasonable. Staff was friendly and we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$23
Park was right off of I-90 and good for an overnight. Older park, with older facilities, however, the campground and bathrooms were clean. The staff was very friendly and willing to help. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
This is an older facility. We stopped here over night. It appeared that this campground was mostly occupied by long term workers. Never the less, it was quiet, except for some highway noise from I-90. Inside with the air conditioner running we couldn't hear it. The host was friendly and helpful. Sites are all level. Interior roads and sites are dirt, not gravel. It probably gets muddy when it rains. There were some muddy spots left over from recent rains. The sites are somewhat close together, with grass in between. This is a good campground for overnighting, but I wouldn’t want to stay here any longer. I would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$15
This is a family-run park and the service shows it. We arrived at Dakota Campground on the week-end during the Mitchell Rodeo, one of the biggest events of the year. The woman at the office said she thought they were full but would be happy to check. We travel with the pipeline being put in the area and would be long-term campers. This probably added to her helpful attitude but I would say she was naturally a very lovely person to deal with anyway. We were in luck because another long-term camper had pulled out earlier in the week. The employee helping us was part-time and double-checked with her boss to make sure we’d be able to keep our spot. She helped us get the camper backed in and told us about the amenities such as the laundry area, showers and the underground pool. We’ve never been in Mitchell in our life and I’m pleased to say that this campground has provided a very good impression of the people in the area. We’ve had our spot for a few days now and I couldn’t be happier. We’ve been able to get the satellite set up, they have mail delivery available (it comes in at the office and the owner brings it to your spot) and they have ‘curb-side’ trash pick-up every day. Absolutely would highly recommend this to any friend or family that needed a nice, quiet but family-friendly place to stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2005
$21
Pull thru site was level and quiet. The water didn't work at first, but staff quickly corrected it. The laundry was dirty. Would use again for an overnight stay. We were in a 38' motorhome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$20
Very pleasant for a night's stop over. Plenty of shade. Clean restrooms and showers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$21
The owner was very helpful and friendly, bathrooms and shower were immaculate. Abundant shade. A good place to spend the night. June 2003 in a 36' MH We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2001
$19
Nice, clean, quiet CG with helpful owners. Hot Tub near pool. All sites were shaded, and the trees are kept trimmed as to not create an obstruction to the rigs. Saw large MH's there. We've stayed here three times in the past, and will again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com