206628 User submitted reviews online!!
Super 8 Motel / R & R Campground & RV Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 116 user reviews. Phone: (605) 996-8895
CGID2586

Super 8 Motel / R & R Campground & RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
44
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$37



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   10   6   8   8   7   7   6   6   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$37
A great stopover spot. Gravel sites but they are level and the utilities are well placed. Long sites with a decent space between rigs. Grass kept the pups happy. Very close to I90 made it convenient off and on but also provided a fair amount of road noise. Also train tracks very close on the other side of the campground. These noises didn't bother us but anyone with a soft sided rig might not agree. Close to corn palace and prehistoric Indian dig. Not much for children to do here but fine for us. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$18
We stayed here overnight with the PA rate pd $22.79 2/discount and tax. Nice, clean, long pull through, grass, friendly staff, quiet park, no road noise. It's far enough back behind super 8. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$28
Though convenient to the highway, this park was not particularly noisy. It was level and smooth with grass and trees around the sites. Electrical, water, and sewer hookups were convenient. Bathrooms were clean and modern. This park was a good value with our Passport America discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
A nice, level campground with easy access to Mitchell, The Corn Palace, and the interstate. Surprisingly quiet. The CG Host/operator was terrific. Friendly, helpful staff all around. Decent grassed space between sites. All the sites were pull-thrus. Convenient to Walmart and other shopping. A real nice place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$18
The host is friendly and helpful. The Wi-Fi is OK, kind of slow. The laundry room is really clean and well maintained. The campground is actually called R & R Campground and it is adjacent to Super 8 Motel and campers have access to use the outdoor pool. The campground is next to railroad track, but the trains only come during the day so it is a non issue with us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$21
Rate reflects Passport America ($17.00 + $4 add for 50amp service). Very nice park with lots of shade trees. Well picked up and clean. WiFi service was a little slow, till we connected our WiFi Extender, then it was just fine. We enjoyed our time here very much and would highly recommend. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$18
This has been our preferred Mitchell area RV park for years. We stayed here on a Saturday night in mid-July. Rate listed is PPA. We called a few days earlier to reserve a site and were glad we did; they were turning people away by 4PM. You should probably call ahead anytime during the summer since this is a small, but popular park that fills up regularly. There are also a number of extended stay customers so the number of sites available on any given night could be minimal. We had a FHU, pull-through site with 70 channel cable TV. We were unable to connect to the WIFI because we were in a site that is one of the farthest from the office. The pool was refreshing on a hot, humid day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$22
July 6, 2013, Space #312 electricity was very low voltage. It was hot and we couldn't run our air conditioner. Should have stayed for free at Cabella's! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$17
Rate reflects Passport America discount. Not a bad campground, but right off I-90 so alot of traffic noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$22
Nice campground a short distance from I-90 with minimal road noise. Wi-Fi was fair--not so good as the campground filled each day. We got a good Verizon signal. Stayed here a week on Passport America rate in a pull through with a picnic table. We have stayed here before, and will always stop here when going by Mitchell, SD. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$22
Fairly nice, small park just off I-90. The freeway noise is not bothersome. There is a train track as well but it is not used often. We heard two trains in our two day stay. Sites are level with some grass and a picnic table. Pull thrus were easy to access and there were a lot of large rigs that came in and out while we were visiting. There is a swimming pool which appeared popular. Staff was very friendly. Good place for a short stay, we would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$21
Very pleasant stop for over night. We were greeted with ice-cold bottles of water, what a special touch. We would stop there again. Convenient to I-90. Well kept grounds and clean. Lovely trees for shade. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$22
This campground is just off I-90 behind a Super 8 Motel. It has long gravel pads that were fairly level with lots of shade. Pool was very nice, as was the laundry which stayed open 24 hrs. Easy in/out with dump and trash near the exit. Would definitely stay here again. This rate was a Passport American rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$21
Campground has gravel sites that are nice long pull throughs. It's right off I-90, but we didn't notice highway noise too bad. It's perfectly fine as a "stop over" place for a few days for sight-seeing Mitchell's Corn Palace and other attractions. We stayed here 3 nights. The woman working the office lives on site in a 5th wheel and is VERY pleasant and accommodating. We would stay here again. The rate includes tax and reflects the Passport America discount, 50 amp service and cable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
