221717 User submitted reviews online!!
Mitchell KOA was rated 8 out of 10 based on 45 user reviews. Phone: (605) 996-1131
CGID2585

Mitchell KOA

Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   5   8   8   8   8   9   7   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$34
Price includes tax and my KOA discount. Power was very good. Water pressure was very good. The wifi was excellent at our site. Site was level and long. Park was very clean and staff were excellent. Park was quiet. Park is only 3 miles from Mitchell, so grocery shopping is very handy (Walmart, etc.) Holiday fuel station had the cheapest diesel and is a large truck stop so there is lots of room. Would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2012
$44
An OK park but the $44 a night for gravel and 5 motorhomes in park total. We were told that we had the last pull thru space and reserved it on the phone. Arrived and found lots of pull thru and good sites for TV reception. Nice thing about park is the space for dogs to run and enjoy the area without many people around. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$38
This park was pretty basic. Nothing special but not bad either. Small fenced in dog walk area where you can let your dog loose for a bit while you provide supervision or company for your pet. Very close to the Corn Palace, so very convenient. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$39
We had a roomy, well-shaded, pull-through site which was one of many offered at this campground. This KOA is very convenient to the Corn Palace and is easy on/off of the main highway. It had a nice pool and clean laundry room as well as a playground and miniature golf for the children. We would recommend this campground for a short-term stay while seeing the nearby attractions. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
Nice place just off the interstate. Great place to stay if you are going to the Corn Palace, which is only a few miles away. Very clean and the management is big into recycling. Nice pool and clean showers. Would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$36
We liked this park alot. It was very hot, 107 when we got there, so we used pool, and the kids enjoyed. Level spots, nice people running Kampground, showers were very nice. Mini golf was OK. This was a good stopover in Mitchell. We would stay here again if we are this direction. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$34
We stopped here for overnight but if we were planning to stay it would have been a nice place for that. Helpful, friendly staff and nice layout. Only downside is proximity to the freeway but the noise isn't bad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$38
We had a good level pad beneath large, shady trees, but only had 30 amps and no dump. We were given a warm, efficient welcome and were escorted to our site. The facilities were "tired' and the bathrooms seemed to be inadequate for the number of campers. Never before have I had to line up to get a shower. They only had 3 for females. We ate dinner at a camp table, but not breakfast because of the flies. Lots of them! The campground is next door to a farm with cattle. We received a discount because my husband is a vet, but we still thought it was a little overpriced. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$31
Camped here for 1 nite. very nice and clean, great owners and staff. Nice pull through sites with plenty of room. We saw many other BIG RIGS as well. No freeway noise at all as it's about 1.5 miles off the freeway. Good interior gravel roads. Very clean restrooms, laundry, and pool. The Wi-Fi from our camp site was excellent. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$39
Nice campground with great staff! The campground is very convenient to the interstate but far enough away to be quiet. The staff/owner is great! When I inquired on a service station that could come give my toad a jump (battery died while being towed), the owner showed up with his vehicle and jumper cables!! Will definitely stay here again!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
I needed an overnight stay and took a shot at this campground. Glad I did and have no regrets. Good directions and easy to find off Interstate. Quiet location. I had a good experience making reservations by phone with them, and this was reinforced when I arrived. I was met by a friendly staff, who helped me get to my site and get settled in. Sites were roomy, shaded, level. Lots of different kinds of rigs, from 5th wheelers to big giant ones. I saw that sites handled towed vehicles very adequately. I didn't use shower but peeked in to see what they looked like; restrooms and showers were immaculate. Store was small but had needed essentials if they were needed. I like how the on-site staff person told me what site he was on in case there was an emergency. Wi-Fi was excellent. Overall, great location if you are looking for an overnight stay traveling to or from Badlands and Black Hills. Would also stay longer if visiting local area. Well done and thanks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$34
Best KOA in years. Great people, very helpful. Beautiful campground. Level, shaded sites. Quiet but convenient location. Be sure to visit the Corn Palace! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$45
We stayed at this campground for one night on our way out west from Iowa. We arrived late, but called ahead and the host waited for us to arrive, which was very nice. The kamping kabin was clean and not too far from the bathrooms. the bathrooms were clean, as well. We did drive through the the rest of the campground the next day, and they have great shade trees and grass with nice full hookup pull-through sites. Overall, we'd recommend the Mitchell KOA to anyone looking for a peaceful night's rest off the major highway yet only minutes from town and the famous Corn Palace. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$40
