224208 User submitted reviews online!!
Chester Frost Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 28 user reviews. Phone: (423) 842-0177
CGID2619

Chester Frost Park

Camp Information
Sites
200
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   9   8   10   9   10   10   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$24
Nice county campground. The sites are a bit tight for a big rig with slides. There are level sites but you have to pick and choose one that fits your rig. The park employees are very friendly and even trimmed some branches for us. We enjoyed our time here and would come back and stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2012
$23
Outstanding park; we have never had a bad county run park. Many showers and restrooms. Clean park, nice people. Will definitely come back when we can stay longer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$25
This is a beautiful park. Our rate of $25 a night includes the non-resident fee. Our site (#93 or #94) was the first waterfront site on the left out on the "island." We only had to raise our 5th wheel 2 inches on one side to get it perfectly level. The site was very large with an asphalt pad and a pea gravel area for the picnic table. We had shade trees and a huge grassy waterfront site with a fantastic view of Lake Chickamauga. There were several Wi-Fi hot spots throughout the park which is quite hilly and scenic. TV reception was excellent and there are lots of places to bank fish or pier fish if you don't have a boat. This is an extremely clean and well maintained park and we highly recommend it to everyone. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$24
Beautiful and well manicured park with spacious RV parking. Lakeside sights have beautiful views and good privacy. If this park had sewer hookups I would rate the campground a 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$28
I believe that this is one of the best run county parks in the country. It is a very well designed campground with many of the lake front sites staggered so all have a lake view. This is a very popular park, and it doesn't accept reservations. We arrived on a Thursday evening and the campground was 75% full. You get a list of open sites, then after viewing the sites, drive back to register before occupying. Many of the locals pay for sites starting on a Wednesday or Thursday for a weekend without occupying a site. The park got very busy on the weekend with picnics, scout troops, and boaters. Very clean restrooms and individual unisex shower rooms. Strict checkout time of 12 noon. Beautiful location, nice campsites, and a well run facility. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$25
This park is simply beautiful! The sites are level and paved with fire rings and tables and the grounds are very well kept. The staff was very friendly and helpful in selecting a site for us to stay. There was a grey water dump in the area but the main dump station is a fair distance from the campground. The park also has a sandy beach on the river and frequent fishing tournaments begin there. The view of the river is breathtaking too, and it was hard to leave a view like that when time came to go. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$25
This is a beautiful and well maintained campground. Even with just about every site full, this campground remained quiet throughout the night. The downside is you can't make reservations. We were fortunate enough to arrive on a Sunday afternoon and got a great waterfront site. There are two sections to this campground. The section closest to the main entrance is very crowded, but has the most level sites. This area is where most of the Class A motor homes stay. The second area is more open with more space between the sites. The negative part is most sites are not level for larger RVs. We were in a site that was 60 feet deep. But it was very difficult to get a proper level in our motorhome. In fact my right rear wheel was about 1 inch off the ground to get a good level. Overall this is a great county campground! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$25
i would love nothing more than to give this park a bad review just to keep other people away. But i cannot this park is excellent! Clean friendly gorgeous. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$25
Could be a "10" campground. Quiet and enjoyable Monday - Thursday, but weekends are loud and busy. On weekends we experienced others walking thru our site, kids running bikes into our Motorhome and a 2 year old playing under our car. Also, it would be nice if there was pump out service available since no full hook ups. The location is very scenic. Nice shopping and cafes nearby. We will return but during off season to avoid weekend rush. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
This is one of the nicer parks we've ever been to, in three years of full-timing. We snagged a lakeside spot and had a beautiful view. NOTE: If your GPS tells you to go up the south side of the mountain, DO NOT DO IT. Gold Point North is a straight, flat road, but for some reason Google Maps does not recognize it, and sent me up Gold Point South. Not for the faint of heart. But the park is very convenient to shopping and dining (it's really in Hixson, just a few miles from Chatt). One of my favorite stops. We'll be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
This parks address is 2318 Gold Point Circle North in Hixson TN, if putting it in your GPS. It is on Chickamauga Lake. Has very friendly staff. We had a site that backs up to the lake so the $25 rate, others are $23.50. I guess we were lucky getting a lake front site, but this is the second time here and we got a lake front site then. No Reservations at this park. Rule 19 on back side of rate/rule sheets states wooden blocks must be used under jacks. They do come through and enforce that rule so make sure you use wooden blocks. Some sites are close together. Choose you site carefully. All roads and sites are paved. Showers and laundry are nice and clean. There is a dump station right in the park, but is not easy to acess. There is one with 3 dump stations about a half mile out of the RV park. The 3 dumps are in line, so if someone is in front, it could hold you up, or if they don't pull all the way forward you can't get in. Not a good system the way it is laid out. This is about the only drawback at this great park. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$18