R&R Campground is a strictly a one-nighter park located within an easy 9-iron to Interstate 90 so you will hear the highway. It is immediately behind the Super 8 Motel. They may be a Passport America park but it was the most expensive PA park we have ever been in. They charge an extra $4.00 if you want 50 amp. They appear to have mostly dirt or gravel sites and because of the recent rains we had to use support plates under our levelers. Their free Wi-Fi wouldn’t work at our site. We didn’t try their cable as we have a satellite dish but we had to pull forward to the far front of our site to clear their overhanging tree branches and then couldn't connect to their sewer. Their office staff was friendly and helpful but the park was just a mediocre affair with too few showers/restrooms for their size. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$15
We stayed here 2 nights as others have said, to see the corn palace. Sites are gravel as well interior roads. Kind of a strange entrance through the Super 8 motel but plenty of room to get through. It was the off season so there were only 5 other rigs in the park. Plenty of room for our 40' motorhome and toad. A little close to I-90 but for $15.00 per night including tax with 50 amps and full hookups you can't beat it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$17
Passport America member park that offered the discount for up to one week made this an enticing prospect. Following their directions it was easy to find. Office was closed at our 4:00 pm arrival but a note told us to pick a spot and pay later in the evening. Lots of shade and gravel sites lent to the feeling this park had been around a long while. Situated and owned by the same people that own the Super 8 hotel, traffic noise was minimal. The hosts were friendly. And the laundry room stayed open 24 hours making it easy to access one of the 4 washers available. A television in the laundry room made the chore more bearable as well. Plenty of grass between sites and room to enjoy sitting outdoors was appreciated. Train tracks running alongside could have been problematic however only one train per evening went by to my knowledge. The only real negative was access to and from was through the Super 8 parking lot along with a convenience store (watch for that convenience store cross traffic). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$22
We had one of the two concrete pad pull-throughs and couldn't have been happier. We lost a jack and are on our way to Winnebago Industries in Iowa for repairs, and we are unable to level our coach, so having the level pad was wonderful. Large trees provided shade but did not interfere with the slides. There is a pool which appeared clean and well-maintained. Cable TV in this park was one of the best we have had, with brilliant color and no fuzziness. The Wi-Fi was weak, but our RAZR hotspot worked well. Water pressure decreased during peak usage times. Although the sites are a little close, the roads were easily maneuvered by big rigs. The park is beside RonDees and we are so happy we stayed here. The lady in the office was very nice and helpful. It was going to be an overnight stop, but we stayed an extra day. Price reflects Passport America plus $4 extra for 50 amp service. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$30
Rate reflects Good Sam discount. There is some space between sites, but it seemed pretty crowded. It's convenient to the Corn Palace which is the only reason we stopped here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$20
This is a our first time here in 4 years, and we stayed 3 nights the final weekend of August. Rate is PPA for all 3 nights. We had a FHU, pull-through, end site at the south end of the park. Cable TV is about 70 channels which is good since only a few sites are satellite friendly due to the many mature trees in the park. I was afraid we might have trouble picking up the WI-FI but it worked OK most of the time. The park was full both Fri. and Sat. and only about 10 sites were vacant Sunday night. It stays this full because they have about a dozen sites occupied by men working road construction in the area. The pool is shared with the neighboring motel, so there were quite a few kids the 2 warm days of our stay. This will continue to be my preferred RV park in the Mitchell area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$44
Quiet. Large spaces for big rigs. Sits back off road behind motels. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$19
Rate reflects Passport America membership. Easy on/off the interstate. Follow directions on website or the PPA book, entering the address in a GPS will take you to a different park nearby. Good gravel roads and pull through, level sites. There is grass between sites with picnic tables and room to sit out. If you have a roof top satellite, be sure to ask for a site with a clear sky. The trees are getting big enough to offer shade. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$18
Nice, small, well shaded campground. Lots of channels on the cable. Good Verizon signal. The furthest in sites are close to the freeway and when we were there they were doing construction work with jack hammers. Inside the RV with the air conditioning on we heard nothing, but just be aware of potential noise if you prefer fresh air. Would stay her again. Rate reflects Passport America. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$21
We stayed here July 1 for 4 nights. It was a very nice, quiet park and had clean, wide sites. We payed $21 Passport rate. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$22
This is an above average kind of park that you find right off the interstate. If you are here during the time of year that your windows would be open, you would hear the traffic, but it was no problem for us. The rate is for the Passport rate, including $4 extra for 50amp. Good gravel roads and pull through, level sites. There is grass between sites with picnic tables and room to sit out. The Wi-Fi worked well during the day, slower at night of course. The free cable had a very good station choice. Our Sprint phone/Hot spot worked well. The area to walk our dogs was a little limited by the "do not walk here" signs. If you have a roof top satellite, be sure to ask for a site with a clear sky, the trees are getting big enough to offer shade. Very good location for shopping and visiting the area attractions. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$22
