206704 User submitted reviews online!!
Sandy Lake RV Park was rated 5 out of 10 based on 41 user reviews. Phone: (972) 242-6808
CGID2738

Sandy Lake RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
275
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$21



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   1   3   3   9   4   1   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$21
We stayed here under Passport America and felt the rate to be very reasonable. The park is definitely dated, interior roads are a bit rough in spots and spaces are close together. What was outstanding for us and the reason for the higher score is the management and staff. They were most helpful and efficient at check-in, including the person who directed us to our site. Both of us were ill while here and they quickly and efficiently accommodated extending our time in our site even though the site had been reserved for the next day. Management is new and seems to be doing all the right things to achieve customer satisfaction. We will definitely return if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$42
This is a nice park in a very desirable location in northeast Dallas. The facilities are very clean and nice and the staff are friendly and helpful. We are monthly campers and have been here nine months. There is a nice fenced dog park, pool and great clubhouse. We love it here! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2013
$40
The only good thing I can say about the park is that the staff and residents all seem to be very courteous and helpful. I have been RVing for around 40 years and this is one of the worst campgrounds I have found. Extremely crowded to the extent the RV's almost touched each other. My RV is 50 amp, but had to get by on 30. I guess, though, that when all of the available sites are full, as they seemed to be, they must be doing something right, although it was hard for me to see what it is. I would not stay here again nor would I recommend this park to anyone. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2013
$40
It was okay for one night but very over priced. The campsites are extremely close together. The roads are in disrepair, rutted with potholes and most of the asphalt has eroded away to the point that it's more of a hazard than a help. There is barely enough room for your trailer or motorhome and almost impossible to squeeze in a truck pulling the trailer or your towed car. We would not stay at this campground again and would definitely not recommend it to friends and family. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
December 2012
$27
Rate reflects 2 nights at $20 per night Passport America rate and 1 night at $40 per night regular rate. FHU 50 amp gravel pull-through site. This is not a resort, just a corporate owned campground with extremely tight sites. Luckily we had a site on the end of a row so getting in and out wasn't too bad. Pool was closed, no hot tub. Good free wi-fi. No way worth $40 per night. Would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$36
Park was clean, but there were many permanent residents who had junk around their trailers. Spaces were cramped, and a little hard to manuever. No fenced dog area. The staff and residents were very friendly; it was a very quiet and a good neighborhood. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2012
$36
When I called to make this reservation, I asked specifically about the Passport America discount for this date, and they said they honor Passport America. However when I checked in they said "No Passport America this weekend." I asked about a veteran's discount and they begrudgingly gave me 10 per cent. After I paid I waited for the girl to tell me about the location of bathrooms, showers, laundry etc. but she didn't until I asked. I asked if the pool was open and she said she didn't know! My 5th wheel is not large at 28 feet, but the site was barely wide enough and was not near long enough to remain hooked up to my truck. When I left the next morning I had to jockey around to even get out as the streets are VERY narrow. Bathrooms were marginally clean. Clothing hooks were falling off the wall. Traffic noise was not a huge issue. Probably won't be back here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2012
$30
DO NOT STAY HERE. It is a sardine trailer park! Two foot wide lawn at each site. Getting into and out of site is tight! NOISY because it is between two MAJOR 6-lane highways: George Bush Tollway and Interstate 35. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$25
Stayed here for two nights while visiting in Dallas. Friendly staff and helpful with directions. Wi-Fi connection four hours at a time starting when you log in. I thought I could log out and use the remaining time later but you have to use it all at once. Had trouble with burrs in the dogs fur. Did not use the pool or any other facilities but the park is fine if you need an overnight place to stay. They do have a little store in the office. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$35