The campground had just opened so there were only a couple other campers in the campground. The park looked well maintained and the host was very pleasant and helpful. We paid $39.83, I believe the base was $37 plus tax. We would stay there again if the need arises. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$31
Pleasant park in rural area, easy access from I-90, but road noise not obtrusive. Only a few minutes from Mitchell - don't miss the amazing Corn Palace - where there is everything you need. The staff very helpful, the internet is fast and reliable. Our only complaint is sites are a bit narrow. Rate represents KOA discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$35
Nice KOA. A little worn, but the people running it were working hard and were willing to help with anything you needed. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
We stayed here just one night as we were making our way out West. Friendly staff and well-stocked store. New sewer lines were recently put in and our row of sites were not level. Better like the smell of cow manure because there is a farm nearby. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$37
Clean and well maintained. There are family activities. Sites are very close together. There are gravel roads and sites. Our 5th wheel is 40 feet and it was easy to get in and out. Bathrooms were very clean. Lots of overnight traffic. Check out Chef Louie's restaurant and the smoked chicken at the Brig. We'll use this as an option to the Souix Falls KOA. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
We stayed at this campground for one night on our way home from our trip to Mt. Rushmore. This campground was in a good location, just 3 miles east of Mitchell. It was easy to find off the I-90 with a mixture of treed and shaded sites. The staff was friendly, the Wi Fi connection was great and bathrooms were clean, although a little dated. This is definitely not a resort type campground. For a stopover after a long day of driving, it is a welcome break. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$24
The hosts of the campground were very nice. Everything was in a nice order, and the customers service they give to each person is hard to find now days. The only issue was the bugs, but the amount of rain brought them out. Not the fault of the owners. Would recommend this place to anyone going through South Dakota. The campground was very close to the Corn Palace. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$34
This is an ok spot for an overnight stop. The bathrooms were very clean and the water pressure was outstanding. Our site was level, but others complained their site was not. The WiFi never worked. I tried for two days. There was some space to walk our two active dogs, but you'll need bug spray. The bugs were vicious. There's also a pool for the kids. The hosts were very nice. The local pizza wasn't that great. The dough was under-cooked. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
We stayed here 3 days while seeing the area attractions. The staff is friendly, but the sites are very close together. We did not have a fire ring although other sites did (we didn't ask for one). The pool was small but clean. Mini golf is free but only has 9 holes. The campground is close to I-90, but no noise was heard. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
Very clean and comfortable campground. Only problem that I had the sites are not very level. But, everything else was okay. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2010
$40
There is no real grass, more like poorly mowed weeds on each site. Staff was friendly. For the second year in a row we stayed and I've decided, never again! There is not a fire ring on each site, you have to ask if you want one. Playground equipment is in poor condition and a bit lacking! Sites are close together. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$29
Perfect one nighter stay. Easy on and off freeway. Nice pull-through sites. Friendly staff who guided us to our spot. Shaded area; nice dog walk; plenty of grass. Would recommend this to anyone heading east or west across I-90. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
Price is for a E/W only site, with KOA member discount. Best showers anywhere except home! Exceptionally friendly and helpful owner. Nicely shaded, level sites, buffered from the I-90 highway noise. Close to the action in Mitchell: the Corn Palace festival was starting when we were there. Would definitely stay here again, and for more than one night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
A nice KOA, last time we were through this area there were some negative reviews, but we found this to be a great park, but we prefer to the Sioux Falls KOA. It was off the interstate enough so you weren't bothered by highway noise. There are shaded pull through sites, lots of space, clean pool and bathhouse. The huge Wal-mart and Cabelas make this a convenient stop on your travels. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$32
Easy access on and off I-90. Stopped here on our way to the Black Hills. Staff was extremely friendly and escorted us to our site. We were in a pull thru site near the cabins and playground. Playgrounds are older but clean. Sites are relatively close together. If you want more room in a site, ask to stay on the outer loop near the road. The road is quiet and these sites faced a farm. Wi-fi worked well and was fast. Overall a nice, clean and quiet place to stay for a night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$45
Our site was not level. Two dirt spots were present at our site for a potential fire ring, but no fire rings are provided. The view from our camp spot was the shed and what must be the camp manager's trailer home and all the junk around them. We woke up in the morning to a class A and its trailer parked in the road portion behind us. Maybe this is overflow camping? Bathrooms were steamy but somewhat clean. The place seemed busy and understaffed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