I was pleasantly surprised at this Passport America campground. Very easy site access and hookups with 50 amp service. Great overnight spot in the heat for only $22 PA rate. Much better value than other sites along I-90. Will stop again if schedule amiable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$18
Stayed here as a quick overnight, as we were on our way out West. Would not stay here for any more than one night, quick in and out. Sites were a bit tight, and ours was a pull through. This is directly behind the Super 8, and they share the pool, which is small. No store to speak of, and its right off of the highway. Would stay again strictly on our way through only. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$22
This is a great 1-2 night stay campground, easy on/off I 90 and close to Mitchell shopping and tourist stops. Our rate includes Passport America discount w/50 amp. Our site was a long, level pull thru, with all utilities in excellent working order. The staff was welcoming and helpful. There is a pool and small playground. We did not use the showers, so can't comment on those. laundry open 24 hrs. The wifi was free and we had a good signal. Good Verizon, clear sky for roof sat dish. There are several campgrounds in the area, we were very satisfied with our choice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$22
Park located behind the Super 8 one block north of interstate highway. Received a warm friendly greeting. Check in was quick and easy. Received info for touring in the area. Park is neat and clean, but site may need some work to level it side to side. Hook ups were in good shape, water pressure was strong, and cable TV worked very well. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$38
Park has easy access off I-90. Upon arrival we were welcomed by friendly staff and given a free bottle of water as we checked in. Park was very clean and great place for an overnight or a couple days to sight see in Mitchell. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$18
This campground is easy to access of interstate 90. The sites are large and can accommodate big rigs. The sites are level and the electricty and water pressure is good. They offer free coffee after 8 AM. There is an excellent family cafe across the street from the campground. The campground is behind the Super 8 Motel. The lady at the desk was very helpful and pleasant to deal with. The water pressure is good and the electric has both 30 and 50 amps and was in the red on the amp meter all the time. The price reflects Passport America's discount. This is a great park to overnight or even stay a few days to explore Mitchell SD. I would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$23
Rate is for PA. Very nice workers. The camp is quite clean and well tended. Clean laundry. Sparkling pool although we did not use it. Nice tables at each site. Shade trees do not interfere with slides. Pull through sites could be a wee bit longer. Not a lot of senseless rules like many campgrounds. Easy on and off to I-90, but no noise noticed. There is a train that passes by a few times a day but we did not find it a nuisance. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$34
Nice campground for mid-state stopping point. Sites are adequate for 40' towing, some concrete and all level. Friendly staff and nicely maintained park. Plenty of retail in short distance of this location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$17
Rate reflects Passport America charge. Easy access to I-90. Very friendly and helpful staff. Park had just opened for the season and was very well maintained. The train that passed by during the evening was traveling very slowly and didn't disturb us at all. Also, the noise from the Hwy was minimal. Very good experience. Will be happy to stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$15
This time of year campground is for self contained units only. Restrooms/showers are not open. Park very clean, picnic tables well built and fairly new. Large pull-through sites. Full hook-ups plus cable TV (lots of channels) and great Wi-Fi. Great place for overnight--or longer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$15
Very good overnight stop. Easy freeway access. The price can't be beat. It was a $15 flat rate as it was after their normal closing date and they were using an unattended self-check in system. Their normal PA rate was also $15. The sites were easy gravel pull-through with good hookups. They even included cable TV in the discounted rate. We'd definitely stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$22
Stayed two days. Staff very friendly and helpful. Level shaded pads. Some reviews talked about freeway noise and plane noise. Never heard a plane and barely heard traffic. Would stay again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$20
Nice little park and convenient for an over night stay. Small park but clean sites. Shaded spots good utilities with cable. Free Wi-Fi but weak signal. Good Verizon signal. Friendly staff. Park is located behind motel and close to freeway. Freeway noise is not too loud. Would stay here again while traveling I-90. Rate reflects passport America cost. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$21
This is a nice little park right near the interstate. We had one of the spaces close to I-90, but with our windows closed, the noise was not a problem. We have a large dog and had no problem at all with the park rules concerning dogs. The Wi-Fi was fair and at times unusable. The sites are a little tight. The water, electric, and sewer were all fine. The park is convenient to the town of Mitchell. We would stay there again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$21