I give it an 8 for the location. If you are needing access to DFW airport or even downtown Dallas area, this is the park to stay at. I have been staying here on and off for the last 5 years. Friendly staff. They are always on top of issues and keeping the place clean. Most sites are level and easy to get into. Some are close together. Laundry and showers always clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2012
$30
Gloves are off..this is a refugee camp not an RV park...the place is full of long term under or unemployed, NOT family friendly, while we met all the rules for our pets and cleaned up after them we met hostility from people who thought their spot was private lawn...CAREFREE parks are very questionable and regardless of the savings we will avoid them..this is our 68th RV park in 7 month tour writing about RV parks..buyers beware! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2011
$30
We spent a week at Sandy Lake RV Park. The staff was friendly and helpful. The streets as well as the sites are narrow. The majority of the sites seemed to be permanents. The dog run was actually an unfenced drainage ditch next to a busy road which was extremely difficult to use. There was an area which could be used for pet exercise, but it was hard to get to. We won’t be staying here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2011
$19
We spent two nights at Sandy Lake RV Park. The staff was friendly and helpful. They have a well-equipped exercise room and a large common room. The streets as well as the sites are narrow. The majority of the sites seemed to be filled with mobile homes and RVs which looked as if they hadn’t moved for some time. There was inadequate power at the site. The showers were cramped and dirty. And the advertised modest dog run was actually an unfenced drainage ditch next to a busy road which couldn’t even be used because it had rained. We won’t be going back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$50
The rate reflects event pricing although it also reflects a military rate on two of the days. We spent four nights here while attending Grape fest. The streets as well as the sites are narrow. There are a large number of mobile homes and RVs which looked as if they hadn’t moved for some time. Close to Dallas. Although the staff was friendly and helpful will not stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$23
Above rate reflects monthly rate plus metered electric. This is a resort in name and price only, but there is pretty much nothing else to choose from. Sites in the RV section are quite close together, and in most of the park are NOT angled to allow easy access. Watching people try to get out on many mornings while walking the dogs was "entertaining" to say the least. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Utilities were good. We probably won't stay again due to the expense. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$35
This park is close to Dallas and is very convenient if you are visiting the city. There are only a few parks in the area close to the city. The park has a large share of long term resident. It is well maintained. The staff is friendly and helpful. The sites are level and have full hookups and can accommodate large rigs. There is not much in the way of scenery. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2011
$32
The managers are wonderful. The park is clean and out of the way. Lots of long termers here. The pool and club house are both clean. The exercise room is wonderful and they conduct many activities throughout the month: i.e. breakfast for $2.00 and Wednesday night sandwiches. Great park! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2010
$30
This park is part mobile home park, part full timers, part short term campers. Portions of the park are well maintained while other parts are quite trashy. If you have pets, watch out for the goat-head stickers - they are everywhere. The dog run is simply an areas along the highway, not exactly a nice place to walk your dog. We hooked up to cable thinking and drove ourselves crazy trying to figure out why we weren't getting any channels and found out later they have no cable TV service. The bathrooms were modern, clean and fairly new. This place sufficed since we were desperate for a place to stay and nothing at. The Vineyards was available on this weekend. We would stay here again if nothing else was available, otherwise, probably not. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$35
We stay here only when we have to as it is convenient to our son's home. The pictures on their website are misleading as it isn't NEARLY that pleasing. If you are visiting Dallas, you will find there aren't many RV parks and you may have to use this one. It is OK for a short stay but I wouldn't consider it to be a destination. Adequate is a word that comes to mind. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
They advertised this park as a Resort- PLEASE! This is nothing more than a bonafide "Trailer Park". If you like the "Trailer Park environment, then this is an ideal spot, if you're looking for a true RV/Resort type park, please stay clear of this one. I've never been so disappointed in my entire RV travels expanding over the past 12 years. This is ridiculous. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2010
$35