If you are ever in the Chattanooga area stay at Chester Frost. You don't find much online about this park, because the locals want to keep it their secret. This is one of the best campgrounds in the country to camp. Has beautiful views of Nickajack lake; even if you don't get a water site, (high demand and hard to come by,) you will still have a nice view of the lake from the majority of sites. All sites are concrete, with gravel under picnic tables, and grass on a lot of sites; but not all have grass, depends on what part of the campground you stay in. Very clean and private showerhouses. Each shower is a separate room with a bolt locking door. Staff are very friendly. I would have given this campground a '10' if they had sewer hookups. Camped here for several years in a pop-up camper, and more recently: We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$25
The staff was great! The staff was very friendly. Also, this campground was really nice and clean. It's a great, peaceful campground. We enjoyed our stay! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$18
I rate this campground a 9 instead of 10 only due to the lack of sewer hookup. This is otherwise a wonderful place, especially for family activities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$24
We had a good time camping here. Facilities were clean. Campsites a little close to one another and not all level. Roads wide enough but some tight curves towards back of park may be difficult for larger trailers or RVs. Campground does not take reservations and was very busy the weekend after Labor Day so we did not get a prime site. Boats on lake can be noisy. Beach does not flow into water; instead there are steps into lake, therefore no shallow area for small children. Playground near beach is very nice and beach was very clean. If you have a boat and a camper or RV this would be an ideal place since some sites have their own docks. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
Very nice park. Clean and well maintained. Great staff. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$25
We really enjoyed our short stay at this park. We really relaxed and enjoyed ourselves. We will be returning next summer for a much longer stay. We stayed here in a 5th wheel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$16
Fabulous park on the Tennessee River. Manicured sites. Great rates. Professional staff. Very nice bathroom, shower, and laundry facilities. The only things missing are sewer hookups and Wi-Fi. Beautiful scenery, lots of birds. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$18
We were very impressed with Chester Frost during our visit this fall. Most of the sites are paved and there are numerous sites that are close to or on the water. Site fees are affordable and the park seemed very well maintained. This campground would benefit from a reservation system as well as sewer sites and some updates to their restrooms. Overall however, this campground is on our must revisit list. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$28
This is a County Park and quite nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$17
We live close to this campground and will stay for a week sometimes even while still going to work. Great Tennessee River lake front sites and wonderful new playground for the children. New bathhouse are immaculate. The county has put a lot of money into this park, with sod, flowers and buildings. The only drawback is not having sewer hookups, but that's why I bought a tank tote, so that we can enjoy nice campgrounds that don't have all the conveniences. Interior paved roads. Great place to ride bikes. Woods abound in the Dallas Island section and less trees on the other sites, but all are great. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2006
$20
Beautiful and well maintained park. There are two campgrounds, and we would recommend the one on the island. While the first campground had sites that were a bit close together, the sites on the island were nicely spaced and many are directly on the water. It was a great place to stay and visit Chattanooga. It's a beautiful area, and we plan to go back. We were here during October 2006, and the leaves were gorgeous. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$16
We stayed here recently. Very nice park with beautiful waterfront sites. The cg was very well maintained. The only negatives are no reservations, and no sewer. The waterfront sites are very hard to get so reservations would be nice. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$16
We camp here a few times a year. They have beautiful sites on the lake. The only downfall is they do not take reservations and when you arrive if you do not know the site number you want and you go look at it someone else can come up to window and take that site. They are starting to put site length on the sheet you get to see what sites are available. They only take cash or checks no charge or debit cards. Would be perfect if they took reservations and had sewer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$16
Nice clean campground. You have to drive or ride a bicycle to swim area. I suppose you could walk but I bet the next time you would ride. If you feed the ducks you might find them honking around 6am next to your camper in the morning trying to wake you up for more bread. It was fun We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2006
$9
We have camped at this park many times. This is a pristine campground extremely well maintained on beautiful Lake Chickamauga. The showerhouse/restrooms are cleaned/sanitized each morning, the trash is picked up from nice trashbins each morning. It is well patrolled also. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Campfires are allowed. Sites are roomy and inviting. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2006
$17
This campground is very nice and clean. It is well manicured. The sites are a nice size and all have a fire ring and picnic table. Chickamauga Lake is right outside your door. It's quiet (except for the ducks and geese). You won't be disappoined. The only bad thing...they do not take reservations; first come, first serve! We plan on visiting many more times! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$16
One of the best county or state campgrounds in the state of Tennessee. Located about 10 miles north of Hixson, Tennessee off highway 153. Great family and camping park with swiming areas and large sand beach. Paved RV spots with fire rings. Miles of walking/running areas. 2 Tennis courts. Boat launch and docks at camping area. Very clean bathrooms. Try it you won't be disappointed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com