The R & R Campground stands for "rest and relaxation" for us. We are staying here as a respite following the Escapade in Gillette, WY. The price reflects the use of our Passport America membership. Although the park is small, the sites are well shaded and the utilities are convenient. We are in the "pet friendly" section which is well enforced. The Wi-Fi is free but is so weak as to be unusable. Fortunately, our Sprint cards work here. . . hooray! The management is friendly. The rules are well stated and enforced; this is a good thing. The park is conveniently near the freeway but the noise didn't bother us. All in all. . . a nice and convenient little park. We would happily stay here again. Thank you. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$17
We would actually rate this park an 8 if we did not have a dog. First the positives, friendly folks, nice, clean, convenient campground. Excellent value on the PA rate. My wife found the laundry facilities to be especially clean and pleasant. Non dog owners need read no further and consider this an 8. Now the negatives, dogs are only allowed in one area of the park. The sole dumpster is at the other end of the park where dogs are not allowed. As we always clean up after our dog (and it is a rule of the campground as well), this is of some inconvenience. Basically you must bring your dog back to the RV before hiking to the dumpster to dispose of the waste. I would suggest either allowing dogs to walk to the dumpster area, or simply placing an additional trash can in the dog run. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$20
Price reflects Passport America membership with 50 amp service ($2 extra/night). Park was pretty full with many Escapees going to the Escapade in Gillette, WY. All utilities were adequate. Wi-Fi and Verizon were very good here. Check out the Monday evening hamburger special on Monday evenings at Marlin's across the street. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$20
General impression is a decent place for an overnight stay. Was clean and picked up. Dirt roads and gravel, nearly level sites with some trees and grass. Free Wi-Fi worked really well as did Verizon card and ATT. Grandaughters said the showers associated with the pool were very buggy and had wasp nests. The restroom and showers associated with the office was dated but clean. Only one receptacle for trash as you left. Would stay again if passing through the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$18
The other reviewers hit it on the nose. Shady, quiet, roomy enough, level, clean, and friendly staff. Rate reflects Passport America discount. Pull through was long enough for our 36' M/H and toad -- did not have to unhook. I think a great find! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$33
R & R is an excellent overnight campground while traveling. Quiet even though it is close to the highway. Friendly helpful staff. Visit the Corn Palace while in the area too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$17
Nice park, level sites. Close to the highway but the noise is not a problem. This is our second time at this park. The internet is still pretty weak though. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$18
Rate reflects PPA discount. Lady at counter was very nice and helpful. All pull-through sites and shady. Cable TV had limited channels, internet was fine and we were at the back of the lot. Water and electric were fine. There is a small store, and a nice clean laundry. Very accessible to Wal-Mart, Cabelas, and a Whiskey Creek restaurant. Right next to I-90, but surprisingly, not that noisy. A train track right behind the grounds, but only one train ran late afternoon and it did not blow a horn. Great for a night or two, not much more. I would stay again if in area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$31
We liked this campground very much. It was a little confusing getting into the first time. Nice long level pull throughs, very strong Wi-Fi. Even though you could see the highway, we did not get any noise. Our rate was a Good Sam discount. We stayed here twice on our way out and on our way back from the Black Hills. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$17
This is a very clean Passport America campground. We stayed an extra night. There are nice people and it is very friendly. The sites are wooded and level. There is 50 AMP power. There is a Pool. It is located close to Expressway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$17
Rates reflect being affiliated with Passport America. Mostly pull-through sites, very long and wide enough for numerous slides. We were in a smaller, back-in site and perfectly happy with it. Has two unisex showers and restrooms near the pool which were clean but need some renovating. Although close to I-90, the noise didn't bother us. Good cable TV and Wi-Fi. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$15
This is a nice campground. It is just off the interstate but the noise didn't bother our sleeping at all. We saw only one train on the tracks next to the campground and it did not blow it's horn when going by the park. The sites are wide enough to get good separation but not if you were going to stay for the summer. Our rate was low because the office and facilities were not open yet, they were just getting the park ready for the season. We stayed five days visiting family in the area. It is a Passport America and Good Sam park. We will stay there again when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$15
Stayed here in the "off season" before the pool and bathhouse opened up, $15 per night. This is a very nice campground, quiet, secure, close to food and fuel. Long pull thrus, easy hook ups, well layer out campground. Easy access to and from I-90. Great overnight stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$15
It is a very good overnight park because it was close to the freeway and has convenient access but the noise was not a problem. It is a very pleasant park, but we couldn't get the cable hookup to work and the showers didn't get very hot. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$18