So Many Problems: We did not find WI-FI avail. Office was closed when we arrived (3:30pm). Site assigned was too short for our RV (34' 5W + dually P/U) and difficult to get into. Site was narrow. Had to ask neighbors to move their vehicles on our departure. We saw other larger sites unoccupied during our stay. Park appears to have lots of permanent residents. Dog walk is outside of park fence next to a highway and in the culvert /hilly area. Dogs were seen off leashes. Park was not as clean as Trailer Life rated or expected of a Carefree Resort. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2010
$38
Convenient to the north Dallas area. Small sites, mostly level. Over priced for what you get, even at the Passport price. Quiet, easy in/out via freeways. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
Not sure what the last reviewer was on, but we certainly didn't find that experience here! Park staff outside of the manager is AWFUL, rude, grumpy and outright mean. The park is held together with bubble gum and bailing wire; the electrical goes out every night because there is too much load on a poorly designed 50 amp conversion. Sites are super tight, and most are unlevel. Any complaints to the maintenance staff are met with no concern. Many times garbage cans are left overflowing with garbage blowing all around. Pool is disgusting, green and foamy; I wouldn't get in it. The "old" bathhouse is barely standing and just gross. Yeah, nice new bathhouse/laundry room, has cockroaches already, and no place to sit or hang clothes when you're done! It will be trash in a year or so, too. As far as I can see the only reason to stay here is being close to the north side of Dallas-Ft Worth. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$23
We are staying here for 2 months and so far its been really great. The people who run the RV park are super nice and funny. The park has bathrooms and laundry that are kept clean and is a very short walk from my RV. There are maintenance guys running around all the time doing yard work or picking up trash etc. Its very quiet here and is close to shopping, restaurants, airport etc. The sites are a little cramped but it doesnt seem to bother anyone. Theres a pool too! Thank goodness cause TX is HOT HOT HOT lol. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2009
$28
Very small spaces. Power box covered by neighbors lawn chair, water faucet behind plants and sewer under his slide. Short and crowned space. Truck was sticking into road in front while trailer was at edge of road at rear. Asphalt was gouged by many vehicles exiting space. Trees SERIOUSLY need trimming. The ladder on my new Jayco was torn off on one side by a limb that I couldn't miss when exiting the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$27
Recently remodeled bathroom/shower and washer/dryer room. Small spaces for RV's, but nice folks. Safe is park. Close to major highways. Easy access to stores, shopping, and restaurants. Weekly rates include electricity. Not sure about monthly.We only stayed there three weeks. Check hours for office. Assistant manager on site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$29
It is an older campground, Spaces were small but the grounds were clean. There are Mobile homes in part of the park and some permanent campers setup. Everyone was nice and we felt quite secure there. It is near to our daughters home and we will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2009
$35
This is a very old RV park, with small sites and rundown amenities. There are lots of long-term semi-permanent residents. About half the park is dedicated to mobile homes and park models. But, the location is handy. The rates keep going up, though. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2009
$35
We have lived here at Sandy Lake for 3 years now and find it to be a safe and comfortable Camp Ground. It's located close to down town and many restaurants and stores makes it a convenient location for full timers working in this area of the state. Yes many sites are cramped but for a good place to stay close in to Dallas this is one of the best we have found. The front desk staff are friendly and reasonable monthly rates include electricity. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2008
$30
Only stayed here couple nights passing through. Central location is good, but park is crammed into its location somewhat it seems; very tight close together spots and very narrow roads in between; didn't mind since weren't vacationing or anything, just needed full hookups; no cable, antenna picked up several local channels however; quiet and felt safe; very back has some permanent trailers; front desk courteous and helpful. Would probably stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$26
Nice shady park, friendly staff. Location convenient to Dallas attractions, and across street from large public park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2008
$26
This park is for folks that need to be in Carrolton, Lewisville Texas for a long period. If you are a weekend or vacation camper, this park is not for you. The spots are very tight. The sewer line of the camper next had to be stepped over to enter my unit. This park has location, that is it. It is quite and crime free. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2008
$26