A nice campground with easy access to the interstate. There is good location for services and a nice, level site. It is a pleasant park with plenty of campers moving in and out. There are some shade trees scattered about making a park-like atmosphere. It is about 3 miles to the town of Mitchell via back roads so we drove in to see the famous Corn Palace. A Pilot truck stop is nearby in Mitchell if you need diesel. There is a nice Walmart in town where we stocked up on groceries. I would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$44
Stayed overnight on the way from the Black Hills. Bathrooms were the cleanest that I have seen in a long time. Grounds were well maintained. Owner was very friendly and helpful. We will make this a stop over every trip to the hills. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2009
$32
I had to request a fire ring and was provided with an old washing machine drum that was difficult at best to start a fire in with the agitator present. The sites are very close together, and needed mowing. The staff was friendly and helpful however. The playground equipment old but functional. The pool looked nice but was too cold to use when we were there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$32
We camped here overnight on the way to the Black Hills. It's very quiet, just off I-90, but far enough away that you don't hear any highway noise. The sites were fairly level and we didn't have any trouble with the hookups. The restrooms were clean, but a bit dated. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$30
Close to Interstate 90 at exit 335. All sites are pull throughs. Owners have obtained consultation regarding management of previously mentioned bug problems which has been successful. Nice pool and nicest laundry facilities we have seen for a long time. Owners friendly, laid back, and helpful. Lots of rigs come in late afternoon and early evening and most leave by 7 or 8 AM. Owners explain that they are primarily an overnight campground - "Nobody wants to spend much time in Mitchell; they are all on their way to somewhere else." Quiet and peaceful. If the wind is from the wrong direction there are odors from next door horse farm. We would go there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$45
This place is excellent for an overnight stay. There are level sites, clean showers, and friendly office assistance. The only complaint is the extra charge for a pet. It was only $1.00 but annoying none-the-less and the only reason I didn't rate it a "10". We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$32
A very nice, quiet, clean campground outside the town of Mitchell on Hwy 38. Very friendly, helpful host/owner. Shaded sites. Large pet walk area. Clean pool, free putt-putt golf and horseshoes. Very good Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$34
Overall it was adequate, but we would not go out of our way to stay here again. I agree with the other reviews noting the bugs-they definitely were notable! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$48
Can you say "BUGS" .. So many gnats and flies you couldn't open your mouth without them going in. Dusty campground but clean where it counts. Would stay for overnight if I had to but would rather just truck on next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$32
Okay for overnight. Best of the three sites we checked in the area. Dusty. Lots of flies and gnats. If stuck I would stay here again but if possible I would keep trucking. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$45
This was a nice campground, but not worth $45 a day. They do allow pets, but they charge extra...we did not realize that when we made the reservations. The sites for motorhome staying one day did not have any shade. If you were to stay more than one day make sure you ask for one with shade. Our site did have a picnic table but no fire pit. It was an OK place, clean, well maintained, but compared to other campgrounds, not worth the money. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$28
Decent for overnight. Sites grassy, and some may be muddy in rainy weather. New owner is friendly, has many plans to upgrade and repair this older campground. Country feel, but some road noise, especially daytime, from county road. Campground is two miles from town, convenient for sightseeing, shopping, etc. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$30
Beautiful park with easy access from interstate. Also easy to enter park/sites with a big rig. Parking/distance/privacy from neighboring campers was just perfect. The only problem I had was it became a major ordeal to use the internet (they are using new wireless service that didn't have the "kinks" worked out yet.) Very helpful/friendly customer service! We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$27
A clean park with friendly staff; lots of grassy area around sites; a clean and inviting swimming pool. Bike rentals available with a playground for the kids. The laundry room was clean and functional. I was told the wi-fi could be used close to the office, however, I was able to use it successfully from our site. We used this park as an overnighter and would do so again without hesitation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$28
New owner this year. He is really friendly and always working. The sites are large and mostly pull thru. Mitchell is about 3 miles from park and good location from I90. Shade trees need trimming but owner is working on updating all the sites. Will have dog runs in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2002
$23
Quiet park, level, shady sites. Hosts weren't very friendly, but that was okay since we didn't have to deal with them very much. Only a few miles outside of Mitchell, and you can get to town via Hwy. 38, as an alternate to taking the interstate. We'd stay there again and would recommend. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com