Very comfortable park for an overnight stay. Within walking distance to many restaurants and only 2 blocks to a garage that services RVs We e know because we discovered a flat tire as we were getting ready to leave, and the office was very helpful in helping us get it fixed. The Wi-Fi was good. They stayed open beyond their usual dates because the weather was so good, and they were full. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$18
Nice park with easy access off I-90. Long level sites. We stayed here with Passport America, thus the rate. The lady in the office was VERY nice and welcoming. We have stayed here before when passing through and would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$27
Very nice campground. Washrooms and laundry room very well kept. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$19
Great campground. We were stuck in Mitchell for two weeks and there couldn't have been a better place for us to stay -- with Passport America rates throughout stay. Almost all roomy pull-thrus with lots of grass. Extremely courteous and helpful staff. Convenient to everything. Don't stop with the Corn Palace; the Primitive Village and Discovery Museum are also must-sees. Huge Cabellas (national sales leader) and Wal-Mart within half a mile. Good restaurants. Pet walking a little awkward; signs all over say no pets here. Wi-Fi shaky; blows you off a lot. We would definitely go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$29
Small park behind a Super 8. It was a nice stop for the night. It was next to I-90, however we did not notice a lot of noise. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$17
Long, level sites. Excellent Wi-Fi reception. Friendly staff. Very nice, reasonable priced laundry. Convenient to town and Wal-Mart. Highway noise and the occasional train no problem with windows closed. We were very pleased with this campground and would recommend it if you stay a night or a week. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$18
Passport America campground rate shown. Clean park. Pull through parking. Pool closes after Labor Day. Noticeable freeway noise. Excellent park for overnight stay while traveling I-90. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$29
Yes it's small but very clean and convenient. I was worried when we pulled up, it's behind a Super 8 (probably owned by the same folks) but the staff was very friendly and helpful. The pool was dirty but we were told that a storm came through the night before and it just hadn't gotten cleaned yet. From the look of everything else I believed them. The showers were very clean. I will definitely stay here again if traveling through Mitchell. I did read a few complaints about noise but we didn't hear anything. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$20
Make sure you look to the right as soon as you exit coming west on I-90. You will go right past it; it's tough to see from the street. Just happened to see the R&R. We got a great site and had a nice time here. The smell of cattle is in the air EVERYWHERE in Mitchell, reminded me of growing up in Lancaster County. Hosts were great. Excellent choice for a campground to visit the Corn Palace and to spend the night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$18
Don't let strange entry thru part of motel lot fool you, this is a very nice small park for over night or even several days. Roads are good with nicely graveled sites and all are pull-thru. Vicious storm passed that night, and the park attendant knocked on our coach to make sure we had the local channel on to stay updated. She wanted to make sure we knew where the safe areas were in case of severe weather. Very considerate. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$33
We were looking for a decent overnight spot with easy access for our 40 footer, level site, good power and WiFi. We found it all and then some, so we decided to spend two extra nights. This park is well cared for and surprisingly quiet, being so close to the highway. Mitchell had everything we needed to stock up. And, we loved the Corn Palace! We highly recommend this park, and hope there’s room the next time we pass through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$17
This is a great park with wonderful, friendly people at check in. Sites are large and easy to get in and out, pads are level, and the park is clean. You can drive to all the major attractions with little or no trouble and we enjoyed Mitchell very much. The rate is great, and I gave this park a 9 only due to the closeness of the off ramp from I-90 and train tracks behind the park. Try it, you will love this place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$17
This park continues to be our prefered park in eastern SD along I-90. For the low PPA rate of $17 you get FHU, cable TV, WiFi, and a pool. Add in the convenience to shopping and town and it is still acceptable at the full rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$29
Bathrooms, showers, and laundry room clean and modern. Sites are nicely shaded without being intrusive. Reasonable width, length, and level. We had a problem finding the campground. It is directly behind the Super 8 just off I-90, across from Pilot Travel Center. It really isn't on a street. No road noise, other than the occasional siren. There is a train track nearby, but not many trains to speak of. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$17
Although not fancy, this is a nice, friendly, shady, clean park. We enjoyed the Passport rate, and I have paid much more for a site that wasn't half as nice. I would certainly return. There is a wonderful Chinese restaurant across the street too! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$16
Park has excellent TV and WiFi. We heard no freeway noise, the train only came through once and that was in the afternoon. We will stay here again when going through Mitchell. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$15