The Good: This is a safe neighborhood with low crime. If you have to visit or work in North Dallas this may be your best alternative. We arrived after hours and there was no provision for us even though we had made a reservation. This is a mixed camp with Mobile Homes, Trailer Residents, and folks passing through. The Bad: Slots are among the narrowest that I have seen. Thank goodness the slot next to us was empty. The Ugly: Sewer hookup was a dirt hole, no threads or anything. Some folks had sewer vents that went up above their units. No air conditioning in the rest rooms. I found a working stall in the men’s room and it had a good view of a 5th wheel trailer. The next one was jammed, and the third I used my hat to lock it. The one woman I saw in the Laundry had heat stroke – no air conditioning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$16
Older park under new management. They are making improvements as time goes on. Great location if you want to be in North Dallas. Staff is friendly. Restrooms and showers are clean but old. New showers are being built in one part of the park. Internet $$. A working park. Sites are fairly level some more than others. Some Trees. Lots of permanent residents in both mobile homes, trailers or motorhomes. We stay at least a month each time because of family connections. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$15
For what it is, this is a good campground. This is an O-L-D campground and the faded lady is showing some wrinkles. I was here for two months @$450/month including elec. I had a work assignment in Dallas. This was the best value for temp housing. The pool was sparkling clean when my family came to visit. Many FT workers who leave on the weekend to go back home. Recent ownership change -- many new faces all going through training -- all very helpful. Very few overnight sites. Many sites appear to be small; but, you can park near anything in this place. AMAZING interstate access to north Dallas or downtown. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$33
New ownership plans upgrades. My folks used this park for over fifteen years to visit family; we have been here on and off since May after selling house. Yes, a bit crowded for space but most are here to visit family, friends, etc. I have a 25' spread between drive axle and trailer axle and manuever just fine. Good feeling of security (and as reported by long-termers). Located across from a old-fashioned amusement park (mainly, giant pool) of same name. Between I-35E and 1-90 Toll road (Geo. Bush). Access into Dallas is un-surpassed and we believe this to be the best-located RV park in the area for access to the Metroplex. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$27
We stay a month each time we're through Dallas in April and November. It is an old park but it is well maintained. It is well located for Dallas. Sites are asphalt with gravel patios. Some are more level than others. Most of the people are working people with a few day stops. The park seems to be mostly full but we can usually get a site. We do make reservations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
December 2006
$25
We stayed 4 nights at this park. The sites are close together; when we put our slide-out out, the neighbors entry door was less than 3 ft away. We have a Ford 350 dually and had difficulty parking. The trees need trimming in places as we had difficulty in leaving the park without driving down the center of the roadway. WIFI was located in the office and we were unable to use because we were not around when the office was open. We visit relatives each year and stay at this park because it is the only one in the area. We would not continue to stay there if there was another park in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$25
Close to downtown Dallas. Area for mobile homes separate from RV sites. Sites are close together, room for slides but not much awning room. Easy access from I-35E. Restrooms OK, have seen cleaner ones but it was late in the day when we used them. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2002
$25
I was a long term resident, stayed there about 10 months. GOOD: Pleasant place, friendly people, lots of long term residents. Maintenance good, laundry facilities always worked & clean. Satellite dish friendly. DSL internet available for long termers. BAD: Sites can be a bit small, and somewhat difficult to navigate park. Located on a VERY busy two lane road, can be hard to get into & out of, I was rear-ended TWICE waiting to turn in. Clara, the manager, can be very unpleasant. Numerous people work the office and getting a straight answer can be difficult. I did not stay a full month my last month there & was told that it would be pro-rated by one person. Went to pay the last rent & was told they do not pro-rate. I could pay 3 weeks ($390) or a month ($310). If you call, get the NAME of the person you are talking to. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2001
$24
A decent campground, but very limited amount of sites available for overnighters. Very crowded and small sites make for cramped quarters. Not much choice of parks on the north side of Dallas so this is the best of a limited bunch. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com