Park is clean and well maintained. Grass is mowed and someone seems to be constantly improving things. Sites are not on top of each other and are level. Major cable TV service and good WiFi. The WiFi became weak while we were here and the next day they had a repairman checking the system. $15 fee was Passport America rate. The only down side was the interstate, and even that was far enough away to not be a bother. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$22
We used the Passport rate. Friendly staff welcomed us and we appreciated the level, pull-through site. Things were in good repair, even though there had been considerable rain in the prior weeks. Convenient location to I-90, the Corn Palace in Mitchell and Cabelas sporting goods. We heard some road noise from the Interstate, but it was not a problem for us. We will stop here again when in the Mitchell area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$29
We just did a one night stay and it was fine for that. Has friendly staff, clean area, and we had great neighbors. Has gravel sites that were level, and cable TV that worked fine. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$30
We stayed here for two nights to visit the Corn Palace. We had a pleasant experience. The Corn Palace was within biking distance, about 15 minutes away. It was an easy ride. The location is perfect if you are there to visit the Palace. We found nice restaurants. The front desk personnel were very friendly and willing to assist us with questions. Had absolutely no problems with our pets. The cable and Wi-Fi were great. We'd definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$15
All services were good and the people friendly. There is a railroad spur right beside the park, but it's in a deep valley and used very little. Near the interstate, but the noise was not bad. Was convenient for touring in the area. The laundry room was larger that most campgrounds, and reasonable. I used Passport America for the $15.00 per night for 4 nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2009
$19
Our rate is a PA rate. The park is not really pet friendly. We were told to be careful of the children in the park, but not warned about the 2 pit bulls that were tied out near the dog walking area. The dog walking area was the only area where we were allowed to take our dogs. The park is clean, but very noisy with highway noise. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$17
We stayed here with Passport America for two nights. We were with a group of motorhomes traveling together, and the staff was so accommodating with our reservations. They even put up a welcoming sign for our group. The campground is located behind a gas station and is nothing fancy, but the sites are long pull-throughs with easy access on and off the interstate. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2009
$29
This is a great small RV park. There were a few tents, but mainly RVs. Our rate was 29.30 with the Good Sam discount. We didn't have a TV cable with us, so the gentleman in the office made a special trip to the store to get one for us! We used this cable at no charge and returned it in the morning. Very clean showers/bathrooms. Near a train track, but never heard a train go by. The pool is heated, and is shared with Motel 8 guests. Picnic table, but no fire ring. Pull through site was fairly roomy. We used Verizon air card for wireless connection. Call ahead, the park filled up the night we were there, and they were turning campers away. Would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$19
Gravel pads with 50/30/20 amps, well kept sites with cable TV. The Wi-Fi worked fine. The noise level was not bad at all, considering the park is next to the highway and a railroad. Staff was friendly and helpful. They accepted Passport America. This was a nice place to stay for a couple days and see the area. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$19
We camped in 45 foot motor home in site #312. There is easy access north off I-90, Exit 332. There are mostly gravel interior roads mixed with some paved. Most sites are gravel but a few are concrete. There is grass and trees at each site. There is a decent space between each site which were mostly pull-throughs. The WiFi worked great. We were able to receive satellite TV and Verizon phone & air card had top signal. The office staff was very friendly and helpful. The facilities were all neat and clean. The park accepted Passport America or Good Sam. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$18
Rate reflects Passport America discount. This park represents why Passport America membership is a good deal. We had a level, all concrete site with 50amp hookups, grass, shade, and plenty of room. Although near the interstate, it was quiet and dark at night. Lots of pipeline workers and their children, but the pool kept them busy and they weren't a problem. Good free Wi-Fi and cable TV. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$17
Friendly helpful staff. Gravel pull through sites with 50 amp available. Plenty of grass. Cable TV. Wi-Fi was very slow but Verizon Aircard signal was strong and fast. Shade trees on all site. Rate reflects Passport America plus $2 for 50 amp. Park was full on a Sunday night. We would stay again when in area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$33
We found this campground very nice. There during a tornado warning and staff very helpful as to what to do. This one on our "stay again" list. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
Campground behind Super 8 Motel. All pull-thru sites (except tent sites). Guest can use hotel pool. Showers by pool were like warm and not very clean. Restrooms & showers by office much better. Campground between interstate and railroad, but very quiet. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$31
Good basecamp for visiting Mitchell. You basically have two choices: closer to the Corn Palace or closer to the interstate. We chose the latter. All sites are pull-thru, but a bit narrow. Wifi was good and having cable TV to check the weather was appreciated. No campfires. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$18
Nice over night stop in Mitchell. Located behind a Super 8 motel the park is nice and level. Entry roads are paved as was our site. Easy on and easy off I-90, but not too loud. But that could have been because we had terrible thunder storms-- by the way drainage is good. Had good WiFi and cell reception. Not too far from Corn Palace. Rest rooms were clean, but a bit on the old side. PPA rate included 50 amp service and cable TV. Would stay again if passing through We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
Full rate with tax is $32.40 for 30 amp FHU, but Passport America is half price, and a good deal. Big thing to do in Mitchell is see the Corn Palace, rah rah. This is a fairly good spot to rest up a couple days, do laundry, soak in the pool. Be sure to get a level, shady pull thru site if possible. Ours was none of the above and the rig was very hot sitting out in the 95 degree full sun. Staff was always friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$16
Nice little campground. Grassy with level gravel sites, some were concrete. Lots of trees, free wifi & cable. Very close to interstate but not noisy. Great swimming pool, shares with motel. Very nice for overnight or a couple of days stay. Staff not very friendly on check-in. We would stay here again. Great for Passport America rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$15
What a great little park. Perfect for a couple of overnights while traveling through. It's clean and quiet with wide grassy sites. The laundry was clean and tidy and the WiFi works great. There are no amenities so this isn't the place to hang out with kids but for a short stay to visit the Corn Palace, I give it a very high rating and we definitely would return here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$18
Adequate for an overnight stay. Close to the interstate. Close to shopping in Mitchell. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$18
We stayed her for 2 nights at the end of our 10 week trip. Rate is PPA. The park has full hook-ups, 70 channel cable, WIFI, and shares a pool with a motel. Unfortunately it was a tad too cool to use the pool - the water felt warm enough but the air temp was only around 70F. The sites are a mix - pull-thrus, back-ins, gravel pads, some cement pads. Sites are well laid out and there seem to be numerous sites that will handle big rigs. A number of site have some shade from mature trees. Just off I-90 which will bother some folks. Super WalMart and Cabellas are a 10-15 minute walk but you will need a vehicle to get to downtown Mitchell. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$32
My husband and I actually stayed here for 1 week to get the better price. It was a nice area. They had a nice pool outside that they share with Motel 8 which they also own. Wifi and cable were good. The people working there were very pleasant and helpful. The corn palace area was pretty quiet to our surprise. We enjoyed the walk there which was about 2 1/2 miles each way. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$18
Good place to get off the road. Large level sites good electric & water. Cable included. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$16
A GREAT campsite for the money ! Clean, with all the amenities. Good Wi-Fi, cable, and electric. A great deal @ $16 (Passport rate). We stayed 2 extra nights. A friendly and professional staff. This park is one of the most pleasant experiences of 6 years of full-timing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$31
Trees need trimming. Difficult to get into some of the sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$18
This was a lot nicer than I expected it to be. Although getting in and out with a big rig was a little tricky, we had no problem. It's a Passport America park and the PA website directions say to turn in by the BP station, but it's a Mobil station now. The park itself is very clean and well kept. Some sites are gravel, but we were on a concrete pad. The sites are somewhat close together, but we've been in parks that were a lot worse. The pool is shared with the Super 8 motel right next to the park. We stayed here 2 nights. It's definitely one of the nicer short-term parks we've been to, especially for Passport America. Even though it's right off interstate 90, the noise is not bad. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$10
Staff was very helpful. It's a little noisy due to the highway. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$18
Found park based on reviews I read on this website. Great park, small, convenient to I-90, long level pull thrus, hook-up facilities excellent,Free WiFi and extended channel TV cable also!! Super value, great customer service - perfect for an overnight or extended stay! Highly recommended! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$18
$18 rate is Passport America w/$2 additional charge for 50a, internal roads and most sites gravel but in good repair. Nice long pull-through sites apx 70'. Easy access off I-90 but be noticed little highway noise, railroad track right behind campground but we heard no trains. Campground Wi-Fi had strong signal but I could not get an internet connection (local only), however the neighboring Super 8 Motel Wi-Fi worked great. Close to Cabella, Wal-Mart & numerous restaurants. We stayed for just one night, and would definitely stay again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$27
Nice stop-over location. Sites are grass and gravel; the grounds are well kept and the staff was friendly. We would stay here in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$27
The campground is right behind the Super8 Motel but very neat and clean. Has Wi-Fi, worked OK for the evening. We stayed both heading to and from the Black Hills and it was very convenient to drive into and off the freeway (exit 332). It has a nice laundry room, outdoor pool, and bathrooms that are very neat and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful, we would stay there again definitely. Although a RR track runs right behind the campground it didn't bother us at all, the trains came just before bedtime and then again early morning, they didn't seem to be noisy other than click-click-click. Located close to gas stations, a Wal-Mart, KFC, restaurants and other stores. Be sure to visit the Corn Palace and Historic Downtown, it is interesting. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$16
The amount we paid includes Passport America discount. All of the staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. The park was well-maintained. The laundry room and bathrooms were very clean and the laundry table was a good height for folding. The commons area was very comfortable and has a library with comfortable chairs and tables. The handicapped bathroom could have used a wooden door instead of a shower curtain for the dressing area. There are trains that come through in the evening, but we have learned to deal with this as many campgrounds have this same issue--they pass quickly. The campground is very close to a Wal-Mart, many restaurants, and shopping. It is behind the motel, which is also well-maintained. The Wi-Fi worked well. We look forward to returning to this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$16
Very nice park, close to freeway but very little noise, will stay here again if in area, this is also a passport america park We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$18
Passport America Park. Very nice helpful management. Behind the Super8 Motel. Easy on and off highway but did not notice any noise. There is an earth berm which I think absorbs the noise. Be sure and visit The Corn Palace and the Historic Downtown Area. Good shopping in the area and fuel stops as well. If we are ever in the area we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$16
Good overnight stop along I-90. Staff was friendly and helpful. WiFi was sketchy from both RV park and nearby Super 8. Pool and playground shared with Super 8. Some interstate and train noise at sites closer to I-90. Stores and restaurants nearby stores - Wal-Mart, Cabela's, etc. Large, level pull-throughs with grassy lots and trees. Passport America park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$19
Restrooms & Showers were fine. Our site was level, well shaded average size. Most of the sites had some shade and looked level. We actually got to picked it. Site and road were gravel and well maintained. Internet was good the first few days and the went to pot so we switched to our own. It is just off of I-90 but we didn't notice any noise. Good park well maintained, we'd stay again. Stayed for a week. Camp host and people in office very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$32
A nice, neat, clean RV park with plenty of room and easy ingress and egress for big rigs. Good wi-fi although it came from the adjacent Super 8 motel. Very friendly and helpful management. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$16
This campground is located 75 yards behind a Super * motel, and shares access to a large swimming pool with the motel's guests. Many of the sites are pull-throughs, and at least partially shaded. The staff was helpful. This is a nice overnight stop. We paid the Passport America rate, which included local taxes. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$29
It was a good over niter. The end sites are close to I-90 and train tracks. A lot of noise--try to get one close to office. Everything else was great. Good wifi service. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$28
10% discount for Good Sam or AAA. Wifi flakey. Washrooms clean. Helpful staff. Noise from high way was minimal which surprised me. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2006
$16
Used Passport America for $16 with 50 amp. Easy on and off, big sites with lots of room. Small trees give some shade. Pool was nice. Located behind Super 8 Motel. WiFi worked good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$25
A great spot for an overnight stay close to I-90. Nice clean bathrooms. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2006
$16
A great overnight park! A Passport America participant that is right off the interstate and has a little bit of highway noise, but it was not paricularly loud or intrusive. They just upgraded their Wi-Fi with another antenna, so Wi-Fi is now campground-wide inside your coach. The pull through sites were level and sufficiently long for our 41' coach and toad. Access was easy and the interior roads are in good shape, providing Big Rig access. There are many shade trees in park and a dog walk is provided. Campground is behind the Super 8 Motel and campground visitors can use pool if desired. Restaurant within easy walking distance of campground. Campground managers very accommodating and friendly. Would definitely return again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$28
Host were very friendly good location very clean showers, didn't use pool which is shared with Super 8 Motel they took Passport $14.04 no limit on stay, Corn Palace a nice attraction in town also drive around Lake Mitchell if you can. Walmart and other stores close. Cable TV lots of channels is included, WIFI in office tables and chairs there, got on internet at my site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2005
$26
This place was ok. The best thing going for it is the location. It is right off the exit and close to many places to eat, cabela's, and walmart. A little too close to the highway for me. Mosquitoes are very bad at sundown. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$13
Park is clean, nice, and close to I-90. Park has a lot of nice trees and green lawns. Some road noise off I-90. All roads and sites are gravel. We would return in the future. Hi-speed internet in office only - no WiFi. Plan a trip to see the coan palace in Mitchell. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2002
$22
Close to the interstate - train tracks in back but no train went through when we were there. Nice level, grassy sites. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com